Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Max load in back of a jeep?

• 19-08-2013 10:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭

Want to collect a few bags of fert this evening. What's the most any ye have brought? Be handy if didn't need to bring trailer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭223vmax

What type jeep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Its pajero. 10 bags (500kg) be rimming it? :o

long or short wheel base?

Short wheel..... I could set suspension to H :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

how far from merchant are you, could you just drive tractor and spreader in and fill up or would you need a few runs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

The gross vehicle weight should be on a plate usually on the passenger door jamb or in the owners manual.

The unladen weight taken away from the gross is what you can load safely. (minus your fuel weight and passengers)

500kgs should be fine.

how far from merchant are you, could you just drive tractor and spreader in and fill up or would you need a few runs?

Not an option vander. Tractor I spread with not road worthy at the minute:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

223vmax wrote: »
    500kgs should be fine.

The thing is, if you had to stop suddenly in an emergency, how sure are you the load of slippery bags, wouldnt move forward and crush you in the cab:confused:

I hate big loads in the jeep. Can't be properly secured. Plastic bags of fertilizer, especially dangerous, in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

500kgs would be fine. I imagine there will plenty of jeeps carrying a bigger payload of 4 heavy men and women to the ploughing championships come september

The thing is, if you had to stop suddenly in an emergency, how sure are you the load of slippery bags, wouldnt move forward and crush you in the cab:confused:

I hate big loads in the jeep. Can't be properly secured. Plastic bags of fertilizer, especially dangerous, in my opinion.

yup, but now we're talking about how to safely load the vehicle, not the permissible axle weight for that vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Is there not a headboard/bulkhead in the pajero? Load to the headboard and to the back door and take it handy. Shouldn't shift.

No headboard, so yes I would agree that it not just the weight that I need to take into consideration. I was just being lazy. I'I bring the trailer. safer. Thanks everyone;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,816 ✭✭✭Markcheese

500kgs would be fine. I imagine there will plenty of jeeps carrying a bigger payload of 4 heavy men and women to the ploughing championships come september

How big are the crowd in your area, want to be right fatties or rugby players to average 125kilos each :)

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I got 40 bags of skim into mine and 12 sheets of plasterboard on the roof once . I wouldnt do it again . Its way easier to take them in and out of a trailer anyhow . Pure ****ehawking is all it was .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

had 350kg in the boot of the disco on saturday, not a bother to it, sat down around two inches, but was under no pressure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭letterkenny man

Had 600kg of corn in the of a berlingo big load but went nice and steady no trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

Think I got close to the ton of skim coat in my 1996 honda accord. Well I say mine. I had sold it the day before to one of the lads doing the plastering but he hadnt paid me for it. He was non too impressed when he saw her dragging her arse along the lane. But then he was the one who forgot to tell me the day before when I had the jeep that they would need the skim the next morning. Had to do 25mph all way home. Would of been as fast in the tractor

Markcheese wrote: »
    How big are the crowd in your area, want to be right fatties or rugby players to average 125kilos each :)

Im 124 kilo and train 4 days a week, there are plenty around. if they werent a half ton on entering the ploughing I bet a reweigh on leaving and they would :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Im 124 kilo and train 4 days a week, there are plenty around. if they werent a half ton on entering the ploughing I bet a reweigh on leaving and they would :D

I was wondering why you were such a fan of the rowing machine. It's the one fitness test where bulk works in your favour, I used to love it but you'd see the whippets melting after 10mins.

rowing sorts the men from the boys, get them down doing low SPM and watch as they will melt in minutes. what was your 2k?

Im 124 kilo and train 4 days a week,

Jesus Christ Bob I hope for your own sake you are only joking :o

Tell mammie to f**k that frying pan out the window

Muckit wrote: »
    Jesus Christ Bob I hope for your own sake you are only joking :o

Tell mammie to f**k that frying pan out the window

heaviest would be up around 130, 6ft 6 so there is plenty of me to go around:rolleyes:. back around 122kilos at the moment and will go to 115kilos which would be my fully fit weight when I was playing the odd shaped ball game. deficient myself of around 1000 - 1500cals a day at the moment so drop over a kilo a week. My back spends large chunks of time fecked so I cant do anything, and if you do allot of rowing and stop all of a sudden through injury and maintain your same calories intake your weight will climb like a rocket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Must be all of them mart dinners that Bob gets :D

Watch the cholestrol with that kind of weight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

"pulled the car out and its ahide in my yard now" - Bob when you said this earlier i thought you used the tractor but now i realise you were talking literally and only used one hand:D

Well ya I suppose fair enough if you've that rugby physique and that height. Just had a relation lately, a young man, that I would have considered a tad overweight but not majorly obese. Got a mild stroke there a month ago. Only for they got him to hospital so quick, the docs reckoned he would be in the ground now. Makes ya think. He would be on the road a lot, but not truckin to marts, lorry driver for quarry.

rowing sorts the men from the boys, get them down doing low SPM and watch as they will melt in minutes. what was your 2k?

