Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycling on your own.

• 15-08-2013 10:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭

Morning all.

I'm dropping the clan down to Ballyferriter on Saturday, leaving the car there, and cycling back up to Glanmire on the Sunday. Well, that's the plan anyway!

According to the AA, it's near on 180k. Is this too far to cycle on your own?

Obviously I'll have my phone, spare tubes, pump, food, cash money, lights, etc. Is it madness to do it without "support", or am I just being soft?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I don't think it's too much on your own, providing you have some experience of solo cycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

Nothing as long as that Niall. 70-80k at least once a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 bannerfella

Sure if you feel you can, why not!! The very best of luck with it if you go through with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Once you are capable of the distance, whether you are on you own or not is irrelevant. Just have some ID on you and someone to call in case of a major mechanical. Let them know your intended route also.

I did 181km last Saturday on my own (as usual) and enjoyed every minute of it.

(It won't be long until someone tells you to HTFU).

Cheers guys.

I've no fears of it tbh, and it'll be good training for The Rebel. It's just SWMBO is worried that I'll end up in the Atlantic or something!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I did 193km on my own a couple of weeks ago. Had plenty of food,water and supplies with me but still had to stop a couple of times to restock. I gave my OH a route and texted her regularly about my progress. She knew roughly when to expect me. Had my CI and emergency contact info with me.

Other than that enjoy yourself

godtabh wrote: »
    I did 193km on my own a couple of weeks ago. Had plenty of food,water and supplies with me but still had to stop a couple of times to restock. I gave my OH a route and texted her regularly about my progress. She knew roughly when to expect me. Had my CI and emergency contact info with me.

Other than that enjoy yourself

Shur I'll have to take the loonger route now and do 194k! ;)

Depending how the legs are feeling, I might do an extra little bit when I get home and break the 200k.

Look at me talking all hard. I'll end up getting the bus from Killarney! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

I did 920 km alone on a fixie, the week before last over several days, three of which were 180, 211 and 216 km.Logistically its fine, you can leave the food and stop off at garages along the way. You have to be ok being on your own for up to 8 hours or more.

One spare tube is grand. You shouldn't need lights this time of year if you leave early enough - the less you carry the better I find. Give your bike a once over the night before though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Soarer wrote: »
    Shur I'll have to take the loonger route now and do 194k! ;)

Depending how the legs are feeling, I might do an extra little bit when I get home and break the 200k.

Look at me talking all hard. I@ll end up getting the bus from Killarney! :rolleyes:

I wanted to do more but wasnt allowed. Had to baby sit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

the only way to cycle :)

If SWMBO is worried arrange to text her every 50kms or so (as godtabh said). Ona Sunday you're likely to encounter other cyclists also which breaks up the journey. Headwinds are the most difficult part of solo cycling.

Last Saturday while ascending in Wicklow, I closed in on a club group ahead of me. They were going fractionally slower than I was comfortable with so after dithering for a while I decided to pass. I was then conscious of keeping up speed to avoid embarrassing myself. After a bit I glanced around to discover that they had formed a close line behind me, heads down, elbows in etc.

So there was I, who rides solo 99% of the time, leading a 7 man team time trial,in my boards.ie kit, into a headwind towards the Sally Gap. :D

ror_74 wrote: »
    One spare tube is grand
    I'd disagree. Further punctures are more likely as it's difficult to get the tyre back to track pump pressure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

I did 920 km alone on a fixie, the week before last over several days, three of which were 180, 211 and 216 km.Logistically its fine, you can leave the food and stop off at garages along the way. You have to be ok being on your own for up to 8 hours or more.

One spare tube is grand. You shouldn't need lights this time of year if you leave early enough - the less you carry the better I find. Give your bike a once over the night before though.

On 48/16 if I remember right, hardy buck.

On cycling alone, less is better. Forget texting every 30km, take your time and just pedal away. Forget about speed averages etc. Just enjoy the spin and the people you meet.

Have about 15 100km+ routes done this year with 245km max, all solo. The longest one I enjoyed most. No map, gps. Phone buried in three sandwich bags for waterproofing.

Good breakfast and once you just cruise you'll need very little topping up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

I'd disagree. Further punctures are more likely as it's difficult to get the tyre back to track pump pressure.

Well, it depends on the pump. You should be able to get up to 100/110psi on a 23mm tyre with a decent one.

With good maintenance and tyres, punctures should be a rare occurrence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

Chain breaker and quick links in case the chain decides to split open. A couple spare tubes and mini pump/co2 are a must.

With good maintenance and tyres, punctures should be a rare occurrence.
    They are rare for me as I generally use puncture resistant tyres. However, a while back, I swapped over to a pair of new lighter tyres to make a stab at a long Strava segment (where I am currently 2nd) and got 3 punctures in several hours. The other tyres went back on and have stayed on since.

Thankfully, I've never had one on a long spin.

Head winds can be a killer so watch that. Last weekend I had 5 hours of it going from Dublin to Athlone.

One thing that hasnt been mentioned is that fact that you are on your own for how ever many hours. It can get boring! Some one told me recently cycling on your own is great but can also be a curse. Gives you a chance of clearing your head but can also but doubt in your mind as there is no one else there to spur you on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

Head winds can be a killer so watch that. Last weekend I had 5 hours of it going from Dublin to Athlone.

