Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The honest pursuit of academic achievement?

• 14-08-2013 7:40pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15

There seems to be an automatic presumption when someone gets7 A1s in their leaving Cert that they obtained those results honestly. If I was an exam invigilator, I would ask serious questions if someone got flawless results; questions like how many ‘toilet’ breaks someone took during those exams.

It may seem cynical to some of you but I went back to college as a mature student and I was very surprised at the way exams were conducted and the potential for a student to commit fraud.

The last exam I took, the girl behind me and the boy next tome took toilet breaks; the girl within 20 minutes into the exam and the guy half way through. How can someone find time to take a toilet break when they’re stuck for time, unless of course it is a genuine request or there is an ulterior motive for taking that break?

There seems to be an automatic presumption out there that students who achieve exceptional marks did so honestly. From my experience, very intelligent students just as well as not so intelligent students are susceptible tobehaving dishonestly while in the pursuit of that ‘one’ grade yet it seems as though it is the one thing which is most overlooked by society when these ‘genius’ types make it into the papers.

Of course the only person who will be able to tell whether those results were achieved honestly or not is the student himself and possibly the invigilators, and he will always have to live with not knowing whether he had the potential to achieve the exceptional results he got so much credit for.

For what shall it profit a man, if he shall gain the wholeworld, and lose his own soul?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

*soul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Aaaaaaaaaaand then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

There seems to be an automatic presumption when someone gets7 A1s in their leaving Cert that they obtained those results honestly. If I wasan exam invigilator, I would ask serious questions if someone got flawlessresults; questions like how many ‘toilet’ breaks someone took during thoseexams.

It may seem cynical to some of you but I went back tocollege as a mature student and I was very surprised at the way exams wereconducted and the potential for a student to commit fraud.

The last exam I took, the girl behind me and the boy next tome took toilet breaks; the girl within 20 minutes into the exam and the guyhalf way through. How can someone find time to take a toilet break when they’restuck for time, unless of course it is a genuine request or there is an ulteriormotive for taking that break?

There seems to be an automatic presumption out there that studentswho achieve exceptional marks did so honestly. From my experience, very intelligentstudents just as well as not so intelligent students are susceptible tobehaving dishonestly while in the pursuit of that ‘one’ grade yet it seems asthough it is the one thing which is most overlooked by society when these ‘genius’types make it into the papers.

Of course the only person who will be able to tell whetherthose results were achieved honestly or not is the student himself and possiblythe invigilators, and he will always have to live with not knowing whether he hadthe potential to achieve the exceptional results he got so much credit for.

For what shall it profit a man, if he shall gain the wholeworld, and lose his own sole?

Sour grapes OP?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

I got top of my secondary school in my exams and never even considered cheating.

So no OP.

I've actually found that it those scraping a pass that are much more likely to cheat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

If you can learn a year's worth on a toilet break then you're definitely a genius!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

For what shall it profit a man, if he shall gain the wholeworld, and lose his own sole?
    The whole world for just a sole? Sounds like a fine trade to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15 the back of beyond

dmc17 wrote: »
    If you can learn a year's worth on a toilet break then you're definitely a genius!

Reading the exam question first will definitely help.

There's usually more than 1 question on it though :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

They get found out at third level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    They get found out at work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Disappointed with your LC results, OP?

enda1 wrote: »
    I've actually found that it those scraping a pass that are much more likely to cheat.

So you're saying that leat intelligent people are the least honest and the most honest are the most intelligent?

So what if we live in a world full of cheats, how do we distinguish who is honest and who is not?

Well, you'll just have to take our word for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    this really, I mean fair play if they manage to get there but they'd have to fulfill the obligation by working hard at third level. I'd safely say though that those aiming to get A1s probably put their heart and souls into achieving that goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭PinkLemonade

So you're saying that leat intelligent people are the least honest and the most honest are the most intelligent?

Scraping a pass <> less intellegent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

All the more argument for;

1. Course work + exams
    2. Interviewing for University and College places just like everywhere else in the world.
    3. Credit for something other than academic subjects, ie community work or other projects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

I can see how you could cheat your way from a B3 to a B1, but I can't see how someone could seriously manage to cheat their way to 7 A1s.

