Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Spin? The A-Maze-ing 100

• 30-08-2013 12:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭

Just putting this out to the Boardsiverse to see if there is any interest:

Ride: The A-Maze-ing 100
    Date: Saturday 28th Sep
    Time: TBC (morning)
    Meeting Point: IKEA (or back of airport)
    Finish Point: The Grange Cafe, Ballyboughal
    Distance: 100kms
    Route: http://ridewithgps.com/routes/3033797
    Style: Paris-Roubaix / Tro Bro Leon
    Rider: Rouleurs

Reason: To mark the change of the season from hard efforts to cake-stops.

Concept: The classics of Northern France provide the inspiration for this ride as there are a number of 'sectors' along this mainly flat route through the beautiful farms of North County Dublin.

Design: I have designed a route to showcase how amazing North County Dublin is to ride in (for those who don't already know). The hedgerows and options provide a real labyrinthine feel. The twists, turns and sectors along the route ensure that this is far from a dull flat spin. The parcours covers a large distance but within an impressively small area, thereby creating a cool maze effect. It will amaze even those who train on these roads regularly too.

More detail: Sectors are narrow and heavy farm lanes. Each sector is different, some may bumpier than others, some may have grass strips or pebbles up the middle. Very little of the route is on broken roads, I have scouted the area to ensure the better lanes are used without detracting from the French Flanders feel.

The heaviness of the ride might make this feel like 150kms even if the distance is 100kms, it will rip the legs from you at some point. You are warned.

The ride suits hard people with hard bikes. If you moaned at the discovery of a single pebble on Astra Monti's Evil 200, that particular bike is too precious to you for this particular ride.

I used IKEA as a start-point as it is well known and if you don't know it, it's so big you can't miss it! It should provide secure parking for those who might want to drive out. For those riding out from more northerly directions, it will be possible to join up at the back of the airport at the bus-stop before we head into the maze. There is little to no secure parking there though, if bringing a car park it in IKEA.

The route finishes in the Grange Cafe in Ballyboughal, I know this is more convenient than IKEA for many people who might live nearby. For those returning to IKEA the exit to the maze is obvious, take a left out of the cafe and follow a really fun road, this leads straight to the back of the airport. It is 16kms from the cafe back to IKEA. It is ca. 25kms from the Grange Cafe back to the Liffey as a guide for anyone who might travel from the south side.

Being a maze, you might get lost ... that's all part of the fun! If this goes ahead, I expect it to line-out on the sectors and for the group to break up as the heavy route takes its toll. Hopefully a few people will have .gpx files to marshall smaller groups through it. It is possible to quit and head direct to the cafe after 40, 50 or 60k of the route ... but that would mean failure. Let's just say that you wouldn't be deserving of cake ... for the entire winter!

The worlds are on that weekend. We won't be able to see the Junior race live but we should be back home in time to catch most of the women's race.

Any interest?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I'm on for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Clashes with a 200km Audax out of Whitehall, will defo do either this or that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭greenmat

Maybe this might be better for you. Swords CC Rainbow Sportive, come do the event, showers and grub after and all back in time to Ring Common Sports Centre to watch Dan Martin win the World Championships. Different groups suitable for all and I think there will be a shorter route too, will have to confirm that.

http://www.rainbowsportive.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Andy Magic

I'm interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Sounds familiar but count me in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

If I'm in the country, I'll be there!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Just saw it doesn't finish in Ikea. Between getting out there and home again it'll be a fair old spin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭funkyjebus

Sounds like this is a job for the steel bike and 25's. I'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,176 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I should be able to meet along the route. Good to have a bit of company on my Saturday spin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

greenmat wrote: »
    Maybe this might be better for you. Swords CC Rainbow Sportive, come do the event, showers and grub after and all back in time to Ring Common Sports Centre to watch Dan Martin win the World Championships. Different groups suitable for all and I think there will be a shorter route too, will have to confirm that.

http://www.rainbowsportive.eu/

You know it makes sense. Rainbow sportive - also suitable for heterosexuals! There are few opportunities to watch cycling on t' telly in Ireland with a crowd of fans and, with the afterglow of a good spin, it should a good laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭detones

I like the sounds of this and would love to do it. However I'll be doing the Swords Sportive on thd sunday and I don't think my wife or legs will allow me do this spin the day before, shame.

Would recommend @bcmf for any route advice. He knows every lane and boreen around these parts. I think he had a garmin grafted to his frontal lobe at some stage. He'll only be happy if its pissing raining on the day though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

The route map looks like the wanderings of a drunk.