2k is for pussies:rolleyes::D my 5k was under 19mins but I'd be in heart attack territory getting off the machine. And I couldn't run to save my life at the time a couple of laps or any sort of a sprint series and I was panned out. I dunno what my 2k was but at full resistance I new I needed to keep my pace around 30 and over 250m/min to get under the 19mins.

6m 8sec's for 2k was my best, couldnt train for a week after. just done it one night at the end of a session when I was super fit, didnt realise how much it could take out of you, was grand after doing it, couldnt get out of bed the following morning. Running is out with the bad back.

nashmach wrote: »
    Watch the cholestrol with that kind of weight!

just be very carefull cholestrol and weight dont go hand in hand. I used to go have a girlfriend:eek::D years ago, slim as a whippet and she had crazy cholestrol and was a veggie. A woman that I used to work with up on 25st's and had crazy low cholestrol. So just be careful.
    Well ya I suppose fair enough if you've that rugby physique and that height. Just had a relation lately, a young man, that I would have considered a tad overweight but not majorly obese. Got a mild stroke there a month ago. Only for they got him to hospital so quick, the docs reckoned he would be in the ground now. Makes ya think. He would be on the road a lot, but not truckin to marts, lorry driver for quarry.

biggest problem I find when working hard is not getting enough sleep and you eat more if your not sleeping. couple that with the cup of coffee and the kitkat to keep you awake late at night and things can get out of order very quickly

6m 8sec's for 2k was my best, couldnt train for a week after. just done it one night at the end of a session when I was super fit, didnt realise how much it could take out of you, was grand after doing it, couldnt get out of bed the following morning. Running is out with the bad back.

I'd have been easier at the running but for the fact that the bad knee was carrying too much water for the totally f**ked one on the other side:rolleyes:. ACL PCL and MCL blown away when I was 17 and they didn't do rebuild then unless you were an elite athelte, I finished the match though as I'm reminded most days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭pat73

Going back to weight in the back of jeep I put 16 bags of cut sward in the back of my Nissan terrano last week.I could have got 4 more in but I only needed 16.I wouldn't do it too often but she sailed the mile home no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

That would be four 20 stone retired rugby players bob. However I have a Berlingo and it is rated to carry 600kgs in payload so tiny 16 stone 100kgs me could legally gamble half a ton if it was nearly empty of fuel. However as another poster said you would need a strong bulkhead and the danger is also getting them out of the back the few that are far in. Van/Jeep would be touching the road at the back as it goes up the lane to the farmyard

If there is ever a boards tug of war I want to be on Pudsey , freedom and bobs team . Im a fart at 5 ' 4" but sure I could carry yer water bottles or something like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

heaviest would be up around 130, 6ft 6 so there is plenty of me to go around:rolleyes:. back around 122kilos at the moment and will go to 115kilos which would be my fully fit weight when I was playing the odd shaped ball game. deficient myself of around 1000 - 1500cals a day at the moment so drop over a kilo a week. My back spends large chunks of time fecked so I cant do anything, and if you do allot of rowing and stop all of a sudden through injury and maintain your same calories intake your weight will climb like a rocket

ah yes the rugby, i always found it a bit of an odd game, all brute force and ignorance from lads that would be so polite off the field (posh boys play it round here). that said great way to train lads for catching weanlings.

one of my buddies is a kiwi and i conned him into giving me a hand dosing my uncles 6 month old half daft weanlings. it nearly killed him. he reckoned me and the ol lad should have been rugby players as we could catch and bullock and hold him like someone twice our size (the ol lad is a good bit small then me but stocky and has farmers arms, he'll let the bullock go pat him catch him around the head and neck and use the animals own momentum to drop him). played a few times in college and with a club near where i worked (as a gaa lad i was one of only a few lads who could actully kick a ball so they stuck me in full back). i'm not a small lad 5-10 and 14 stone but not much fun when you have a couple of 6-6 20 stone monstors bearing down on you at full tilt. i'm not stupid to take those lads on full tilt so tried to shepard them left or right then aim low while they are changing direction. No good for a lad with a bad back.

