Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wasps, car doors and a six year old

• 03-09-2013 2:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭

hi,

so my youngest goes mad in back of car due to a couple of wasps, wife jumps out and yanks open door, hits car.

Could any of you give me a rough ball park estimate on how much it will cost to fix this poor geezers car.

DSCF7655.jpg

DSCF7657.jpg

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Paintless dent removal - had an almost identically placed one done recently for €50. If they called out to you maybe another €20-30 on top of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Looks fairly easy to fix. Is it your car?
    I'd try first with a hairdryer and a can of air. www.youtube.com/watch?v=ILVWPzO_swY
    If that doesn't work see if you can remove the arch lining and reach up to push dent out.
    If neither works, throw money at it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭tinner777

thanks lads, no its not my car, nice fella from Killarney, its a ford puma, his pride and joy

Sound so, in that case go with a pro.

lads i got this reply from him

"i brought it to my local mechanic he said
    the paint is broken so it has to be re sprayed
    so the whole panel has to be done
    so he reckons €40 for the exact colour paint and €130 for the labour
    can u ask your mechanic how much it will cost to spray the whole panel
    and the labour"

does this sound right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

tinner777 wrote: »
    lads i got this reply from him

"i brought it to my local mechanic he said
    the paint is broken so it has to be re sprayed
    so the whole panel has to be done
    so he reckons €40 for the exact colour paint and €130 for the labour
    can u ask your mechanic how much it will cost to spray the whole panel
    and the labour"

does this sound right

There's no way you'll get away with €130 labour to paint that! It's not as simple as painting one panel either. It's a very specialized job and not something an average joe mechanic would contemplate attempting - to get it matched and blended in with the rest of the car. If it's to be done properly, I would guess minimum €300-€400, perhaps more.

Having said that, I still think PDR would sort it out judging from the pics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Sounds like he knows it'll be a cheap PDR job an he's trying to screw you for money.

I had a paint job done recently, 1 wing and blending on the cheap and it cost me €330, so he's full of ****.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I get panels done for 150 each so not totally uncommon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

CianRyan wrote: »
    Sounds like he knows it'll be a cheap PDR job an he's trying to screw you for money.

I had a paint job done recently, 1 wing and blending on the cheap and it cost me €330, so he's full of ****.

My first impression of the pics was that the paint was damaged, I'd have tried PDR but thought the paint would crack once popped back out.

Don't forget that the other party can still go through insurance and they get to choose the repair option not the person who caused the damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I've had dings similar to that done in the past. If whoever does it knows what they're at there shouldn't be any paint damage afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Pride and joy?! its a bloody ancient ford puma! even if that were my car and its a hell of a lot nicer than that, Id just take E50 quid from you or whatever and get PDR...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Pride and joy?! its a bloody ancient ford puma! even if that were my car and its a hell of a lot nicer than that, Id just take E50 quid from you or whatever and get PDR...

It doesn't matter how much a car is worth for an owner to have pride in it, the owner may have had to save for years to get it, in fact I'd wish a lot more owners would take pride in their cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Its incredable the way this other car owner was demonised in all but a few posts above..

OP caused damage and while it may seem dear the car owner is entitled to have a top class job done - if it were me I would be on for the best possible finish, I see no reasons he should be expected to cut corners..

Pay up !!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I know a lad who crashed and destroyed his car when he went a bit crazy after a wasp flew into the car one day, car mounted the soft margin and flipped over a ditch. Horrible feckers they are, got stung last week by the winged beasts of satan.

well here's an update.
    Your man asked me to sort it, so got a well known mobile man to go and give a estimate. Is on google and has good reviews. Gave him and the repair men their respective numbers. Repair man phones him several times, no answer and no answer phone set up.
    Man with car goes to guards, i receive phone call from guards xmas week, i give guard number of man who was to assess car, he passes on number to man.

Man doesn't call the repair man and continues to not answer phone...

What next????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

just give him the €170 on a "final settlement" basis and be done with it

(I hate the "sure it's only an old car " stuff btw, had a guy hit my Taunus once who had that attitude.....)

If things gets tricky, just give him the number to your insurer. Let them handle it, it's their job and what you pay them for.
    First talk to your insurer and get their advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

well here's an update.
    Your man asked me to sort it, so got a well known mobile man to go and give a estimate. Is on google and has good reviews. Gave him and the repair men their respective numbers. Repair man phones him several times, no answer and no answer phone set up.
    Man with car goes to guards, i receive phone call from guards xmas week, i give guard number of man who was to assess car, he passes on number to man.

Man doesn't call the repair man and continues to not answer phone...

What next????
    Surprised the Gardaí would get involved in what is a civil dispute. Did you verify it was a genuine Garda acting an official capacity and not just yer man's mate trying to scare you into paying up in cash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭discodaveirl

I'd ring back the guard and explain the case that you've tried to make contact... If he doesnt want to answer let him not bother.... Let him get onto your insurance and you can say you tried to make contact to rectify but he wouldnt answer

he was in car when accident happened. Wife knocked on window to acknowledge that door had hit his car. He ignored her. 2 hours later he goes to guards with her car reg who contacts us to sort it out with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭discodaveirl

he was in car when accident happened. Wife knocked on window to acknowledge that door had hit his car. He ignored her. 2 hours later he goes to guards with her car reg who contacts us to sort it out with him.

Sounds like an ar53hole to me. Would go to guard and get him to try and make contact...