Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

favourate music while cycling.

• 02-09-2013 10:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭

music while you cycle have you any favourates.
    me well i'm old school
    led zeplin 11and111
    dylan blood on the tracks.
    planxty return concert.
    jeff wayne, war of the worlds,
    but to name a few.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,967 ✭✭✭De Bhál

The sound of silence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭CardinalJ

De Bhál wrote: »
    The sound of silence

Never thought of listening to Simon & Garfunkel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭monkeyslayer

Not 'really' music but Mark Kermode's and Simon Mayos film podcast, and the Guardians biweekly Football weekly...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

De Bhál wrote: »
    The sound of silence
    hah thats brilliant.great post.:D:D

i heard tyler hamiltons new audio book is fantastic must sus it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭detones

When using the turbo I like to listen to the most mental dance music mix I can find on YouTube or from some dodgy old CD's.anything to help me get through the torture session. was pumping along with my hands in the air listening to some tune with the line "throw you f@ckin hands up, throw your f@ckin hands up" last week with the turbo in the shed.

As for while cycling itself I think it's not on to be honest. You need all the sences you have to ensure your best chance of survival on our roads.

ah i don't think its dodgy i've been listening to music since the sony walkman days,you just have to be weary and dont be silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Mechanic365

I find when im cycling solo i need da tuneage...
    I listen to Tiestos club life on soundcloud, its not everyones cup of tea but anyways it goes on for an hour to 2 hours and is prefect for 30-60km spins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

La Mer, Via Con Me, Tu Vuo Fa Americana, that kinda thing. Though not in the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

music while you cycle have you any favourates.
    me well i'm old school
    led zeplin 11and111
    dylan blood on the tracks.
    planxty return concert.
    jeff wayne, war of the worlds,
    but to name a few.:cool:

I don't listen to music on my cycles; but always end up singing for some odd reason.

Had some lads on a training spin one day come up from behind just belting out the tune I was singing and joined me for a wee while before we parted company - sound mad lads :)

Interesting soundtrack there though, but yeah 'Sound of Silence' was a nice reply!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

kerry4sam wrote: »
    I don't listen to music on my cycles; but always end up singing for some odd reason.

Cycling through France and singing my mother's old favourite -

Quatre-vingt, quatre-vingt, quatre-vingt chasseurs
    Dans le lit de la marquise!

in an atrocious accent, I'd completely forgotten that French people understand, well, French...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Depends on the route, if it's interesting enough I won't bother with music.

On the coast road where it's a bit monotonous, I like some heavy hitting stuff, get the blood pumping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭rob180

A dance version of "Ride like the wind" not sung by Christopher Cross though, i hum it in my head when i cycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Enjoy The Silence

Depeche+Mode+-+Enjoy+The+Silence+-+12%22+RECORD%2FMAXI+SINGLE-379413.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

the sweet sound of rolling rubber

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

Dull and serious though my response is, I think all one's senses should be as far as possible unimpeded cycling. So definitely no music on the roads for me. If I had an exercise bike it'd probably be more on the electronic lines - Kraftwerk's Tour de France album maybe out of some kind of loyalty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

La Mer, Via Con Me, Tu Vuo Fa Americana, that kinda thing. Though not in the city.
    Do you get your hair cut in the Waldorf? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

detones wrote: »

As for while cycling itself I think it's not on to be honest. You need all the sences you have to ensure your best chance of survival on our roads.

Even taste? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Rule #62// You shall not ride with earphones.

Cycling is about getting outside and into the elements and you don’t need to be listening to Queen or Slayer in order to experience that. Immerse yourself in the rhythm and pain, not in whatever 80′s hair band you call “music”.
    See Rule #5 and ride your bike.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Listening to music would kill a lot of the enjoyment of cycling for me. I never listened to music running and I've even stopped listening to music out walking. You'd be amazed at how much you miss.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭rab!dmonkey

Anything with a moderate tempo really; pretty much anything apart from the likes of Coldplay and Sigur Rós.
    LCD Soundsystem
    The Prodigy
    Rory Gallagher
    Ennio Morricone
    and some punk on the side

So long as you keep the volume reasonable and don't wear anything with too much isolation, you can still hear plenty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

I like Drum & Bass - the beats match the cadence and are lively enough to get you started, while the music is soothing enough for it not to be a full on aural assault. Only when the weathers bad though, its cathartic I suppose. When its good I don't like to bring music at all.

