Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hector on 2fm Breakfast - should he stay or call it quits? #Mod Warning Post 19

• 07-09-2013 11:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭

Hector has had the breakfast chair on 2fm for 3 years now and not a good book in site. So should he stay or should he go?

Should Hector stay or should he call it quits? 37 votes

He should stay
    0%
    He should call it a day
    100%
    novarockmisslouloubarryfitzMPJonespatrickcAlways number 1Mr VeloLeilakQuazzieStroke Politicsbongo2twincammanSalmon LeaplonghalloweenphkkgreenbicycleWise Old ElfJimmyChewtomaso11Prop Joe 37 votes

• Moderators Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Wise Old Elf

He should call it a day
    Probably in the minority, but I actually grew to like Hector. He can be a bit hyper, and certainly appears to be aiming at the market outside dublin, but for the last 3 years or so, he's the only show I consistently listened to on my commute.

Based around limerick, you have live95fm and other local stations, ian dempsey (who's grand but the setup is a bit tired now), marty on lyric (NO!) or morning ireland.

There are parts of the show I could live without (cranky car) but I do like it otherwise.

/runs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭StinkySocs

I only listen to the radio for about an hour in the mornings...Thank God!!

The morning shows are the worst...such absolute SH!TE!!!!!

I personally think Hector is the worst - he just doesn't shut up talking rubbish....

All the morning shows should be revamped....music and news headlines...nothing too dramatic for that time of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

He should call it a day
    I find that Hector is surprisingly ok once I don't have to see him.

I think a lot of the hate he gets is because pointed out he doesn't centre his show around Dublin like previous hosts did and the Dubs can't handle that and are on a head hunt because of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Gokei

Quazzie wrote: »
    the Dubs can't handle that and are on a head hunt because of it.

You make it sound like they're organised! Am from sligo and can't stand hector. He takes too long to get anything out, tripping over his words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭yankinlk

I live outside dublin so, can i vote twice? ABH in the mornings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

StinkySocs wrote: »
    I only listen to the radio for about an hour in the mornings...Thank God!!

The morning shows are the worst...such absolute SH!TE!!!!!

I personally think Hector is the worst - he just doesn't shut up talking rubbish....

All the morning shows should be revamped....music and news headlines...nothing too dramatic for that time of the day.
    Tubs is worst actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭StinkySocs

jimmynokia wrote: »
    Tubs is worst actually.

They are both pretty awful in fairness...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭tritriagain

If hector mentions soldiers of the dawn once in the morning he says it 1000 times.worst interviewer ever as he doesnt want anyone else talking. Complete twat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

StinkySocs wrote: »
    They are both pretty awful in fairness...
    Well so much for the great revamp says it all really. Rte don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 foxiebelle

I cringe every time he calls himself Red Daddy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

Hector is great craic. Doesnt take himself or his show or anything too seriously. Thats all you can ask for, bit of life in the morning.

Much better than old fogie Dempsey. Ray and JP would his only threat to my listening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

It is appalling, lowest common denominator radio. I imagine that the only people who listen to Hector are the same people who find Mrs. Brown's Boys (Dublin ref.) and Killinaskully (non-Dublin ref. - lest I be accused of bias) "funny".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I used to listen to him when he first started, but I don't now as his style started to annoy me.

He is very repetitive, with his Soldiers of the Dawn line being overused beyond belief, plus the way he thinks that everyone in Ireland is great, especially if they come from some little village in the back end of nowhere, is also tiring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

When Colm and Jim Jim got the push from 2fm's breakfast show they had 157,000 listeners. The head of RTE radio at the time, Claire Duignan, was qouted as saying that the decision was based purely on poor JNLR figures. 3 years on Hector has an audience of 126,000.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

He's the only person i listen to in the morning and i'm a Dub . I find him very entertaining even after all this time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Hector likes to shout. Hector is clearly obsessed with all things rural . Hector has bags of personality and energy but I liken him to an annoyingly hyperactive child overdosed on sugar at a kids birthday party.

Hector lacks a finesse or any degree of understanding of the medium of radio, as a consequence you get a maniacal overbearing personality beating his listeners into submission.

The fact that Healey / 2fm doesn't seem to understand what 2fm stands for, who its audience is and what music it should be playing will only result in Hector continuing to host the flagship breakfast show on the national broadcaster.

This is RTE, home of the untouchables. Tubridy's audience could drop to just his mother listening and he'd probably get a raise. Hector is in the same boat.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

This isn't a thread about Tubridy, I suggest people stay on topic

Splinter

Splinter wrote: »
    This isn't a thread about Tubridy, I suggest people stay on topic

Splinter

Hi Splinter,

Sorry, was just using him by way of comparison to show that despite their (RTE's) claims it's not about commerciality and listernership, but about whether you're liked in RTE by management or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

When Colm and Jim Jim got the push from 2fm's breakfast show they had 157,000 listeners. The head of RTE radio at the time, Claire Duignan, was qouted as saying that the decision was based purely on poor JNLR figures. 3 years on Hector has an audience of 126,000.

