Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cancer patient trapped in Bus Éireann luggage compartment

• 27-08-2013 1:22am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭my my my

you can't tell people what to do

i've no idea, i'm talking at large but a few people travel in the luggage compartment,

it's lost revenue and just doesn;t make sense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I'm ashamed to say I laughed way too hard at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Bus Eireann drivers are not allowed to help passengers with their luggage because of the compo culture. It makes me very fukkking sad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

She probably shouldn't have climbed into the luggage compartment without alerting the driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Bacon and Cabbage

Should have stood clear while luggage doors operating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

I'm not going to lie, I found that hilarious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Stand clear, luggage doors operate

the european union is trying to cut down on poor people travelling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

wat ser lol lol lol iou lol lol lol s lol lol lol ly, no sorry seriously

it's pretty simple really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

25km?

Plenty of time to swap the contents of peoples bags :D sure you wouldnt be bored.

25 kms. it evens itself out, its economy of scale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Their seats are fairly uncomfortable,wonder what the luggage compartment is like?
    The little boy in me says it would be cool to try...nearly time he went home though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

I'm sorry the woman has cancer but at the same time it's not relevant to the story.

Sensationalist misdirected outrage. If she was a Roma woman she'd probably be arrested.

Don't climb in the boot and you won't get stuck in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I'm sorry the woman has cancer but at the same time it's not relevant to the story.

Was just thinking the same thing... The media annoys me so much sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Sensationalist misdirected outrage. If she was a Roma woman she'd probably be arrested.

The biggest surprise for me is that she wasnt described as "the most vulnerable in society"tm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Exactly.

"Someone got trapped in the luggage bit of a bus for a while but they're ok now."
    - "Ha! What a gobshite!"

"Someone with cancer got trapped in the luggage bit of a bus for a while but they're ok now."
    - "How awful, god bless them, and hopefully the driver is fired and sued for his negligence."

Why the hell does it even mention cancer? 25km.. Non story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

I know it's after hours but seriously? If any of you had ever had chemo or similar you would realise that she was probably hanging on by a thread and couldn't face any kind of pleading or heated discussion with the driver and just hoped to grab her bag and get home in one piece.

Dubl07 wrote: »
    I know it's after hours but seriously? If any of you had ever had chemo or similar you would realise that she was probably hanging on by a thread and couldn't face any kind of pleading or heated discussion with the driver and just hoped to grab her bag and get home in one piece.

Why would she be pleading or having a heated debate with the driver? "Give me 2 seconds my bag is a bit buried , cheers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

Why would she be pleading or having a heated debate with the driver? "Give me 2 seconds my bag is a bit buried , cheers"

"I've a bad back, missus. Grab it yerself."

And cancer patients tend to be repeat users of certain routes at a given time.

"I've a bad back, missus. Grab it yerself."

And cancer patients tend to be repeat users of certain routes at a given time.

Who said anything about asking him to get it for her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

no ones fault really as far as I know bus drivers dont read minds?

If she was fraile then she should have told someone/bus driver before getting in to get her bag and to wait till she got out. sounds like she brought it on herself tbh. that said if she was tired [given she was on treatment] then she might have enjoyed the lie down in there...and shock horror...intended to stay in there for the journey! :O

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

The cancer angle should get her a slot as a guest on The Late Late Show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Can imagine the rags...

"boffins have claimed that travelling in the undercarriage of coaches can increase the likelihood of getting cancer"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

A few soft bags in the hold and you could make a nest and have a sleep. Try doing that in the uncomfy chairs uptop...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,866 ✭✭✭Hooked

Can just see the headlines...

What are you Doolin there?

Stand Clare... Doors opening...

'Old bag' discovered in luggage compartment....

She's lucky the next stop after ballyvaughan was Doolin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,774 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

I hope she was charged for the extra milage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Lapin wrote: »
    The cancer angle should get her a slot as a guest on The Late Late Show.
    Perfect fodder for the Lavelahn, (particularly with the cancer angle)........ But then again, Joe's on holliers, so maybe not.

People appear to be forgettins that the driver would have had to open the luggage doors so obviously he had to know she was getting a bag.

How else was she going to get her bag if it was in too far to reach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Hooked wrote: »
    Can just see the headlines...

What are you Doolin there?

Stand Clare... Doors opening...

'Old bag' discovered in luggage compartment....

She's lucky the next stop after ballyvaughan was Doolin!

I lol'd :D

People appear to be forgettins that the driver would have had to open the luggage doors so obviously he had to know she was getting a bag.

How else was she going to get her bag if it was in too far to reach?

The doors are operated from the cab on some buses.On others the passengers open and close them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

It's funny that the Irish times doesn't mention cancer at all

kneemos wrote: »
    The doors are operated from the cab on some buses.On others the passengers open and close them.

I'll admit its quite rare I use buses but of the times I have (city link and aircoach) I've never seen doors operated by anyone but the driver.

Bus Eireann drivers never do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

too many possible puns, im in overload...

undercarriage, serious baggage, ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

tears are rolling down my cheeks at the OUTRAGE

loads of lads on here just dying to get outraged and I want a part of that.

BUS EIREANN should be ASHAMED of themselves, HOW DARE THEY!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Not a nice thing to happen but if they actually climbed into the luggage compartment, it's hardly the drivers fault.

Surprised at RTE including the fairly irrelevant fact of her cancer too. Something you'd expect from the Indo.

anncoates wrote: »
    Not a nice thing to happen but if they actually climbed into the luggage compartment, it's hardly the drivers fault.

Surprised at RTE including the fairly irrelevant fact of her cancer too. Something you'd expect from the Indo.

RTE orgasm at the mention of a cancer patient.Half their entertainment schedule is based on cancer patients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Scary at the time but it makes for a good story down the pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

If she was hanging she shouldn't have been up all night sucking on cans.

If she was so sick for her treatment, somone would have collected her if she couldn't even ride a bus.

Heisenberg can control a drug empire and a car wash with cancer. It serves no purpose to say she had cancer or any illness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Well it looks like this passenger

(•_•)

( •_•)>⌐■-■

(⌐■_■)

Got truly BUSted.

YEEAAAHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

*Goes to get coat but it's in baggage compartment so I'll leave it there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I love the way they tried to make her sound like the victim in this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

Cancer or not, this story is fucking hilarious

Yeah, the fact that she has cancer should have no relevance to the story. It's just trying to make it much worse than it actually is. I assume what happened is that the bus driver glanced back to see if anyone was there, when she was in the luggage hold, he couldn't see her and just assumed that she had collected her bag and left. It's a pretty honest mistake to make. It's why, if I notice my bag is further in than expected, I would pop by the driver just to warn him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

No one likes to see somehting like this happen - especially if the woman was unwell and was upset by the incident....

But....if it happened to me, I'd just lay back on the bags and wait for the next stop. Could well be more comfortable than sitting in the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,774 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

she should have had a ****

(•_•)

( •_•)>⌐■-■

(⌐■_■)

and bussed a nut

YEEAAAHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

ok i laughed at the idea of someone at the next stop going to collect their bags and someone staring out at them when doors open - musta **** their pants!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Woman endures a terrifying ordeal in the luggage compartment of a bus, let's all piss ourselves laughing at her.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

UNEXPECTED ITEM IN BAGGAGE AREA

:(