Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does The Irish Accent Work For Girls As Well As Guys Abroad?

• 03-09-2013 12:45pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 24

Girls don't quite understand how difficult it can be for an Irishman abroad. The accent attracts a lot of unwanted attention. Even if you're just there to have a laugh and drink with friends, we can find ourselves gently pushing aside interested women as we desperately try to wade ourselves through the crowd. Sometimes it is genuinely unbearable and we deserve some sympathy for what we have to put up with on a daily basis.

The constant "hair-flicking" is contagious amongst a group of women. The closed-eye pause, the touching/exposing of the neck. While other men are too busy running the obstacle course with the groups defensive girl in order to gain access to her friends, we don't have to do anything. At all. The accent is enough and women are instantly fascinated. It can be tiresome. Sometimes, we only want directions, or information on what train/bus to take home yet we have to endure this constant barrage of come-on's.

Do Irish women find that this is also the case abroad? Do you girls have to put up with this unpleasant attention as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

In before the Irish women are stuck up and ugly comments. I call shenanigans on that one having lived outside of the country for almost 9 years.

Not my accent but foreign fellas are usually pleasantly surprised by how much craic we are and our ability to have a laugh 'till it's the last man standing on a night out. That has attracted many a suitor in my day tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

It works if they're hot.

It doesn't if they're not.

Us men are a consistent bunch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I've never had anyone come on to me because of my accent, and I've been everywhere man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Having tits works for girls. The accent is irrelevant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

OP, are you just using us to research a badly framed essay question on Irish people and sex?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

American women become all moist and breathless and bate each other stupid in their rush to impale themselves on my Celtic greatness. They hear my East Limerick ("We're from Chounta Limerigg, junowhaddamane!!") brogue and conclude that I must be the skull of Brian Boru when he was a youngfella. Or something. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Brego888

I've never had anyone come on to me because of my accent, and I've been everywhere man.

Well the accent is no good if your face looks like it's been hit repeatedly with a shovel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Begorra, tis the akcent tha gets me all dem damp yokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭salacious crumb

I find that non Irish people can't understand a f*cking word I say :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Its a great conversation starter tbh... at least 5 or 6 times a night i get "oh your Irish"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

I prefer when people don’t realise that I’m Irish, as that way I generally get to have a normal conversation.

More often than not when someone realises I’m Irish, they’re delighted to trot out everything they know about Ireland (Guinness, U2, IRA…) and once they’ve reached the end of their knowledge of Ireland the conversation grinds to an embarrassed halt.

Its a great conversation starter tbh... at least 5 or 6 times a night i get "oh your Irish"

"No, I'm just happy to see you!" <badum-tish> ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

If I was an Italian lothario and a girl like Saoirse Ronan came up to me with her accent, I'd absolutely swoon, before serenading her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

I get people telling me to "Talk in Irish" to them. They mean in english but with the accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

A lot of girls who go abroad are ashamed of their Irish heritage and make sure to practice a good put-on American 'totes amazeballs babez' accent before they set off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

OK, it's about the "British" accent, but still funny

http://www.themorningnews.org/article/is-he-cute-or-is-he-british

A lot of girls who go abroad are ashamed of their Irish heritage and make sure to practice a good put-on American 'totes amazeballs babez' accent before they set off

Abroad? They do that in Borrisokane, for furk's sake. Totes awky dat's RIIIIIIIIIGGGGHHHTT!! ;)

Kruse wrote: »
    Do Irish women find that this is also the case abroad? Do you girls have to put up with this unpleasant attention as well?

Before I moved to Ireland, a girl with an Irish accent would definitely have sounded sexy. Now I am used to hearing Irish people everyday, to the point where I can tell the different accents apart, it makes no difference.

OK, it's about the "British" accent, but still funny

http://www.themorningnews.org/article/is-he-cute-or-is-he-british

Can I bum a fag? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

eh, I think you might be overestimating what lads look for in a woman tbh.

Oh my stars I met the perfect woman tonight, she had a gorgeous irish accent, reminded me of green fields on a rainy day

so did you spooge all over her jugs?

oh dear, no, what do you take me for? a man never kisses on the first date

riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiightio.

if a foreigner ever tells you he loves your accent, he's either a misty eyed son of an irish immigrant, ie a moron, or he's fixin' to get into your gaa themed knickers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Girls from Derry have beautiful accents

Leftist wrote: »
    eh, I think you might be overestimating what lads look for in a woman tbh.

