Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever edited wikipedia for the laugh

• 08-09-2013 12:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭

Have you ever edited Wikipedia for the laugh and added spurious fact to pages ?

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

made myself a famous resident of somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭mad turnip

in school there was this traveler lad, and we kept editing the traveler pages to include his name on all of them, I wouldn't be surprised if his name was still on them as it was such a traveler name!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

mad turnip wrote: »
    in school there was this traveler lad, and we kept editing the traveler pages to include his name on all of them, I wouldn't be surprised if his name was still on them as it was such a traveler name!!!

If he was literate then it might have been funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

I made a huge post about the place I am from for the laugh. It wasnt editing but creating. By the time I finished and tried to show it to someone it had been deleted. I never tried at anything in my life ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I think it's inspiring that people collectively and voluntarily created such a repository of information. I wouldn't vandalise it for ****s and giggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

lahalane wrote: »
    I made a huge post about the place I am from for the laugh. It wasnt editing but creating. By the time I finished and tried to show it to someone it had been deleted. I never tried at anything in my life ever again.

Edit something thats already there

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

This fella was complaining on boards about security at the airport think he had Francie Bellew as his user name so I changed the GAA star's wiki accordingly (didn't last long)

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056525345/14/#post76655700

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,760 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Edited in (wrote) a piece about a bar I liked drinking in a city. Put it in the 'famous buildings' section, or similar. Did it at the bar owner's request (she didn't speak much English, but wanted more customers). Got a free pint out of it, maybe two.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

I called someone gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

uch wrote: »
    Edit something thats already there

I think we edited Junior Agogos page too to mention we had named a drink after him. Or maybe when we got there somebody else had already done it. Either way it was on his page for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Nope, but I've often deleted unfunny crap that people write on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

I'm very much the type who removes the vandalism and nonsense, but a mate of mine added a middle name to a current but minor international footballer, which has now stuck, made it into biographies on other major sports sites and even into Football Manager, the video game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭ONeill2013

just in junior high for the humour, go to the persons home village wikipedia page and write 'ryan likes willy' or something, the usual nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭mad turnip

If he was literate then it might have been funny.

he kind of was haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

ONeill2013 wrote: »
    just in junior high for the humour, go to the persons home village wikipedia page and write 'ryan likes willy' or something, the usual nonsense

Now thats the stuff I'm talkin about

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

I added "Despite having no discernible talent whatsoever" to the first sentence of the wiki page for that talentless yoke who was on Podge and Rodge and did Bord Gais ads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

ONeill2013 wrote: »

Junior High?

yes junior high was all fun and games, senior high wasn't too great apart from spring break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Once changed the page on weapons.

Replaced every occurrence of weapon with "meat sword".

It made for a much more entertaining article and lasted all of 43 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Phoeey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭TommiesTank

Yes, edited the page of a former foreign footballer who has a surname that sounds like a swear word. Think Baddiel and Skinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭TommiesTank

Nope, but I've often deleted unfunny crap that people write on it.

Glad to hear that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Junior High?

I like your avatar way too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

After a debate at work regarding wikipedia I changed the page on Turkeys (the bird) to state that they originated from the moon. It was changed back very quick :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

A few years ago I clicked a random page that brought up a page about some region in Congo. I edited it to say it was first inhabited by pygmies and when i had another look about a year ago it was still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

While it can be a useful tool some of the moderators/administrators there are way over the top and dedicate their life to it. Having 100,000 plus edits and boasting about it! Sad.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,409 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Couldn't resist ;)

Human vuvuzela! Brilliant :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Heno97

SHOVELLER wrote: »
    While it can be a useful tool some of the moderators/administrators there are way over the top and dedicate their life to it. Having 100,000 plus edits and boasting about it! Sad.

Comments like these make me weep for humanity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,574 ✭✭✭pajor

Corrected some serious spelling issues on a page once, after signing up for the wiki membership thingy.

Got a message telling me that my changes had been reversed as they were considered spam. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

I remember randomly looking up the page for the bodybuilder Ronnie Coleman except someone had deleted the whole article & left one line: 'nigga stole my bike'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Made some funny chances to Nick Giffin's page before...they were changed fairly fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Elbaston

No mention of willy so far.

wikis most damaging/prolific troll.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User:Dcoetzee/Willy_on_Wheels:A_Case_Study

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭tiredcity

A fellow boardsie ended up with their surname + syndrome on the wiki entry for an embarassing medical condition which was since referenced in a major US clinical conference & numerous other sources. She's tried to remove it but someone immediately stuck it back up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

tiredcity wrote: »
    A fellow boardsie ended up with their surname + syndrome on the wiki entry for an embarassing medical condition which was since referenced in a major US clinical conference & numerous other sources. She's tried to remove it but someone immediately stuck it back up.

Tell us more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Elbaston wrote: »
    No mention of willy so far.

wikis most damaging/prolific troll.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User:Dcoetzee/Willy_on_Wheels:A_Case_Study

Lol, quiet an achievement - your claim to fame is to be the biggest time sink on Wiki. Should change his name from willy on wheels to Billy no mates. Ah we'll, some people really are easily amused.

Sure nearly everyone in Ireland with internet access was editing Thierry Henrys page a few years ago.
    Did it myself I`ll admit

http://www.unitedrant.co.uk/just-for-fun/henry-wiki-defaced-with-four-letter-slur/
    http://www.tomsguide.com/us/Ireland-France-Thierry-Henry-Handball,news-5150.html

Good times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

efb wrote: »
    This fella was complaining on boards about security at the airport think he had Francie Bellew as his user name so I changed the GAA star's wiki accordingly (didn't last long)

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056525345/14/#post76655700

It lists him as apps 44 Scores ?
    Definitely remember him scoring a penalty. Surely a few points from his handful of ventures over the half way line in 44 games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Can you write up your own Wiki page?

I consider myself to be a brilliant poet/musician/soccer player/lover/father/innovator/crime fighter/entrepreneur/fighter pilot ect. ect. ect.

Would it count if only I thought it though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭polydactyl

Someone should let the lads currently running about CP know that their trophy is already gone :)

Human vuvuzela! Brilliant :D

My favourite one was "Deadly weapon", which links to "potato chips" (one of the eejits hurls an empty bag of crisps at one of the Brazillians as they're walking away near the end)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Heno97 wrote: »
    Comments like these make me weep for humanity

I could say that same for this.

I stand over what I said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭rustedtrumpet

Havnt done but reminds me of when we were in school, when a teacher asked one of us to read from a history book we'd change the words or add in words of our own while reading a loud. Some hilarious wit was made up on the spot which the teacher would fail to realise

:D:D:D
    We used to do that in Business in school, when he'd ask us to read out numbers from the book while he wrote them out on the board we'd make up random ones and he'd get unbelievably confused when the ledger would refuse to balance or the supposed successful business example was making losses of several hundred thousand :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 BAA RAM EWE

Listen to Wikipedia
    Listen to Wikipedia's recent changes feed. The sounds indicate addition to (bells) or subtraction from (strings) a Wikipedia articles, and the pitch changes according to the size of the edit. Green circles show edits from unregistered contributors, and purple circles mark edits performed by automated bots. You may see announcements for new users as they join the site -- you can welcome him or her by adding a note on their talk page.