I'm in, a lot of roads I've never been down before. Pair it with the Swords sportive, mega weekend!

detones wrote: »

Would recommend @bcmf for any route advice. He knows every lane and boreen around these parts. I think he had a garmin grafted to his frontal lobe at some stage.

Yeah I did but it commited suicide after a couple if spins as it couldn't handle what I was throwing at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

I'm in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Just saw it doesn't finish in Ikea. Between getting out there and home again it'll be a fair old spin.

You're well able.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭thebionicdude

Sounds like this is a job for the steel bike and 25's. I'm in.
    Just the job! I'm jealous. I hope that steel bike pre-dates 1987 so you can ride L'Eroica some day.

I will be on my alu frame and 23mm tyres likely, running 95/100 or 100/105 psi. People on carbon will be fine once they accept there may be the odd flying pebble and a bit of broken surface. I just wouldn't recommend showing off any brand new and precious deep-section carbon tubs etc.

Yep, 116k back to IKEA. The time-factor might be more of an issue ... the ride itself will take 3.5-4hrs depending on the group, factor in time for the cake-stop if people fancy and then the ride-home whichever direction. Obviously, some people live closer to the finish but parking a car will be an option for those who are inclined.
    The route map looks like the wanderings of a drunk.

I'm in, a lot of roads I've never been down before. Pair it with the Swords sportive, mega weekend!

Ha! Indeed. Mega is the word! This route is inspired by Paris Roubaix, the Swords Sportive looks closer to Tour of Flanders, throw the worlds on top and we'll have had enough bike-kicks to last until Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Sure why not, I am in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭ian_rush

Which one?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

I'm in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Bloch

Do I get a medal at the end?
    Will there be coffee available at the start?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Might go, depends what's in the goody bag.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

I like the ideas of a Paris-Roubaix feel to it. If it's raining though I'm not coming out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Count me in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Might go, depends what's in the goody bag.

A flat pack wardrobe apparently.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Anyone cycling out from SCD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

I would go if i had my new boards gear, but that wont be here until early October :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭ChainWhip

I'm in for this, my first ever Boards spin. Go easy on me ;)

Planet X wrote: »
    Anyone cycling out from SCD?

I'm debating the idea of this. It's the cycle home afterwards that has me thinking about driving over.

You'll be grand. I'll take the wardrobe on the back carrier.

I'll more than likely end up cycling over. At least with the shape of the route bailing early is an option.

Right I will go

Ill be the super domestique, an early shadow of Froome, make sure theres a car so I dont have to drop off and pretend to be handing out bottles ;)

or else ill drop off the back to random cars and ask for bottles :P

Also btw what type of pace will the boardsies be keeping? :D

Don't worry it's a social not a race.

ghogie91 wrote: »
    Also btw what type of pace will the boardsies be keeping? :D

Yep, it's defo a social but I'm guessing most people will want to be home as close to lunch as possible (and to be fresh to catch as much of the womens' worlds on TV as they can).

I reckon I will pilot this at speeds between 25-30kph, which will put us at close to four hours for the actual route (factor time to and from plus cake-stop etc).

Hopefully a few people will download the .gpx file onto their Garmin 800 such that there will be a few pilots at various steady speeds on the course like in a marathon. Volunteers?

There is only one lumpy section so it will be the heavy and twisting roads that have the potential to split the bunch such that people get trapped in the maze without a pilot. I expect it to line-out on the sectors as in Paris-Roubaix with a lull once back on the main road for people to catch back on.

We will defo meet at IKEA, however, I noted that IKEA doesn't open until 10am ... in which case people driving may have to park at the McD's in Northwood (about 500ms away) as we will likely be starting before the IKEA car park opens.

I will confirm everything closer to the time once we get an idea of numbers, people driving, pilots, weather etc.

Looking forward to it!

Yep, it's defo a social but I'm guessing most people will want to be home as close to lunch as possible (and to be fresh to catch as much of the womens' worlds on TV as they can).

I reckon I will pilot this at speeds between 25-30kph, which will put us at close to four hours for the actual route (factor time to and from plus cake-stop etc).

Hopefully a few people will download the .gpx file onto their Garmin 800 such that there will be a few pilots at various steady speeds on the course like in a marathon. Volunteers?

There is only one lumpy section so it will be the heavy and twisting roads that have the potential to split the bunch such that people get trapped in the maze without a pilot. I expect it to line-out on the sectors as in Paris-Roubaix with a lull once back on the main road for people to catch back on.

