Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donegal Garda facing dismissal.

• 04-09-2013 9:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭

A Garda who assaulted a man while off-duty could possibly face dismissal from the force even though the charge was struck out in court. The Garda who is described as an 'exemplary officer' was involved in a confrontation with a man which resulted in an assault. The man in question has previous run ins with the law.

While I believe that Gardaí should be treated the same as everybody else if they break the law and not resort to this kind of behavior when taunted, at the same time it sounded like the guy deserved a slap. In the article, it said that he asked the guy down a lane beside the hotel in whats sounds like a good ole fashioned straightner and the lad got a hidin' and decided to press charges!

What's the opinion on it? Was he right to give him a few slaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

madel wrote: »
    A Garda who assaulted a man while off-duty could possibly face dismissal from the force even though the charge was struck out in court. The Garda who is described as an 'exemplary officer' was involved in a confrontation with a man which resulted in an assault. The man in question has previous run ins with the law.

While I believe that Gardaí should be treated the same as everybody else if they break the law and not resort to this kind of behavior when taunted, at the same time it sounded like the guy deserved a slap. In the article, it said that he asked the guy down a lane beside the hotel in whats sounds like a good ole fashioned straightner and the lad got a hidin' and decided to press charges!

Nuff said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

No, even though the guy might be a troublemaker the Garda is obliged more than anybody else to uphold the law, the are made aware of this countless times during training.

That said, cnuts like yer man get away with too much and in dealing with people like this the Gardai get very little back up from the courts IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Samuri Suicide

The 'exemplary officer' in Donegal part made me laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭cometogether

Festy wrote: »
    Nuff said

No, not "nuff said". Nobody has the right to assault someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

He committed assault, he admitted committing assault, he avoided a conviction being recorded on his record, he was fined €1,000, and paid €5,000 in compensation.
    Hard one to call but I think losing his job as well would be a bit much.
    Transfer him to another area maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭madel

Red Kev wrote: »

That said, cnuts like yer man get away with too much and in dealing with people like this the Gardai get very little back up from the courts IMO.

Have to say I agree with this, I've seen gardaí abused off duty on numerous occasions. In fairness in this case, the judge dismissed it!

He hardly decked an upstanding member of the community :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

He hardy decked an upstanding member of the community :rolleyes:

do you want a garda or a vigilante?

i want the people who enforce the law to obey it to. i dont think thats an unreasonable thing to expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭cometogether

He hardy decked an upstanding member of the community :rolleyes:

So Gardai have the power to decide which members of society they can mete out a violent justice to do they? It doesn't matter who this guy was, the point is that you cannot assault someone because you perceive them as deserving it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

Red Kev wrote: »

true that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

Sounds like it was consensual to me...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

Generally speaking I don't think it is ever fair to take private action over dismissed criminal matters, like the whole John Terry FA sanctions after he was acquitted by the law.

There are exceptions of course. Like, I don't think OJ Simpson should hold down a job at an abused wives charity or anything ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

So let me get this right?

2 fully grown men decide to settle their differences up an alleyway, using the old fashioned fisty cuff method, .

Non garda, bit of a jack the lad comes off worse. Decides he got, "assaulted" and pressed charges.

Sounds unfair to me that the garda may lose the job, court costs, compo maybe, but to lose the job would be a bit much imo.

Anyone a source for the story?

folan wrote: »

i want the people who enforce the law to obey it to. i dont think thats an unreasonable thing to expect.

I want someone who deals with scum when the courts can't be arsed. So I guess vigilante it is. Knackers get away with to bloody much in this country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

how is it assault if both parties agreed to the fight ahead of time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

If it's not on Youtube it didn't happen.

*Judge Judy likes this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

I find it difficult that a Guard can enforce the law but yet fail to abide by it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭madel

SamHall wrote: »
    So let me get this right?

2 fully grown men decide to settle their differences up an alleyway, using the old fashioned fisty cuff method, .

Non garda, bit of a jack the lad comes off worse. Decides he got, "assaulted" and pressed charges.

Sounds unfair to me that the garda may lose the job, court costs, compo maybe, but to lose the job would be a bit much imo.

Anyone a source for the story?

Most of the papers have the same story. It was in the belfast telegraph that they mentioned the alleyway part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

Specialun wrote: »
    I find it difficult that a Guard can enforce the law but yet fail to abide by it.

I'm not sure about about Ireland, but consensual combat is not illegal in many places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Personally I don't think you should be kicked out of the force for something like that - assuming that's the story - especially if you're an asset to the force.

Fair enough though, if it's a more serious crime but for an affray like that, seems a bit harsh.

People have scuffles and it hardly makes you a hardened criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

He broke the law but then again who hasn't? The punishment should fit the crime he committed. But there's no way he should lose his job. He got into a scrap with a guy who then cried foul....the kind of guy who kicks and dog and then calls animal protection when it bites back.
    The garda should certainly be fined or whatever but why punish him for the rest of his life for this. Too many people call for people be fired from their jobs for transgressions that are totally unrelated or irrelevant. All the while others get to keep their jobs despite multiple offences. Footballers routinely beat people up, slap around their girlfriends, get caught speeding or drunk driving. Do they lose their stupid jobs? Hell no and the services of a guard are far more valuable and beneficial to society than a overpriced chav kicking a ball.
    So yeah, fine him, suspend him on half or no pay for a couple of weeks so he can go cool off then get him back to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

One batman please

I wonder did the boxing match have anything to do with a crime/Arrest that the guard had been involved with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I'm from the town this happened in. The scumbag thought he was a hard man, 'called out' the garda thinking he could take him, got a beating because he's a useless fat prick and them went and made a complain against the guard.

