Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clamping

• 30-08-2013 2:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1

The other day went to visit my bro and got clamped outside his block apartment
    It's not that I wasn't willing to pay for parking or anything ,it's just 30 mins max stay(with no visitor car park,option to pay,register visitor etc) in abandoned !!! estate , Dublin north .
    On top of that was only 7 mins late !!!
    Unable to pay (can't afford to fork out €125 ) I just cut the chain off it & n' not being sure what to do with the clamp I took it with me
    It was a private company , not a council one
    So what's next for me in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Admitting to criminal damage was your third mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

I wonder would calling them and saying: "oh yea I think I saw one of your clamps lying on pavement in front of my house, so i took it, wanna collect it" would work?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

McEm wrote: »
    On top of that was only 7 mins late !!!

I doubt if that will make much difference unfortunately....
    I just cut the chain off it not being sure what to do with the clamp I took it with me

Yup, does sound like criminal damage but IANAL.

not being sure what to do with the clamp I took it with me

Sounds like theft. Just saying.
    EDIT: And they have your plate number...

Good luck though. Hope it gets sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Oink wrote: »
    Sounds like theft. Just saying.
    EDIT: And they have your plate number....
    And admitting to theft your (OP) fourth mistake...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

So what's next for me in there

Pat yourself on the back.

If it was me, I'd dump the clamp. Who's to say that the clamp was not properly secured to your car and you just removed it and left it on the footpath and a member of the travelling community took it for scrap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

TheChizler wrote: »
    And admitting to theft your (OP) fourth mistake...

csi1.jpg

They be tracking him down now based on pubes they found on the scene and the national DNA database linked to cameras that can recognise your eyeballs

forget about it OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

mullingar wrote: »
    Pat yourself on the back.

If it was me, I'd dump the clamp. Who's to say that the clamp was not properly secured to your car and you just removed it and left it on the footpath and a member of the travelling community took it for scrap

Unless the clamping company checks if there is CCTV in the apartment block.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

bazz26 wrote: »

but even if there is CCTV (some shops, or private or even public) and it's private company, doesn't that mean they will most likely be out of luck getting reach of that footage? (I would assume so at least)

The way I see it private clamping companies have as much rights as typical citizen (even the one they clamped) so they can't just walk into shop/house or garda station and demand CCTV footage from some camera?

Or can they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

bazz26 wrote: »

'Pull a Shaggy' - wasn't me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

arleitiss wrote: »
    but even if there is CCTV (some shops, or private or even public) and it's private company, doesn't that mean they will most likely be out of luck getting reach of that footage? (I would assume so at least)

The way I see it private clamping companies have as much rights as typical citizen (even the one they clamped) so they can't just walk into shop/house or garda station and demand CCTV footage from some camera?

Or can they?

They could report the clamp missing/stolen to the Gardaí and ask the Gardaí to check the apartment block CCTV. They also have the OP's reg plate of the car that the clamp was attached to. All hypothetical I'll admit but plausible all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭markpb

arleitiss wrote: »

Or can they?

If the CCTV is operated by the owners management company and if they also hired the clampers, I doubt they'd have any problems handing over the footage of someone cutting a clamp off to them and/or the Gardai. Whether that footage is of any of is a different story.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Oh boy, it's that thread again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭georgefalls

Keep the clamp. Then every time you visit, just put it back on. That will fool them into thinking they have already clamped you, thus avoiding any future payments to have it removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭fiverfriday

You came back to your car, there was no clamp. End of story.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Damn that hooded superhero who removes peoples clamps when they are nowhere near their cars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Well done OP. I wouldn't give those feckers a penny.
    keep the clamp as a souvenir.
    You'll never here a thing from them.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Figured I'd post here rather then starting a new thread.

I've been parking an area for two years, the spot I was in today I've parked numerous times, and today came back to a clamp. The ticket outlined I was within 5m of a road junction which I would highly contest. At the time or arriving to my car another clamper van was present, removing one from another vehicle. When I enquired the gent told me he probably wouldn't have done it himself and taht it looked alright ( could well have been saying what I wanted to hear ) but when I asked he give it a quick measure to see if I was in the wrong, advised they do not have measuring equipement. I absolutely gawked.

