Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE Soccer coverage.. Disgrace.

• 06-09-2013 8:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭

I infer from Dunphy's slurred speech, watery eyes and general demeanor that he is jarred. I could be wrong of course. Do you think someone on set broaches the topic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Best part of the feckin thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

chakademus wrote: »
    he is jarred.

Isn't that in his contract? A bit like Angus from AC/DC and the schoolboy outfit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

At least they tell it like it is. Would never hear ITV or the Beeb talking about their National Side that honestly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Best football panel ever... pure entertainment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭Gerry91

Streets ahead of the tripe on itv and BBC licking each others rear ends. Best part of the show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭chakademus

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    At least they tell it like it is. Would never hear ITV or the Beeb talking about their National Side that honestly.

I appreciate your point but I think I would prefer a more "objective" viewpoint the analysts. I used to love that Dunphy volatility with support from the Jiles rock of sense with poor Brady bouncin around between them.. but now it just seems depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

There the best football panel around, Honesty and entertainment. What more do you want?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭my my my

the ref was aginst ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Highlight of the night (apart from the first 15 minutes). Depressing crap football night - at least the panel stop us turning off at this stage.

Oh and on the comment about Dunphy being "under the influence" - is there anyone sober watching this :confused:

I appreciate your point but I think I would prefer a more "objective" viewpoint the analysts. I used to love that Dunphy volatility with support from the Jiles rock of sense with poor Brady bouncin around between them.. but now it just seems depressing.

Well to be fair, after this WC campaign and Traps managment, there's not much left to be objective about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Your thread is a disgrace.

Dunphy, Brady, Giles are legends.

Thread /

Brady sounds jarred too - this is great. By the way Dunphy is right about the reason we got to Germany - Dunne in Moscow - plain and simple - no way would we have been there without him - listening to him (Dunne) now I nearly think he can do it again :P:D

its not like hes in the Dail bar, then voting on anything important , its part of the Dunphy magic .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

Fcuk off to the football forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Jake1 wrote: »
    its not like hes in the Dail bar, then voting on anything important , its part of the Dunphy magic .

Long live dunphy. Stupid thread is stupid. One thing your guaranteed from Ireland games is him with his magical way of putting things. Right or wrong I love the man and indeed his supporting cast. Sad that the main stage was not so enthralling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Your thread is a disgrace.

Well Bill, we have to take the thread on its merits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭nc6000

I was watching the Leinster game but saw the last 20 mins of the Ireland game. I think the panel discussion has been very entertaining, more so than the football.

Fcuk off to the football forum.

Chill.

Any ways my post was not regarding soccer per say but whether RTE question the fact that someone they pay good money to might be under the influence whilst doing his job. Again I add, this may not be the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Well Bill, we have to take the thread on its merits.

Thread has no merits!

I think all three are jarred, with Biiiiiiiiiiiiiiiillllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll not far behind them.

With a bar in the next room, would you blame them watching that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Dunphy does seem quite pissed now.

Thread has no merits!

People seem to be pretty sensitive about the mere question of Dunphy being sober or not, some even justify it as being part of the entertainment. If you don't mind me saying I think a thread discussing the appropriateness of a sports analyst being under the influence on live national television absolutely DOES have merits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Chill.

Any ways my post was not regarding soccer per say but whether RTE question the fact that someone they pay good money to might be under the influence whilst doing his job. Again I add, this may not be the case.

Any evidence to back up your accusation?

My accusation? :D Read my OP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 503 ✭✭✭dublinbhoy88

The more jarred they the better the entertainment

Maybe he took cold medicine before the show, its possible OP.

People seem to be pretty sensitive about the mere question of Dunphy being sober or not, some even justify it as being part of the entertainment. If you don't mind me saying I think a thread discussing the appropriateness of a sports analyst being under the influence on live national television absolutely DOES have merits.

We should take each match analyst on its merits.

My accusation? :D Read my OP.

No evidence so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Hardly watch pundits. Just forward past if I've recorded the game or make tea/sort out beer/ go the jacks if it's live.

Dunphy is a paid troll. With those huge wages, him and the others (bar the likes of Sadlier and Cunningham) should at least research the games and teams they comment on.

Making dumbass comments to shock people is not "telling it how it is". It's parochial and embarrassing.

The problem with the top level pundit model is that ex players are good at playing the game but not necessarily good at analysing it in wider terms so all you get is mongo, soporific sequences where they pick a goal and blame or praise somebody for it instead of talking about the game in more general, tactical terms.

It's a disgrace, they didn't even show the streaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Dunphy always sounds like that.

Stupid thread is stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Bill: Well it looks like we wont be going to Copocabana he he he.
    Eamon: No.
    Bill: That was awful depressing wasnt it?

Whats not to like?

Thread has no merits!

Ah now...er...er...er it's a er...er..er..good thread. A good thread. ...er...er...er *scratch ear* not a great er ... thread. A good thread, not er a great one.

Jeez people are so sensitive about Dunphy. I get the whole troll element of his presence on the panel. I'm just tired of the hackneyed dynamic is all. Tropic Thunder is on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

anncoates wrote: »
    Hardly watch pundits. Just forward past if I've recorded the game or make tea/sort out beer/ go the jacks if it's live.

Dunphy is a paid troll. With those huge wages, him and the others (bar the likes of Sadlier and Cunningham) should at least research the games and teams they comment on.

Making dumbass comments to shock people is not "telling it how it is". It's parochial and embarrassing.

The problem with the top level pundit model is that ex players are good at playing the game but not necessarily good at analysing it in wider terms so all you get is mongo, soporific sequences where they pick a goal and blame or praise somebody for it instead of talking about the game in more general, tactical terms.

your critique of pundits is correct - but wrongly applied to RTE.
    RTE is really good , it has decent analysis coupled with silliness - a perfect mix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,212 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Brutal thread...

The RTE punditry is by far the most interesting, informed, honest and entertaining that there is. The beauty of it is that the guys actually have a personality and can express themselves and talk honestly and passionately about the games whether you disagree with them or not. They are mostly usually right apart from Brady who basically must still have a taste of Traps cock in his mouth. Sill it's all part of the entertainment. Compare that to the bland sound bites, corney jokes and stating the bleedin obvious fest that you get with BBC & ITV especially. I usually watch MOTD with the sound off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

anncoates wrote: »

If you are watching these fellas for in depth tactical football analysis then you are doing it wrong. There are plenty of podcasts and radio shows with knowledgeable pundits who know what they are talking about, this panel is just for a bit of craic and entertainment and in my view they succeed on that count.

From the level of grumpiness on this thread I assume Ireland lost.

*goes to check score*

Strumms wrote: »
    Brutal thread...

The RTE punditry is by far the most interesting, informed, honest and entertaining that there is.

Yes, in your opinion.:D

your critique of pundits is correct - but wrongly applied to RTE.
    RTE is really good , it has decent analysis coupled with silliness - a perfect mix

True.

If you think Dunph calling a player shite is analysis, that is.

Jeez people are so sensitive about Dunphy. I get the whole troll element of his presence on the panel. I'm just tired of the hackneyed dynamic is all. Tropic Thunder is on.

This thread just went full retard ;)

WHOAH!! fecks sake

'if ye think its all over , it is now ...

WHOAH!! fecks sake

Exactly. Everyone know's Dunphy prefers Pepsi with his JD.

Boomtown Rats on Late Late - just saying:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,742 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I infer from Dunphy's slurred speech, watery eyes and general demeanor that he is jarred. I could be wrong of course. Do you think someone on set broaches the topic?

I want my soccer pundits all squeeky clean, ala Gary Lineker , with dry unfunny puns and boring irrelevant stats.

Go on Eamon , we love you , ya mad thing

WHOAH!! fecks sake

I love the Dunph. I'd just rather be on the beer with him than listen to him punditing. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭scriba

wow sierra wrote: »
    Oh and on the comment about Dunphy being "under the influence" - is there anyone sober watching this :confused:

Not anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,812 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

thebaz wrote: »
    I want my soccer pundits all squeeky clean, ala Gary Lineker , with dry unfunny puns and boring irrelevant stats.

Go on Eamon , we love you , ya mad thing

+1, here's what Roy Keane thinks of that crap;

http://yfrog.com/scaled/landing/862/dcftk.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

wow sierra wrote: »
    Brady sounds jarred too - this is great. By the way Dunphy is right about the reason we got to Germany - Dunne in Moscow - plain and simple - no way would we have been there without him - listening to him (Dunne) now I nearly think he can do it again :P:D

Not that plain and simple. That draw wouldn't have counted for anything if we had drawn any of the 6 games we won or lost any of the 3 we drew. That's 6 wins, 3 draws and only 1 loss in the 10 group games. And all along Dunphy was calling for the manager to be sacked and the panel were bemoaning the quality of our play.

What was on in Germany?