Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greater Manchester Marathon.

• 12-08-2013 2:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭

Hi all! I'm wondering if anyone here knows much about this event? According to their website they say it is one of the flattest marathons in the UK. Has anyone on here done it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Nobody obviously!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Bahanaman wrote: »
    Nobody obviously!!

Come on Manchester vets. , someone Is feeling unloved:)

Oops69 wrote: »
    Come on Manchester vets. , someone Is feeling unloved:)

Absolutely!!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Lex Luther

sorry havent done it but seriously considering doing next year so will follow this thread avidly ( assuming it ever gets going)......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

I did it this year, good, flat, well supported marathon. Nice medal and technical tee.

It started/finished near Old Trafford.

Water was in very handy pouches and gel "shots" were liberally available on the course.

Course itself wasn't that interesting with a couple of double backs.

Any particular question you have?

TbL

I did it this year, good, flat, well supported marathon. Nice medal and technical tee.

It started/finished near Old Trafford.

Water was in very handy pouches and gel "shots" were liberally available on the course.

Course itself wasn't that interesting with a couple of double backs.

Any particular question you have?

TbL

Thanks TBL! No questions in particular. Just wondering about the whole thing in general. What's the accommodation like in the area, what's the travel situation like, is there an expo? I've never been to Manchester but I'd imagine if the race starts and finishes at Old Trafford the travel situation shouldn't be too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

It might not answer all your questions but a friend of mine ran it this year and posted a race report that is well worth reading.

http://www.one-man-running-club.com/2013/05/2013-greater-manchester-marathon-race.html

@Bahanaman,

Plenty of cheap flights with Ryanair from Dublin to Manchester.

Plenty of accommodation within walking distance of start to suit all budgets.

Don't know about expo as got the last flight on sat night that arrived at about 11pm into Manchester, but had no problem picking up my number on the morning of the race.

There were pacers as well.

I'd definitely recommend it.

Entry was on the high side for a UK marathon but still cheaper than Dublin.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭ClashCityRocker

Did it in 2012 but I believe the course was a bit different in 2013.

Decent, flat course, mostly well organised (the bag drop was a bit of a fiasco but i think they rectifed that in 2013, everything else was fine) and well supported. Be advised though that the race is GREATER Manchester i.e. if you want to run in the city centre then you'll be disappointed.

Only gripe i had was one beyond the organisers control but one well associated with Manchester - weather was appalling!

I'd recommend it though, would do it again in the future.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 41 pico84

Havent done it myself but heard from a few people its up there with the flatter/faster marathons around. The only thing I did hear was the route may be a bit dull at times

pico84 wrote: »
    Havent done it myself but heard from a few people its up there with the flatter/faster marathons around. The only thing I did hear was the route may be a bit dull at times

It's the flat fast bit that I like Pico! Also I've heard the support is great. I'm usually under too much pressure to notice the scenery around me!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 gaz200

Trying to get a group together for this next year, about 6 of us so far and all reports seem to be good

gaz200 wrote: »
    Trying to get a group together for this next year, about 6 of us so far and all reports seem to be good

Sounds good Gaz! When are you thinking of travelling over? I'm thinking maybe hear over on the Saturday and return on the Monday. I'm sounding it out with a couple of friends. Seems to be a good buzz about this event and the logistics involved aren't too bad at all!

Thinking of heading over sat and home tue hopefully or else mon evening. There is also a relay marathon so we might have a few doing that aswell. Must look up flights from Shannon and decide the days then.

gaz200 wrote: »
    Thinking of heading over sat and home tue hopefully or else mon evening. There is also a relay marathon so we might have a few doing that aswell. Must look up flights from Shannon and decide the days then.

Plenty flights from Dublin on Aer lingus. Ryanair not up yet.

Bahanaman wrote: »
    Plenty flights from Dublin on Aer lingus. Ryanair not up yet.

We're in limerick tho so Shannon would be handier. Accommodation seems reasonable aswell.

Flights and accommodation booked, just have to start training for it next!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Lex Luther

can I shamelessly piggyback on others hard work and ask for hotel suggestions ?

Lex Luther wrote: »
    can I shamelessly piggyback on others hard work and ask for hotel suggestions ?

Old Trafford Lodge seems grand, there's the Ramada, Premier Inn, loads of options really close to the start.

Lex,

I stayed in the Ramada last year and it was fine, but there was another hotel beside it that looked very new and it was advertising seriously cheap room rates (too late for me as I was checking into the Ramada)

I'll see if I can find the name.

TBL

Our group have gone for Premier Inn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Where have your group gone for Gaz? :D

Beef wrote: »
    Where have your group gone for Gaz? :D

Most are in premier inn Portland st and a few more in premier inn just around d corner (not sure of street name) about 12 of us so far. Flying from shannon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Interesting - its on my list of possibles.
    Heard the same on the course - Flat but uninteresting.

Lex,

Ibis budget Salford Quay.

Walking distance and supposed to be very cheap and clean.

Have a look ar it on Trip advisor.

TbL

Interesting - its on my list of possibles.
    Heard the same on the course - Flat but uninteresting.

I don't care what's around me scenery wise, I heard the atmosphere is very good. I'll even put up with running near Old Trafford. ;)

Just give me that flat course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭figs

Just signed up and booked flights for this. I like the sound of the fast flat course... now to dream up a completely unrealistic target time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭likestosmile

Does anyone know if this marathon acts as a Boston or London qualifier?

Ya it does count as a qualifier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭figs

Yes - See website

Are the switch-backs bad? I see on the map there's at lease 3- does it interrupt your stride, i.e lose time?

Not that bad in my opinion.

I actually enjoy seeing the faster runners going by on the other side.

Feel like if I could only up the pace a bit I'd be just behind the lead car :)

The switchbacks help with motivation, while you are on the other end looking at the slower runners. You also are conscious of not showing pain or running with bad form, so it helps you to push on :)

You can also use the turning points as a psychological marker.
    Every little bit helps.

Does anyone know if we will be turning around a roundabout or just around a cone??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Aer Lingus have flights out on the morning of the race landing into Manchester at 7:30am which should be fine for a 9am start (less than 15mins away).
    I'm thinking of an over and back the same day approach to this. Anyone else have the same plan or any thoughts on this?
    (I appreciate there is a risk in the flight being delayed and that in those circumstances the 90mins window between landing and running will be whittled away quickly)
    It appears that arranging pick-up on the morning of the race should be doable too.

My own personal choice would be to fly the day before as you will have to leave your own house at an unearthly hour, the stress of travel delays or road closures due to marathon, not to mention correct timing for breakfast etc. Not the greatest of preparation for a marathon you will have invested alot of training time and energy into. But i appreciate that financial or other factors may not allow an overnight. Perhaps ask someone you know to pick up your race number the previous day, have a military plan in place for food and travel and be ready to change to plan B just in case. Fingers crossed for you and the best of luck with the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭vinny1313

belcarra wrote: »
    Aer Lingus have flights out on the morning of the race landing into Manchester at 7:30am which should be fine for a 9am start (less than 15mins away).
    I'm thinking of an over and back the same day approach to this. Anyone else have the same plan or any thoughts on this?
    (I appreciate there is a risk in the flight being delayed and that in those circumstances the 90mins window between landing and running will be whittled away quickly)
    It appears that arranging pick-up on the morning of the race should be doable too.

Flying over that morning sounds mad to me, even if the flight is on time. Too early a start, too much stress. I haven't fully decided on this one yet, but if I do, I'll book a flight the day before

belcarra wrote: »

Was just discussing arrangements with Beef.

I think its a big risk to do that J.

I'll be going over on the Sat, picking up my number at the expo and chilling with a movie for the evening.
    Might come back on Sunday night as I don't think Mrs AMK is coming over.

If there's a few people staying on the night for a few beers than I could be tempted to stay.

I'll be heading over on the Saturday for the expo without doubt. The thoughts of catching a flight on the morning of a marathon would freak me out! I'll have my sister and maybe the wife with me too, so I might make a weekend of it and fly home on the Monday. I won't look strange going up the steps of the plane backwards right? ;)

I did the Appledorn marathon in Holland two years ago, over and back in the same day, but it didn't start till 11 or 12, and I wasnt planning on a PB.

I think Ryanair have some late night flights on the Saturday night and you can get back on the Sunday evening.

I wouldn't chance the morning flight with that tight a turnaround time.

TbL

If there's a few people staying on the night for a few beers than I could be tempted to stay.

well there's a group of about 30 of us heading over the Sat till Mon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭vinny1313

Decided to go for this one, have everything booked, just have to do the training and stay healthy now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭wobblemouth

Think I'll sign up for this one too.

The presenters of the Marathon Talk podcast are running it and listening to them starting their training programme has really made want want to give it a lash.

Haven't ran a marathon since DCM 2012 so looking forward to getting stuck into those 3-hour long runs in the freezing, cold, dark Sunday mornings.

Just for my own interest I was checking to see what kind of gels they are giving out on the day for this. Not familiar with these yokes - has anyone else used them? I might order some to try out in training. I've been staying away from gels in training so far.

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/clif-bar-shot-bloks-18-x-60g/

How's the training going everyone? First 20 miler for me tomorrow - in a bloody hurricane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭wobblemouth

I signed up last week.

16 mile run yesterday with 10 at MP (7:05 mins/mile) - went surprising well, cause I was dreading it beforehand.

Don't think I'd be able to chew on those Shot Blok yokes whilst running - i'll have to bring my own gels I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭charkee

A few of us heading over from clonliffe for this one

training going ok,