Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbour not maintaining fences

• 01-09-2013 7:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭

My neighbour is not maintaining he's fences. Is law against this. I would like to put encourage him as he is auld waster who only drinks and farts it up against the wall type and knows it all type.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

raher1 wrote: »
    My neighbour is not maintaining he's fences. Is law against this. I would like to put encourage him as he is auld waster who only drinks and farts it up against the wall type and knows it all type.

Is his stuff coming into you or is your stuff crossing into his ? If he is a messer you will have your work cut out to get him to fence much . Might be as well to fence it yourself and have a bit of comfort knowing its done right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

just put a proper fence on your side, problem solved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

whelan1 wrote: »
    just put a proper fence on your side, problem solved

A good fence on your side should keep them out.
    I know this might sound extreme but if they keep breaking in , keep leaving your gate open and his cattle will continuously be getting onto the road and he won't be long fixing his fences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

9935452 wrote: »
    A good fence on your side should keep them out.
    I know this might sound extreme but if they keep breaking in , keep leaving your gate open and his cattle will continuously be getting onto the road and he won't be long fixing his fences

Terrible advice there.
    If you knowingly let them to the road and some poor sap gets killed you'll be liable.

Put up a fence yourself OP. if he's a messer hell probably never change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

raher1 wrote: »

Neighbour is a complete tosser, big mouth knows it all like yours, wouldn't know a length of barbed wire if it bit him on the arse, cattle coming through into crops.
    I do all the fencing, it's easier and I know it's done properly even though it pi**** me off big time! I try to avoid this genius like the plague cos as I get older I get crankier and I'm afraid that one of these fine days I'll deck the bast*** ! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

bbam wrote: »
    Terrible advice there.
    If you knowingly let them to the road and some poor sap gets killed you'll be liable.

Leaving your gate open is not a crime.
    If your neighbour doesn't want his cattle on the road he needs to keep them on his property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Use have the same problem cattle breaking in esp in the winter time as he had no sheds and there was some grass with us paddocks would be in shi#e come spring.Got a fence contractor in and fenced it myself some of the best spent money i ever spent. I actually think he was piss#d of i fenced it cause no free grazing for him :o)

Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    Neighbour is a complete tosser, big mouth knows it all like yours, wouldn't know a length of barbed wire if it bit him on the arse, cattle coming through into crops.
    I do all the fencing, it's easier and I know it's done properly even though it pi**** me off big time! I try to avoid this genius like the plague cos as I get older I get crankier and I'm afraid that one of these fine days I'll deck the bast*** ! :mad:

Why don't you say it to him, ask him if he's so smart how come he can perform basic tasks such as fencing.
    It feels good trust me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭benjydagg

Fence it yourself. OR write to the Dept of Agriculture local office quoting his name and your name. Under the rules of Single payment he must have his farm fenced for purpose. If not, he could be penalised.
    However, I have had this problem with 3 neighbours. I did the permanent fencing, claimed the expense against tax and moved on. Great peace of mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

bbam wrote: »
    Terrible advice there.

So if you leave a gate open, his cattle are involved in an accident then you are responsible! What planet are you on?

Leave the gate open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭RaggyDays

So if you leave a gate open, his cattle are involved in an accident then you are responsible! What planet are you on?

Leave the gate open.

You would be liable IF it can be proven that the gate was left open to do so. That might be easy enough to prove when one has every other gate on the farm that accesses the road closed

RaggyDays wrote: »
    You would be liable IF it can be proven that the gate was left open to do so. That might be easy enough to prove when one has every other gate on the farm that accesses the road closed

The owner of the animal is responsible, not the owner of the gate.

Exactly if they are on the road how do you know where they got out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭RaggyDays

I`m just saying you need to be very careful doing that. Its not something I would do as he could return the favour some day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

Every time they break into crops video them and the damage....
    Every time they break in don't put them back out but bring them to a pin or holding shed & make it awkward and embarrassing for him to have to trailer them out......

My old man got compo from a neighbouring farmer for a destroyed meadow years ago...his sheep were in every second night....local auctioneer agreed compo and neighbour paid up. In fairness he does more than his share now with no loss of friendship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭martin.covan

mf240 wrote: »
    Leaving your gate open is not a crime.
    If your neighbour doesn't want his cattle on the road he needs to keep them on his property.

Its not a crime,but its immoral.
    Far better,to bring the visiting cattle to the local co council pound.
    Your neighbour will have to pay dear to get them back.
    Fencing yourself is the simplest solution.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

The owner of the animal is responsible, not the owner of the gate.

That may be legally correct, I don't know. If you left the gate open deliberately and someone loses a leg in an accident (or worse), how will that sit on your conscience then?

Legally speaking, of course.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

Its not a crime,but its immoral.
    Far better,to bring the visiting cattle to the local co council pound.
    Your neighbour will have to pay dear to get them back.
    Fencing yourself is the simplest solution.

Many years ago 'members' of the community decided that it was a good idea to cut the locks off a neighbouring outfarm and let horses in , the boss said on no account were the animals be let to the road. After a number of these incidents the final straw came when they let them into a field of barley. A lorry was got and they were hidden on another place for a week, apparently there were search parties all over the county.. After the week the horses were brought to the pound, and there hasn't been a smidgen of trouble ever since..:D

greysides wrote: »
    That may be legally correct, I don't know. If you left the gate open deliberately and someone loses a leg in an accident (or worse), how will that sit on your conscience then?

Legally speaking, of course.

If they lost their leg trying to close the gate in an act of being a good neighbour, I would be upset. But if they walked and jumped in front of a head cutter or mower and lost a leg, well, need I say any more.

How do you envisage this open gate taking the leg off a trespasser?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Some posters here getting a bit narky with each other,I can tell you that from a legal perspective the person whose field the cattle entered the public road from last IS liable....sounds unfair but that's the law.Know this from personal experience which I won't elaborate on but moral of story is your better to take the hit and fence his stock out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Are you not obliged under nitrates rules to have your boundaries properly secured anyway. Id agree with other posters. Look after your own side and you won't have any problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I confess to having cattle broken out 6 times this year. twice each in 3 different areas of land I rent (all for the first time.) 2 have been only used for crops for last few years and other only mares, so fencing hasn't been tested.

1st time was fix the area, and move on

2nd time, fix the area and electric wire put up. Neightbours would have realised after this I was genuine and cared. I hate losing time looking for cattle and worry about damage

1 lad called the OH last weekend to give out about damage to his lawn. She called him Monday and said, "can I come up to see the damage, I want to fix it back to your satisfaction" Your man was delighted and said, ah no it was only they ate an old bit of hedge. I think he was just happy he got listened to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭mothoin

What if you dropped one or two with a rifle? You can drop a dog for chasing sheep, why not shoot a few cows for damaging your crops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

1 lad called the OH last weekend to give out about damage to his lawn. She called him Monday and said, "can I come up to see the damage, I want to fix it back to your satisfaction" Your man was delighted and said, ah no it was only they ate an old bit of hedge. I think he was just happy he got listened to.

your a lucky boy, last infringement a few animals done to a local lawn the house owners collected 2900 of the insurance, must say they done a nice job and planted some lovely new plants and a few new flower beds. soft money is what its all about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

your a lucky boy, last infringement a few animals done to a local lawn the house owners collected 2900 of the insurance, must say they done a nice job and planted some lovely new plants and a few new flower beds. soft money is what its all about.

ouch! heard of another case there and 2 lads were friends, one lads herd of dairy cows went in on the non-farming neighbour/friend new lawn, wife was going mental, so dairy lad lands up with bag of moss peat and bucket of lawn seed in the transport box and the wife ran him

I shut three gates of houses when im moving cattle on road, takes 2 mins and much safer but one old awkward sod keeps opening his.. id swear he is looking for them to come in on top of him, real soft boggy lawn too .. they'd go to their bol**x in it:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

mothoin wrote: »
    What if you dropped one or two with a rifle? You can drop a dog for chasing sheep, why not shoot a few cows for damaging your crops!

I hope you have a lot of money :D

You'd be in breach of the terms of your firearms license. You'd have the Gardaí & the owner of the animals hauling you through the courts.

Be cheaper to fence the place and put locks on the gates.

I have a long boundary with a fella who doesn't "do" fencing. My place is a lot better than his so I went ahead and fenced years ago. Ironically, the one time part of the boundary wall fell it was my sheep that went into his place not his animals visiting me :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

How do you envisage this open gate taking the leg off a trespasser?

Car accident was what I had in mind.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

i have something similar, I just fenced my side and was done (or so i thought) the aul b###ox went a bought a few goats who went through my fence for a short cut and made ****e of it, now the buck is refusing to fix it, you cant win sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

greysides wrote: »
    Car accident was what I had in mind.

Haha, that would be pure gold! Drive over some homeless guy and then throw one of yer mans sheep in behind the wheel. He wouldn't be long fixing the fence then!

Homeless guys dont have sheep and even if he did everybody knows sheep cant drive.

