Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Negativity

• 29-08-2013 4:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

I left Ireland a few months ago, not because of work reasons, but because I wanted to experience life abroad. It hasn't taken me long to realize that it is a great country, but Irish people are so annoyingly negative!

There are so many threads on Boards that might speak of a positive thing for the country, and it's met with nothing but "The bankers screwed us", "why are they wasting money on that" and so on.

For example, the Gathering. Trying to improve tourism in Ireland, which of course the yanks and others will lap up, and people are complaining about it being a waste of money despite the fact that it HAS improved tourism a lot.

Why the hell are we so negative? The banks failed 5 years ago, can we not just shut up about it and move on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Shut up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

So's your face!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 SeamusRamos

Always look on the bright side of life? Sh1te song.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Royal.Baby

You not in the country anymore so you don't have to worry about negativity, yet here you are being negative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Kev_2012 wrote: »
    I left Ireland a few months ago, not because of work reasons, but because I wanted to experience life abroad. It hasn't taken me long to realize that it is a great country, but Irish people are so annoyingly negative!

There are so many threads on Boards that might speak of a positive thing for the country, and it's met with nothing but "The bankers screwed us", "why are they wasting money on that" and so on.

For example, the Gathering. Trying to improve tourism in Ireland, which of course the yanks and others will lap up, and people are complaining about it being a waste of money despite the fact that it HAS improved tourism a lot.

Why the hell are we so negative? The banks failed 5 years ago, can we not just shut up about it and move on?

The boards.ie, or any online community, are not representative of a society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

I am what I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It's because we is Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Things started to pick up a few month ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Some people enjoy having a whinge and a moan. So says Karl Pilkington. I don't see anything wrong with it either. It's therapeutic isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

I hate this thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The best thing about emigrants eulogizing about their escape from the 'begrudgery' (read; anything other than craven forelock tugging to anybody Irish that is remotely successful or famous) of Ireland is that the rest of us no longer have to share the island with the c*nts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

This is a very negative thread you've created OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

I love it!

Nemeses wrote: »
    I am what I am.

Is that all that you are?

kneemos wrote: »
    Is that all that you are?

That is all that I know.

So what Cheery arsed part of the world are you in now than, that has no negativity ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

The OP is an oxymoron, complaining in a negative way about how the Irish are so negative. Thats as typically Irish as you can get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

We will move on when the ones who destroyed the country are in jail or dead

that positive enough for you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 triplejointed

Why the hell are we so negative?
    Because it's a bad copy of Scotland's The Homecoming.

Maybe if I was charged I could become ..positive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭Sand

In fairness, Ireland probably does look better the further away from it you get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

We are all doomed lads. Better to end it all now before the next famine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Weevil

Irony of ironies. Leave the country for a good time because you can afford to, then complain about the people who can't being unhappy with their lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

i left for work but i return every second weekend to see my son. Since ive left i have had people say i "abandoned" my country. I work 12 days out of every 14 with a 8hr journey both ways during my two days off to get home and when i am home i get nothing but negativity from people i used to go to school with etc. TBH i have noticed things picking up in the past few months and i believe banks have begun spending again so i am hopeful enough work ill be generated that i can return home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

Have ya been to the states? all I hear is "blame it on obama!!!" every single day......

i left for work but i return every second weekend to see my son. Since ive left i have had people say i "abandoned" my country. I work 12 days out of every 14 with a 8hr journey both ways during my two days off to get home and when i am home i get nothing but negativity from people i used to go to school with etc. TBH i have noticed things picking up in the past few months and i believe banks have begun spending again so i am hopeful enough work ill be generated that i can return home.

You sure you're Irish,surly you've seen jealousy and begrudgery before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Telling people they should shut-up and 'move on' from their problems (how exactly? how are the multitude of unemployed supposed to 'move on', without enough jobs to employ them?), is basically the "sit down and shut up" attitude, where people are told to just accept the crap they are taking, and told it is inevitable; that is negativity (with a heavy dose of defeatism, along with the "I don't care because I'm doing ok" attitude).

