Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

idiots and their horse's

• 13-08-2013 7:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079
    ✭✭✭

not sure about the rest of you but we have a number of horesy people near us. granted i'd have very little interest in them to start with i'd have a passing interest in the grand national and cheltheam but that's about it. anyway I have noticed over the last few months a lot more horse traffic on the roads around here. its not that unusual I have often seen the neighbours take the horse's on the road from time to time but now there is someone on the road every day. Horses tend to be very nervous and temperamental animals especially those bred for racing so every time i come across one on the road its a case of turning off the engine and sitting and hoping the f*cker doesnt kick the car or tractor or take off galloping when i restart.

anyway i could put up with that it wasn't a big deal as it didn't happen that much now it seems its a daily drama and the people riding them seem to think they are in their own yard. was stuck behind a couple yesterday for about half a mile before they decided to pull in off the road. got the evil eye and a few comments when i passed. this is an ongoing issue and its not the 1st time. i know my folks (who have a bit of interest in horse's) and neighbours have been in the same boat. one of my uncles was drawing grain last week and nearly turned the trailer over pulling in to let one pass. the roads around here are very narrow and in a bad way so even if your out walking or cycling you need to listen out for traffic and step in to the dyke to let it pass. i have seen them galloping across the stubble in the neighbours places over the last few years too. last year we were asked by a complete stranger if he could gallop his horses across the fields on Sunday mornings as he assumed the land was ours. i told him it wasn't our place and to ask the owner. they were in the field every sunday for the next month. met the lad who owned it a few weeks later and we got chatting so i was asking about the horses and he nothing about it.

yesterday evening i was checking the cattle up the road and was walking back with the dogs. now i always have the dogs with me on the farm and they are very well behaved so when ever i hear a car or someone coming i call them and they always come and sit next to me and i can hold onto them if need be. anyway i hear the clippy clop of the horses coming this time galloping down the road. and i have to jump in and call the dogs in with me. and the dickhead on the horses stops and has a go at me, needless to say i lost the plot (i can be very hotheaded when provoked) and was asking him where the f**k did he think he was going. its a public road not a f**king gallop. anyway i was fuming when i got home and it took a fair bit of persuading by herself to stop me getting in the car and tracking the prick down. now i know all my neighbours and they are all good people and i have family in the game too but there seems to be a lot of people riding out horses that arent from the area.

is it just me getting more cranky as i get older or are more people taking their horses on the roads. and those that do seem to be a lot less courteous? i'd be of the opinion that if you want to keep them you should have the space to ride them and to gallop them on your own land. most of the horsey crowd around here a seriously nice folks and have always been very courteous on the road when ever they brought the horse on the road, they would never bring a nervous animal out and would always make way for traffic and people on the roads. also they would never gallop a horse down a roadway where they might be traffic or people out walking. is there a new breed of people in the game nowadays as they are nothing like the people i know.

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 jfh
    ✭✭✭

in fairness Grazeaway, you get ignoramuses in all walks of life. there's guys who go around with tractors all summer & it would never enter their heads to look around & check if there's a line of car behind them.

there's a dairy guy down the road from me who will bring in the cows for milking around 8 am, prob the busiest time on the road as people are going to work. not a care in the world, animals have right of way is the arguement.
    same with the riders, it's just lack of manners.

it's the same situation with cars & bikes in dublin, there's constant conflict between who has certain rights.