One thing that hasnt been mentioned is that fact that you are on your own for how ever many hours. It can get boring! Some one told me recently cycling on your own is great but can also be a curse. Gives you a chance of clearing your head but can also but doubt in your mind as there is no one else there to spur you on.

I find after half an hour or so of cycling solo the brain is completely empty and I am entirely within the moment of the ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Morning all.

I'm dropping the clan down to Ballyferriter on Saturday, leaving the car there, and cycling back up to Glanmire on the Sunday. Well, that's the plan anyway!

According to the AA, it's near on 180k. Is this too far to cycle on your own?

Obviously I'll have my phone, spare tubes, pump, food, cash money, lights, etc. Is it madness to do it without "support", or am I just being soft?

Ah Best of Luck with this. Done similar distances myself completing a 5-lakes Personal Challenge last year and finished early this year for charity.

One other piece I will throw up here is to plan your route completely. Include all towns and villages you'll be cycling through and research before-hand any bicycle shops/stores you will encounter and have their contact details somewhere - just-in-case.

I did encounter one issue on one of my routes but knew where my nearest bicycle shop was in a village I was cycling near. I found it great piece of mind knowing assistance was not too far from me :)

Might seem over-kill, but I like to be prepared :o

Just keep yourself mentally focused; a long distance solo can be tough I found; but a huge personal achievement once complete. Break up your cycle with breaks to re-focus; re-energise etc etc,

but Enjoy Yourself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Agree with this, head winds are a killer. I was cycling into a strong head wind for a good 15km at the weekend, was very tough.

Best of luck to you! I know I wouldnt stand a chance myself at the moment (new to cycling :) )

Wary of the headwinds alright. Checking the forecast there, and they look like they'll be at my back. Looks like it'll be dry too which is an added bonus!

So if any of ye see a pale wreck of a man with a ROK 2013 jersey on, cycling towards Cork, give him a beep! ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

I do a 160k-200k solo spins every now and again, and really enjoy them. I'd definitely be carrying two tubes, wet gear, lights, and more food than I think I'll need. As per Kerry4Sam, I find route planning crucial, and used to print off my route the night before heading off. I've got a GPS these days which helps, and have got lost a couple of times in the past. Personally, I'd find a slightly longer scenic route on mostly l-roads far better than a technically easier bland route on R and N roads. Like WA, I use puncture resistant tyres, 25mm to help with poorer surfaces. I find a good breakfast also really helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

I've done 226km solo before twice and it was fine. You say you'll have money, so plan a proper food stop somewhere. It'll give you something to look forward to. I also brought a couple of sachets of high5 to refill the water bottles.

If leaving the car and the car keys behind, don't forget to bring a key to the gaff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

180km is an awful long way on your own if you have not worked up to it. Have a bail out plan if you are self supported. A bus/train time table and some money for a Taxi. 180km is a long way if you start getting a twinge.

Bring a good rain jacket and a spare warm base layer even if it is warm. Rain can make you cold even on a warm day.

Bring a puncture repair kit and a very good pump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 DJMidnight

Very interesting posts folks, cheers. I'm relatively new to cycling (2nd time around) at 50 odd YO. Have done a few solo spins in the order of 90 to 100 km and really enjoyed the experience. The old brain solves most of the world's problems as you revel in your own company. Enjoy your trip, Soarer!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Wary of the headwinds alright. Checking the forecast there, and they look like they'll be at my back. Looks like it'll be dry too which is an added bonus!

So if any of ye see a pale wreck of a man with a ROK 2013 jersey on, cycling towards Cork, give him a beep! ;)

you'll be grand, wind at your back, nice spin ahead of you; you'll fly along.
    which way are you going?

Sorry I didn't answer you post Roger. Have been in a zen like state for the last few days in preperation! ;)

Made home in one piece anyway. Turned out to be exactly 174kms and it took me exactly 6h30m (and 22 secs!). That included a 10 minute stop in Killarney. Rest of the time was plugging away.
    Lovely day for a cycle. Scenery down that neck of the woods is class. You don't really see it in the car.

As for the route, it's what I'd class as the "normal" route....
    Ballyferriter
    Dingle
    Inch
    Milltown
    Fossa
    Killarney
    Main road home.

Was gonna go the tunnel, but couldn't bear the thought of Church Hill! So came down the Lower Glanmire Road and up Silversprings.

Happy out with my day's work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

fooking respect :eek: thats some milage in a week.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Sorry I didn't answer you post Roger. Have been in a zen like state for the last few days in preperation! ;)

Made home in one piece anyway. Turned out to be exactly 174kms and it took me exactly 6h30m (and 22 secs!). That included a 10 minute stop in Killarney. Rest of the time was plugging away.
    Lovely day for a cycle. Scenery down that neck of the woods is class. You don't really see it in the car.

As for the route, it's what I'd class as the "normal" route....
    Ballyferriter
    Dingle
    Inch
    Milltown
    Fossa
    Killarney
    Main road home.

Was gonna go the tunnel, but couldn't bear the thought of Church Hill! So came down the Lower Glanmire Road and up Silversprings.

Happy out with my day's work.[/quote

Well done sir, and nice weather!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭pdstck

Well done soarer, what a time