Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public proposals

• 27-08-2013 12:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

I heard on the radio this morning that some clown proposed to his girlfriend on a plane by getting another plane to fly alongside them with a banner. And then last week we had the Rose of Tralee bokefest.
    Is it just me or are big public proposals cringeworthy, presumptive and pretty unfair on the person being proposed to.
    Would you like a big public proposal or prefer something private?
    Or maybe just have your other half brand you unexpectedly one day?

Big public proposal 86 votes

Yay. Lovely and romantic
    0% 0 votes
    Boo. Weird, presumptive and slightly aggressive
    6% 6 votes
    Brand me like one of your French cattle
    88% 76 votes
    That Atari thing people always write
    4% 4 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Something private for me please.
    I just find those vids really awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

biko wrote: »

Yeah, it's a real private intimate moment. It's like wanting to have your first shag on Croke Park at half time.
    Still, those videos where the girl says "no" or "we'll talk later" are hilarious in a that's-the-job-for-you kind of way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

there is a definate "all she'll never say no after I do all this big elaborate proposal for her in front of everyone" vibe off them.

They are mortifying and just make others embarrassed for you :o

Cringey
    Especially if they sing
    Even more especially if they think it's a romantic song but they clearly weren't listening to the lyrics properly

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Whenever I see videos like that I always end up thinking "You fool! What if she said 'No'?"

bluewolf wrote: »
    Cringey
    Especially if they sing
    Even more especially if they think it's a romantic song but they clearly weren't listening to the lyrics properly

Something by Steel Panther perhaps

reminds me of a wanker I saw on TV a few nights ago. he has to plan a secret wedding for his mrs which she doesnt know where it is till she arrives, and decides that the best way to do this is to do it in HIS favourite football teams stadium and on the PITCH [she needed football boots..not ****ting you :pac: ] selfish prick! - and she let him know about it too

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

In Rome we visited the Trevvi Fountain. All you could see was about 30 tourist couples either about to get engaged, down on one knee with the box held out, or all cuddled up afterwards. It was friggen hilarious the way they all probably thought it was so romantic and original.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Didn't the crazy, former French football coach Raymond Domenech propose live on TV? She said no apparently. Can't find any video evidence.

I could have just read it on the side of a box of rice krispies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭smoking_kills

Awkward...cringeworthy i'd say. I left the room when the rose of tralee one happened.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I'd never do it publicly, way too harsh on the person being asked.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 166 ✭✭Bananatop

Found the Rose of Tralee one very cringey, she kept saying no! Other than that I think proposals are lovely. Great to see people look so happy (I know, puke puke!), also you never know what difficulties they've gotten over to reach that point!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭smoking_kills

I find it really seedy if that makes sense and really unfair on the other partner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

No matter how much I loved the person proposing, I'd be tempted to say no to teach them a lesson for proposing in public. It's putting unnecessary pressure on the person being asked, and turning what should be a private, intimate moment into a spectacle.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Should always be done in private as far as I'm concerned.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

IM0 wrote: »
    there is a definate "all she'll never say no after I do all this big elaborate proposal for her in front of everyone" vibe off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

They are sad and pathetic imo, really puts the other person on the spot. Fair play to the girl in the last video, it would have been easier to say yes and then change her mind later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Really, you think so?
    I'd of thought a bloke who proposes in public had figured she'd say yes in private, so I'll do it publicly.
    It's is definitely a stupid idea though saying that.
    What's romantic about turning a proposal into public spectacle!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭MOC88

keith16 wrote: »
    Didn't the crazy, former French football coach Raymond Domenech propose live on TV? She said no apparently. Can't find any video evidence.

I could have just read it on the side of a box of rice krispies.

The future was cloudy on that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Its a private matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Always seems to be a bit of an air of desperation from the blokes who do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Only superseded by those incredibly corny scripted wedding acty-dancey things.

*puke*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭MOC88

vitani wrote: »
    No matter how much I loved the person proposing, I'd be tempted to say no to teach them a lesson for proposing in public. It's putting unnecessary pressure on the person being asked, and turning what should be a private, intimate moment into a spectacle.

WOW you wouldn't be delighted that the person who proposed to you want sot spend the rest of their life with you. You'd want to teach them a lesson despite being madly in love with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

jester77 wrote: »
    They are sad and pathetic imo, really puts the other person on the spot. Fair play to the girl in the last video, it would have been easier to say yes and then change her mind later.

True but she would have to tell everyone she knew after that as it was on TV.

its usually the guys with money who do it too

on the other side of things, the first thing people ask is "where did they propose?" so society puts pressure on itself to make something original to satisfy the appetite of those who want to know all about this crap and the latest 'original' idea the DH came up with. cant win, damned if do damned if dont in some ways!

but there might be a few guys going "ah feck! but I was gonna.... :(" and changing the way they propose now..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

PM sent.

<3 xoxo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

MOC88 wrote: »
    WOW you wouldn't be delighted that the person who proposed to you want sot spend the rest of their life with you. You'd want to teach them a lesson despite being madly in love with them.

I'd be tempted to, yes.

I'd also hope the person who wanted to spend the rest of his life with me would know me well enough to know that a public proposal would make me very uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Did some bint get proposed to on The Rose of Tralee last week? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I think they're lovely :) I saw a guy propose to his girlfriend in a restaurant in America once, thought it was the sweetest thing ever!

kfallon wrote: »
    Did some bint get proposed to on The Rose of Tralee last week? :confused:

Yeah, she was mortified. Kept saying 'no, no, please dont!'

I think they're lovely :) I saw a guy propose to his girlfriend in a restaurant in America once, thought it was the sweetest thing ever!

It was staged just so you and other customers would hang round for dessert......however if you had every intention to anyway then it's 1-0 to you :p

Yeah, she was mortified. Kept saying 'no, no, please dont!'

Really??? Was it one of those "No, no please don't" but she really meant, "Oh yes, go on" or was it a "get the fook out of me face you wankbag!"

I think it's madly passive-aggressive.

'If you turn me down, everyone will think you're a bitch so you're cornered!'

kfallon wrote: »
    Really??? Was it one of those "No, no please don't" but she really meant, "Oh yes, go on" or was it a "get the fook out of me face you wankbag!"

I think it was a oh **** now I have to say yes but i dont really want to!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yarRxERRFxY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I think it was a oh **** now I have to say yes but i dont really want to!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yarRxERRFxY
    "I got tissues" Just in case the answer was no I guess -_-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I'd hate the attention. It should be a private moment. The worst is when people do it in front of family. That's hardly fair.

Having said that, I was proposed to in a public place but it was done quietly so no one even noticed. It was lovely.

"I got issues"

We know Ned, we know :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

on the other side of things, the first thing people ask is "where did they propose?"

Makes the answer of 'in bed' a bit awkward... so I've heard ¬_¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭dm09

Are you sure you really hate cuddles??? Go on, Ya'll have one?!? :)

dm09 wrote: »
    Are you sure you really hate cuddles??? Go on, Ya'll have one?!? :)

:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

For the record, the girl on the radio who was proposed to (she accepted the proposal btw...) seemed pretty delighted about the whole thing. She's been dating this guy since they were 16. They were childhood sweethearts. She has a child with him.

So the guy who proposed was not a "clown" OP. It's safe to say he knows his fiancé better than any of us, and knows the kind of marriage proposal she would have got a kick out of. I'm not a softie but that story this morning was sickeningly romantic.

Plenty of people aren't into public proposals. Grand so. Chances are your fiancés wouldn't propose in public.

haters everywhere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

I think that it is attention seeking of the highest order.

'Hey everybody, look how in love we are'.

So in love that you felt you had to share the most intimate moment of your relationship with a bunch of strangers rather than with each other? I'm truly jealous of your love.

Some peoples idea of romance is very...different to mine... :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

No I'd want it private if I ever happen to be proposed to which have no expectation that it happen. I be mortified if it were public like that should be private and special shared with each other. Ye share news of engagement and wedding with others why not have that moment only with each other from prying eyes.

I don't like being centre of attention so public proposal no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭certifiedcrepe

I love to watch them for the awh factor but I would never want something like a flash mob or a marching band if it was me.

Candie wrote: »
    I think it's madly passive-aggressive.

'If you turn me down, everyone will think you're a bitch so you're cornered!'

Did you see in the clip someone put up the way the basketball mascot raises its hands to the woman when she said no and was all "what the fuck, bitch."

its usually the guys with money who do it too

on the other side of things, the first thing people ask is "where did they propose?" so society puts pressure on itself to make something original to satisfy the appetite of those who want to know all about this crap and the latest 'original' idea the DH came up with. cant win, damned if do damned if dont in some ways!

but there might be a few guys going "ah feck! but I was gonna.... :(" and changing the way they propose now..

Really? I've never heard this be asked of anyone outside of shitty rom-coms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,914 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

Public proposers could be said to be manipulative, which is what makes me uncomfortable about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

I also hate public proposals, I told my husband not to do it, especially in the restaurant.

It turns out he never really proposed to me anyway, we discussed it while on holiday visiting his family and decided to get engaged and then got a ring. Worked for us. Loads of people wanted to hear my engagement story because there's competitiveness as to how romantic your man was (taking you up in a helicopter etch). They were always disappointed when I said I didn't really have one.