Heavy Metal and Tiesto ? Now that would be a sufferfest indeed :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Ice cream van at Viewpoint.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

I don't listen to music while out cycling, but tend to have a tune going on in my head much of the time. On the turbo anything loud and fun; Dead Kennedys, the Fall, Moldy Peaches, etc...

bazermc wrote: »

Cycling is about getting outside and into the elements and you don’t need to be listening to Queen or Slayer in order to experience that. Immerse yourself in the rhythm and pain, not in whatever 80′s hair band you call “music”.

Lets remind ourselves the rules where complied by a bunch of Australians for whom getting out in the elements usually means smooth tarmac roads and sunshine.

Although they are spot on about Slayer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

detones wrote: »

Indeed, I often smell and taste the road..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

mloc123 wrote: »

Well if you smell cow sh!te you know to close your mouth, if you can taste it it's too late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭jimbo28

Progressive Romanian trance with a bit of the Saw Doctors thrown in:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

mloc123 wrote: »

I regularly depend on my sense of superiority.

Oh, and comic...

:cool:

...timing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

bazermc wrote: »

how do team radios fit in with this rule then?

don't listen to music while out, the wind noise gets way too annoying

how do team radios fit in with this rule then?

don't listen to music while out, the wind noise gets way too annoying

Who knows, i didnt write the rules :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

In my more youthful days when I didnt care about safety i listened to music. I would shuffle the tracks so anything could come on like gladiator soundtrack or arcade fire.
    Some songs suited the scene...like the Sally Gap during winter and Andrea Bocelli music suited it perfectly.

Nowadays i dont listen to music as i think its too dangerous as i tend to weave when i look behind when im tired.

Its not unsafe if you keep the volume at a certain level.

It seems to upset motorists though, for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭rab!dmonkey

Did you search for the worst quality vid of TdF on purpose?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Can I just say: **** the rules, seriously, **** them

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

In my more youthful days when I didnt care about safety i listened to music. I would shuffle the tracks so anything could come on like gladiator soundtrack or arcade fire.
    Some songs suited the scene...like the Sally Gap during winter and Andrea Bocelli music suited it perfectly.

Nowadays i dont listen to music as i think its too dangerous as i tend to weave when i look behind when im tired.

Listening to music makes you tired? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

I would if the silly earphones stayed in my ears :D

Carpenter wrote: »

You need to get those in ear head phones

http://www.argos.co.uk/m/static/Product/partNumber/1075388/c_1/1|category_root|Technology|33006169/c_2/2|33006169|iPod+and+personal+audio|33008472/c_3/3|cat_33008472|Headphones+and+earphones|33012895.htm

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I like to listen to podcasts of radio shows on the longer spins. Second Captains, Off the Ball, some of the other Newstalk shows have some good shows too. For a spin of an hour I'd listen to some Rock'N'Roll, I'd like to listen to the radio but my MP3 player can't pick up a signal down here (Waterford) as soon as you leave the city boundaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

L'enfer du Nord Paris-Roubaix
    La Cote d'Azur et Saint Tropez
    Les Alpes et les Pyrennees
    Derniere etape Champs-Elysees
    Galibier et Tourmalet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭slap/dash

i tend to sing/hum awful disco or 70s rock to myself when the climb is killin me...the latest is free - all right now. mainly the line "lord above.." i have no idea either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭GMCI

Metallica S&M , mixing the heavy metal with some mad orchestral stuff. does the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

BX 19 wrote: »
    L'enfer du Nord Paris-Roubaix
    La Cote d'Azur et Saint Tropez
    Les Alpes et les Pyrennees
    Derniere etape Champs-Elysees
    Galibier et Tourmalet

En danseuse jusqu'au sommet
    Pedaler en grand braquet
    Sprint final a l'arrivee
    Crevaison sur les paves
    Le velo vite repare
    Le peloton est regroupe
    Camarades et amitie

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

*heavy male breathing*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭DubVelo

Carpenter wrote: »

Ah who needs earphones, I remember this West Indian fella who passed me in Londinium a few evenings with front and rear wicker baskets, a big speaker in each one pumping out lovers rock reggae. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭BofaDeezNuhtz

A gentle mix of 90's Classics, some Trance, some assorted House, Loads of Electro,
    tiny bit of Fidget, some Hardcore/Gabber, 1 Breakbeat song, cupla good Moombahton wans,
    tiny bit of Glitchhop, a sh1tload of Dubstep and a smattering of Trapstyle.

When I did. Don't now unless indoors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

You should be paying attention to what's going on around you instead of listening to music.

aujopimur wrote: »
    You should be paying attention to what's going on around you instead of listening to music.

Why cant you do both ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Depends on my mood...

Today I listened to a mix of Portugal. The Man, The Wombats, Passion Pit, The Naked and Famous, Calvin Harris, Ellie Goulding, CHVRCHES and Deadmau5 during my spin.