Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lee Westwood

• 12-08-2013 9:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭

Any of you follow him on twitter.

Appears to be drunk and unloading his frustration at the lads who give him abuse.

Him and Joey Barton of all people teaming up.

Very cringe and I can't only imagine how embarrassed he is going to be when he sobers up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

He's surely been hacked? He's rambling like a madman....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Jaysus,

Could see in his interviews that he is sick of it all. He does get too much stick. But taking on the internet alone is a bad idea.

GreeBo you could be offered a big job in twitter soon.

RikkFlair wrote: »
    He's surely been hacked? He's rambling like a madman....

Maybe, does that happen ?

ForeRight is often hacked here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Some absolute gold coming from him.
    "The spelling on Twitter is diabolical"
    Rich coming from the lad asking "Havnt people gone quite?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

I'd say it's actually him! he's ballsy I'll give him that, last thing you'd want to do is take on Joey "Twitter" Barton!

His last tweet 4 mins ago

"Not been hacked. Just honest. Bored now. Westy out."

tmc86 wrote: »
    His last tweet 4 mins ago

"Not been hacked. Just honest. Bored now. Westy out."

manager kicked down his door down , i'd say, but mad oclock over there, 4 - 5 in morning ?

Ha just in time I'd say!

yeah, nearly 6am there so he's prob one of the last men standing!

tmc86 wrote: »
    Ha just in time I'd say!

yeah, nearly 6am there so he's prob one of the last men standing!

Id say there is a big piss up after some of the events , I'd say dufner's was the best since D. Clarke's year long one.

Nice of him finding a way to keep his PR team busy on a Monday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Some funny stuff.

I'm now following him!

Nice of him finding a way to keep his PR team busy on a Monday!

He will come out with mum read a statement, then do Oprah, he was at the low point. Go on win 3 majors, happy US ending.

"I cried that day ",
    " I found God, a new putter too".

Luckily it seems to be nipped in the bud. What you don't want to see are silly news stories about twitter and taking the full focus off of Duffner's achievement. He played some absolutely sensational golf yesterday!

He will come out with mum read a statement, then do Oprah, he was at the low point. Go on win 3 majors, happy US ending.

"I cried that day ",
    " I found God, a new putter too".

If he finds God, and sets up a joint twitter account with Webb Simpson, I may cry

If he finds out how to solve putting problems
    where do i sign .

After Jeff Overtons rant, not a good week for golfers on Twitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Just said the following on the other thread... Being drunk and pissed off at your game and twitter is not a good combination. Twitter can be great to get insight from players but there are some amount of clowns on it just trying to provoke. Think Lee would be better off to ignore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Maybe, does that happen ?

ForeRight is often hacked here.

Greebo is forever hacking my account and posting then going back into his own and giving out to me

Anyone have any idea what Ian Baker Finch said about Lee last night? Lee seems to have had a few digs at him also. Or maybe he is unhappy about a putting lesson!

ForeRight wrote: »
    Greebo is forever hacking my account and posting then going back into his own and giving out to me

Only at the majors, he does it to me when ive a few beers in me.

Yes ok for hackers to make a fool of themselves, but Lee ?

I can see his point, he is sort of saying that it is time to control things. Could there be a move against freedom on the net ? It seems to be in the media at the moment.

Also, Monty was hard on him last night. It was a bit ironic to hear monty say why lee will never win a major.

You could see Lee is a bit tired of media with the questions about his downfalls. He is at a low.

GreeBo this shows why your way here is the way. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

GreeBo this shows why your way here is the way. Fair play.

100%

Westwood gets Gee Eyed, but he needed to get Gree Bo'ed a few hours ago.
    Greebo, expect the call from Chubby Chandler tomorrow.

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    100%

Westwood gets Gee Eyed, but he needed to get Gree Bo'ed a few hours ago.
    Greebo, expect the call from Chubby Chandler tomorrow.

Ok , Greebo will leave you now.

But, hope you never forget all the people here who helped you get to the top,

BBC - " Lee why did you shank that last putt , is this an issue for you in your game, now the past as a child".
    Lee - " id like Greebo to answer this one ".

Ok , Greebo will leave you now.

But, hope you never forget all the people here who helped you get to the top,

BBC - " Lee why did you shank that last putt , is this an issue for you in your game, now the past as a child".
    Lee - " id like Greebo to answer this one ".

Lee wouldn't even get a word out of his mouth there as greebo would have a big fat infarct in the journos face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

Just came across his twitter and after scrolling down the page the first comment I read is Lee saying to someone 'and you drink halves. Rent boy!' this is going to be interesting reading, made my boring Monday morning! Better get back to twitter I mean work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭realgolfgeek

in a nutshell, what an absolute f*ckin toss pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Squiggle

It's killing Westwood that he can't win a major - comes across as a begrudger in much the same way that Garcia does. I don't think either of them will ever win a major because of their putting woes.

in a nutshell, what an absolute f*ckin toss pot.

Ah leave it out this place needs greebo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Arsenium

God I'm shocked to be honest. I signed up to twitter about 3 years ago. Followed GMAC, Poulter and McIlroy but I'd say I've signed into it once since then.
    Reading Westwoods stuff there, I am finidng it hard to know who is saying what as I am not familiar with it. But it's very undignifed for a lad like Westwood to be getting involved in that. Ok..so they're hammered. And I imagine Clarke is with him and a few others and they are all probably taking part in it.

But it's all a bit, I dont know, common LOL :-)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

sad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭cack_handed

No problem with Westwood here at all. If people went to watch him on course and started volleying abuse they'd be arrested, so why should they be allowed do same thing on twitter? only thing i've a problem with is bragging about the money he's making, that's never classy. Reminds me of the story i once heard of a certain irish football, not overly blessed in the brain cell department, waving a big wad of cash at a bunch of rival football fans in a car park.

Agree,

But not the time to be going on about all the money he has.

People think sports stars are spolit brats who live in an unreal world.

He hasn't helped the the case for them.

Bad luck for Lee, because it has gone into mainstream media. Meltdown they are calling it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I think the homophobic nature of some of his tweets will prove more troublesome tbh now the mainstream media have picked up on the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭realgolfgeek

Bad luck for Lee, because it has gone into mainstream media. Meltdown they are calling it.

Bad luck my arse ! What a spoilt git.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Oilbeefhooked!

Totally agree re. the earnings gloatings, and also have a certain sympathy with him.
    You can understand his utter frustration, after the hard work and build up to another seasons Majors ,but Think it must have finally dawned on him last night - that he simply does not and will never have it 'on the greens' to get over the line in a major.(so he's drowned his sorrows)
    But has def let himself down, by not having a thick enough skin, to not react to the twitter trolls, if you have thousands and thousands of followers, then there's bound to be a good few a***oles among them.
    After last nights performance ,he was bound to get a fair amount of negative comments - End of the day, he's let himsef down by biting back!
    Still a great great golfer and wish him all the best going forward :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭cack_handed

Have to confess only scrolled briefly through the stuff westwood posted and didnt see much by way of any homophobic ranting, or is my PC antenna too old school still??
    Saddest part for me is so-called mainstream media jumping all over this like parasites and getting a free days work out of it, piggy backing on Twitter non-stories is half the reason the mainstream media is dying in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

This makes a mockery of the interviews he gave to Sky after the first three rounds where he was trying to come across as easy going and unperturbed as regards the majors. And then the commentators were all going on about his relaxed approach to life as if he'd found inner peace or something. There's just no excuse for twitter trolls and some of Lee's responses were witty, but a lot of them revealed his true frustrations with his own game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Arsenium

Looks like Lee is just a bridge too far for Dr. Bob's powers.

Lee "The Anti Bob" Westwood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭Trampas

@WestwoodLee: Sincere apologies to my sponsors and true followers for my earlier comments .
    It was out of order and out of character ,Westy .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Trampas wrote: »
    @WestwoodLee: Sincere apologies to my sponsors and true followers for my earlier comments .
    It was out of order and out of character ,Westy .

Sponsors ,shows where his priorities lie.

Zardoz wrote: »
    Sponsors ,shows where his priorities lie.

Did you automatically ignore the words "true followers" in order to bolster your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Some of the posts on here are about as cringeworthy as Westwood's tweets.

No pity for him from me, guy has a serious chip on his shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Zardoz

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    Did you automatically ignore the words "true followers" in order to bolster your point?
    No I didnt but I find it bizarre that he would even need to apologise to his sponsors .This is a recent trend and one I find odd.

He could have just addressed it to his true followers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

No I didnt but I find it bizarre that he would even need to apologise to his sponsors .This is a recent trend and one I find odd.

Bizarre that he would apologise to sponsors that pay him millions each year to promote their brands!?
    It's bizarre that you find it bizarre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Effectively they're his employers, woud you not apologise to yours if you were in his shoes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

Dear God, nothing worse than having to apologise after getting the hook from the money men, how embarrassing for him.

Haven't seen the tweets, but he's always seemed to be a bit of a contrary git in interviews, strange how he's forced on the golfing public as the one who we'd all love to see win, well no, he seems like a bit of a wanker actually.

Heard Gary Murphy on the radio describe Lee Westwood as probably "full of mashed potatoes at 3am this morning" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭basill

I loved his comment about Montgomery (who?) but therein lies a certain irony. Very similar careers full of wasted opportunities and both unable to get over the line in the big ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Martin567

This makes a mockery of the interviews he gave to Sky after the first three rounds where he was trying to come across as easy going and unperturbed as regards the majors. And then the commentators were all going on about his relaxed approach to life as if he'd found inner peace or something. There's just no excuse for twitter trolls and some of Lee's responses were witty, but a lot of them revealed his true frustrations with his own game.

The Sky commentators come out with an awful lot of nonsense at times. On Saturday night, they were considering Steve Stricker as possibly the best ever player not to win a Major! They said he had a real knack of being in the right place at the right time and was sure to be right there on Sunday. Sure enough he was nowhere to be seen in the final round which wasn't a surprise as it's 15 years since he last contended on the back nine on Sunday in a Major.

Martin567 wrote: »
    The Sky commentators come out with an awful lot of nonsense at times. On Saturday night, they were considering Steve Stricker as possibly the best ever player not to win a Major! They said he had a real knack of being in the right place at the right time and was sure to be right there on Sunday. Sure enough he was nowhere to be seen in the final round which wasn't a surprise as it's 15 years since he last contended on the back nine on Sunday in a Major.

Sure when Rory got to -3 again they reckoned he wasn't out of it.

That was while Dufner was at -10 and bogey free for about 27 holes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

basill wrote: »
    I loved his comment about Montgomery (who?) but therein lies a certain irony. Very similar careers full of wasted opportunities and both unable to get over the line in the big ones.

What did he say?