I've been on both side of the fence here, used to ride out horses back in a previous life. it would be a quick walk, certainly never faster than a trot.
    it was part of the process of getting them fit. i always pull in with a horse when i see a car but i'd do the same with a tractor. no awareness of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 yellow50HX
    ✭✭✭

horse's are a waste of good grass IMO. unless you are actually racing or doing proper eventign with them i dont see the point. some of the best land in this country is wasted in stud farms and racecourses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 Lofty123
    ✭✭

"Horses tend to be very nervous and temperamental animals especially those bred for racing so every time i come across one on the road its a case of turning off the engine and sitting and hoping the f*cker doesnt kick the car or tractor or take off galloping when i restart"

Have to put up with this BS every day. Have the misfortune to live beside a racehorse trainer, who treats our little rural road as if he owns it. Groups of jumped up little pricks riding out horses from 5.30 am, shouting across to each other or bellowing down mobile phones with no consideration that their neighbors are still in bed, yet we are expected to be quiet on our own property, stop lawnmowers etc in case it frightens the horses! Can be as many as 9 or 10 at a time, surely this can't be right, running a business on a public road?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 iverjohnston
    ✭✭✭

is it just me getting more cranky as i get older ?

YES :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

seriously, if someone decided to gallop their horse across my fields every Sunday, their horse would be in the pound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 mf240
    ✭✭✭

A lot of horses around here. They were taking liberties a bit with regard to entering land but a chat sorted that out.

I dont like to see horses on the road but as I know what it like to have animals (cows) I pull in an try not to frighten them if possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 periodictable
    ✭✭✭

is it just me getting more cranky as i get older ?

YES :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

seriously, if someone decided to gallop their horse across my fields every Sunday, their horse would be in the pound.
    More likely a couple of gallons of glue on donedeal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 jfh
    ✭✭✭

Lofty123 wrote: »
    "Horses tend to be very nervous and temperamental animals especially those bred for racing so every time i come across one on the road its a case of turning off the engine and sitting and hoping the f*cker doesnt kick the car or tractor or take off galloping when i restart"

Have to put up with this BS every day. Have the misfortune to live beside a racehorse trainer, who treats our little rural road as if he owns it. Groups of jumped up little pricks riding out horses from 5.30 am, shouting across to each other or bellowing down mobile phones with no consideration that their neighbors are still in bed, yet we are expected to be quiet on our own property, stop lawnmowers etc in case it frightens the horses! Can be as many as 9 or 10 at a time, surely this can't be right, running a business on a public road?
    that's scandalous, you need to fight fire with fire, get yourself a stallion, doesn't need to be a big one, pony would do & plomp him into the front field beside the road. that's quieten them.
    in all seriousness, that's not on.

✭✭

More likely a couple of gallons of glue on donedeal

Or cat food, supermarket burgers:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 pakalasa
    ✭✭✭

The worst lot of all are those who are towing a horsebox on a main road. Numerous times when travelling to Dublin in the old days, you could be stuck behind one for maybe 20 miles. All traffic held up. If it was a guy towing cattle you know they would pull into the hard shoulder.
    Have a lot of horses locally, but all sound people in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 lakill Farm
    ✭✭✭

dont start me on those gob****es out on racer bikes. 4 and 5 wide on the road. and there feckers at discarding the energy drink foil wraps etc on the side of the roads. Our local crew the lakeland wheelers are terrible. Wonder when will they have a pile up on a roundabout in mullingar. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 lakill Farm
    ✭✭✭

Time to source an engine with a missfire. I SAID A MISS FIRE IN THE ENGINE . :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 nashmach
    ✭✭✭

Playing devil's advocate here, if your uncle had turned over the grain trailer, who would have taken the stick for that?

He was worse, should have stood his ground and said can't move and either back back a little to a gate or let them do it.

Is there a tax disc on a horse??

You have to stand your ground a bit with these at times and it wouldn't bother me too much if you got known as the groucy/cantankorus c*** down the road :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 bbam
    ✭✭✭

Our neighbour had about 20 nags all winter on essentially no feed.

He used them to eat down and turn over some paddocks so he could harrow and seed them in the spring. It worked a treat too, came up in great weed free grass.

All but 5 had to be put down as they were starved so badly. They had eaten the bark of ye trees as far up as they could reach.