I'm glad the guard got off on the criminal case and I hope he's not sacked because of it. If truth be known, the entire town would love to get a slap at the scumbag criminal the guard hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Only a Guard when it suits people i suppose. Had the Guard got a hiding people would be wondering why the media reported as "off-duty Garda gets assaulted" stating why being an off-duty Garda has got anything to do with it, and if it wasn't an off-duty Garda nothing would have been mentioned in the media in the first place! Then again, the media probably wouldn't report it anyway, can't be giving the Gardai any positive press! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

The 'exemplary officer' in Donegal part made me laugh.

I've a brother who is a guard in Donegal. He says that there are no guards who were involved in the Morris tribunal currently still in the force in Donegal yet people like you continue with your 'tarring with the one brush' attitude to guards in Donegal. Things will never progress or move on when there are people with your level of ignorance about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Are they not trained to have self control and discipline?

Boombastic wrote: »
    Are they not trained to have self control and discipline?

Yea they're robots, even off duty when out their mates, robots, no emotions whatsoever:rolleyes:

Is that a no they are not trained in self control and discipline? Lucky he wasn't an armed garda.

He was off duty ffs!

We've heard many times here, that a Gardai is never off duty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

It was a toe to toe fight, he asked the guy did he want to settle it like men. He had the opportunity to say "no garda, I don't want to fight", but he chose otherwise.
    Garda should keep his job, no doubt

We've heard many times here, that a Gardai is never off duty

Then ya heard wrong! Or do really believe that they are robots who never sleep ,eat, have a night out and relax?

You're the one that keeps mentioning robots as if it's some sort of point?

Practicing self control and discipline is not being a robot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

You're the one that keeps mentioning robots as if it's some sort of point?

Practicing self control and discipline is not being a robot

His point is all gardai are human, believe it or not they experience the same things as us. The guy was obviously hassling the off duty officer, who was more than likely trying to enjoy a night out, which he is entitled to do without anyone abusing them.

Thank you.
    The guy has been punished enough.

Yes he is entitled to enjoy his night out without hassle. But when he saw the situation escalate, he should have removed himself from it - That's just common sense for most people, with or with training.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

A garda is never off-duty
    snubbleste: Are you on duty?
    garda: I'm on duty twenty-four hours a day
    Wonder if there was no cctv footage of the incident, would the outcome of the case be the same?

snubbleste wrote: »
    A garda is never off-duty

Wonder if there was no cctv footage of the incident, would the outcome of the case be the same?

According to the experts, that Garda lied to you :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Samuri Suicide

CJC999 wrote: »
    I've a brother who is a guard in Donegal. He says that there are no guards who were involved in the Morris tribunal currently still in the force in Donegal yet people like you continue with your 'tarring with the one brush' attitude to guards in Donegal. Things will never progress or move on when there are people with your level of ignorance about.

Regarding level of ignorance, I have lived in Donegal and have seen first hand what they are like. Ignorance is bliss as they say.

I like the fact that you straight away refer to the Morris Tribunal, where was that even mentioned in this thread?? IIRC that finished up around 2008..Maybe its you and your exemplary brother that need to move on..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Donegal Daily: garda-avoids-conviction-after-admitting-assault
    Indo says: hero-garda-faces-dismissal-after-admitting-vicious-assault

can we use that as an excuse if we get arrested? "Ah garda comeon sure you know the craic yourself,he was looking for action and he got it.You have emotions like us guarda..Im a human just like you"...yeah I can see that working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

Why not have both?

snubbleste wrote: »
    Indo says: hero-garda-faces-dismissal-after-admitting-vicious-assault

All the Indo is missing is the red top!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

It was a toe to toe fight, he asked the guy did he want to settle it like men. He had the opportunity to say "no garda, I don't want to fight", but he chose otherwise.
    Garda should keep his job, no doubt

We constantly read reports of judges saying you should walk away in that situation. A garda would know this much better than a member of the public. He chose not to do this in full knowledge garda have additional things to worry about that effect their jobs.

Completely his own fault for falling for this and rightly should lose his job. We all know one punch could have killed either men. If he was on duty and he saw two other men doing this would he just let them at it? He seems to think it is acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭DeadlyH83

I only read the opening post but IMO the guard is being wronged.
    These scum bags must love bumping into the guards on nights out and taunting them.
    Must be very hard for the guards to have a social life.
    The guard should have lied his way out of it cause we would all believe him not some skut and rightly so!

The Indo reports that he was with 2 other 'off-duty' Gardai the time. Why did they not drag him off home?

DeadlyH83 wrote: »
    I only read the opening post but IMO the guard is being wronged.
    These scum bags must love bumping into the guards on nights out and taunting them.
    Must be very hard for the guards to have a social life.
    The guard should have lied his way out of it cause we would all believe him not some skut and rightly so!

Perhaps you should read more.He was far from wronged.He had the boxing match so must now deal with the consequences