Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most Economical Diesel Car

• 02-09-2013 4:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭

Hello,

I'm looking to buy a diesel car with the best MPG possible within my price range.

I have e5,000 to spend, it doesn't have to be a large car but it can be - any suggestions?

Distance travelled wise, about 15k km a year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Kevin! wrote: »
    Hello,

I'm looking to buy a diesel car with the best MPG possible within my price range.

I have e5,000 to spend, it doesn't have to be a large car but it can be - any suggestions?

What sort of driving do you do? Is it mostly motorway? Do you stick to 120kmph on the motorway?

Have you factored in tax?

Have you worked out the cost of fuel per week or month on a car doing 50mpg vs say 40mpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Kevin!

colm_mcm wrote: »
    What sort of driving do you do? Is it mostly motorway? Do you stick to 120kmph on the motorway?

Have you factored in tax?

Have you worked out the cost of fuel per week or month on a car doing 50mpg vs say 40mpg

I'm currently driving an S40 1.8 Petrol 2005, which is quite heavy on petrol.

It's mainly city driving with the odd motorway, hoping to minimize tax too so the smaller the engine the better unless it severely impedes the mpg

Consider a Prius

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-prius-hybrid/5440517

What mpg is the s40 actually getting? How much do you spend on petrol?

Consider a Prius

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-prius-hybrid/5440517

What mpg is the s40 actually getting? How much do you spend on petrol?

Spend about 50-70 a week on petrol, depending

So for your average (15,000/52) week you're doing 288km and spending €60?

That's 22mpg, which sounds a bit high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

So for your average (15,000/52) week you're doing 288km and spending €60?

That's 22mpg, which sounds a bit high.

Not excessively high for city driving to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,655 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I'm currently driving an S40 1.8 Petrol 2005, which is quite heavy on petrol.

It's mainly city driving with the odd motorway, hoping to minimize tax too so the smaller the engine the better unless it severely impedes the mpg

Think a modern diesel is not a great idea with all that city driving. Perhaps smaller petrol model would suit. Also factor in cost to change unit Amy potential savings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Anything without a DPF would be grand. Something like an older XUD powered Citroen/Peugeot. Sooner sit in one of those rather than a piddly little micra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

A Prius or Civic IMA would be more suitable than a diesel for the OP imo.

media?xwm=y&id=bcd18d2f-c5df-42c2-8dc3-5016f49b5e3a&width=400&height=300
    http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Honda/Civic/1.4-AUTO/37313779519218900/

That ima is very well priced bazz,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Tipp North reg being sold in the big Smoke? :D

God damn, what's the world coming to ?

People recommending Prius in the motors section of boards.ie, what next Electric cars ? oh christ !!!

sSig_lol.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭reni10

I just got a prius and went from about 25mpg in my 1.8 petrol to about 53mpg on mostly motorway driving on a long commute.

City driving using the pulse and glide method of driving the prius and I have been up in the low 60mpg range so for what you are looking for I don't think you will get a better mpg in anything else for about 5k.

God damn, what's the world coming to ?

People recommending Prius in the motors section of boards.ie,

In this case it would actually make sense :D

In this Diesel obsessed Island it's hard to convince people that diesel isn't always best.

My 07 Prius has travelled 104,000 miles with 0 faults. And I can still get 60-64 mpg or herself gets 53 not giving a crap about economical driving.

Prius isn't the most exciting, nicest car to own/drive but it's one of the most reliable and cheap to run you'll find and the MK II does better mpg than most new diesels of similar size and power and with 10 year old Hybrid technology.

The MK III should be better, it's certainly nicer and better to drive.

In this case it makes so much sense alright, and its automatic.

It makes sense in most cases Colm ! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

BX 19 wrote: »
    Anything without a DPF would be grand. Something like an older XUD powered Citroen/Peugeot. Sooner sit in one of those rather than a piddly little micra.

I couldn't care less that mine becomes an absolute monster on diesel in rush hour traffic, its a lovely place to be. Isn't that what a car should do, make your time spent in it enjoyable?

dgt wrote: »

I couldn't care less that mine becomes an absolute monster on diesel in rush hour traffic, its a lovely place to be. Isn't that what a car should do, make your time spent in it enjoyable?