them rowing machines are great to get the heart and lungs going used to use it a lot when i was training, i hate jogging and running and found them a lot better to do the hard cardio stuff with out the impact problems with running.

was chasing a cow and calf around a field last night chest nearly exploded so might need to get back into doing someting more then the walking.

oh and on the bags, 10 should be ok but make sure they are spread out evenly, can be very aquward pulling the ones from the front out, watch the back. might be a good idea to stick a sheet of plywood behind the seats to prevent them blowing you through the windscreen if you stop suddenly

moy83 wrote: »
    If there is ever a boards tug of war I want to be on Pudsey , freedom and bobs team . Im a fart at 5 ' 4" but sure I could carry yer water bottles or something like that

Water, this a gallon of guinness at half time we would need to keep going. A box of Major aswell while your at it

and a couple of snack boxes for carbs and protien

yellow50HX wrote: »
    one of my buddies is a kiwi and i conned him into giving me a hand dosing my uncles 6 month old half daft weanlings. it nearly killed him. he reckoned me and the ol lad should have been rugby players as we could catch and bullock and hold him like someone twice our size (the ol lad is a good bit small then me but stocky and has farmers arms, he'll let the bullock go pat him catch him around the head and neck and use the animals own momentum to drop him). played a few times in college and with a club near where i worked (as a gaa lad i was one of only a few lads who could actully kick a ball so they stuck me in full back). i'm not a small lad 5-10 and 14 stone but not much fun when you have a couple of 6-6 20 stone monstors bearing down on you at full tilt. i'm not stupid to take those lads on full tilt so tried to shepard them left or right then aim low while they are changing direction. No good for a lad with a bad back.

When the country boys would be in doing weights they are usually shameful what they can lift, absolutely no method just horse weights up and down. The gym monkeys would lift 33% more at easy. Stick the country/farm lads on a rugby pitch and they would mince you whereas the opposite was the case with the gym boys, just natural raw strength from being used of firing bags of fert, grain, catch calves etc. Take Sean O Brien, the strength of him alone made my mind up that it was time for soft cock here to call it a day. O Brien at 17 yrs old was absolutely killing us older fellows at training and we were holding tackle bags.

I would have the gallon of porter gone before half time but im off the fags since last year so I could leave them for ye alright .

The wifes brother used to play for the ospreys and under 21 wales team and I pucked around with them lads a few times , sure they would put me to the sky if I thought about catching the ball ! My youngest lad is only two and already we have him marked for rugby , he would walk through a door sooner than open it already

When the country boys would be in doing weights they are usually shameful what they can lift, absolutely no method just horse weights up and down. The gym monkeys would lift 33% more at easy. Stick the country/farm lads on a rugby pitch and they would mince you whereas the opposite was the case with the gym boys, just natural raw strength from being used of firing bags of fert, grain, catch calves etc. Take Sean O Brien, the strength of him alone made my mind up that it was time for soft cock here to call it a day. O Brien at 17 yrs old was absolutely killing us older fellows at training and we were holding tackle bags.

Was O'Brien on the radar for long before he was picked up? Leinster wouldn't have as good a history as Munster in bringing fellas through who are outside the private schools/senior cups competitions IMO. I've played with a few elite guys over the years and quality always shows even when you're back at junior hurling and guys who are now in their forties, everything seems to happen more slowly for them. The rest of us are running around frantically and they always have plenty of time and if they decide to "do" you you're on the ground looking for worms and no-one including yourself has any idea how it happened.

yeah used to really notice it when i was in gym watching the polish lads lifting the equillvant of small cars. the power those lads had was frightening. i know a few lads from the local rugby team approched some of them to play to see if they could devlop the skills to play a junior level. all raw power but no speed or agility.

