Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin 8 parents - Do you know where your children are?

• 01-09-2013 8:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

For the last 2 nights children have been slapping on my window and trying to kick my door in. They are around 10 years old give or take 2 years. I would have thought they would be at home at this time with it being Sunday and 9.20 pm.

If you are living in the area and your children are not at home at the moment, please ask when they do arrive home where have they been and what they have been up to.

Next weekend I'll be calling the guards as I've now become a target.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I told you last night.....NO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

Not only Dublin 8

last night on O'Connell street @10.30pm kids that age loitering outside shop on bikes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Oh can we please have a recording of that conversation when you mention to the guards that the 10 year olds are targeting you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

I've never understood why you are not allowed clatter the sh1t out of kids that either throw stuff at your house repeatedly or slap the windows repeatedly.

wazky wrote: »
    Oh can we please have a recording of that conversation when you mention to the guards that the 10 year olds are targeting you?

What would you do in that situation? Seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

omahaid wrote: »

Classical music (Chopin, Mozart) generally has a warding-off effect, as does an attitude of utter calm; they go away and find someone who gives them better feedback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Why are you a target, can you not defend yourself against kids, serious question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Wow...the amount of victim blaming in this thread.

Be brave OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Bit silly to suggest that parents ask where their kids where. If they're scummy enough to act the way you've described, I'd imagine they'd have no qualms about lying about where they were.

That said, do call the police if it continues. You shouldn't have to deal with that shíte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

They are around 10 years old give or take 2 years.

So they could be 8 year olds or 12 year olds??

Couldn't you go out and tell them to fuck off?? - Serious question btw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭fathead82

have you an upstairs window directly over the door? a bucket of cold water tipped out onto them will sort them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭GoldenLight

Not only Dublin 8

last night on O'Connell street @10.30pm kids that age loitering outside shop on bikes

Generally that is what kids do loiter, they hang around places, more concerned with their social group, rather than seeing how they appear to others, it's called being a teenager and has being going on for ions. Mind you 10:30 is abit late.

Hide indoors and bitch about it on the internet!, that will help your situation leaps and bounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

I know im too late but still

For the last 2 nights children have been slapping on my window and trying to kick my door in. They are around 10 years old give or take 2 years. I would have thought they would be at home at this time with it being Sunday and 9.20 pm.

If you are living in the area and your children are not at home at the moment, please ask when they do arrive home where have they been and what they have been up to.

Have you tired talking to the 10 year olds, I'm sort of thinking though all they want is to be chased by you, that sort of thing is the highlight of a 10 year olds life. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Move to a house in the middle of countryside if you want silence. What did you expect when you decided to live in an urban area!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

I know where this is going...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Seamus1964

Little tip:
    To get rid off annoying crows that are picking at newly seeded fields you need to catch one and hang a crow upside down will prevent another crows pickin fields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Not only Dublin 8

Not......LOITERING :eek:

• Site Banned Posts: 257 ✭✭Driveby Dogboy

Classical music (Chopin, Mozart) generally has a warding-off effect, as does an attitude of utter calm; they go away and find someone who gives them better feedback.

And if that doesnt work, what do you do then?

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    I know where this is going...

I need to see that movie seriously:D.

Anyhow back to kids slapping windows and kicking peoples doors at 9:30 at night, on the week end, after the summer holidays. If anything don't make a big deal about it, inside a 10 year olds head you are the demon, it's quite a difficult route for a child to go through (the difference between fantasy and reality) generally at the age of 10 is when we start to grasp it, Although I'm prity sure most peoples idea of reality can be a little strange, my point is at 10 your concept of reality starts to become concrete, or become a form you use for the rest of your life.

What the hell am I talking about :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Gentrification fail.

To be honest, it's probably the only option if the parents don't care and you can't/won't kick the f+ck out of the kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

What else can I do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

Why wait till next week to call the guards?

Please see suggestions above, to what else you can do?

Talk to them, also think about what was important to you when you where their age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

fathead82 wrote: »
    have you an upstairs window directly over the door? a bucket of cold water warm p!ss tipped out onto them will sort them out.

FYP

Why are you a target, can you not defend yourself against kids, serious question?

Yesterday they were hanging outside the house for about 10 mins kicking the door every now and then. I didn't go out as I reckon they wanted a bit of a laugh.

They then slapped the window and at that stage I felt action needed to be taken. I opened the door and started to talk to them. There was about 20 of them there. One of them said will I move them one and I said please yes. I closed the door and half a minute later they gave an almighty slap at the window which I was worried might break it and kicked the door open so I went out and cursed them out of it as they were running down the street.

A few of the lads came back about an hour later and I could hear them coming. They kicked the door on the run and I gave chase for a couple of yards, I couldn't give more of a chase as I had two young children in the house sleeping and my wife was out.

Tonight they came back and now they have smashed the side mirror of the car. I can't afford to fix it properly so its going to have to be a homemade glue job.

So yes I can't start a fight against a group of 20 10 year olds. They'ed beat the **** out of me and that would leave the house open with two babies unprotected in it.

And yes by them coming back tonight and smashing the side mirror off the car I feel I am being a target. Do you have any suggestions what I could have done or what I should do now.

So they could be 8 year olds or 12 year olds??

Couldn't you go out and tell them to fuck off?? - Serious question btw!

Done. It didn't work. Needless to say it made it worse.

have you an upstairs window directly over the door? a bucket of cold water tipped out onto them will sort them out.

Apart from last night when I talked to them they don't hang around long enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

Done. It didn't work. Needless to say it made it worse.

They're kids!

Ring the Garda!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭shuyin1

What else can I do?
    Its not your problem, let their parents deal with the authorities. You're entitled to peace and quiet in your own home. Why should you waste your time with the little feckers.

Move to a house in the middle of countryside if you want silence. What did you expect when you decided to live in an urban area!

I don't want silence, I like the area but I don't like my front door getting kicked in, my window getting slapped hard enough that I think it might break and the wing mirror of my car getting smashed. Do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Prodgey

If you know a few young lads (17/18 - 20) get them to have a chat with the little gobshytes.

Why wait till next week to call the guards?

True. Will be going down in the morning. I was hoping it would blow over and they'ed find something better to be doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Get the guards OP.

People on here will take the p*ss but it's not funny when it's your home they are targeting and you've 2 small babies inside.

No-one should have to put up with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

omahaid wrote: »

You have a few choices.

You can sit and take it and become the neighbourhood's bitch.
    You can call the cops who won't give a sh!t and become an even bigger neighbourhood bitch.
    You can invite over a few thuggish looking mates every other Saturday. Punk wanker kids notice when a few dodgy characters get out of a car and go into your house even if it's to just watch a match.
    You can get a vicious bastard of a dog and release it on them and tear the thigh off one of them.

OR

You can hit one of them and go to jail.

PEACE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

How well do you know your neighbours? maybe one of them will know the kids parents.

Yesterday they were hanging outside the house for about 10 mins kicking the door every now and then. I didn't go out as I reckon they wanted a bit of a laugh.

They then slapped the window and at that stage I felt action needed to be taken. I opened the door and started to talk to them. There was about 20 of them there. One of them said will I move them one and I said please yes. I closed the door and half a minute later they gave an almighty slap at the window which I was worried might break it and kicked the door open so I went out and cursed them out of it as they were running down the street.

A few of the lads came back about an hour later and I could hear them coming. They kicked the door on the run and I gave chase for a couple of yards, I couldn't give more of a chase as I had two young children in the house sleeping and my wife was out.

Tonight they came back and now they have smashed the side mirror of the car. I can't afford to fix it properly so its going to have to be a homemade glue job.

