Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Armed response in Cavan

• 05-09-2013 10:05pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,422 CMod ✭✭✭✭

This was posted to the 'Nationwide Checkpoints' page on Facebook a few minutes ago, anyone know what's going on?
    CAVAN
    Drivers stay well away from Bailieboro co cavan, all roads leading into town is closed, gardai everywhere, even the armed response unit, and the bomb squad, one dead and a siege on in a pub in town, possibly second person dead.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Few similar stories on Twitter. Nobody particularly reputable though yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Local scumbag shot his wife dead and didn't have the decency to shoot himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭SheldonC17

A man has appartently shot is wife and has now locked himself into a pub where there are hostages. Media not allowed to report as of yet.

SheldonC17 wrote: »
    A man has appartently shot is wife and has now locked himself into a pub where there are hostages. Media not allowed to report as of yet.

where did you hear that about media?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

All over now apparently. He has been captured or surrendered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

It's already over, he's been arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

well done to the aru

Already over? It went on for a few hours so how can you say already as if its no big deal?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

well done to the aru

Hard to say that given the scant news we have. For all we know they could've went in all guns blazing and there's 10 dead hostages and 1 arrested hostage-taker...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I know Northern Sound were told not to publish anything to social media. Sad situation. Rip

I seen on the Northern Sounf fb page about the media blackout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

It's still going on according to my friend who lives nearby.
    He said there was false information put out that it was ended.
    A lot of confusion as the area is sealed off.

Are the reports about the bomb squad being there true, Tayto?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I reckon the Anglo Celt will be getting a call from the gardai about pic they posted if blackout still in place.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,422 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Witchie wrote: »
    I reckon the Anglo Celt will be getting a call from the gardai about pic they posted if blackout still in place.

Why? Three uniformed gardai standing beside a patrol car looking bored?

There was an article on their site about the incident but it's been taken down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Media999

Still up on google search. Just a heading.

"Double tragedy in cavan"

Whos dead? Wife and Guard?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,857 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Media999 wrote: »
    Still up on google search. Just a heading.

"Double tragedy in cavan"

Whos dead? Wife and Guard?

Nothing on google

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,422 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

paddy147 wrote: »
    Nothing on google

Search for 'Anglo Celt' and it's the top result. Article itself is gone though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Sounds like a crazy situation, hope it's resolved without any further bloodshed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭vickers209

From google type :
    Double tragedy in cavan anglo celt
    and the forth story down but page has been took down when clicked
    Double tragedy in Bailieborough tonight - News ... - Anglo Celt
    www.anglocelt.ie/.../4017472-double-tragedy-in-bailieborough-tonight/‎
    42 mins ago - Gardaí sources have confirmed to The Anglo-Celt that a double tragedy has occurred in ...

Jeez, people on facebook will argue over anything. That Aisling one posting on the Anglo Celt page should really take a zanex and go to bed.

That Aisling one posting on the Anglo Celt page should really take a zanex and go to bed.

She seems classy...
    Thank you for that sensational headline over an hour ago! I've waited like an asshole here for details for over an hour!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 311 ✭✭Lbeard

A man has now locked himself into a pub where there are hostages.

Well, if he's a smoker he'll have to come outside for a fag at some point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

The anglocelt FB page seem to have taken down their feed on the story.

Smidge wrote: »
    The anglocelt FB page seem to have taken down their feed on the story.

Their actual website is also down too.

Anyone know if it is still on going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

Id say this is the most websie traffic they ever recieved and we are unintentionally DSOSing the server :P

Couple of people on the Nationwide checkpoints FB page are having a bit of a ding-dong about it. Few saying it is still ongoing and that he is on the loose atm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭FueledbyCoffee

Anglo Celt just updated their FB page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Good old fashioned hug of death.

I've family in Baileboro, must tell me mammy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

the usual over zealous idiots,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Cavan chap says to his mate 'what's happened to your wedding ring?', his mate goes 'the missus is wearing it this week' :D

WOW......really riveting stuff indeed..........................