Oh my stars I met the perfect woman tonight, she had a gorgeous irish accent, reminded me of green fields on a rainy day

so did you spooge all over her jugs?

oh dear, no, what do you take me for? a man never kisses on the first date

riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiightio.

if a foreigner ever tells you he loves your accent, he's either a misty eyed son of an irish immigrant, ie a moron, or he's fixin' to get into your gaa themed knickers.

Who are you talking to? Can't see who you're replying to here. Very strange.

--Kaiser-- wrote: »

nah, the northern accent on a woman, or anyone really is horrific.

On a woman it sounds like a cat trying to tune a bango.

Appalachian Clawhammer or Five-Finger Pluckin'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭markomuscle

depends what irish accent, do you really think a woman from cavan is going to melt a foreign mans heart with her sound?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭markomuscle

what northern accent? north coast, belfast, derry, border region, mid-ulster?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Have you heard Nadine Coyle speak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Is the OP one of the guys in that beer ad from some years ago?

Or the one from Meteor? Eres sin hogar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

OP, the problem lies in that you're ridiculously good looking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

I'm constantly asked to just say things over here in the states, it's getting really annoying. I'm also corrected constantly when I say things in proper English rather than ****ty american. Also it's kinda weird that I've been called english a lot because of my Galway accent.....

I get asked if I'm Scottish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Where do ya keep the sex ties?

- Im sorry?

The sex ties....... ya said ya liked to use 'em. Where are they?

- :confused:

- OH TOYS! :D

I get asked if I'm Scottish.

Then don't go missing when it's your round!

what northern accent? north coast, belfast, derry, border region, mid-ulster?

the whole area. the twangy one from further north is the worst of the bunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 NYC2013

Its brilliant to have an Irish accent here in New York, lived in Sydney for 3 years before this and the locals are kind of sick of us there to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭bridget84

I was constantly chatted up by American men while living there, every day without fail. Whether it was my accent or that I'm drop dead gorgeous, or possibly that they are confident in approaching women I don't know.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

That has attracted many a suitor in my day tbh.

How 1954 of you ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

No, their fanny does

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 24 Kruse

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Have you heard Nadine Coyle speak?

The way she speaks is the least of my interests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭PingO_O

jimgoose wrote: »
    American women become all moist and breathless and bate each other stupid in their rush to impale themselves on my Celtic greatness.

Are you one of the rubber bandits?! I just got an image in my head of one of them banging out a sentence like that.:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

Just being white and speaking English is enough over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Faz6r

my cousin once had an accident, a strong kerry accident
    and she said all the guys wanting to hold her hand was crazy
    from gardai to firemen to ambulance guys to helicopter rescue to doctors
    now girls you know what to do, just slabber on makeup, undo top 2 blouse buttons, and pretend you hurt your cankle :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

Lolz ... apart from the accent, of all the typical facebook pics of irish lasses abroad over beyond in Australia... esp the beach group pics, the irish lasses still insist on wearin their county gaa jerseys over a pair of shorts, while arms round English/Australian chicks in bikinis... lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

flanum wrote: »
    Lolz ... apart from the accent, of all the typical facebook pics of irish lasses abroad over beyond in Australia... esp the beach group pics, the irish lasses still insist on wearin their county gaa jerseys over a pair of shorts, while arms round English/Australian chicks in bikinis... lol

*Shudder*

Nothing worse than seeing a big wan in a Meath jersey, emblazoned with Tayto Park, hanging out of some suntanned Aussie :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

I find that non Irish people can't understand a f*cking word I say :pac:

That may constitute an advantage in your case...... :P

conorhal wrote: »
    That may constitute an advantage in your case...... :P

It does indeed :pac:

PingO_O wrote: »
    Are you one of the rubber bandits?! I just got an image in my head of one of them banging out a sentence like that.:pac:

Sort of. I'm actually Thomas Bangalter on hiatus. :cool:

flanum wrote: »

Very same thing could be said for Irish fellas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Ah sure we're all dead sexy though.

I have a recurring nightmare. I'm in my favourite little hole-in-the-wall restaurant on the main street in Antibes, after a hard days strolling out into the Med on the old Moorish wall, shopping, popping over to Cannes in the hired Merc, the usual sort of thing. It's about seven o'clock, the place is nearly empty and I'm just sipping the house red and pondering the possible merits of the duck confit over lobster thermidor while Louis, the guv'nor, chats amiably about his kids, business, all the oul' news since last time, etc...

Then the door bursts open, a half-dozen semi-evolved simians with Tipperary jerseys on 'em, "How's the goan! I could ate a horse, horse! Six pints a Heiners there sham! Ah Jaysis Jim, there you are biyeen!! We're all goan on da piss!!". <Groan>...

It is at this point that I wake up, in a cold sweat and usually screaming. :eek: