Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

question on tractor insurance

• 01-09-2013 10:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭

hi all, quick question for you. My father has full comprehensive insurance on his tractor but just woundering does this give full comprehensive on trailers being towed or just 3rd party? My slurry tanker got turned over yesterday when travelling along a road and i have a feeling i am going to be out of pocket:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

do you have the slurry tanker mentioned on the policy anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

It depends on what is mentioned in the policy for implements behind the tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Gman1987

I cant find the policy book. All i have is the sheet that the insurance disk came on. It states you are covered while drawing trailers but not a greater number than permitted by law. But does this mean the towing implement is covered with full comprehensive insurance or will they only give 3rd party on towing implements? don't have the slurry tanker specified on the policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I don't know if this is any help but a neighbour of ours had a baler go on fire on him around 10 years ago. At some risk to himself he got the baler off the tractor. The insurance assesor told him he shouldn't have bothered. Baler was insured as long as it was attached to tractor once he dropped it off the tractor no insurance. They'd have paid out on the two machines no questions but not on the uncoupled baler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Tanker third party cover unless metioned. I'm afraid it's as simple as that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Ger1987 wrote: »
    hi all, quick question for you. We have full comprehensive insurance on our tractor but just woundering does this give full comprehensive on trailers being towed or just 3rd party? Our slurry tanker got turned over yesterday when travelling along a road and i have a feeling we are going to be out of pocket:mad: Insurance is with fbd so we will contact our local office in the morning. Any info much appriciated before we contact the insurance company
    is there much damage, ours was over turned earlier in the year and a few hundred euro fixed it up, we where lucky it didnt go over on side where side filler is... looked a lot worse than what it was

I'd say ye are right, I will have to cover the costs myself. Regards damage, its a rite off, it turned over into a wall and now the wall is very small!! There is parts of the tank pushed in 1.5 foot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭stanflt

I'd say ye are right, I will have to cover the costs myself. Regards damage, its a rite off, it turned over into a wall and now the wall is very small!! There is parts of the tank pushed in 1.5 foot

id say your avoiding your auld man:mad::mad:

stanflt wrote: »
    id say your avoiding your auld man:mad::mad:
    he is avoiding me!! He turned it over. He would be giving out to us for having a radio going on the tractor that we are not concentrating on the job well at least we can keep all the wheels on the road!!! We wont worry about it anyways, it may cost a few grand to replace but it would have been a lot worse if someone was hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

he is avoiding me!! He turned it over. He would be giving out to us for having a radio going on the tractor that we are not concentrating on the job well at least we can keep all the wheels on the road!!! We wont worry about it anyways, it may cost a few grand to replace but it would have been a lot worse if someone was hurt

That's always the most important question. Anything else can be replaced.