Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new slurry tanker

• 21-08-2013 6:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭

Am thinking about buying a new slurry tanker in region of 2000 gallon. What sort of money are these making new, and what would be the best tanker between abbey, major and hispec?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Am thinking about buying a new slurry tanker in region of 2000 gallon. What sort of money are these making new, and what would be the best tanker between abbey, major and hispec?

What are you hauling with? A lot of guys around here with 120hp+ available are going for 2.5k and more. Floatation tyres seem to make hauling them off road a lot handier. Land is dry natured but very hilly around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭fiatagri8090

will be using a john deere 6330 around 110 hp or so. Some land hilly but generally fairly flat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

we have a 2600 gallon agrimac tanker on a tm125 newholland... hilly enough ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

We bought new in the Spring. Went with an Abbey again. Traded in a clean tank against it so I'll have to go back through it to see what it actually cost.

Our old tank was 2500gl on 100hp tractor. Worked fine. Flat land though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

€13500 for a new 2050 gallon Redrock 2 years ago, but they have gone up a bit since then. LGP tyres make the difference (for me at least) between getting out with slurry in January/February/March and waiting until after the first cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭stanflt

Belmac 2100 8250 inc vat straight deal 2 years ago

Good solid tanker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

Found my file with prices from when I was shopping around in 2011. AFAIK, all will be a bit dearer by now.

Conor 2000 - €12400
    Conor 2250 - €12800 (€14500 if fitted with 30" tyres)

Cross 2000 - €12700
    Cross 2250 - €13100 (€14900 if fitted with 30" tyres)

Abbey 2250 - €13900
    Abbey 2500 - €15600

Redrock 2050 - €14000 (I made a mistake in my previous post)

Major 2250 - €14500

NC 2250 - €13500

I failed to get a price from the local Hi-Spec dealer.

Hope this helps, there was lots of legwork put into the exercise :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭fiatagri8090

Got prices on Conor, Major and Hispec. High spec appear to be coming in at around 1200 cheaper then the other.

Has anybody out there got a hispec and what did ye think of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭grumpyfarmer

Got prices on Conor, Major and Hispec. High spec appear to be coming in at around 1200 cheaper then the other.

Have a hispec here bought in 1988. granted its only a 1150 gln but we spread most of our own slurry and all the dairy washing so its in regular use and no major problems bar wearing out a couple of splash plates and couplers,done the vanes once and had our first hole to patch in the barrel earlier in the year which reckon after 25 years ain't bad..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Neighbour has a Hi Spec 2100 and you could pull it with a car. What ever way it's balanced and carries its weight it's really easy to tow. I dont know if that size is available

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Have a hispec here bought in 1988. granted its only a 1150 gln but we spread most of our own slurry and all the dairy washing so its in regular use and no major problems bar wearing out a couple of splash plates and couplers,done the vanes once and had our first hole to patch in the barrel earlier in the year which reckon after 25 years ain't bad..

How did you patch the hole?
    Was drawing water with ours a few weeks back and noticed a drip. Slurry doesn't drip, but would like to get it sorted before the hole gets bigger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

an old abbey we used to have had a hole underneath it behind the pump , it had a piece of wood jammed in, now im not recommending that but it was like that for years and worked away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

Had a 2000gal hispec for 7 yrs, on 28 tyres (recessed). Very bouncy on tractor and was bad for compaction. Moved to a 2650 Conor on 30.5. Much easier to pull and compaction really reduced.
    What ever make you go for, anything over 2000 gals should be on at least 30.5's and ideally radials

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭grumpyfarmer

reilig wrote: »
    How did you patch the hole?
    Was drawing water with ours a few weeks back and noticed a drip. Slurry doesn't drip, but would like to get it sorted before the hole gets bigger.

Just hammered a square of flat steel to shape over it and welded it in place. mind you turned the welder well down and took my time, wouldn't take much to burn true it now i reckon, there is slot of corrosion on the inside i see it when ever im cleaning it out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭aidanki

Found my file with prices from when I was shopping around in 2011. AFAIK, all will be a bit dearer by now.