An A1 requires a thorough understanding of the material that you couldn't possibly fit on the back of your hand, or consult on your i-phone during a toilet break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Mammanabammana

Can't read this in cloud. *wanders off*

MadsL wrote: »

1. Course work + exams
    2. Interviewing for University and College places just like everywhere else in the world.
    3. Credit for something other than academic subjects, ie community work or other projects.

Hey, good to see you back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Chareth Cutestory

It didn't raise too many eyebrows when a couple of people got straight A1s in my school. They were the type of people who studied their arses off and having been in class with them for years I really had no cause to question their intelligence once the results came out. I imagine it's much the same for any case where someone achieves really good results.

That being said if a complete moron managed to cheat their way to straight As I'd be pretty impressed. Good for them, shoot for the stars!

I can see how you could cheat your way from a B3 to a B1, but I can't see how someone could seriously manage to cheat their way to 7 A1s.

An A1 requires a thorough understanding of the material that you couldn't possibly fit on the back of your hand, or consult on your i-phone during a toilet break.

Well what if cheating in an exam was the deciding factor in a student obtaining a 2.1 and not a 2.2 or an A1 and not an A2?

There are some very demanding parents out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Billiethepup

Who pissed on your cornflakes today OP?!!

Chances of using a toilet break to cheat your way to an A1 in LC - zero!

It's already been said but anyone cheating with scruffy notes in the toilets is scraping a pass...it goes nowhere, D's will get them nowhere in life anyway...leave 'em at it and dont loose sleep I say.

As for taking toilet breaks in college exams...some of my exams were sooooo long if you didn't take a nice little stroll to the jacks you were in big danger of suffering numb bum! I took two and often walked the long route!

The last exam I took, the girl behind me and the boy next tome took toilet breaks; the girl within 20 minutes into the exam and the guy half way through. How can someone find time to take a toilet break when they’re stuck for time, unless of course it is a genuine request or there is an ulterior motive for taking that break?

So you established there is either a genuine or ulterior motive for a toilet break. I'll call you Sherlock from now on.

Is there some sort of third option I'm not aware of?

Well what if cheating in an exam was the deciding factor in a student obtaining a 2.1 and not a 2.2 or an A1 and not an A2?

There are some very demanding parents out there.
    Honestly, the difference wouldn't be much. I've all sorts of qualifications. I've never been asked for 'results' though. In the real world, its the cert that matters, not the score on the day. I've three post-grads, ranging from a Desmond to a first. This fact matters to nobody but me though. Its personally nice to know it, but nobody's ever asked for the score. In my experience, once you're post LC, anything beyond a bare pass is a result as far as further education and/or employment is concerned.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Completely agree. It becomes even more the case in college. I remember someone in my class having numerous programs written on their legs and still getting less than 10% in their Java exam. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Doctor Strange

Ridiculous thread, especially pertaining to third level exams. In my college at least, you must empty your pockets and put all electronic devices under the desk. All toilets are searched by invigilators beforehand, and *even* if you got the notes in, it'd take more than one visit to the toilet to read the notes you'd need to make the first in a question, and an abnormal number of toilet visits would be queried.

Candie wrote: »
    So you established there is either a genuine or ulterior motive for a toilet break. I'll call you Sherlock from now on.

Is there some sort of third option I'm not aware of?

Was that supposed to be funny because I'm not laughing?

Ridiculous thread, especially pertaining to third level exams. In my college at least, you must empty your pockets and put all electronic devices under the desk. All toilets are searched by invigilators beforehand, and *even* if you got the notes in, it'd take more than one visit to the toilet to read the notes you'd need to make the first in a question, and an abnormal number of toilet visits would be queried.

Have you ever heard of someone writing the answers on their legs? No invigilator will look there.

You asked the question:
    How can someone find time to take a toilet break when they’re stuck for time, unless of course it is a genuine request or there is an ulterior motive for taking that break?

And I'm asking what possible third option there might be, since you've mentioned ulterior motives and genuine reasons.

Alien abduction? Need a smoke/valium?

Candie wrote: »
    You asked the question:

And I'm asking what possible third option there might be, since you've mentioned ulterior motives and genuine reasons.

Alien abduction? Need a smoke/valium?

You'd have to have to have taken breaks to know. But they're the only two options I'm aware of.

Smoke? You may be on to something there.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Have you ever heard of someone writing the answers on their legs? No invigilator will look there.

How many answers could you write? How useful would they be?

Again, still going to require multiple readings. But if someone can fit the guts of a detailed multiple page essay on their legs and memorise it from one look, they'd likely do it the honest way.

How many answers could you write? How useful would they be?

Well I suppose you wouldn't need to bring the newspaper to the jacks with you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭prettygurrly

9 A1s isn't 9 flawless exams...A1 is over 90%. I agree with others, those who cheat are usually scraping a pass.

Re toilet breaks, sometimes you need a break PARTICULARLY in long exams. Give your head some space...particularly in mathsy type exams...I often need distraction to see the correct answer - facebook is handy for that but sitting in the loo and breathing will do in an exam

That too. Sometimes it's just good for the walk to clear your head and get a fresh perspective on the exam when you get back.

9 A1s isn't 9 flawless exams...A1 is over 90%. I agree with others, those who cheat are usually scraping a pass.

Is this just academia or does it apply to other areas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Nobody ever etched formulas in to their ruler with a wasted pen so the indentation would only show up when it catches the light the right way, ever...not that I know of anyway ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭burrenguy

this could be big..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

burrenguy wrote: »
    this could be big..

It missed one..

Step 6: Profit :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

MadsL wrote: »

1. Course work + exams

Its Ireland,could you imagine the types of nepotism and brown envelopes that would pass hands to get little darlings into Trinity and UCD.

I admire the CAO system and its anonomity,it puts everybody on an even playing field regardless of background and is wholey academic.

this could be big..
    Actually, that raises an interesting point. Our exam systems here have been historically geared towards rewarding the retention and regurgitation of vast amounts of facts. It does little to examine an ability to intelligently 'use' those facts.

Wouldn't it be interesting to see a system that acknowledged the reality that a library can be carried in a pocket, and tested an ability to use the facts contained in that library?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

This is a ridiculous thread.

The OP appears to be suggesting that the difference between a genius student and a complete failure rests on a toilet break in each examination. What a preposterous assumption.

First and foremost, if a student is good enough to even get 7 A2's nevermind 7 A1's, then that alone proves their capability and shows their intent to score well.

Second, what possible fact could you discover amid a piss that would be so significant that would raise your score from an B3 to an A1 or any other such combination? A toilet break can't possibly hold such significance.

Thirdly, you've eaten too many sour grapes because you had to return as a mature student as you couldn't cheat effectively the first time. Remember, the intelligent students know how to cheat, there's a reason you got caught.

/thread

This is a ridiculous thread.

The OP appears to be suggesting that the difference between a genius student and a complete failure rests on a toilet break in each examination. What a preposterous assumption.

First and foremost, if a student is good enough to even get 7 A2's nevermind 7 A1's, then that alone proves their capability and shows their intent to score well.

Second, what possible fact could you discover amid a piss that would be so significant that would raise your score from an B3 to an A1 or any other such combination? A toilet break can't possibly hold such significance.

Thirdly, you've eaten too many sour grapes because you had to return as a mature student as you couldn't cheat effectively the first time. Remember, the intelligent students know how to cheat, there's a reason you got caught.

/thread

If we applied your logic to sport Lance Armstrong may of have never been caught for doping :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

this could be big..

Until exam halls decide to ban watches.....
    endacl wrote: »
    Actually, that raises an interesting point. Our exam systems here have been historically geared towards rewarding the retention and regurgitation of vast amounts of facts. It does little to examine an ability to intelligently 'use' those facts.

Wouldn't it be interesting to see a system that acknowledged the reality that a library can be carried in a pocket, and tested an ability to use the facts contained in that library?

Wouldn't that just be an open book(s) exam?

token101 wrote: »
    Until exam halls decide to ban watches.....

Wouldn't that just be an open book(s) exam?

It would indeed. Common at third level. More so at post grad. Why not at LC. The closest second level ever came was log tables in a maths exam.