And yet he's still there. I just can't understand how he's holding on to the slot. His figures are not helping the recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Rahoo Rahoo Rahoo

Muck Savage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Jay x

The problem is if they get rid of Hector who would they replace him with ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Dargull

Jay x wrote: »
    The problem is if they get rid of Hector who would they replace him with ?

Somebody who is actually a radio DJ would be a good start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Gokei

Clem off kfm is very good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I think Radio 2 should call it quits. The whole station is a complete waste of time and money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭IRE60

There is no succession programme at all it would seem. But, as stated earlier - replace with what?

The graphics attached suggest 'must try harder'

more here : http://www.ilevel.ie/tag/jnlr-20132

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

he was good years ago on tv doing his travel programmes but hes desperate on radio. sometimes youd nearly think hes trying to hard to put on an accent to outdo the healy raes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 shabba man

Hector is by far the best breakfast show Dj in the whole country. He is witty and imaginative. His presentation is flawless, he catches every ramp, and his timing is impeccable. His jokes are hilarious and it might seem to some listeners that he makes a few mistakes, but believe me his mistakes are always intentional, to keep the listener on their toes. All in all, the best radio find this decade - Sincerely, A. O Heochagain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Yeah, i did like colm and jim jim in the mornings, always changing stations every 60 seconds now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Mykola

If he lasts another couple of Months he will be the third longest serving host of the 2fm breakfast show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

Unfortunately, Irish radio stations seem to go for the lowest denominator rather than go for some genuinely funny intelligent presenters.

I liked Hector for the first couple of weeks.... then it started grating. EVerything was repeated ad nauseaum. The "weight of the baby, parish of the baby etc" was something I found pointless and with no entertainment value to anyone other than the parents of the child.

Maybe he is restricted with the format.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 comegowithme

The percentage who wish to see the back of Hector may be about to get their wish. Current rumour doing the rounds this week is of a certain 98fm presenter being lined up to take over the 2fm breakfast show.

What will become of his co-host, one wonders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

History will show that in the event of two breakfast presenters... One will get a permant job and the other will get a contract :p

Sorry couldn't resist!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭eoinkoenig

I think Eoghan McDermott should take over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭July Rain

eoinkoenig wrote: »
    I think Eoghan McDermott should take over.

Hello Eoghan

shabba man wrote: »
    Hector is by far the best breakfast show Dj in the whole country. He is witty and imaginative. His presentation is flawless, he catches every ramp, and his timing is impeccable. His jokes are hilarious and it might seem to some listeners that he makes a few mistakes, but believe me his mistakes are always intentional, to keep the listener on their toes. All in all, the best radio find this decade - Sincerely, A. O Heochagain
    You have clearly never listened to Ian Dempsey.

July Rain wrote: »
    Hello Eoghan

I'm not him, I just have the same name!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Listened to him in the car this morning, it made for hard listening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I can't even stand him in those "let yourself gooo" ads on telly. Can't imagine actively choosing to listen to him shouting down the radio at me at 7 in the morning!

If his listenership is revealed to be less than 100k in the next JNLR results then I wouldn't be surprised if he does call it quits. He may be a big name in Ireland, but I don't know if less than 150k listeners is enough.

The percentage who wish to see the back of Hector may be about to get their wish. Current rumour doing the rounds this week is of a certain 98fm presenter being lined up to take over the 2fm breakfast show.

What will become of his co-host, one wonders.

Is that actually true or just a rumour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭LeakyGee

He should call it a day
    Is that actually true or just a rumour?

This very rumour started here on boards

Dermot and Dave owe each other their success in radio. They will not be working separately.

In my opinion, Dermot is not a strong presenter on his own - Great co host but not a solo presenter. He left mornings on 98 because he did not want that shift anymore, so he's not going to be doing mornings any time soon.

2fm need to get D&D for drive.

LeakyGee wrote: »
    This very rumour started here on boards

Dermot and Dave owe each other their success in radio. They will not be working separately.

In my opinion, Dermot is not a strong presenter on his own - Great co host but not a solo presenter. He left mornings on 98 because he did not want that shift anymore, so he's not going to be doing mornings any time soon.

2fm need to get D&D for drive.

What about Will Leahy for Breakfast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

Sure. They could call it the Arrogant Alarm Clock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

I don't listen to 'Breakfast with Hector' as I feel it would cause brain damage. My heart goes out to those less fortunate.

withless wrote: »
    I don't listen to 'Breakfast with Hector' as I feel it would cause brain damage. My heart goes out to those less fortunate.

His strong Navan Accent is enough to give me a migraine.

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Yeah, i did like colm and jim jim in the mornings, always changing stations every 60 seconds now.

The Colm & Jim Jim Breakfast Show was axed a bit early, I must admit. I think it had the potential to remain on air for at least a year longer. Sadly the two fell out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

He hasn't been any good since he switched to Weekdays (not surprising seeing as he has a full time job as a Solicitor.)

Where did you get this information from?