Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bombproof back wheel

• 08-08-2013 4:04pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭

So any advice for a bomb proff back wheel. Having gone through 4 sets fo Mavic Kyrsiums in 8 years the last couple of sets haven't been great and a lot of repairs.

Just need a bonb proof back wheel that I can order in one place not parts etc to be built up. doesn't need to be fast or look good (wil match rest of bike.)

On recommendation so far.

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/hope-pro-3-clincher-rear-wheel/

and yes I know lsing weight would help matters a lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭MajesticDonkey

shaungil wrote: »
    Having gone through 4 sets fo Mavic Kyrsiums in 8 years the last couple of sets haven't been great and a lot of repairs.

Are you cycling offroad up mountains or something? Ksyriums are one of the best sets of alloy wheels you can get.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭rollingscone

I know nothing about this subject.

But Aksiums have served me incredibly well, I'm 100kgs on a dry day and have hit some horrible potholes over the last year. I also know of someone who stupidly, but successfully cycled home on their Aksium's rims after a double flat without any long term damage (except for the total destruction of their tyres of course).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

I've used Hope products on my mountain bike for years so would highly recommend them, just be sure to go for the Mavic Rim as it should be stronger then the Stans [I think].

Out of interest though what weight are you and can you be more specific as to what happened the Kyrsiums, i.e. was it a rim snap, a hub failure or spokes. The more detail you provide the more help people can give as it seems strange to go through at that rate of 1 every 2 years.

So any advice for a bomb proff back wheel. Having gone through 4 sets fo Mavic Kyrsiums in 8 years the last couple of sets haven't been great and a lot of repairs.

Just need a bonb proof back wheel that I can order in one place not parts etc to be built up. doesn't need to be fast or look good (wil match rest of bike.)

On recommendation so far.

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/hope-pro-3-clincher-rear-wheel/

and yes I know lsing weight would help matters a lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭shaungil

Big and careless would be a fair description of my size and riding style. Bike is treated quite badly.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭C3PO

As you've linked - Hope Hubs/Open Pro rims are a great option! Out of stock though! Like every wheel they will need to be serviced!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Two front and one rear for me.
    90kgs - maybe an issue.

Not had same problem on Fulcrum 3s or 5s. Maybe Ksyriums are flimsy and/or Im too heavy for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

bombproof
    9 speed royce hub 36 hole
    sapin db stainless spokes
    mavic rims sups/cxp 33/velocity/dt swiss.

oh to have money:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Hmmm at 130kg myself and recently bought Open Pro rims with Ultegra hubs in Hollingsworth Cycles in Stillorgan. Cost a fair ould penny (450 front and back) but I was cycling from Paris to Dusseldorf over 7 days and needed something reliable.

Chain ended up coming off on a very fast downhill and minced the spokes due to me trying to pedal having not realised the the chain had come off.

Pretty much had buckles ever day after that and it broke my heart despite the problem spokes being replaced. Had them all replaced since and have been out for two cycles without any issues - 50km yesterday out to Howth and back.

So, not sure if I can recommend the wheels just yet and don't know whether the buckles were a result of my weight or not.

10% off at the moment brings it in at about 185.00 Euro [50 cheaper then Wiggle and in stock]

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,837 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Having seen your current state the other day OP I would recommend one of these:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTMvefDuGpcWG3axn69vKLuo5WS_xl8boNdwgMSHADCLpkHeueb

Alternatively if you want to drop me a PM I may have a Fulcrum 3 you could give a go ... (may need your strength to get the turbo tyre off it mind)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,602 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Big and careless would be a fair description of my size and riding style. Bike is treated quite badly. Strong with legs like truck pistons would be fair description. Accidental burn outs and doughnuts are very common.

Dude, do it right. Do you (like me) have two chainsets, one on the right and one on the left?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

How about a 36h Mavic A719 Touring rim? If you're heavy and eating wheels, maybe it's time to really consider bombproof!

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Dude, do it right. Do you (like me) have two chainsets, one on the right and one on the left?

Obviously as well and hand crank to keep the guns primed. The sail only goes up in adverse conditions to enhance the workout.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

How about a 27 or 28mm tyre on the rear?

• Registered Users Posts: 333 ✭✭Cyclepath

I had a Mavic touring wheel built for me. It's heavy duty, designed for extra weight (I'm 110Kg) with eyelets that make re-spoking etc a lot easier.

It cost about €150 without a cassette. It's bulletproof so far - like you I'm a rough rider ;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭slap/dash

i know op wanted factory wheels, but i got rose bikes to build me a set of mavic cxp33 to ultegra hubs with dt competition spokes. 32h. they are solid as f so far, and cost something like 330 or so.

ive been running open sport rims w 32h dt comp spokes laced to surly hubs in my iro mark v that i had built up in boston 7 years ago and they have been thru wars with original spokes and only needed truing slightly once in all that time.

in short: find a reliable person to build up. rose seem very competent, and ive heard beecycles are superb. krysiums seem real nice, but at 94kg and 6'4", i cant afford "pretty"

also, can't believe i rolled 23 gators for so long. 25 4000s gp for the win. so much more pleasant ride quality, and im sure that helps.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

slap/dash wrote: »
    also, can't believe i rolled 23 gators for so long. 25 4000s gp for the win. so much more pleasant ride quality, and im sure that helps.

I was in A4 and struggling to finish races and then I switched to wider tyres. After about 6 months i got a pro-contract and won the king of the mountains in the Giro d'Italia. So take it from me they do work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

I was in A4 and struggling to finish races and then I switched to wider tyres. After about 6 months i got a pro-contract and won the king of the mountains in the Giro d'Italia. So take it from me they do work.

Was that a result of taking energy gels, or changing tyres, or both...do you think?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Plastik

Were you using an Ultegra chain?

Plastik wrote: »
    Were you using an Ultegra chain?

mai oui. ...or should that be hai

Well obviously this back wheel issue has been the sole reason I'm not winning Grand Tours so good to hear it will sort that out.

Really I'd like somone to give me a linkie nd say this is a really strong and cheap wheel and will not break. The whole ordering bits off the net and geting someone to build sounds like a pain. (Yeah I know I'm not a real cyclist cos I don't spend hour googling over bikeporn)

Beasty thanks for the offer as I know you have very little gear:eek: but I don't need the stress of breaking someone else wheel. I'll order one soon

i both a set of wheels frm wiggle 319 mavic rims 36 hole hand finished,only around £120 as far as i remember ,anyway super wheels and yes very strong i put 25x700 on them no problems at all.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

Well obviously this back wheel issue has been the sole reason I'm not winning Grand Tours so good to hear it will sort that out.

Really I'd like somone to give me a linkie nd say this is a really strong and cheap wheel and will not break. The whole ordering bits off the net and geting someone to build sounds like a pain. (Yeah I know I'm not a real cyclist cos I don't spend hour googling over bikeporn)

Beasty thanks for the offer as I know you have very little gear:eek: but I don't need the stress of breaking someone else wheel. I'll order one soon

I use 36H Open Pro rims, Ultegra hubs and DT Swiss spokes built from Parker International in UK. About €165 for a rear wheel.

I get about 20,000kms from one and its always the rim that wears out. I am on my 3rd one but each previous one has been true with spokes tight right to the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭witty username

OP, I have the same hope hub and open pro rim, front and back, fairly bullet proof, the freehub body is a light alloy so the pointy end of the cassette digs in a little, other than that no issues...

Seaswimmer wrote: »
    I use 36H Open Pro rims, Ultegra hubs and DT Swiss spokes built from Parker International in UK. About €165 for a rear wheel.

I get about 20,000kms from one and its always the rim that wears out. I am on my 3rd one but each previous one has been true with spokes tight right to the end.
    so have you a srare ultegra hub lying about by any chance. i need that exact same hub.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

so have you a srare ultegra hub lying about by any chance. i need that exact same hub.;)

Afriad not. usually sell them on for people with turbo trainers ect.

In fact I sold one with a 105 hub (only non Ultegra I have had) to Pablo Rubio only a couple of hours ago.

Wheel arrived put on cassette etc brought to work where bike has remained cos couldn't get home cos of banjaxed wheel. Forgot key of my kick ass lock tho so could't bring it home
    Went to key place at home no sign of key for lock. Doh doh. New thread might be coming on how to cut open a lock. Am hoping key is left in work.....