Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Duck season!

• 25-08-2013 8:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭

As duck season is just around the corner, I wanted to know what cartridge
    Ye will be using?

I myself use sipe 6 32gr.....best by far in my opinion!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭sikahuntejack

36g remington number 6 cant wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

36g remington number 6 cant wait

same as meself .will also be useing 36g 4s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

Cant beat the Eley Alpha-max No 4&5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭deano2882

nobel sport 34g 6's for me lovely cartridge and not that dirty although i do have couple boxes rc 6's an 5's still from last year..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭vapour_trail

Remington 34g 6 , bit pricey but I wouldnt use anything else for duck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Boiled-egg

Remington 4,5 and 6's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I use 5s for all manner of birds.
    Just find them more dependant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I use 5s for all manner of birds.
    Just find them more dependant.

I found 5's make a bit of a mess of the smaller ducks like teal. But each to their own I guess. I usually use 5 or 6's depending on what species I'm after at the time.

Birdnuts wrote: »
    I found 5's make a bit of a mess of the smaller ducks like teal. But each to their own I guess. I usually use 5 or 6's depending on what species I'm after at the time.

Never been near teal. Don't have any land near rivers or lakes or marshes.
    Up in mountain land I shoot for first time ever I watched group of 8 or 9 duck wander this land.
    Small bit of water held in lower fields and they'd fly around it and land. Basically even a pool of 4 foot wide they'd sit in it. But Havint seen them since June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

duckman!! wrote: »
    Ye will be using?

That cause you ain't used 32gr 6 eley VIPs ! I use to use sipe 6 32gr till I got a case of VIP !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

I also find eley vip a very good cartridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭gregers85

I shoot a semi-auto, usually have a 7.5 and two 6s loaded up! never had any trouble dropping um! used Eleys last season, good cartridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Duckhunter92

Where is everyone going on the 1st of September, lakes rivers ect? anyone going to be on lough sheelin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭sikahuntejack

For the past couple of weeks being feeding a gun club pond every night around 400 ducks coming into feed tonight only about 50 came in hope its not a sign that someone frightened them out of spite :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

TriggerPL wrote: »
    That cause you ain't used 32gr 6 eley VIPs ! I use to use sipe 6 32gr till I got a case of VIP !

have to agree my ould pal the vip are a cracking shell ,found about 200 empty shells in a stuble field yesterday ,costly for the pigeons i use hull extreme range 32 6s cause vip are not stocked where i buy them.

How much are the VIP 6s?
    And how much better are they to eley 5s?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

duckman!! wrote: »
    Ye will be using?

I find the sipe the best on the market, forroci aint bad either ,i have gone off Eley lately it is all i use to buy then i was getting a lot of missfires with them, it wasnt just me it was all the lads in the club i bought them for as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

lb1981 wrote: »
    I find the sipe the best on the market, forroci aint bad either ,i have gone off Eley lately it is all i use to buy then i was getting a lot of missfires with them, it wasnt just me it was all the lads in the club i bought them for as well.

same thing happend to a lad i was shooting pigeons with shells where been hit but didnt fire off. i use the 36gram remington 8s on pigeon/crows find them a cracking shell .great for woodcock and snipe too.

How much are the VIP 6s?
    And how much better are they to eley 5s?

Between 10 and 13 a box lad .

And there a world apart from normal eley .there the Ferrari of cartridges

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

Gamebore black gold worth a mention 5s but would plus 1 the vips my favourate carts hadto settle for sipes though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Stonehall9

Had VIP's on the first last year and they are the job, must say tho I got a box of game bore black gold and they were excellent , not everywhere has them tho they are a bit expensive €12 a box, suppose to cycle very well in semi autos!

charlie10 wrote: »
    have to agree my ould pal the vip are a cracking shell ,found about 200 empty shells in a stuble field yesterday ,costly for the pigeons i use hull extreme range 32 6s cause vip are not stocked where i buy them.

A bit careless leavin 200 she'll casings behind!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

i brought them home to the recycling bin and let the farmer know he wasnt happy with the lads that were shooting it in the first place and wanted to cover my own arse by telling him

charlie10 wrote: »
    i brought them home to the recycling bin and let the farmer know he wasnt happy with the lads that were shooting it in the first place and wanted to cover my own arse by telling him

End of permission for those lads!! Only right too, anyone that leaves empties like that doesn't deserve the shooting,

Stonehall9 wrote: »
    End of permission for those lads!! Only right too, anyone that leaves empties like that doesn't deserve the shooting,

Exactly. Leaves a bad impression not just on themselves but on anyone that goes shooting. People will assume we all do it.
    I always bring mine home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭vapour_trail

These Eley VIP's yous are talking about, are they the green ones with long brass and a fibre wad?

Def long brass fibre wad nearly sure the ones I've got are black , now that been said it could be a real dark green I never passed much remarks,

I do know I'm one of few to have them in 7 32g as well I had an un mercifully fight with ardee over them , they said they don't make them so I rang eley in the uk and explained the story ,

Got a call back from one of the top guys saying that ardee never requested 7s and that 10 cases left for ardee today for me and that I should expect a call from ardee very soon about them .

Long story short ardee weren't very happy but I got 10 cases which were divided out between member of our club for shooting at our retriever trails .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭OU812

What I think of when I see this on the front page

tumblr_m6p8b6J03A1rqh8hdo1_500.gif

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Def long brass fibre wad nearly sure the ones I've got are black , now that been said it could be a real dark green I never passed much remarks,

I do know I'm one of few to have them in 7 32g as well I had an un mercifully fight with ardee over them , they said they don't make them so I rang eley in the uk and explained the story ,

Got a call back from one of the top guys saying that ardee never requested 7s and that 10 cases left for ardee today for me and that I should expect a call from ardee very soon about them .

Long story short ardee weren't very happy but I got 10 cases which were divided out between member of our club for shooting at our retriever trails .

The ones I had are black with long brass but didn't come in 7's, just 32g 6's. how did you find the 7 's were they 32g??

Stonehall9 wrote: »
    The ones I had are black with long brass but didn't come in 7's, just 32g 6's. how did you find the 7 's were they 32g??

The ones I have a black so I wasn't sure if they were black or dark green .

Yea 32g sevens found them a great all round cartridge I've shot some amazing shots with these cartridges on ducks and woodcock . There just a fast cartridge !

But if mallard are on the cards I'd use the 6 , any duck I've shot with 6s has dropped like a rock