Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barrow Wheelers Grand Prix.

• 27-08-2013 9:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭

barrow%20gp%202013%20large%20medium.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Can't view the image.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

If you have any questions don't be afraid to ask , if I cant answer them I'm sure I can find someone who can.

stetyrrell wrote: »
    Can't view the image.
    Will try again .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

It looks like you're trying to post a picture straight from a Gmail account. You'll need to either upload it to a picture hosting website like Photobucket, or attach it to your post from your computer directly - as you would if you were attaching something to an email.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭vigorelli

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭jimzy

Plastik wrote: »
    It looks like you're trying to post a picture straight from a Gmail account. You'll need to either upload it to a picture hosting website like Photobucket, or attach it to your post from your computer directly - as you would if you were attaching something to an email.

You're right that's exactly what I was trying to do. Luckily some of the other lads bailed me out . Thanks .

Online entry open so don't hang about . Underage can register on the morning of the race .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

Run by our good friends at Barrow Wheelers New Ross. Reckon it is worth the trip.

Handy circuit, easy points and a bit of post race relaxation at Creacon Lodge afterwards .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭RockWerchter

Entered

Entered

Good man RockWerchter , 26 A4s entered so far and 31 A2/A3 . Not bad with 4 weeks to go . Strictly online entry no entries accepted on the day . I See a few suspected boardsie names entered .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Canyonaero

gonna have my first A1 style whinge here :) ..... any chance of an A1 Race?

yeah fonds , what about the A1's ?

hhmmmm.......maybe not all the same :D:D !!!

Not enough locally huh !!

Canyonaero wrote: »
    gonna have my first A1 style whinge here :) ..... any chance of an A1 Race?

Not this year . Next year we will be going back to our other circuit and the only whinge after that will be " ouch ". Especially for A1s

michael196 wrote: »
    yeah fonds , what about the A1's ?

hhmmmm.......maybe not all the same :D:D !!!

Not enough locally huh !!

Nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Canyonaero

No worries, best of luck with the race anyhow Barrow Wheelers are a great club I'm sure it'll be a great event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭1750W

fondriest wrote: »
    Nope

Discrimination of the highest level :/ Jk all the best lads hope race goes well

Closing date for this is next monday , there hasn't been many more entries in during the last couple of week and i'm told if there isn't enough entries in by the closing date the race will not go ahead .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Pawlie

Closing date for this is next monday , there hasn't been many more entries in during the last couple of week and i'm told if there isn't enough entries in by the closing date the race will not go ahead .
    How come its not been promoted like various other races,they are no one posting about it on any the social media sites,the last time some one posted about it here was 18 days ago, and only once in last few weeks on facebook
    how many do they need for it to run ahead....

lob it up on stickybottle and other pages and it might fill up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

Pawlie wrote: »
    How come its not been promoted like various other races,they are no one posting about it on any the social media sites,the last time some one posted about it here was 18 days ago, and only once in last few weeks on facebook

https://www.facebook.com/groups/344793343944/ is a good group to put it in on Facebook.

Was really bulling for this race,hope it goes ahead,last one an all for the 2's & 3's

Short answer Pawlie is that the person meant to look after promoting it didn't . I was talking to some of the lads today about pushing it before it closes so fingers crossed . . Sticky bottle were emailed a couple of times about it and never replied , I believe this is common enough .

buffalo wrote: »
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/344793343944/ is a good group to put it in on Facebook.

Thanks I didn't know this group existed and I see Pawlie has put the details up .

I've shared it on my page too,they are few pages you could too like other cycling clubs,
    Really hope it goes ahead

I've shared it on my page too,they are few pages you could too like other cycling clubs,
    Really hope it goes ahead

Thanks man , the other cycling I'm told has now been done .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Joe6Pac

Yip,

Hope this race goes ahead. Online registration is the future so people need to get used to it.

It's the last last of the year so come on lads!!!, one last hurrah, get online and sign-up!!! Make the winter shorter, do it, do it, do it!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Aodho

Why is reg closing so early relative to race day? If you want to fill it then surely leaving reg open until night before (or -1) is the way to go

Aodho wrote: »
    Why is reg closing so early relative to race day? If you want to fill it then surely leaving reg open until night before (or -1) is the way to go[/

Because if it was left till the last minute the race would run regardless , at a cost to the club . The early cut off allows some for flexibility I'm sure if anywhere near the amount of riders required to break even signed on by Monday then the race would run with riders allowed to sign on that day .

