Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lorry/ truck driver's wage

• 27-08-2013 8:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭

What is the wages like these days for a lorry driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

cena wrote: »
    What is the wages like these days for a lorry driver.

I heard few days ago that Eddie Stobart drivers get 10 euro p/h.
    But I have no clue if that's correct info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

CiniO wrote: »
    I heard few days ago that Eddie Stobart drivers get 10 euro p/h.
    But I have no clue if that's correct info.

Hardly a good wage for a company like them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

Hardly a good wage for a company like them

The problem is there's enough out there who will do it for that. I've heard before that its pretty tough to get into without experience. I could've read that on here or anywhere so may not be accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭discodavie

I take it OP it's artic wages your looking for.
    Stobarts are still paying €13.75 to agency drivers afaik

The usual wage is 120-130 per day , whatever length that day might be.

I do know however that lads are getting away with paying 80-90 to lads.

(Those daily rates are after tax by the way)

I'm on the road a bit these days so I know these to be the rates , you will however get the exception paying more but you'll earn it.

On the other hand now it costs 17-1800 to get the licence , it cost me 600 back in 2001

There is guy in my area that Owns about 6 lorrys and all they do is remove sawdust from the local saw mill. He seems to after the lads that drive for him

There is guy in my area that Owna about 6 lorrys and all they do is remove sawdust from the local saw mill. He seems to after the lads that drive for him

discodavie wrote: »
    I take it OP it's artic wages your looking for.
    Stobarts are still paying €13.75 to agency drivers afaik

The usual wage is 120-130 per day , whatever length that day might be.

I do know however that lads are getting away with paying 80-90 to lads.

(Those daily rates are after tax by the way)

I'm on the road a bit these days so I know these to be the rates , you will however get the exception paying more but you'll earn it.

On the other hand now it costs 17-1800 to get the licence , it cost me 600 back in 2001
    I would do it for 80 or 90 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

80-90 euro/day? You do realize it isn't 6 hours shift?

What did you mean in previous posts btw, hard to understand this...

Ill just point out here that a day is "legally" up to 15 hours so that puts it at 5.30-6 per hour

wonski wrote: »
    80-90 euro/day? You do realize it isn't 6 hours shift?

What did you mean in previous posts btw, hard to understand this...

Meant I wouldn't do it for that wage

discodavie wrote: »
    Ill just point out here that a day is "legally" up to 15 hours so that puts it at 5.30-6 per hour

That is correct. Drivers rest is based on loading/unloading and waiting. As long as their truck is stationary everything is legal. Sad but true - and I personally know lads who do 12 hours a day 5-6 days a week. All for daily rate. They get paid 600 and even 800/week, but have no life at all.

Meant I wouldn't do it for that wage

Well - You said You would:rolleyes:

And I meant posts above:

"There is guy in my area that Owna about 6 lorrys and all they do is remove sawdust from the local saw mill. He seems to after the lads that drive for him"

The bit above is the one I didn't understand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 gordieboy04

It all depends what work you're doing but I'd say the average wage across the board is probably around 105 a day. Lads doing say tipper work getting home every night wouldn't be earning as much as the man doing a fortnight on the continent. A job doing irish work getting home every night earning over 120 a day is hard to get purely because any man that has that job doesn't want to leave it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Neighbour drives for a removals company in Dublin, 11.40 an hour and that's considered good. Drive, load, drive, offload, drive back to depot. Most of the other lads without licences are on 9.00 per hour.

Driving something like a rigid gets you from 9.50-12.00 per hour, plenty of lads willing to do if for that. A lot of them on 3 day weeks as well as it's easier on the employer for conditions and financially as well.

Good, well paid jobs with good conditions are hard to come by as drivers rarely leave and a lot are filled by word of mouth.

Have a look at Fas.ie and you'll get a good idea of what you can expect in terms of pay and conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

Well - You said You would:rolleyes:

And I meant posts above:

"There is guy in my area that Owna about 6 lorrys and all they do is remove sawdust from the local saw mill. He seems to after the lads that drive for him"

The bit above is the one I didn't understand...

Think he meant "there is a guy in my area that owns about 6 lorries and all they do is remove sawdust from the local saw Mill. He seems to look after the lads that drive for him"

At least that's my understanding.

Think he meant "there is a guy in my area that owns about 6 lorries and all they do is remove sawdust from the local saw Mill. He seems to look after the lads that drive for him"

At least that's my understanding.

That is what is meant. Using a tablet., harder to type with. My laptop is bust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

I drive a refuse lorry and get 11 per hour and 16.50 overtime. The base is ****e but all the overtime makes it up. Driving an artic can pay anywhere from 80-120 a day but between waiting around or loading unloading can be upto 15 hours a day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

The problem for new drivers trying to get into the business is agency's. There are some well payed jobs with decent conditions but they are all taken.

The big company's then use agency drivers who don't get the same money or conditions and usually end up with the **** work that the perminant drivers don't want.

It's the Stobart effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Shanemorris

It's a joke this lorry driver craic. I spent 2 k sorting out the license about ten yrs ago. I was all green at the time mad up for driving then I discovered the reality. 15 hr days for a flat rate. Break down and you are still to get the job done regardless of the time.
    The most recent work I done was for a company in cork. Refrigeration.
    Get in the truck at 11 pm drive to Dublin. Unload at both these locations.
    Then hang around waiting for collection to bring to cork am. Not rest availability but expected to record a rest period on tacho. Also do multi drop work in Dub.

