Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Side SLingers

• 30-08-2013 4:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21

Well lads i'm looking for a side slinger muck spreader. i'm wondering can anyone advise on what models and give general opinions etc. etc. :) Thanks in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭arais

I'm have a 50% share in a Belmac with the BIL

it's a 9 cu ft and has never given any trouble, having said that it has an easy enough life, maybe 60 to 70 loads a year between the 2 of us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Valtraman2012

They look to be a strong machine. We wouldnt have that much to put out maybe around the 50 loads or so. If you dont mind me asking how much was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

lad beside us has a rear discharge spreader, 2nd hand, and he gets serious amount of work with it. has a valtra 130 infront of it. he also has an old Manitou with grape for filling it. handy sideline

The rear discharge are serious cash!!! Nice business to have if one had the kit :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

have an abbey 2090, usually run on and 80hp mf, just about able for it.

only use it if i have time or for any odd few loads, reckon it is not much more expensive to get contractor with big rear discharge

Even so i'd like to have the machine. Alot of the contractors around me are dog rough theyd surely knock a few pillars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Even so i'd like to have the machine. Alot of the contractors around me are dog rough theyd surely knock a few pillars.

and then they would fix the pillar:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

deduct replacement cost off the bill when it comes, they will be a bit more careful when/if they come back

and then they would fix the pillar:P

Wouldnt it be grand if they did....:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I have a "Howard Rotospreader 100" manure side-spreader. We have it about 25 years and it was bought second-hand.I replaced the 2 main bearings last year. Other than that no trouble. Great machine.
    You have to mind them though. Slurry will destroy them in no time, so need to be powerwashed and oiled. We drive it with 65 HP tractor, no problem.

dar31 wrote: »
    deduct replacement cost off the bill when it comes, they will be a bit more careful when/if they come back

I like how you think :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Very little difference in any of them.

They will all rot eventually!

pakalasa wrote: »
    I have a "Howard Rotospreader 100" manure side-spreader. We have it about 25 years and it was bought second-hand.I replaced the 2 main bearings last year. Other than that no trouble. Great machine.
    You have to mind them though. Slurry will destroy them in no time, so need to be powerwashed and oiled. We drive it with 65 HP tractor, no problem.

We had the very one but scrapped it about five years ago. Floor had gone and bearings were on the way out :mad: best machine we ever had!

Fair play pakalasa.

Have you replaced many flails then either??

What kind of workload have you given it?

It is a rare sight to see one of those now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

nashmach wrote: »
    Fair play pakalasa.

Have you replaced many flails then either??

What kind of workload have you given it?

It is a rare sight to see one of those now!

I never replaced a flail, but i had to cut a link off a good few chains as they had worn down and flails starting to hit the sides. It gets used for about 3 days every year and then powerwashed and old engine oil brushed on. The metal is so light that it would have rusted by now if I hadnt done this. I'll throw up a pic when I get the chance.

Top job maintainance wise!

Most you see are just pushed into a corner :(