Conor 2000 - €12400
    Conor 2250 - €12800 (€14500 if fitted with 30" tyres)

Cross 2000 - €12700
    Cross 2250 - €13100 (€14900 if fitted with 30" tyres)

Abbey 2250 - €13900
    Abbey 2500 - €15600

Redrock 2050 - €14000 (I made a mistake in my previous post)

Major 2250 - €14500

NC 2250 - €13500

I failed to get a price from the local Hi-Spec dealer.

Hope this helps, there was lots of legwork put into the exercise :D

any idea what grade of steel is used to manufacture these tanks ?

how about unladen weights ?

was talking to a man about a trailer last week

275 steel in the sides and 350 steel in the floor

not alone is the 350 steel stronger but its also more corrosion resistant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

Couldn't dig up the quote for the our Abbey tank but it definitely came in way above the 15,600 B&H was quoted.

Looking at the price given with the old one I reckon the 2500 Recessed Abbey comes in around the 18k mark if it was a straight buy.
    Ours had a good few extras though like bigger tyres, extra lights, extra fill points, tool box, air brakes etc. and I suppose steel has gone up since 2011.

Few lads mentioned the Hi-Spec is easy pulled. The thing about having a small tractor is you dont be long finding out whats easy to pull and whats not.
    We tested a Hi-Spec 2500gl and the Abbey is definitely easier to pull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Blue Holland

Bought a 2500 hispec bout 5 or 6 years ago, happy with it, was being pulled by a 7840 for first few years, reckon it was as light on the land as old 1300 and that was on oversized tyres. As was said before make sure to get the 30.5 tyres.
    Paint is bit of an issue with the Major. Abbey tank is a bit lower but did'nt like how far back the axle was, salesman argued that this was necessary to keep weight on tractor if you were using trailing shoe but i had know intention of although i did get the brackets fitted for one just in case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

The salesman was right and wrong. I could show you an abbey 2500 with trailing shoe belonging to a neighbour and the towing eye is well worn from the trailing shoe rising up the front of the tanker and rubbing off the upper side of the hitch. He is right that the axle needs to be far back but wrong in that it is not far enough back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

It seems that Hispec tankers have a tendency to go for a tumble more too.

They have quite a high centre of gravity.

i have a 1600 abbey and my friend has 1600 conor, his one is shorter and higher than mine, he reckons its hard pull , i think the longer axle is a better job, mine easy to pull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

nashmach wrote: »
    It seems that Hispec tankers have a tendency to go for a tumble more too.

They have quite a high centre of gravity.

get it with a sivel hitch so they can do a full roll and back up on there feet again :D. The Groundhog tanker seems to have died a death, think there marketing department has gone on selling pan busters:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

We changed I'm 07 from a 1600 gallon abbey with rain gun to a 2350 hispec with recessed wheels. The hispec is easier on land than the abbey ever was. The bigger wheels just keep rolling when the small wheels just stop rolling. We were half amazed by the difference.
    Physically size wise there isn't much of a difference between width and length between the two but the hispec is a lot higher.
    The only thing that has gone wrong with the hispec is the seal has gone in the ram for opening the back door. The design of it allows dirt to make contact with the ram and scores the ram which destroys the seal. We now have bungs n tape blocking this.
    If the seal goes on the abbey they have been known to fill the back end of the tractor with water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

Has anyone ever changed the rims and tyres on their tanker? Have a1350 conor tanker but has the narrow wheels on it which means we have to be very careful about when and where we go. just wondering if anyone ever changed theirs to flotation tyres and how much did it cost

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

J DEERE wrote: »
    Has anyone ever changed the rims and tyres on their tanker? Have a1350 conor tanker but has the narrow wheels on it which means we have to be very careful about when and where we go. just wondering if anyone ever changed theirs to flotation tyres and how much did it cost

From these

picture.php?albumid=1565&pictureid=8628

To these

picture.php?albumid=1565&pictureid=8629

picture.php?albumid=1565&pictureid=8630

About 1 foot higher and double the width. Tanker will never sink or even leave a track on ground that is fit to carry the tractor.

€700 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

reilig wrote: »
    From these

picture.php?albumid=1565&pictureid=8628

To these

picture.php?albumid=1565&pictureid=8629

picture.php?albumid=1565&pictureid=8630

About 1 foot higher and double the width. Tanker will never sink or even leave a track on ground that is fit to carry the tractor.