When people have real problems, and are pissed off about real injustices, complaining about that is not negativity; they're right to be pissed off, and should be complaining about it a lot more frequently/vocally (and can direct that towards positive/constructive political change).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

I've gone travelling man, and my mind has just broadened to the nth degree. So much so, that I now generalise about the whole populace of a country and feel that I have my finger on the pulse of the attitude of the nation through the narrow confines of a fúcking messageboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

People do go on about Ireland as if it's akin to Syria though. It doesn't seem to register with them how good they have it.

Note: I'm not saying Ireland being better than Syria should be enough; I'm saying it's dumb beyond belief to pretend Ireland is a repressed, third-world country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Polish people are far more negative. Complaining is their national sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

it's dumb beyond belief to pretend Ireland is a repressed, third-world country.
    We elect Healy-Rae's FFS !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

We got really positive in the mid 90's and look what happened.

Generalisations are generally bollox. Generally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Polish English people are far more negative. Complaining indirectly is their national sport, not making a fuss however is a virtue!

FYP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Generalisations are generally bollox. Generally.

Sweeping generalisations on the other hand are nearly as good as stereotypes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Stojkovic wrote: »
    We elect Healy-Rae's FFS !!!!
    Granted, but it doesn't mean Ireland is a repressed third world country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭cometogether

Really? Not saying you're wrong, but in my experience the opposite seems to be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Lets play a game of **** off. You go first. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

The OP has a point. Irish people love to have a moan yet do the majority of these people do nothing for themselves. Those that have a can do attitude generally just get on with it, others like to compete for the gold medal for moaning. Sure Joe Duffy has earned millions (of tax payers money) in being the agony aunt for the 'poor and vulnerable'. Don't even get me started on the massive entitlement culture Irish people have. What you find in most other counties is that they just get on with it. Its nice to live in a place where the general populace doesn't engage in perpetual negativity. Almost any expat will say the same about Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Where's my rope?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Elbaston

The moaning acts as reminder not to be so stupid again.

Or at least we think it will.
    If we moan enough then we'll remember and then it cant possibly ever happen again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

yer man! wrote: »
    Have ya been to the states? all I hear is "blame it on obama!!!" every single day......

You must be in a right effing State

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    You must be in a right effing State

It's Western Mass!!! Republicans and a lot of democrats here just try to find anything to complain about Obama.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Am about 20 miles from W Ma border and I never hear that kind of talk. Why? Because I don't listen to Vets or Republican loudmouths in diners, McDs or car lots. By the way, do you know any good Indian Curry houses round there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Ah don't worry m8, few years from now when you stop partying in your new found freedom, you'll realise that where ever you are negativity will strike you at every corner, you just have to learn to ignore it.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Really? Not saying you're wrong, but in my experience the opposite seems to be true

Has any of you lived in Poland? anyway I haven't, and I have always found the Polish to be very friendly and obliging, in saying that! I have no idea how they carry themselves in their home country, but I can assure you over here in the 'Emerald Isle', they don't get Poland a bad name... Unlike the Irish drunks invading many a foreign Country as we speak!!!:o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

Lived abroad for a few years and I miss good ol' homegrown Irish negativity. It's one of our best traits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Chris Ryan

I'll have you know my doctor said I'm a positive person...wait...

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Am about 20 miles from W Ma border and I never hear that kind of talk. Why? Because I don't listen to Vets or Republican loudmouths in diners, McDs or car lots. By the way, do you know any good Indian Curry houses round there?

Haven't seen any indian places here yet actually. I suppose I am surrounded my reublicans here so I've no choice but to listen to them. Have to say though they have the complaining thing down to T!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Ah would ye stop!! The Irish don't moan anymore than other nation. The Spanish moan (and they will proudly admit to it), the English moan (as will these), the Romanians moan, the Polish moan, the Scottish moan, the Australians moan. Moaning is part of the human condition! We haven't got the monopoly on the moaning front at all. In fact I've come across the "Ah sure, it'll be grand!" attitude in Ireland more than any other country I've lived in.