I have just the car for you....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I have just the car for you....

Out of room I'll pass :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Geomy

1.4 d4d corolla does around 61-65 mpg

I live in the Burren, drive to work in Limerick, so I have a mix of country and city driving. ...

That's 7 mpg more than Toyota claimed in the brochure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

I had a 1.6 diesel 307 which averaged around 55mpg. It was the 90bhp model and I believe another boardser owns it now...

Considering a Prius, would there be much issue with buying an 04 one with 100+k mileage? How long is the battery designed to last for?

No issues with high mileage Prius, mine is now at 104,000 miles, no issues what so ever.

They are known to go well over 300,000 miles, battery should easily last 300,000 miles. One of the advantages of having the electric motor to supply the torque to help the engine, takes a lot of load off the engine.

No timing belts either.

As always check for full service history, take one for a good spin, they are not for trashing, and they are not for everyone. But you won't find a cheaper to run and own car at that price.

The MK III Prius is a lot better, but the MK II is cracking good value simply because they last so long and give very little if any trouble.

My average is usually 4.4-4.5 ish mixed motorway and national 80-120 kph, and in commuter traffic so sometimes N7 traffic doesn't go beyone 80-100 kph but in traffic you're laughing as you're engine is off while the diesel lovers mpg is dropping like a stone.

My GF averages 5.3 on the motorway mainly 120 kph, she doesn't try tricks like pulse and glide etc and goes nuts is I try show her, so that has to be the worst you'll get, if you're at lower speed traffic etc you will get better. But she is on the M9 carlow bypass to Kilkenny and back so not much traffic and mainly motorway.

4.1L/100km = 68.9 mpg.

This is what I averaged over 108 kms yesterday at speeds between 60-100 kph, non main roads. Some hills, lots of potential for regen, pulse and glide trick and using the energy in the battery.

IMG_20130902_211712_zps812f40ae.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

I drove many of them inc one with 232000 Irish miles on it ...... Perfect.

I also don't agree with mad lad on one thing,

I find the gen ll 2004 to 09 much more comfortable than the current model, I have one of each to hand at the moment, I also don't find the later model more economical .

These Prius plus landcruisers are the only toyotas available here that are still built in Japan ....never give much trouble.

Bigus wrote: »

I also don't agree with mad lad on one thing,

I find the gen ll 2004 to 09 much more comfortable than the current model, I have one of each to hand at the moment, I also don't find the later model more economical .

No the seats are not the best. But a cushion helps a lot.

I can't comment enough on the MK III for comfort or reliability as I only had a 30 odd min spin in it.

But if it's not (More) economical I don't necessarily think that's bad because it has a noticeable amount of extra poke which I found nice.

I'd still like one for a day or two for a test.

These Prius plus landcruisers are the only toyotas available here that are still built in Japan ....never give much trouble.

Far as i know the urban cruiser, iq and rav4 are also brought from Japan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Far as i know the urban cruiser, iq and rav4 are also brought from Japan.

Ok I'll be more precise next time and say only toyotas brought in to Ireland in any sort of numbers, that are still built in Japan.

They sold 5 times as many Rav4s than Prius's

1 iQ and 3 urban Cruisers sold all year :eek:

Hardly surprising given the price of them. Had an UC as a company car, nice yoke but bout €6000 overpriced.

They sold 5 times as many Rav4s than Prius's

1 iQ and 3 urban Cruisers sold all year :eek:

Hardly surprising given the price of them. Had an UC as a company car, nice yoke but bout €6000 overpriced.

How much is an IQ ?

About €16000, its not even on their website anymore. They used to do proper spec ones with aircon and 1.3 models, but all there is on carzone is the base model now. They were hitting €20 grand for some models when I was (not) selling them

A Fiat 500 is a lot cheaper.

About €16000, its not even on their website anymore. They used to do proper spec ones with aircon and 1.3 models, but all there is on carzone is the base model now. They were hitting €20 grand for some models when I was (not) selling them

A Fiat 500 is a lot cheaper.

