Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cannonball run

• 21-08-2013 1:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭

So i seen signs for it today and its in my town for a few hours on friday
    anyone know where i can find a car/drivers list??
    Supposed to be 150 supercars at it so don't think ill miss it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Cerbera

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

2 measly posts on this...just shows the priorities of people these days. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,622 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

I'm going to head along although lately it's been getting a little repetitive as the same cars show up year on year (however last year was great with an Aventador and a CLK Black)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭EB_2013

Why did they decide to start in Mondello this time? I enjoyed the last few starts in Merrion Square. There was a good atmosphere once they got going with all the kids there. I guess its not very pratical having a street shut off and then trying to travel out of Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

EB_2013 wrote: »
    Why did they decide to start in Mondello this time? I enjoyed the last few starts in Merrion Square. There was a good atmosphere once they got going with all the kids there. I guess its not very pratical having a street shut off and then trying to travel out of Dublin.
    Aw I didn't know that :( I used to drop in before work each year and have a look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

must pop in for a nose at this .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Probably because the guards set up a checkpoint at the starting line of the event last year and seized a good few of the participating cars. Put a dampener on the whole event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

fletch wrote: »
    I'm going to head along although lately it's been getting a little repetitive as the same cars show up year on year (however last year was great with an Aventador and a CLK Black)

There is an SL65 AMG Black on the site attending this year also sls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭EB_2013

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Probably because the guards set up a checkpoint at the starting line of the event last year and seized a good few of the participating cars. Put a dampener on the whole event.

Must have been some complaints. Missed it last year but the year before that I didn't see any Gardai apart from the motorbike riders at the front. Didn't see anyone getting hassle.

Its a pitty because I loved watching the start just before heading to work.

True, it always drew a good crowd.

Will spectators be allowed into Mondello to check out the cars before they head off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    True, it always drew a good crowd.

Will spectators be allowed into Mondello to check out the cars before they head off?
    I should guess so if thats were they were advertising.cant wait now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Hey guys, I'll be heading to Mondello to see some of the cars that are takiing part in the Cannonball run today and was wondering if there's any entrance fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

I'd say best bet is to give Mondello a bell www.mondello.ie/contact/

Enjoy there should be some nice metal there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

For anyone interested - some lovely cars there and some odd ones :)
    And it's free of charge :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Couldn't make it down myself today. But from being on the Bullrun in the States last year, those events are always good fun. Big difference in mileage though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

went up to Killashee Hotel last night and grabbed a few pics of a few of the cars
    Will post them up shortly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

No galway this year

IMG_3349.jpg

IMG_3348.jpg

IMG_3347.jpg

IMG_3345.jpg

IMG_3343.jpg

IMG_3334.jpg

IMG_3331.jpg

IMG_3329.jpg

IMG_3326.jpg

IMG_3325.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

The whole of abbeyleix turned out for it today!
    Quite suprised.very good craic though
    i can honestly say i will be dreaming and day dreaming now for a long while :D

Class and taste all over the place....and the furry porsche??still dont know what to think :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

Parade up O'Connell St in Limerick tomorrow evening

http://www.limerick.ie/visiting/whatson/2013-08-24cannonballireland2013.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

ofcork wrote: »
    There is an SL65 AMG Black on the site attending this year also sls.
    It's been parked outside our unit all this week being prepped- beautiful car, really good looking motor imo. There were some pretty good looking ladies there as well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Will be heading upto Cashel on Sunday to see these gorgeous vehicles :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

went in this evening to have a look in cork . some lovely cars there . loved the f40 above all else . can't understand for the life of me why people need to touch cars . can they not just look ? kids running over with melting ice creams etc. all over the cars . not a chance would I do the event if I had lambo etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

Supraman wrote: »
    went in this evening to have a look in cork . some lovely cars there . loved the f40 above all else . can't understand for the life of me why people need to touch cars . can they not just look ? kids running over with melting ice creams etc. all over the cars . not a chance would I do the event if I had lambo etc.

+1, every show I've attended here and abroad always has that kind of sh#te going on. Drives me nuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

nice cars, just a pity the people who drive them are pretentious bellends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

fryup wrote: »

I presume it takes one to know one?

fryup wrote: »

Great contribution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

That f40 is something to behold and the f12 is amazing. Seen them all at Mondello Friday morning and from the couple I was taking to they all seemed Grand not what was described above, there's a dbs there and my god the sound of it, the colour is a disgrace though! (Think of a day glow pink)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Uberbeamerman

EazyD wrote: »
    +1, every show I've attended here and abroad always has that kind of sh#te going on. Drives me nuts

And no doubt if you caught some little (keeping it civil by saying) brat, smearing your Lamborghini or Aston Martin and gave out to them it would be you that'd be labelled a bell-end.....