Zoo4m8 wrote: »

just reading this old thread and didn't want to start a new one

ive the quad loaded and ready , trailer of stakes already dropped off after work to go fencing at first light 8.15 ;-)

thing is id rather tear into it than listen to my neighbour as he is full of BS and would only be in my way.. I try to be nice but he completely busts my melon.. he should be paying half etc but as another poster on here says just get it done and claim back the vat and avoid like the plague.. have any of ye got similar adjoining land owners.. or am I just awkward?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Bodacious wrote: »
    just reading this old thread and didn't want to start a new one

ive the quad loaded and ready , trailer of stakes already dropped off after work to go fencing at first light 8.15 ;-)

thing is id rather tear into it than listen to my neighbour as he is full of BS and would only be in my way.. I try to be nice but he completely busts my melon.. he should be paying half etc but as another poster on here says just get it done and claim back the vat and avoid like the plague.. have any of ye got similar adjoining land owners.. or am I just awkward?

I have one, he hasn't lifted a stone onto the wall, straightened a stake or put on a new bit of wire in my time. I fenced all the boundary on my own, including moving some very big stones without equipment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Mourinho

From a small farm myself, never knew you could claim fencing costs back on VAT. Would you have to be a dairy farmer though?

Considering you can as much of a pain as it is that he does nothing at least you'll have peace of mind and won't have to be wasting time chasing and looking for strays.

I have one, he hasn't lifted a stone onto the wall, straightened a stake or put on a new bit of wire in my time. I fenced all the boundary on my own, including moving some very big stones without equipment.[/QUOTE

they all too common im afraid Con but this lad takes the biscuit as others know that they are fairly useless and will say at least if you do it ill throw you some stakes or few rolls of wire or € towards the cost but this buck

is just all talk and full of it to be honest.. lets hope I get it done tomorrow and forget about it

he'd still be first on the phone himself to tell you at work that a calf is on his side, yet he has no stock??!! :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

I have one, he hasn't lifted a stone onto the wall, straightened a stake or put on a new bit of wire in my time. I fenced all the boundary on my own, including moving some very big stones without equipment.[/QUOTE

they all too common im afraid Con but this lad takes the biscuit as others know that they are fairly useless and will say at least if you do it ill throw you some stakes or few rolls of wire or € towards the cost but this buck

is just all talk and full of it to be honest.. lets hope I get it done tomorrow and forget about it

he'd still be first on the phone himself to tell you at work that a calf is on his side, yet he has no stock??!! :-)

I know the type, get her done and move on ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Can you definitely claim the vat back lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 rocky bilboa

Yes, vat reclaimable on Fencing, concrete, sheds even if not vat registered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

Anything permanently fixed to the ground is vat reclaimable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

The only comfort we got with one neighbour was when he planted his land along us. For all my life up to that he was a torture, farming from the tractor seat.

On the other side we just fenced it ourselves, it's easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

a neighbour of mine had cattle doing a tour of the parish nearly all year, roads fences and gates meant nothing to them

one of the other neighbours got fed up of it and rounded up yermans cattle and brought them to the mart and sold them

the neighbour who owned the cattle knew nothing about it until he got a cheque in the post !!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

a neighbour of mine had cattle doing a tour of the parish nearly all year, roads fences and gates meant nothing to them

one of the other neighbours got fed up of it and rounded up yermans cattle and brought them to the mart and sold them

the neighbour who owned the cattle knew nothing about it until he got a cheque in the post !!:D

Without the cards :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Without the cards :confused:
    :D Sounds like a Bar Stool story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

:D Sounds like a Bar Stool story.

And a gud one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

We must nearly all have one! I've even acquired one this past year!! He bought land next to us and didn't even look to see if there was a fence at all! I've put electric fencing my side and am getting it done properly with wire and stakes. My cattle don't go into his as there is a big, awkward ditch, but his just slide down under whatever wire is still there.
    A different neighbour might say the same about me though! Last summer I had 2 divils of angus ladies that went travelling every 3 weeks for romance and they took some of the fences with them. I spent have the evenings going round after them with hammer and staples. At least one of them is in calf to his CH bull. The other one might be as well although I did get her AI ed to an angus.

KatyMac wrote: »
    The other one might be as well although I did get her AI ed to an angus.

Oh, I do so love a Lucky Bag.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

well the mans wife facilitated it !
    the man himself is abit off the rails these days

and us the neighbours were sick of the beasts rambling round the place at will

his side, yet he has no stock??!! :-)

tore into it but didn't get it all completed.. another 1/2 day to a day will see it through to finish

the tying of the sheep wire round the strainers is time consuming but the gripples are some job to tighten wire

rolled out 2 rolls 50m tied to either end at strainer and joined by 5 medium gripples and squeeze! itll test your strainers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Have them all sides of me here. Wouldn't rise a wall to save themselves, last year our sheep broke into theirs after their animals knocked the fence and walls. Opened their gate and let them out onto the road. Another neighbour spotted what was going and drove them back into our field and rang us.:mad:

Didn't bother saying anything because you just be wasting ones breath. As I get older I believe more and more in karma:D