The countryside is full of unregistered horses and they are suffering badly when feed is short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 Sam Kade
    ✭✭✭✭

nashmach wrote: »
    Playing devil's advocate here, if your uncle had turned over the grain trailer, who would have taken the stick for that?

He was worse, should have stood his ground and said can't move and either back back a little to a gate or let them do it.

You have to stand your ground a bit with these at times and it wouldn't bother me too much if you got known as the groucy/cantankorus c*** down the road :D
    No there is no tax disc on a horse same as there is no tax disc on bicycles or pedestrians. It's called motor tax for a reason. Op if he were galloping his horse on the road he would t have the horse for long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 grazeaway
    ✭✭✭

Sam Kade wrote: »
    No there is no tax disc on a horse same as there is no tax disc on bicycles or pedestrians. It's called motor tax for a reason. Op if he were galloping his horse on the road he would t have the horse for long

im amazed they do it to be honest, road is full of potholes and i have gone over on my ankle just walkign it. but they dont seem the sharpest tools in the box anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 iverjohnston
    ✭✭✭

"they were starved so badly. They had eaten the bark of ye trees as far up as they could reach. "

I actually brought one of those unfortunate animals home about 18 months ago. Was tethered to a peg in a front garden of a house. No grass to be seen, just clay, had eaten the branches off a beech tree he could reach. Rang ISPCA, they said, "we will ring Cavan Gardaí"
    10 days later still no one bothered about him, so I brought him home. He was in plain view of the road, beside the very upper class girls school gates. Yummy mummies don't see coloured horses, it seems!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 grazeaway
    ✭✭✭

nashmach wrote: »

yeah i know i'd have kept it on the road, going to be bringing in bales over the next week or so and i wont be pulling.

as for the local crank sure i've been know as that for years :D

if one the horses rises up and throws one of them off who is responible for that? i nearly ran one of over one eveninig a few weeks ago when i came around the corner and she was in the middle of the road, no hi vis jacket on and dark clothes on a dark horse.

if it was a children on a bike the parents would been getting stuck in them. my neighbours kids always wear a hi vis when they are out walking or on thier bikes and they're still in primary school.

✭✭

Why are horses still allowed on our roads? this is the 21st century FFS, not the 19th!
    Modern roads are designed for motor vehicles, not animals.
    Horses, and particularly race horses are highly strung, dangerous and unpredictable. They belong in fields.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 8k2q1gfcz9s5d4
    ✭✭✭

Modern roads are designed for motor vehicles

Not where im from!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 jack77
    ✭✭

same as every walk of life some bad apples give others name, theres a riding centre a few miles away and there always spot on will pull in, horses very calm on the road etc. and we have a private horse owner who would nearly walk over you when hes on horse back and hits the road in patches driving with his trailer then. off subject was out cycling with my small ones sunday and went up by a main road and 2 sulkies racing coming against us, total mayhem, there should be some sort of licencing on traps so the horses and equipment can be taken off them.

✭✭✭

jack77 wrote: »
    same as every walk of life some bad apples give others name, theres a riding centre a few miles away and there always spot on will pull in, horses very calm on the road etc. and we have a private horse owner who would nearly walk over you when hes on horse back and hits the road in patches driving with his trailer then. off subject was out cycling with my small ones sunday and went up by a main road and 2 sulkies racing coming against us, total mayhem, there should be some sort of licencing on traps so the horses and equipment can be taken off them.

There already is but like most things in this country enforcement is very selective.

✭✭✭

Why are horses still allowed on our roads? this is the 21st century FFS, not the 19th!
    Modern roads are designed for motor vehicles, not animals.
    Horses, and particularly race horses are highly strung, dangerous and unpredictable. They belong in fields.

I think there needs to be serious crackdown on horse ownership in this country. The amount of abandoned horses is shocking. There a ghosts estates full of horses around here and no one is claiming them. Tagging and chipping of them should have been compulsary years ago.

The jockey club should also do an awareness campaign too for owners before someone gets seriously killed on the roads.

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.