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

Met a bunch of them in Kenmare today.
    The F40 was class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

The sl65 amg black was not in cork just a standard sl65 noticed that before not all the cars came to cork.

IMG_3328.jpg

IMG_3327.jpg

IMG_3326.jpg

IMG_3325.jpg

IMG_3324.jpg

IMG_3322.jpg

IMG_3321.jpg

IMG_3320.jpg

IMG_3319.jpg

IMG_3318.jpg

MY FAVORITE of the night
    IMG_3315.jpg

IMG_3310.jpg

IMG_3309.jpg

IMG_3308.jpg

my 2 kept jumping in every time I took a pic....

IMG_3297.jpg

IMG_3299.jpg

IMG_3291.jpg

IMG_3288.jpg

IMG_3287.jpg

IMG_3284.jpg

IMG_3278.jpg

IMG_3276.jpg

IMG_3274.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Saw these passing today, was impressed with the Mustangs. Some cracker of a blonde was with them in Kenmare too. If the speed camera van was out they'd have made a nice profit too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Saw the carpeted porsche being towed on a trailer?! Is it just for show?

Mc Love wrote: »
    Saw the carpeted porsche being towed on a trailer?! Is it just for show?

It Drove to Mondello anyway, maybe it's a tad sick. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Can't wait to see them today after seeing those gorgeous pics :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭corglass

Those Rollers really are in a league of their own eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

YbFocus wrote: »
    It Drove to Mondello anyway, maybe it's a tad sick. .

Nothing a good shake n vac won't sort :D

I'll get my coat....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

]945190_10151814782843766_498600956_n.jpg

1239596_10151814782878766_328005167_n.jpg

1175566_10151814784398766_1273637267_n.jpg

1175409_10151814785133766_1346528255_n.jpg[/QUOTE]

1000242_10151814788193766_1225547715_n.jpg

1000949_10151814787973766_573914543_n.jpg

551048_10151814787888766_1661081160_n.jpg

556843_10151814785993766_1434853347_n.jpg

11180_10151814784708766_66597170_n.jpg

1175235_10151814784668766_1161569036_n.jpg

7847_10151814784288766_1299748107_n.jpg]

Some amazing cars in Kilaloe today. Always wanted to see an f40! Double posted in case people didn't see them in other thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

that f40 was beautiful.

For me the F12 Berlinetta was the standout. Or the interior of the 458 Spider. Or the C reg S8.Or the Mp4-12c which I got to sit in. Or the RS4 D reg.

Saw the Kitt Shelby with lights flashing and hazards on. Looked like someone had leant up against it too hard and set the alarm off. Did it actually say "Step away from the car" or did I just imagine it. Right beside the stage in Cashel couldn't hear myself think.

Anybody in Tullamore to see the corvette blow it's to tonight?
    Burnout after burnout finally killed him,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Lex Luthor wrote: »
    my 2 kept jumping in every time I took a pic....

That's cool.. when they are parents they can show the photos to their kids and the kids will be amazed, "They ran on PETROL?? No wonder you're wearing shin pads!!!" Great event to bring your kids Lex, lot's of colour, sounds and sights. My Dad took me to stuff like that all the time and I loved it.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    That's cool.. when they are parents they can show the photos to their kids and the kids will be amazed, "They ran on PETROL?? No wonder you're wearing shin pads!!!" Great event to bring your kids Lex, lot's of colour, sounds and sights. My Dad took me to stuff like that all the time and I loved it.

+1. Took my little brother to it last year and he loved seeing all the cars (and sitting in a good few of them). Contrary to an earlier comment in this thread - speaking from my own experiences - all of the owners I've met over the years have been very generous, friendly people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

We went to the finishing of the Cannonball run in Tullamore yesterday evening. We got a nice spot just at the entrance to the car view park. The cars on display were spectacular!! I'm not much of a petrol head - but the husband and son are. The young lad loved the Lambo and the owner was kind enough to let him sit in it for a photo. likewise with the owner of the R8 convertible and a few others. And he also got photos with the Stig and Luigi!

:mad:
    But one thing that annoyed me a bit was the lack of respect by other people there of these cars! Kids with sticky hands pawing the cars, a man and his teenage daughter with their backsides parked up on the boot of one car relaxing, a guy going to lean in on a spoiler to support himself while he chatted. The worst was one lady taking a photo of her three small kids in front of a ferrari and lifting one of them up to sit on the bonnet! I must have had a look of horror on my face cause she saw me and took the child down straight away.

These are powerful, expensive and beautiful cars!!

I'll agree some people were very disrespectful of the cars.
    I saw one lad in particular sit up on the headlight and front arch area of a retro 911. Was that close to pulling him off it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭GL scrappy

I blame the car designers, they should know better than to position spoilers at a similar height to the bar in a pub,
    and wheel arches at just a nice height for resting one's posterior.

Marcinek's pic from HWIST;
    xcnr.jpg