Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic Goers Limited to One Slab Per Person in Clampdown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

anyone else read that as limited to one stab per person?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Links234 wrote: »
    anyone else read that as limited to one stab per person?

Got some laugh off that
    :D:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

16 cans a day? I normally drink 8 cans before going out for a few more.

16 seems a lot but I reckon I could get through that no bother if I started around 7 and finished in the wee hours.

I am going and I will probably bring 48 cans of fozzy ozzy and if I run out I can drive to the nearest place in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭liamygunner29

how many blue ghosts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

lkionm wrote: »
    16 cans a day? I normally drink 8 cans before going out for a few more.

A slab is 24.

And here comes Buzz Killington

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

So people will smuggle in vodka and other higher alcohol drinks and will be even more hammered and aggressive.

When are people ever going to learn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

I was at Secret Garden Party recently and the limit there was 12 cans for the whole weekend.

A slab is 24.

The article says 48 which is 2 slabs. so 16 a day

Any other AHers going? Ill shift the face off ye if ye are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭magicman88

how many blue ghosts?

Least 50 lol

The article says 48 which is 2 slabs. so 16 a day

Exactly, OP thread title fail. ;)

It's a 3 day event, drinking all day every day 48 cans would be barely enough. Can you bring in spirits? If you could bring in a litre of vodka as well as the 48 cans it should see you through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I suppose when people stop getting smashed at every occasion and also stop stabbing each other and getting generally wasted, groped and blow jobbing/blow jobbed by way of a side effect, then "the man" might ease off a bit.

Not that that sort of thing goes on at the terribly polite Electric Picnic, did they choose the weekend that the scrotes go back to school deliberately does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

mike65 wrote: »
    I suppose when people stop getting smashed at every occasion and also stop stabbing each other and getting generally wasted, groped and blow jobbing/blow jobbed by way of a side effect, then "the man" might ease off a bit.

Not that that sort of thing goes on at the terribly polite Electric Picnic, did they choose the weekend that the scrotes go back to school deliberately does anyone know?

only scrotes go to school?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

When I want to listen to music I go to a concert.

When I want to get pissed I go to the pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

only scrotes go to school?

No but many are of school age, in fact isn't there a ban on teenagers at EP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

mike65 wrote: »
    No but many are of school age, in fact isn't there a ban on teenagers at EP

is there? you can bring your kids to it sure

Exactly, OP thread title fail. ;)

Some men are bigger than others.
    As are some slabs.

I am talking 1980's Southampton with 50kg cement bags; not this pussy footing 20kg bags of cement and 24 can slabs with a sup taken out of each one. I am talking a real slab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Gehad_JoyRider

Good thing i only drink gray goose :D

myshirt wrote: »
    As are some slabs.

I am talking 1980's Southampton with 50kg cement bags; not this pussy footing 20kg bags of cement and 24 can slabs with a sup taken out of each one. I am talking a real slab.

who is supping from my cans before me?

I am convinced they have taken a chug out of each can in the modern day 24 can slab. No doubt. And they also took some of the sweets out of my christmas tin of roses over the years.

I am convinced they have taken a chug out of each can in the modern day 24 can slab. No doubt.

Modern day cans? Im only 23. Did I miss out on something?

As are some slabs.

Translation: I'm talking shite.

You have ruined my day with your poor choice of thread title, sir. I have little time for this type of japery. I bid you good day!

Modern day cans? Im only 23. Did I miss out on something?

I would refer to 48 cans as the bones of one slab.
    Some smartarse here has pointed out that it is two slabs; semantics if you ask me.

Translation: I'm talking shite.

You have ruined my day with your poor choice of thread title, sir. I have little time for this type of japery. I bid you good day!

Ok, we will change it to TWO SLABS A DAY, it's all the same, it is still 48 cans.

Lets just call 24 cans a case, and 48 a slab?

Settled.
    Though I do get the shock of reading the thread title and thinking a man was limited to 24 cans, when it was actually 48.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

How many cans are in a six-pack?

You mean little girl pack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭liamygunner29

the backwards man, he goes to concerts to listen music and to pubs to get pissed!! thats not backwards at all? :eek:

or is it......?.........

When I want to listen to music I go to a concert.

When I want to get pissed I go to the pub.

When I want the best of both worlds I go to electric picnic \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Good thing i only drink gray goose :D

I bet you don't.

When I want the best of both worlds I go to electric picnic \o/

Hannah Montana isnt playing.

Isn't playing what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Hate to burst your bubble but I am pretty certain that has always been the case at EP. Rarely enforced, but a rule nonetheless.

If you want really savage searches try Coachella, 3.5 hours in 36C heat to search 12 cars, yes twelve. Everything out of the car and unpacked, and I mean everything.

EP is a pushover compared to that.

Bring your slab, then go buy another in Stadbally, then pick up the one you preordered at the EP off-licence. If you need more beer than that, you can actually buy it in premeasured doses at the things called bars in the arena itself.

If you can't figure out how to get f.cked up at music festival you really, really shouldn't be going.

Man, going to burner festivals has made me jaded of people who cannot manage the simplest piece of organisation. Try hauling all your sh.t into the desert and then hauling it out again. Including water. Then you can complain about beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Back in the days of Homelands you'd be ****ed out for asking security about cans... mainly because most of them were selling yokes.

MadsL wrote: »
    Hate to burst your bubble but I am pretty certain that has always been the case at EP. Rarely enforced, but a rule nonetheless.

If you want really savage searches try Coachella, 3.5 hours in 36C heat to search 12 cars, yes twelve. Everything out of the car and unpacked, and I mean everything.

Bring your slab, then go buy another in Stadbally, then pick up the one you preordered at the EP off-licence. If you need more beer than that, you can actually buy it in premeasured doses at the things called bars in the arena itself.

If you can't figure out how to get f.cked up at music festival you really, really shouldn't be going.

Man, going to burner festivals has made me jaded of people who cannot manage the simplest piece of organisation. Try hauling all your sh.t into the desert and then hauling it out again. Including water. Then you can complain about beer.

And the award for the most hardcore festival goer ever in the whole wide world goes to......

:p

MadsL wrote: »

I just want it in my belly NOW

And the award for the most hardcore festival goer ever in the whole wide world goes to......

:p

Actually it was the award for most off-topic rant, now I have now actually read the link.

*blush*

Isn't playing what?

There is hope however. At Oppi KOppi, they ran a service where you could order a beer via your smartphone and it would be delivered by a drone who would track the GPS of the order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭pale blue dot cotton

Drink? I thought everyone was on yokes? Y'all slippin.

It concerns me greatly that you know the names of Hannah Montana songs.

Drink? I thought everyone was on yokes? Y'all slippin.

Got any veras?

:):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

The 48 can rule has always been there. I think it's loads of drink. They let you bring cans into the concert site after 11pm which is pretty cool. Sure other festivals will not let you bring in any cans ever. These big festivals need to keep the drink sponsors happy as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Well, f*ck it anyway!

Berocca followed by Bacardi mojitos for the hangovers.

It concerns me greatly that you know the names of Hannah Montana songs.

I spent many a day dossing school watching RTE2.

The mother would take the cable for the playstation

Berocca followed by Bacardi mojitos for the hangovers.

+ one of these before drinking. In your local chemist.
    http://www.amazon.com/Dioralyte-Supplement-Replacement-Water-Sachets/dp/B001DZQ5PK

Festival like a pro. :D