Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2013: Round 12 - Italian Grand Prix

• 06-09-2013 9:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭

I've no preview for this weekend's race at the moment, might try and throw something together later though. But with FP1 underway thought it best to get the thread opened up!

Big weekend for the championship. Vettel has opened a huge lead and is heading to tracks that he loves so the only hope for the championship is for him to stumble this weekend. I think that Hamilton should have enough about him to take some points off Seb this weekend but he really needs the Ferrari's and Lotus' drivers to get amongst the action and take some points of Vettel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭_rebelkid

Ferrari really messed up the end of FP1, just got Alonso out and Massa nearly piled into the back of him.

I think it's safe to assume that heads have rolled...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

That thermal cam on Di Resta's car is very cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Have BBC got this race no?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

_rebelkid wrote: »
    Ferrari really messed up the end of FP1, just got Alonso out and Massa nearly piled into the back of him.

I think it's safe to assume that heads have rolled...

I would have loved to see the 2 Ferraris smack into each other at the end of the pit lane.:D

At least Massa knows his brakes work at slow speed and when cold......:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

Yep.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

That thermal camera on the Force India is brilliant, fascinating to see the tyres light up going around corners and when the car stopped in the pits. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Andrew76 wrote: »
    That thermal camera on the Force India is brilliant, fascinating to see the tyres light up going around corners and when the car stopped in the pits. :cool:
    Just looked in here to post the same thing. I'd always thought they were exaggerating the supposed effects but it's clear from that imagery that they definitely weren't! Especially the marked difference between the loaded and unloaded tyres when cornering.

Thermal images are really interesting. The heat build up is really sharp, but quite even across the whole tyre. I think there's one pointing backwards on Maldonado's car as well.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Bit of a waste having it on Maldonado`s car since it wont make it past Turn 1 :pac:

Then we can catch him on the "Bollard cam" on the run off area, and see how far he flings it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Is Di Resta becoming the unluckiest F1 driver? Nothing going his way. Actually, was the crash in FP3 enturely his fault?

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

astrofluff wrote: »
    Actually, was the crash in FP3 entirely his fault?

I don't think so. It snapped just on turn in, which would suggest a suspension component let go. He did well to minimise damage; hit straight on the nose, so front suspension was ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Max_Charger

BBC saying brake failure for Di Resta incident

Yeah. Although they said front right, and I can't see how it would have happened. Unless Tom meant rear right... I need to watch the incident again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

This might seem a silly question, and I probably should ask it in some kind of tv forum but...

is anyone else having any trouble with the BBC broadcast. No matter what way I zoom the screen or change the size, I'm still missing the very edge of the screen. It's fine for most things but watching the F1, the times are hidden. I can see the edge of the time on left side of the screen but no names - it drives me mad.

I'm not the best with technology, so go easy on me of the answer is straight forward.

By the way... Di Resta angling for Ferrari move - again. I think someone needs to have a word with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭mrsoundie

Lawlesz wrote: »
    This might seem a silly question, and I probably should ask it in some kind of tv forum but...

is anyone else having any trouble with the BBC broadcast. No matter what way I zoom the screen or change the size, I'm still missing the very edge of the screen. It's fine for most things but watching the F1, the times are hidden. I can see the edge of the time on left side of the screen but no names - it drives me mad.

I'm not the best with technology, so go easy on me of the answer is straight forward.

By the way... Di Resta angling for Ferrari move - again. I think someone needs to have a word with him.

What are watching it on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Whippersnapper

They mentioned on Sky that the word in the paddock was that a Kimi deal to Ferrari is done. Quickly rebuffed but interesting all the same.

Less than a second covering the top 18. Then a gap of more than a second to the **** teams. Embarrassing.

I wonder does Max Chilton think it's tough driving his car. I imagine he says it is, but at such a sedate pace, I can't see how.

Also, Grosjean thinks the bumps are part of the track...

mrsoundie wrote: »
    What are watching it on?