So yes I can't start a fight against a group of 20 10 year olds. They'ed beat the **** out of me and that would leave the house open with two babies unprotected in it.

And yes by them coming back tonight and smashing the side mirror off the car I feel I am being a target. Do you have any suggestions what I could have done or what I should do now.

Forget what I said ealier, they now have damaged property, call the garda, now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭TheBandicoot

MonaPizza wrote: »
    You have a few choices.

You can sit and take it and become the neighbourhood's bitch.
    You can call the cops who won't give a sh!t and become an even bigger neighbourhood bitch.
    You can invite over a few thuggish looking mates every other Saturday. Punk wanker kids notice when a few dodgy characters get out of a car and go into your house even if it's to just watch a match.
    You can get a vicious bastard of a dog and release it on them and tear the thigh off one of them.

OR

You can hit one of them and go to jail.

PEACE!

Or, just move(assuming you're renting). That's what I would do(not that I would have chosen to live anywhere near D8 in the first place, for these very reasons).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Hide indoors and bitch about it on the internet!, that will help your situation leaps and bounds.

oh oh, now one of the kids has gone home and is on boards!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

have you an upstairs window directly over the door? a bucket of cold water boiling tar swiftly followed by a bag of feathers tipped out onto them will sort them out. (It may also help to identify the culprits later)

:pac::pac: (This may or may not be a good idea)

ardle1 wrote: »
    oh oh, now one of the kids has gone home and is on boards!!

I have a tight schedule between berating my targeted victims online and actually targeting said victims, its a tight rope.

Or, just move(assuming you're renting). That's what I would do(not that I would have chosen to live anywhere near D8 in the first place, for these very reasons).

Why the hell should she move? She's not to blame for these little scrotes acting the bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

Next time film them so you get pictures of the the scumbags faces and then go to the Guards.

No offense OP but I have to admit I got a laugh after seeing your username.

There should be an air-lock at school doors so kids can be vacuum-packed into the cars before being sealed in the house til school the next day. It's the only solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

I had a huge problem with scumbag kids & their knacker families. I took some videos without them seeing. Then on a different day I took some more . And again. I then had enough proof that it wasn't a once off & I had their faces. I then went public to the estate & the police about. It wasn't easy & all hell broke loose , but I refused to delete the pictures or hand over the camera . I emailed copies of the pics to my yahoo account. I got some great ones of them breaking into a house & ransacking cars. The problem then went away -kids no longer let out onto the streets to hang out & vandalise.

Nearly killed me with stress thou .

If I could I'd ignore it & put in earplugs & try & let them get bored & move on. While getting pics.delinquent Kids can be very persistent, cunning & have time & lying on their side. When a gang get together & decide to lie it can frankly be very dangerous - people tend to believe them.

I'd ring the gaurds and make sure I get a pulse number -so that it is recorded. And KEEP doing this every time it happens. Make sure you say there are 2 babies inside & that you are afraid for your life -& that the gang is aggressive , violent & 20+ strong outside your window.

I'd check in the local spar if they know them -they probably do -& they're probably barred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Two Tone from Limehouse

What else can I do?

It's a tricky one. If for eg, you throw water on them it could drive them nuts and you'll be haunted by them. Also , you don't know what they're old man is like... Could be a nutter. Are you make/ female. Is there anywhere you could borrow a dog from for a few days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

Or you can stand your ground and release a dog to tear the sh1t out of one of them. Sooner or later the pricks will determine that one broken window on his side is not worth a savaged face on their side. Release the hounds.

Why move? Get a dog to absolutely terrorise the little scumbags who are fcuking with your property. Train a good bastard of a bulldog to sit around happy go lucky and attack anything on your command.

MonaPizza wrote: »
    Why move? Get a dog to absolutely terrorise the little scumbags who are fcuking with your property. Train a good bastard of a bulldog to sit around happy go lucky and attack anything on your command.

The ignorance of this post is astounding.