having the techniquie is just as important, devloping a lad like sean o brien to have the skills and know how to harness all that power is what will take him to the next level. its like watching the lads from south africa those guys are huge but they can all play. the lads i used to knock around with were mostly aussie, SA and kiwi, with a few irish and english lads throwen in. you could really see the irish lads like me would came from a GAA and soccer backround (we were the ones that kept passing the ball forward). we would look to avoid the contact and try to skip the tackles while they would look to go into contact to commit players before laying the ball off. i kept trying to stick the ball over the bar when i got into shooting range, instint was always to make a bit of room then over the black spot or clip and shot over a defender onto a runner. i'd say i kicked more ball then passed. kept forgetting to drop kick the ball when i was going for a shot, i dont think they had ever seen someone been able to drop kick a ball on the move (a lot esayier to do it and soccer or gaa ball)

Was O'Brien on the radar for long before he was picked up? Leinster wouldn't have as good a history as Munster in bringing fellas through who are outside the private schools/senior cups competitions IMO. I've played with a few elite guys over the years and quality always shows even when you're back at junior hurling and guys who are now in their forties, everything seems to happen more slowly for them. The rest of us are running around frantically and they always have plenty of time and if they decide to "do" you you're on the ground looking for worms and no-one including yourself has any idea how it happened.

its one of the plus of getting older used to be able to read the game better but didnt have the legs. thing i really noticed in my last few years playing before the shoulders gave up was the size of the young lads comign through at 15, 16, & 17. i was small and wirey at their age and didnt really fill out till my early 20's. these guys are men at 15, problem then is that they think they are men cos they have the height and weigth of a lad 10 years older but they are still devloping and their bodies cant cope with the extra weight and power they generate. i have seen too many promising young lads gone by their early 20's due to recurring injuires playing too much too young. i had my growing spurt in my late teens and spent a lot of time picking up injuries. my neighbours lad gave up playing rugby this year as he was only able to play about 4-5 matches last season, he is only 23 but is as big now as he was at 14. i'd say if goes off doing swiming or soemthing else he'll be able to go back playing in a year or two. all that heavy contact must have an impact

Used to do a few weights myself. Could bench more with dumbbells than machine, found that very restrictive, get caught half way up. The Lithuanians would show you how it's done. Never liked the rower, dead lifts is what I preferred, but would always use a belt.

Wife's claim to fame was working with Paul O'Connell when he was only a nipper in a shop on William Street. Even back then he was a giant of a man.

well first I saw of him was when he was 17, he was recruited to our academy so must have being doing all the right things. He wasnt the most skillful player and still isnt but his raw strength was phenomenal. 90% of the players in the clubs were from the big schools. Thankfully in was in the other 10%. The time the most skillful players seem to have on the ball is unreal.
    Wife's claim to fame was working with Paul O'Connell when he was only a nipper in a shop on William Street. Even back then he was a giant of a man.

You could be out on your ear so Muckit if Paul ever comes to town. Sports store was it were she worked?

well first I saw of him was when he was 17, he was recruited to our academy so must have being doing all the right things. He wasnt the most skillful player and still isnt but his raw strength was phenomenal. 90% of the players in the clubs were from the big schools. Thankfully in was in the other 10%. The time the most skillful players seem to have on the ball is unreal.

You could be out on your ear so Muckit if Paul ever comes to town. Sports store was it were she worked?

yeah always found it very hard to identify with a lot of the rugby lads from the posh schools so many of them were so far up their own holes there was hair in their mouth. one of my friends (kiwi lad) played club rugby when he was living here and found it very hard to settle in the team, other then rugby he had nothing in common with these lads, he was working in the building trade and the only hammering most of those lads every saw was a line of shots on a bar. he could even understand the ross o'carroll kelly accent. In the end he changed clubs to one of county teams.

i thought sean o brien was like gordon darcy in that his folks were able to send him to a boarding school where he picked up the game. i'd say he must be an almost rarity to play for ireland and coming though from the club set-up. even most of the munster lads would have come through from a rugby playing schools (they are not all fee paying ones)

that said used have great craic with a couple of the munster lads when i was in college, used to use the elite gym from time to time and every time i was in there the bull hayes and other tipp lads would be rising the limerick lads about hurling. its kinda surrel seeing half a dozen professional rugby players have a very serious discussion on the merits of lar corbett, sean og o halpin and tony browne in the munster championship. if you closed your eyes you could have been in a mart.

:D Big man.... but is he big where it counts :pac:
    Sorry, twas actually a newsagents on Catherine's St. He was only in secondary school at the time.

:D Big man.... but is he big where it counts :pac:
    Sorry, twas actually a newsagents on Catherine's St. He was only in secondary school at the time.

It takes a big hammer to drive a big nail Muckit.

Give me a good big indian and I'm pneumatic! :pac: