Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free Golf in Greystones GC

• 12-08-2013 10:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,116 ✭✭✭✭

Hi guys,

I forgot to mention this to the society outing the other day, but here is the deal. I was good enough to pay my sub early this year and as a bonus they gave me a voucher for a fourball. However it can only be used on Mondays, Tuesdays & Fridays. I had forgotten all about it till I cleaned out my drawers the other day!

I was thinking if there was a few lads interested in playing, we could have a little competition amongst ourselves one of the evenings or early mornings, whatever suits interested parties best.

I get out free also, so if we got 7 lads interested, 3 would have to pay (I think only €20 each as a members guest) so we could just split that out amongst the 8 of us, so maybe a tenner a head, to pay the green fees and winner gets the balance......

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

fridays would suit me if anyone else is around, thanks a million for the offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,184 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Thanks,

I would , love the course.

One of the best old style parkland courses ive played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I'd be on for that too, on the one condition that I get out with you Stevieob, I need a decent round soon and I would take my chances with Mr Midas.

Friday would suit me best. With a little notice I'll book it off.

Cheers for the offer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

stevieob wrote: »
    I get out free also, so if we got 7 lads interested, 3 would have to pay (I think only €20 each as a members guest) so we could just split that out amongst the 8 of us, so maybe a tenner a head, to pay the green fees and winner gets the balance......

Um, not so! I have a free fourball too, so it would be 8 free rounds. I used the voucher last year for the Inside the Ropes gig at Greystones so you're welcome to have it Stevie - and if I can play so much the better

I would be (if picked) driving from Stillorgan if anyone is stuck or even if someone wanted to save themselves the last leg of the journey.

Cheers for the link Kev, there's a text book video of a drive at the bottom of the blog lads (there's even a hint of a Duffner waggle ;):) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭golfwallah

I'm interested, stevieob, and would love to play if there are any slots left.

Also, I would be coming from Malahide and could arrange to share travel with anyone else from the Northside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 HonSec

Pleasant memories of winning the leinster branch captains and secretaries outing in greystones when everyone played on the one day at the one outing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,116 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Cheers for that Kevin,

looks like we have a bit of interest in this so it might just be a runner. I'll start looking at availability so.

It looks most like I'll be headiing from work (city centre) or castleknock so can offer lift to anyone along the route... ajcurry;)
    myself
    Kevinmarkham
    CharlieIRL
    FixdePitchmark
    ajcurry
    golfwallah

anyone else interested is more than welcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Macker1

A very generous offer.......

I would be interested in tagging along for this trip if a spot is available. Every second week I have Monday, Tuesday and Friday off work so depending on the date set I could be available. Travelling from Ballivor in Meath if anyone needed a lift on route.

BUMP:

I was looking at the sheet and might try and book 30th August for this for those interested? How does it suit you guys?

list so far.

myself
    Kevinmarkham
    CharlieIRL
    FixdePitchmark
    ajcurry
    golfwallah
    Macker1

anyone else interested is more than welcome

Suits me Stevieob. (Anything date with more than a weeks notice would so if it changes you can count me in as well) Thanks again.
    What time were you thinking?

I suppose lateish 4pm or so to give anyone who wants/needs to work a chance rather than taking the whole day off.

I can only book slots for casual golf 7 days in advance, so once we get the confirmations, I will see what's available next Friday morning for the following week.

I just noticed though, there appears to be a wedding in the club that day. I presume golf won't be affected, but grub/drinks after would be, though if required, we can always slip down the road to the Burnaby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭golfwallah

Many thanks, Stevieob - Friday, 30th August suits me.

Looking forward to it.

I suppose lateish 4pm or so to give anyone who wants/needs to work a chance rather than taking the whole day off.

I can only book slots for casual golf 7 days in advance, so once we get the confirmations, I will see what's available next Friday morning for the following week.

I just noticed though, there appears to be a wedding in the club that day. I presume golf won't be affected, but grub/drinks after would be, though if required, we can always slip down the road to the Burnaby.

I can't make the 30th, but don't let that stop you - not as if I don't play it enough! I'll leave the 'free fourball' for you in the Pro shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭dar_cool

I think I was chatting to you at the bar in holystown stevo. If there is a space ill play if that's ok?

dar_cool wrote: »
    I think I was chatting to you at the bar in holystown stevo. If there is a space ill play if that's ok?

Absolutely Dar, the more the merrier :)

I can't make the 30th, but don't let that stop you - not as if I don't play it enough! I'll leave the 'free fourball' for you in the Pro shop.

thanks Kevin, I better make sure we have the right numbers and get a slot before I take it off you, though I shouldn't imagine there being issues now that Dar has added his name to the list. Let's just hope the wedding crew don't want to take over the course aswell as the clubhouse!

Kids back at school that Thursday but am not working the friday so should be good for me too.

The 30th Aug should be fine for me as well. I'm working but if we are teeing off in the afternoon as mentioned I would have no issue in getting a few hours off.

Thanks again for kind offer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Hickoryhack

Guys, I'm interested in this Greystones bash if still a place. I'm 60s, playing on/off 3 to 4 yes, mostly the public courses & par3s around Sth. Dublin. Joined a club last year, h/c= 26.
    Hickoryhack. 17-8-2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭tigerwood1

Hi guys,

I forgot to mention this to the society outing the other day, but here is the deal. I was good enough to pay my sub early this year and as a bonus they gave me a voucher for a fourball. However it can only be used on Mondays, Tuesdays & Fridays. I had forgotten all about it till I cleaned out my drawers the other day!

I was thinking if there was a few lads interested in playing, we could have a little competition amongst ourselves one of the evenings or early mornings, whatever suits interested parties best.

Hi stevieob you can put me down as supper sub,i could do with some sea air in the lungs might improve my golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,184 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

sorry lads that day a non starter for me.

Away with my Dad.

Thanks Stevieob for kind offer.

Updated list so.

myself
    CharlieIRL
    ajcurry
    golfwallah
    dar_cool
    Macker1
    Hickoryhack
    tigerwood

nice round number, I'll let you know exact time when I book it on Friday

I think i am going to have to withdraw from this unfortunately so if anyone wants my place fire ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 glynser100

hi lads just wondering if i could possibly play next friday?? il be travelling up from wexford to my nieces birthday party in bray that evening, i was going to play in charlesland but would love to give greystones a go, im originaly from bray and have never got the chance to play there, this sounds like it could be a bit of craic, so if any spaces left id love to join yous...i play of 11 handicap if that makes any odds lol

Sorry lads, I'm going to have to pull out. I've just been reminded that I'll be at a wedding that day :(

Ok guys, 2 tee times booked for next Friday. 16:00 & 16:10, so here's hoping it will be a good day.

myself
    golfwallah
    dar_cool
    Macker1
    Hickoryhack
    tigerwood
    glynser100

anyone else? room for 1 more

can I please ask you all to confirm with me.

@kevinmarkham, might just have to take you up on your offer of the green fees if that's still ok. was hoping to get one from my dad, but don't think he qualified for it.

I'll leave it in the Pro shop on Monday, addressed to you! Enjoy.
    Ok guys, 2 tee times booked for next Friday. 16:00 & 16:10, so here's hoping it will be a good day.

myself
    golfwallah
    dar_cool
    Macker1
    Hickoryhack
    tigerwood
    glynser100

@kevinmarkham, might just have to take you up on your offer of the green fees if that's still ok. was hoping to get one from my dad, but don't think he qualified for it.

I'm still on for it Stevo.
    Thanks alot

myself
    golfwallah
    dar_cool
    Macker1
    Hickoryhack
    tigerwood
    glynser100

Hi Stevieob,

I might have another player that would be interested if there is a place going. I can ask him if there is still an opening.

Macker1

Macker1 wrote: »
    Hi Stevieob,

I might have another player that would be interested if there is a place going. I can ask him if there is still an opening.

Macker1

he be more than welcome macker, as i say, we have room for one more

Thanks for that. His boards name is Thompsa9. He is only a new member on Boards but is a nice fella and decent golfer. :):)

Hi Stevieob,

Apologies but I've been informed that getting the time off work that Friday is not a runner so unfortunately I have to withdraw. It was a very kind offer which I really did appreciate so hopefully someone else can benefit from your generosity.

I hope the you and the folks that go along have a great time as judging from the website it looks a smashing course.

Kind Regards

Macker1

It seems you cant give free golf away!!:D Im looking forward to it, ive heard great things about Greystones GC.

Thanks Stevo!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭shane0007

If there's a spot free, I would be certainly interested.

shane0007 wrote: »
    If there's a spot free, I would be certainly interested.

you're in Shane :)

Brilliant, thanks.
    Now off to break the news to the Missus... :-(

Ok guys, I'll be travelling from city centre on Friday, so if anyone would like a lift along the way, please let me know. Also let me know if you need any directions.

As I previously mentioned, there is a wedding on in the clubhouse that day, so I'm pretty sure the bar will be out of bounds afterwards, but we can slip down the road if anyone fancies it to the local pub.

myself
    golfwallah
    dar_cool
    Hickoryhack
    tigerwood
    glynser100
    shane0007

Stevie, do you want that voucher now? I can drop it in on thu/ Fri

Playrd y'day with the Hawaiians. After 15 or so rounds they said our greens were the best they'd played.

morning.
    Ok guys, I'll be travelling from city centre on Friday, so if anyone would like a lift along the way, please let me know. Also let me know if you need any directions.

As I previously mentioned, there is a wedding on in the clubhouse that day, so I'm pretty sure the bar will be out of bounds afterwards, but we can slip down the road if anyone fancies it to the local pub.

myself
    golfwallah
    dar_cool
    Hickoryhack
    tigerwood
    glynser100
    shane0007

As I previously mentioned, there is a wedding on in the clubhouse that day, so I'm pretty sure the bar will be out of bounds afterwards

I must remember to bring my dancing shoes....
    I do like gate crashing a good party!

tigerwood1 wrote: »
    Hi stevieob you can put me down as supper sub,i could do with some sea air in the lungs might improve my golf.

I have sent everyone a pm with details. Tigerwood, you have pm's disabled so I can't send it to you. drop me a line with contact details and I can pass on my mobile

Stevie, do you want that voucher now? I can drop it in on thu/ Fri

Playrd y'day with the Hawaiians. After 15 or so rounds they said our greens were the best they'd played.

morning.

nice one, always good to hear a good compliment like that. I know we always say it, but it's great to hear others say it. you should have used the voucher yesterday. I'll let you know later thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Hickoryhack

Hickoryhack here. I,m good for Fri. 16:00 or either slot. Sorry for delay in replying but don't check boards every day. Any last min changes, I've sent PM to Stevieob with email & mobile. Thanks again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭tigerwood1

Hi stevieob have sent you pm

Weather looking good lads. Can't wait :)

Aye, I even got the white polish out for my dancing shoes. Even went as far as practicing a few shapes in front of the mirror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 glynser100

Looking forward to tomorrow weather looks like it Will be good for it ;-)

Rageing I'm missing this. Enjoy lads

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Rageing I'm missing this. Enjoy lads

Me too, bloody Weddings getting in the way of golf. Enjoy lads and thanks again for the offer Steve & Kevin