Clamper don't have measuring equipment, and hazard a guess at distances?

It was Dublin City's clampers, has anyone had success in having an appeals go through? I've got the details and will be lodging an appeal as there is some highly contentiousness issues surrounding my clamping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Physics Girl

22/11/2013: Receive letter in post from Dublin Street Parking Service (DSPS) informing me my car has been a) clamped and b) towed to the pound and will be disposed of if the fine isn't paid.

Background: I live in Dublin City Centre, my car is parked two streets away WITH a valid residents parking permit. I walk to work and rarely use the car hence hadn't even noticed it gone.

DSPS: I call DSPS, am informed I've wracked up 700 Euro in fines and that needs to be paid before its released. I explain the situation; they put me on hold, come back and agree to release it, waiving the fee. The pound is open until 20:00 for collection. Grand. Annoying, but grand.

25/11/2013: Their website domain is out of date. Have no idea where the pound is. Contact Dublin City Council to find out it’s in Harold’s Cross. And is not open until 20:00. They’re open at a friendly 09:00 to 17:00. T

26/11/2013: Arrange time off to go collect it. They tell me they won't, they hadn't heard from head office that the fee had been waived. I call head office whilst AT the pound, tell them about the telephone conversation, they know nothing and there's no record. I wait for another 20 minutes before leaving empty handed to return to work.

I wouldn't mind if I was in the wrong here but clearly the permit fell below the dash due to condensation or whatever, they rang DCC, they confirmed I have the permit, acknowledged their mistake ... what now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 niall061262

If you see one of the clamper vans parked up you should fit the clamp onto there van with your own lock. see how they like it :)

@ niall061262, believe me, a clamp would be the least of their worries :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pcardin

If its a private clamper report theft to Garda and your Insurance company. Private clampers are operating illegaly therefore thowing away your car is nothing else than theft.

Edit. Just noticed the "city council" bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

pcardin wrote: »
    If its a private clamper report theft to Garda and your Insurance company. Private clampers are operating illegaly therefore thowing away your car is nothing else than theft.
    Did you read Physics Girl's post at all? :D

Anan1 wrote: »
    Did you read Physics Girl's post at all? :D

I did. Quickly. missed the part of city council. Apologies for that. I just have a life outside boards too unlike some. :rolleyes:

I did. Quickly. missed the parto of city council. Apologies for that. I just have a life outside boards too unlike some. :rolleyes:
    Don't be such a baby.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Don't be such a baby.

21603 posts! :P

And I read before typing too! ;)

sure u do. u live here. :P

I used to, I'll give you that. :)

SOOOOOO! Back to the topic at hand ...

Just received a grovelling mea culpa voicemail from the DSPS telling me how sorry they were, miscommunication etc. Car is available for me to pick up anytime (between 9 and 5 of course) with all fees waived.

I'd find some comfort in thinking that they lost out on commission or money because of this, but truth is, probably not, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Just received a grovelling mea culpa voicemail from the DSPS telling me how sorry they were, miscommunication etc. Car is available for me to pick up anytime (between 9 and 5 of course) with all fees waived.

I'd find some comfort in thinking that they lost out on commission or money because of this, but truth is, probably not, right?

they could at least deliver it back to where they took it from!

I know BMJD, I did actually request that in a strongly worded "sort this or else solicitor" letter I fired off to Dublin City Council yesterday ...

But as luck (bad) would have it, I really need the car on Friday, so I can't really afford to play the waiting game with them.

Is there anyone, or any point, in lodging a complaint?

They spent money moving it around, if that's what floats your boat. Like BMJD, I'd expect them to return the car to where it was. I'd also want compensation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

They spent money moving it around, if that's what floats your boat. Like BMJD, I'd expect them to return the car to where it was. I'd also want compensation.

Compensation for what? She said herself she doesn't use the car much.

MadYaker wrote: »
    Compensation for what? She said herself she doesn't use the car much.
    For having been wrongfully deprived of the use of her car. How much or how little she uses it is her own affair.