We will defo meet at IKEA, however, I noted that IKEA doesn't open until 10am ... in which case people driving may have to park at the McD's in Northwood (about 500ms away) as we will likely be starting before the IKEA car park opens.

I will confirm everything closer to the time once we get an idea of numbers, people driving, pilots, weather etc.

Looking forward to it!

Cheers for that,

I only have a Garmin edge 200, ill see if it can take the .GPX and give minimal directions, only need 2 or 3 pace setters? 32/30/28 kph or like 32/28/24 kph. I was recently at another spin and they split 2 groups, slow at 24 and fast at 32, 25 minute gap, the fast lads couldnt behave and lapped the slow group on two occasions before food stops, it left a bit of a sour taste with the slower group to be honest

(p.s. when me and another young lad got on the front without a pace setter we did put the hammer down, no one there to say otherwise if you get me, we dropped 80% of the group before the conscience set in, so i wouldnt like to do that again)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Spelean

I'm in.
    Great idea thebionicdude, sounds class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

Is this still on I have read this a few times but cant see a start time ?,probably just missed it

Count me in, unless the weather is forecast to be constant rain. (In fairness I don't have good rain gear.)

I hope it rains.
    And I hope the farmers are coming outta the fields and making ****e of the roads.
    No more arsing around on nice dry roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

bcmf wrote: »
    I hope it rains.
    And I hope the farmers are coming outta the fields and making ****e of the roads.
    No more arsing around on nice dry roads.
    Yeah, the bailing's done, setting fire to the stubble and ploughing is next. A nice drop of rain on muddy roads would be great :pac:

I'd be interested in coming along. Not been on a group spin before, so you'll have to shout at me when I fuck up be nice. That's if you don't mind a noob tagging along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭the boss of me

Would love to do this but apparently its more important that I watch a man in a frock pour special water on a babys' head..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

Would love to do this but apparently its more important that I watch a man in a frock pour special water on a babys' head..

If it your baby its just about expectable but if not im sure their is a way around it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Ok i am out, I have to attend a local charity cycle next weekend. Best of luck to all doing this, sounds like fun.

Is this still on I have read this a few times but cant see a start time ?,probably just missed it

Start time still has to be decided. I'm sure most people would prefer to be home by lunch-time. I reckon we wouldn't want to start from IKEA any later than 8.45. I'm happy to start earlier if people wish. With an average speed of 28kph the main group will make the cake-stop for 12.30. From there people are free to grab lunch, coffee, cake or simply head on home.

As the cake stop is not where we started, I'm factoring in a 30 minute stop plus about 50mins home to D9. I should be back just in time for the start of the women's road race.

Being the weekend we are probably turning up at the cafe at peak time but if the weather stays fine (as is forecast) we should be grand to sit out on the patio.

Would people prefer to start earlier? I'm thinking most people will be looking to get out the door just after 8am to make 8.45, so that time might be just about right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭ChainWhip

Would people prefer to start earlier? I'm thinking most people will be looking to get out the door just after 8am to make 8.45, so that time might be just about right?

8.45am roll-out is fine with me, although I haven't as far to travel as other folks may have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭rflynnr

Hoping to come along to this on Saturday. I was planning to do this old school (sans Garmin) so was looking at the route. There's one small adjustment that might be necessary. At the moment, as the route goes near The Ward, it appears to pass through a private driveway for Broughan House. I've been on that road and - afaik - there's no right of way on the driveway. As you'll see on the map it's easily fixed however: at the entrance for Broughan House, simply follow the sign for "Shallon Lane" and it'll bring you back onto the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭slap/dash

this sounds great! hopefully i can get my ass out of the gaff early enough

rflynnr wrote: »
    There's one small adjustment that might be necessary. At the moment, as the route goes near The Ward, it appears to pass through a private driveway for Broughan House.

It's defo all on open roads so it must be a small mapping error from when I created the online map. I will tidy it up later so the garmin doesn't drag people that way. Thanks for pointing it out.

I will be piloting this from memory, I did it this morning without any problems. I wouldn't expect anyone else to pilot it without a Garmin but I'm not sure how many people will have Garmin 800s with the .gpx file on them. Carrying a print-out map is fine if you get lost but would entail too much stopping and starting in terms of trying to follow the course.

Is a Garmin necessary? Don't use one but hope to tag along with a group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

I wouldn't mind doing this. Haven't ridden in a number of weeks so it would present a good challenge and kick start the long winter ahead.

Can the OP give us a final idea on where's best to park as maybe it's safer if cars are secured in the same area rather than the odd car parked in different retail outlets.