€700 euro.
    Belmac 2100 for 9k two weeks ago don't know but a lot cheaper than the rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

i have a 1600 abbey and my friend has 1600 conor, his one is shorter and higher than mine, he reckons its hard pull , i think the longer axle is a better job, mine easy to pull

I get the contractor to empty the big tanks, have an 1100gls myself for smaller tanks etc. Its very slow going, and after borrowing the neighbours 1600gls I'm thinking about selling myown and getting a cheap 2nd hand 1600 tank. Would a 72hp 2wd tractor pull a 1600gls tanker? The other 105 hp 4wd pulled it find, but when doing slurry I'd often have the agitator on that, and not a hope the 72hp will drive it. Mostly flat ground here, but fields do get very soft in the shoulder months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Timmaay wrote: »
    I get the contractor to empty the big tanks, have an 1100gls myself for smaller tanks etc. Its very slow going, and after borrowing the neighbours 1600gls I'm thinking about selling myown and getting a cheap 2nd hand 1600 tank. Would a 72hp 2wd tractor pull a 1600gls tanker? The other 105 hp 4wd pulled it find, but when doing slurry I'd often have the agitator on that, and not a hope the 72hp will drive it. Mostly flat ground here, but fields do get very soft in the shoulder months.
    We have an 1100 gls tank here aswell but we borrow the contractors 1600gls tank lately and find that with the big wheels its just as easy pull as our own tank that only has the small wheels and leaves no tracks worth talking about in softer land .
    Im sure you could pull it with a 72hp tractor but softer ground without the 4wd might get messy , also stopping it might be a job if you had to pull up fast .
    Finding a cheap 1600gallon tank isnt going to be easy I think , I was on the look out last year for one and they seemed scarce . While the contractor is letting me borrow his one I wont be looking too hard anyhow for one now :o

hmm depends on your ground i suppose, ive nothing but hills and i dont think a 70 hp tractor would work at all, if you ground is flat you should be ok in dry times anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

A cheap 1600 tanker does not exist. We were on the lookout last year and the best we came across was a 10 year old abbey that a lad living next to a piggery had. She had her work done a d €4000 was his bottom price. We bought a new belmac and I'd have to look up the invoice but €6250 + VAT rings a bell. We thought 4k for the abbey sounded dear compared to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

The Groundhog tanker seems to have died a death,
    Thought they would be a good job but dont see too many of them around alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

A cheap 1600 tanker does not exist. We were on the lookout last year and the best we came across was a 10 year old abbey that a lad living next to a piggery had. She had her work done a d €4000 was his bottom price. We bought a new belmac and I'd have to look up the invoice but €6250 + VAT rings a bell. We thought 4k for the abbey sounded dear compared to it.

Hmm definitely not what I'd be prepared to spend, I saw afew clean enough looking tankers around for about 3500, I'd only get a grand trading in myown 1100, but its fully galvanised, refurbished pump and in decent nick, from looking on dd ones as such go for closer to 2k, if I could limit my spend to about 2k it would be worth it. Maybe I'm well off the mark, but if I am I'll just stick with myown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Hmm definitely not what I'd be prepared to spend, I saw afew clean enough looking tankers around for about 3500, I'd only get a grand trading in myown 1100, but its fully galvanised, refurbished pump and in decent nick, from looking on dd ones as such go for closer to 2k, if I could limit my spend to about 2k it would be worth it. Maybe I'm well off the mark, but if I am I'll just stick with myown.
    sometimes ya cant beat what ya have rather than buying someones trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭dungfly

maxxuumman wrote: »
    Had a 2000gal hispec for 7 yrs, on 28 tyres (recessed). Very bouncy on tractor and was bad for compaction. Moved to a 2650 Conor on 30.5. Much easier to pull and compaction really reduced.
    What ever make you go for, anything over 2000 gals should be on at least 30.5's and ideally radials

Ideally radials?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Jb1989

maxxuumman wrote: »

Part of the bounce is associated to the sprung drawbar. We've a 2000 hispec and goin up steep shale rock lanes can be tricky at times as the spring is bounceing the back wheel up of the air thus looseing traction, sometimes a rigid drawbar is better.