Sometimes collect in Kilkenny or Tipp on the way back. Then do another delivery in cork city then back to depot. Arriving back at 2pm maybe 3pm. Dead man walking and expected to be back for work at 11pm.
    The law states max night shift is 10 hrs.
    Complained about this. Was replaced by a Slovakian guy.
    He can have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Zane97

Just wondering what do private bus drivers and Adr tanker drivers earn now ?

It's a lot of money to do the licenses. Adr especially

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Superdedupity

Don't know about tankers but private bus work can be as little as minimum wage right now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

The lads blowing about good money driving a lorry are the ones in established relationships with their employer - i.e related, there years, married in, trained up to the ears on expensive courses. The reality for new drivers is usually dog-long hours for crap pay. Saying otherwise is fantasy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 big tommy

hi just two weeks ago i drove a artic truck for a dublin company just for 2 days total hrs 20. and i only got 167. e very unhappy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Are their any 40 hours a week jobs driving artics? Or is it just get the job done regardless of time?

not that i know of.i can understand with that job hrs can vary alot but they should pay overtime etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Are their any 40 hours a week jobs driving artics? Or is it just get the job done regardless of time?

I think by law you are only supposed to drive mid 40 hours a week and have to take a 45 hour break every two weeks roughly and 24 hour break every other week. That's following the law and keeping the tachos and all that right. While some companies follow these rules there's other where it's a case of just keep driving until the load is where it's supposed to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Bpmull wrote: »
    I think by law you are only supposed to drive mid 40 hours a week and have to take a 45 hour break every two weeks roughly and 24 hour break every other week. That's following the law and keeping the tachos and all that right. While some companies follow these rules there's other where it's a case of just keep driving until the load is where it's supposed to be.

Lads drive because they like lorries, not money. Just as well really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

big tommy wrote: »
    not that i know of.i can understand with that job hrs can vary alot but they should pay overtime etc

Surely this was mentioned before taking the job?

i dont drive every day so im not up to speed with taco rules only that after 4.5 hrs driving/work you must take 45min break but driver has 15 hrs in a day to do his work so i think a driver could do 3 shifts of 4.5 hrs driving.correct me if im wrong

There are people paid daily rate rather than hourly rate.

Take home pay - €600 per week.
    Hours worked - you don't want to know.

I feel sorry for them, but - as someone mentioned - they love the job.

Surely this was mentioned before taking the job?

ya 120 a day i was told i done 20 hrs over 2 days and recieved 167

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭braddun

I will do it for 50 and a few pints of porter

i dont drive every day so im not up to speed with taco rules only that after 4.5 hrs driving/work you must take 45min break but driver has 15 hrs in a day to do his work so i think a driver could do 3 shifts of 4.5 hrs driving.correct me if im wrong

You are wrong actually.
    3x 4.5 hours would be 13.5 hours work per day.
    Maximum you can do is 10 hours, and it's only 2 times a week, as in other days during the week you can only drive for 9 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

ya 120 a day i was told i done 20 hrs over 2 days and recieved 167

After tax?

ya after tax
    ya your right i forgot that but driver has 15 hrs spread to do the 10hrs or 9 hrs
    thanks for that

There are people paid daily rate rather than hourly rate.

Take home pay - €600 per week.
    Hours worked - you don't want to know.

I feel sorry for them, but - as someone mentioned - they love the job.

Taking home 30k per annum isn't to be sneezed at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭navara man

CiniO wrote: »
    You are wrong actually.
    3x 4.5 hours would be 13.5 hours work per day.
    Maximum you can do is 10 hours, and it's only 3 times a week, as in other days during the week you can only drive for 9 hours.
    It only two times week you can drive up to10 hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

hi just two weeks ago i drove a artic truck for a dublin company just for 2 days total hrs 20. and i only got 167. e very unhappy

Jaysus! You'd get more for a couple of hours digging a hole in the ground :P

navara man wrote: »

Don't forget that the max you can drive is 90 hours a fortnight though.

600 take home isn't bad , but doing 100 hours for it wouldn't be unusual

navara man wrote: »

Sorry my mistake. Corrected.

Augeo wrote: »
    Taking home 30k per annum isn't to be sneezed at.

Not really if you work 60-70 hours a week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

Sounds rough.

Nice life in Ireland is in computers these day. Study & get your CCNA, MCP, etcc... and you won't look back. Any number of jobs and good money/ conditions...

im not bad on computers that is ordinary stuff like emailing or searching for stuff etc whats involved in courses and what should i look out for if looking for a course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Lads I feel that perhaps this thread is taking a turn away from anything motor related. Perhaps go to the Work and Jobs forum to discuss IT options?

I'll leave this thread open, if anyone wants to discuss Lorry driving specifically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭The Undecided One

Well, anything's changed in the couple of years since this thread was posted?

My mate started driving an artic around 4 months ago, straight after getting his licence. He is on roughly 500 for a 5 day week (works nights though).

I was thinking of jumping ship from hospitality sector to the lorry driving but 100% yet.

Any advice for someone looking to get into the truck driving business?

Thnks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

He is on roughly 500 for a 5 day week

Think you've answered your own question mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

Is that €500 gross or net?

500 in the account :-) I never know which is which ;-)

Jesus. wrote: »
    Think you've answered your own question mate

But is that an industry average? Are there places that pay better? Is ADR rewarded with better pay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

500 in the account :-) I never know which is which ;-)

That's about average for night work as you will normally have a short enough shift plus straightforward work. If you wanted to earn more it's possible in specialised haulage where you can make 160-180 per day...