Just on widescreen tv BBC 2. I googled it and t said something about the broadcaster setting up their output for HD or something? I was just wondering if anybody else has the problem. I've got option of 16/9 Zoom Up, 16/9 Zoom, 14/9 Zoom, 4/3 Format or Auto. And no matter which I choose, it cuts out part of the screen.

It is probably your set top box (either Sky or UPC) go into the setting for the box and change the output for the picture to 16:9 and you should be good. That is if you have a widescreen telly.

What in the name of jebus happened there?! Kimi out, Lewis out, Gros out...

I have only just picked my jaw off the floor

Looks like he aborted his last timed lap, Sutil held him up on his own timed lap, ,and ran out of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Expect Sutil to get a penalty for impeding Hamilton.

One upset Hamilton.

Lewis looked like he was just about holding it together there on the beeb, being very hard on himself

WOW..Lewis totally blaming himself and very emotional looking.

He really does wear his heart on his sleeve.

12th place grid start for him tomorrow

BBC's Lee McKenzie's interview with Lewis:

Lewis:
    "I drove like an idiot, worst I've ever driven"

Q Did Adrian hold you up on that lap?
    "Yes."

Q Why are you being so hard on yourself?
    " ..... I ....... just wasn't good today...."

Q What can you do tomorrow?
    " I'll try my best. We've been good in practice, so ....... I'll try"

Honda and McLaren to build the new NSX Sportscar in the next few years?

Martin Whitmarsh had a big smile on his face when he was presed by Suzie Perry about it.

Yipeeeee so.

Lewis sounded very disgruntled on Sky. Only one driver has ever won from below 10th on the grid at Monza.

mrsoundie wrote: »
    It is probably your set top box (either Sky or UPC) go into the setting for the box and change the output for the picture to 16:9 and you should be good. That is if you have a widescreen telly.

Fairplay mrsoundie, sorted. Thank you.

Anyone else think BBC are over doing it with the Horner interviews. Off work this week, and so getting to see all the practices, he's been interviewed after every session. Lewis very hard on himself, another reason for himself and Sutil to dislike each other as if things werent bad enough between those two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

What can they give Sutil as a punishment though?? It did look like he did hold up Lewis, gonna miss the shoot out between Lewis and Seb

Fairplay mrsoundie, sorted. Thank you.

Anyone else think BBC are over doing it with the Horner interviews. Off work this week, and so getting to see all the practices, he's been interviewed after every session. Lewis very hard on himself, another reason for himself and Sutil to dislike each other as if things werent bad enough between those two

They've done it with other TP's as well. First was Mike Gascoyne back in 2011. It gives a break to the monotony of practice, and it was interesting in between the qualy sessions.

Where did Hulkenbergs time come from?????

Hulk 3rd, Massa beat Alonso, mad qualifying session

Hulkenberg gets P3!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Grim.

stunning lap by Hulk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Alonso on the radio giving out that Massa is too far ahead for the tow and in the mean time, Massa bursts ahead and beats Alonso's time :D:D

lol gwan Rob and Felipe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Well, FCUK anyway.
    Prosession behind Vettle again tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

His team mate is down in 17th, it really is a small disgrace that he hasn't got a drive with a big team.

The only silver lining there for Hamilton is choice of tyres (I could be wrong) to start with.

So when will Ferrari announce the new gearbox for Felipe?

Grim. wrote: »
    So when will Ferrari announce the new gearbox for Felipe?

Don't forget engine change, drive through penalty, 1 minute stop go, and starting from the pit lane...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Good to see Hulk on the podium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    Alonso on the radio giving out that Massa is too far ahead for the tow and in the mean time, Massa bursts ahead and beats Alonso's time :D:D

Multi 34, oh right we don't need a code. We know what their up to (or suppose to be up to).

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

News just in Felipe Massa gets updated Ferrari for the rest of the season

Tomorrows race is already scripted, Vettel to storm off into the sunset, Webber bogs down on the line Alonso up to 2nd and stays there while Rosberg battles it up to 3rd.

Alonso is definitely not happy. Apparently walked into the press pit and walked straight out again. And before that, he reportedly said over the radio that his team were "all stupid".

Now, the real question is, when is Luca going to blow up?