ZZZZzzzzzzzzzz

Gardaí have said the incident in Bailieborough is ongoing, we do not anticipate any more updates tonight. We will report official gardaí statements when they are ready to make them in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

ZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzz

Gardaí have said the incident in Bailieborough is ongoing, we do not anticipate any more updates tonight. We will report official gardaí statements when they are ready to make them in the morning.

Would you prefer Fox News style reporting?

"We've got confirmed reports that it's a Muslim, Athiest, Lesbian male, in his 20's to 80's, armed with nuclear warheads and oil tankers. He's a guy that knew him 30 years ago, to give a statement of how odd he was."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Media999

ZZZZzzzzzzzzzz

Hopefully theres a few more deaths soon just to keep you entertained.

ZZZZzzzzzzzzzz

That's Irish "news" for you!
    "You'll get it tahmara, when decide which part of it ta tell ya"

CNN would have had 6 choppers ripping up the place with the best angles:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭FueledbyCoffee

As they have said it's on-going, this means it's not over and I think there may still be possibly hostages or explosives involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

As they have said it's on-going, this means it's not over and I think there may still be possibly hostages or explosives involved.

The gardai are still active in Bailieborough right now I can see one of the roadblocks from my house .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭shanered

Unbelieveble scenes jeff

"We've got confirmed reports that it's a Muslim, Athiest, Lesbian male, in his 20's to 80's, armed with nuclear warheads and oil tankers. He's a guy that knew him 30 years ago, to give a statement of how odd he was."

Actually that would be more interesting.

Maybe yer man up there in Cavan has a GE M134 Minigun and will start shooting at the gardai and their garda cars like hes Arnie in T2.....who knows???:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭redtapestyl

I heard there may be a dinosaur involved.

Unconfirmed reports of velociraptors at the scene.

The gardai are still active in Bailieborough right now I can see one of the roadblocks from my house .

Get the camera out,zoom in,take some pics and post them here.

I heard there may be a dinosaur involved.

NO......Not Barney...:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Get the camera out,zoom in,take some pics and post them here.

They have now switched off the sirens so all you will get is a picture of black . The only information I have now is facebook from people living in Bailieborough but I'm not going to post rumours off facebook .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Broadsheet.ie have the story on their site. They mustn't have got the memo on the media blackout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Charlie Bird is on his way up on a push bike with his camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Sponge25

Unrelated but the guards ripped me out of it on my way home in Bray. I have no record, was walking like everyone else and I didn't look or wasn't doing anything dodgy.

I said "Yas mustn't be busy if you're searching guys like me" and they said "Ah, we're searching everyone, a house got broken into" and I said "Lads yas don't think i'm breaking into houses do ya" and they said "no no, it's not that, we're just search all young lads" and I said "That's hardly legal, searching someone just because they're young" I didn't say it in a smart way like but they where very rough with me at first untill they realised I didn't do anything.

Like i'm not known to the guards, no record etc. and they were fairly sound but surely to god they can't just search my walk trough the mainstreet because i'm a certain age?

They have now switched off the sirens so all you will get is a picture of black . The only information I have now is facebook from people living in Bailieborough but I'm not going to post rumours off facebook .

Eh thats sound and not light.

Get the camera out,zoom in and take some pics to back up your eh "story"...:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Sponge25 wrote: »
    Unrelated but the guards ripped me out of it on my way home in Bray. I have no record, was walking like everyone else and I didn't look or wasn't doing anything dodgy.

I said "Yas mustn't be busy if you're searching guys like me" and they said "Ah, we're searching everyone, a house got broken into" and I said "Lads yas don't think i'm breaking into houses do ya" and they said "no no, it's not that, we're just search all young lads" and I said "That's hardly legal, searching someone just because they're young" I didn't say it in a smart way like but they where very rough with me at first untill they realised I didn't do anything.

Like i'm not known to the guards, no record etc. and they were fairly sound but surely to god they can't just search my walk trough the mainstreet because i'm a certain age?

They should have frog marched you to the squad car and give you a few digs with the batton for your cheek :D