16K ? jesus, for that tiny yoke ? I'd rather a corsa !

That sounds to me that they thought city people would buy it and not think that a normal car costs the same and you can fit 4-5. Car companies must think people are stupid.

20 K is absolute madness, you'd expect a modern car to have at least A/C as standard these days.

At the time, the uk model had AC standard and also the lovely 1.33 dual vvti engine wasn't at as much as a premium.
    I think the fact that its built in Japan made it very dear, exchange rates back then didn't favour imports from Japan either. Then you had toyota Ireland being greedy

Don't know about now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

housemate has an '08 Peugeot 207 1.6 hdci and he gets mental fuel economy. 50+ mpg easy with mostly sub-urban driving. His tax here in the north is £30 a year aswell due to low emissions.

50 + mpg from a 207, I'd be expecting 60+ for the diesel Especially in a small 207

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Ok I'll be more precise next time and say only toyotas brought in to Ireland in any sort of numbers, that are still built in Japan.
    It doesn't make much difference nowadays weather a Toyota is built in Japan instead of elsewhere because even the Japanese built models now suffer from cost cutting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

50 + mpg from a 207, I'd be expecting 60+ for the diesel Especially in a small 207

he is actually sitting around that region alright, ~60mpg (I wrote +50mpg because I wasn't certain, but I checked now). it sickens me how infrequently he needs to go to the filling station. It's really a very very efficient car, above and beyone prius teritory.

Yeah...until the turbo goes bang :P

I get 60-64 mpg in the Prius MK II. And it's a lot bigger and has more power and being Automatic that economy is pretty good and with 10 year old technology.

Sure there are diesels like the new Clio that will probably beat it, I would like to try.

There are hybrids like Audi A3 E-tron that will likely trash all but fully electric cars, but at a starting price of 38,000 Euro's mainland prices, VRT will still have to be paid.

Tesla are sure laughing their heads off at the pathetic attempt of the upcoming German EV's.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

Go for the 1.4hdi in the Citroen C3 / C2, ford fiesta or Peugeot 207. Great mpg + 20,000km service interval.

68 hp, are you mad ? 13-14 second 0-100 kmh

Jesus a Prius MK III on LPG would have twice the power and be nearly twice the size and be nearly twice as cheap to run !

Is there no end to the Diesel madness at all ? What will people do for the sake of economy. Christ even I have my limits. !

Sure I like electric but they are great to drive, range limitations are real but you won't buy it if it won't work for you, but fast charging or charging at destination wouldn't be difficult for me.

Driving electric would be far far nicer and a lot more fun than a 68 hp slow as hell tiny rattle box diesel, Jaysus !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Jesus a Prius MK III on LPG would have twice the power and be nearly twice the size and be nearly twice as cheap to run !

Is there no end to the Diesel madness at all ? What will people do for the sake of economy. Christ even I have my limits. !

Sure I like electric but they are great to drive, range limitations are real but you won't buy it if it won't work for you, but fast charging or charging at destination wouldn't be difficult for me.

Driving electric would be far far nicer and a lot more fun than a 68 hp slow as hell tiny rattle box diesel, Jaysus !

I'd actually wager you could have a lot more fun potentially in any of the cars above than you would with a prius.

Is there no end to all this battery madness :pac:

I'd actually wager you could have a lot more fun potentially in any of the cars above than you would with a prius.

Hmmmm, got me there, lad. :p

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Is there no end to all this battery madness :pac:

Yeah but come on, Drive a Leaf and then a C3, Fiesta 68 hp diesel and tell me the Leaf won't make you smile !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Yeah but come on, Drive a Leaf and then a C3, Fiesta 68 hp diesel and tell me the Leaf won't make you smile !

But surely that's smugness and not joy.

No, Seriously go drive one.

Not saying it's a fast car, it certainly takes off very quick.

Electric is a completely different experience, the instantaneous power delivery makes for a very enjoyable experience. Having that torque immediately at any speed is also addictive.

Chevy spark would be even more fun.

Tesla Model S, one can only dream !

None of the above would put a smile on my face tbh.