Aodho wrote: »
    Why is reg closing so early relative to race day? If you want to fill it then surely leaving reg open until night before (or -1) is the way to go[/

Because if it was left till the last minute the race would run regardless , at a cost to the club . The early cut off allows some for flexibility I'm sure if anywhere near the amount of riders required to break even signed on by Monday then the race would run with riders allowed to sign on that day .
    Well ye need to let people know its on,and get it on various clubs pages,just putting it on your own fb page is not enough,just look at what others do they spread the word around,maybe ye should hire Mr Noonan from Wexford wheelers to promote it 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭GoTilUBlow

Try getting a retweet from stickybottle or CI perhaps. I've shared the hole off it on facebook!

They have facebook page as well - link from the site

Well ye need to let people know its on,and get it on various clubs pages,just putting it on your own fb page is not enough,just look at what others do they spread the word around,maybe ye should hire Mr Noonan from Wexford wheelers to promote it 😊

feck off Pawlie .........LOL

Max Clifford of Wexford wheelers..........

Honestly,

Cut the Prize money to zero if needs be, , treat it like a league race in that respect , if needs be , and just run it. (Albeit a league race that gives points !!)

Cancelling is just messing around. Let the people know that attendance is low hence prizes may be low to non existant.

Remember lads are chasing points, thats all. Lads want to race, irrespective of attendance/ prize money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Aodho

Honestly,

Cut the Prize money to zero if needs be, , treat it like a league race in that respect , if needs be , and just run it. (Albeit a league race that gives points !!)

Cancelling is just messing around. Let the people know that attendance is low hence prizes may be low to non existant.

Remember lads are chasing points, thats all. Lads want to race, irrespective of attendance/ prize money.

A good point.

Plus plenty of lads wont have thought about next w/end yet until they upload their strava tomorrow (from dunlavin today). Extend the reg deadline to account for that & blitz the promotion early this week, sending poster to all main club's FB pages (most will be happy to share), SB, irishcyclingphotos.com & usual suspects. And if money is an issue do what michael196 wisely suggests

Thanks for the suggestions lads , meeting tomorrow night and we'll know more then . I agree that a lot of lads won't even think about next weekend till tomorrow .

Couldnt agree more about the prize money,scrap it or just do top 3,for me its all about the points I would like to earn Sunday and not a brown bertie envelope :-).......

Fondriest yea know yea wanna have it go ahead :-)

Couldnt agree more about the prize money,scrap it or just do top 3,for me its all about the points I would like to earn Sunday and not a brown bertie envelope :-).......

Fondriest yea know yea wanna have it go ahead :-)

If it was up to me it would definitily run .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

If it was up to me it would definitily run .
    Good luck with it fondriest.You stuck you're neck out for the riders to get it put on,so support would be great from the riders.

All races senior and underage ARE going ahead as planned :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Great to hear,looking forward to it.

All races senior and underage ARE going ahead as planned :-)

Whatever you said or did your a legend for letting it go ahead fondriest,super stuff

What are your numbers now ?

Not sure Michael, will check later and let you know. Obviously we will be taking entries up to and on the day .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

Not sure Michael, will check later and let you know. Obviously we will be taking entries up to and on the day .
    Thats a good idea.Keep the entries open to include on the day entries.If the weather keeps up it could add a sizeable crew.

wav1 wrote: »
    Thats a good idea.Keep the entries open to include on the day entries.If the weather keeps up it could add a sizeable crew.

Hope so, will we see the young wavs or have they hung up their wheels for the season ?

i think its nearly half full for a2/a3 race and similar for a4,

Sounds about right , glad to see you're keeping your eye on the ball Pawlie .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭GoTilUBlow

Well if it's half full online already you are doing a lot better at this stage than other clubs that looked for online bookings earlier in the year. Apparently Charleville was only half full as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭CillianL

I only found out about this race the day of the Leinster champs,
    is it still possible to register?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭bwalsh1983

CillianL wrote: »

Is indeed.

CillianL wrote: »