Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car For 20 Year Old Kayaker

• 04-08-2013 6:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭

I'm a 20 year old student and looking to buy my own car. Just over 2 years experience and 1 year with a full licence. No penalty points and I've been on my mothers insurance for just over 2 years now.

I do an awful lot of kayaking so I'd like either an estate or a saloon that could fit a lot of gear into it. It must be able to facilitate a roof rack either way. I'd like it to be something out of the ordinary as well. I hate Golfs so they are off the list. I was looking at maybe something like this(I know that particular car is a shed but something like it). My budget is around 1000 for the car. I'm aiming for maybe a 1.4-1.6 litre. Anything more and I'll go through fuel at an awful rate.

I've had a look around and haven't found many decent cars so does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks for your help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

A focus isn't out of the ordinary.

To be honest, at your price level you can't be fussy, buy on condition and history, you might end up with something deeply uncool like a suzuki liana but you need to swallow your pride on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

What type of paddling do you do? How many paddle buddies? This will effect how much gear and bodies you will carry. If you play-boating and meeting people at play spots, then a decent Hatchback would do (Focus/Golf size), you could put a boat in the car. If river running, then an estate, allow more gear and a few bodies (Mondeo/Avensis size).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

What type of paddling do you do? How many paddle buddies? This will effect how much gear and bodies you will carry. If you play-boating and meeting people at play spots, then a decent Hatchback would do (Focus/Golf size), you could put a boat in the car. If river running, then an estate, allow more gear and a few bodies (Mondeo/Avensis size).

Its mostly river running so there'd be 4-5 of us heading off to Kerry or Wicklow with creekers and everything that goes with them so I think I'd need something on the bigger side.

EDIT: I'm after getting my act together and realising that my expectations are stupid. The Focus estates actually look like something that would suit me fine. Loads of space on the roof and the boot and cheap insurance and tax. Does anyone know if there's a big difference between the 1.4 and 1.6 petrol engines in terms of power? There's a 130 euro difference in tax so just wondering if the 1.6 would be worth the extra cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Popoutman

The 1.4 is underpowered for carrying a paddling load, especially on tight country lanes. The 1.6 isn't that good, but it's better than the 1.4. The 1.6 petrol is 98bhp.

The petrols will cost you a fair bit more in fuel overall than a diesel would when roofrack loads are up, maybe 4 tanks used of petrol where a diesel would use 3, and you'll make up any difference in tax alone after a few months of driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭WildWater

This would be good. Milage is high but that would allow you negotiate to your price range. Not far from you if you are based in Clare.

Now for out of the ordinary, personally (I'm a kayaker also) I'd love this but I think I'd have to start selling body parts to pay for the tax, insurance (long time since I saw 20) and petrol :eek

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Chavways wrote: »
    Does anyone know if there's a big difference between the 1.4 and 1.6 petrol engines in terms of power?

Both of them are ridiculously underpowered but the 1.6 is slightly less bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Its mostly river running so there'd be 4-5 of us heading off to Kerry or Wicklow with creekers and everything that goes with them so I think I'd need something on the bigger side.

If you're in creekers and you can up your budget, would you consider a van ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭nookie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

An Astra estate van might do the trick if you are not carrying more than one passenger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

What about a Renault Laguna Estate? You can pick them up really cheap and I think they are actually much nicer looking cars than the saloon variant. You will also be able to get a diesel instead of a petrol, which means you have plenty of torque for pulling with the kayaks on the roof. Once you get up to speed, there is quite some amount of drag. You will also save a lot of money with the diesel travel;ling further and being cheaper then petrol.

Another plus note is that its much easier to sell on a diesel car if you want a change in the future.

Something along these lines. http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-laguna-1-9-litre-diesel/5454711

EDITED : Sorry I just realised you said your budget was around 1000. I will leave this up though, incase you may want to save a bit longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Thats a lot of car for €1600. I wonder does it have NCT and a full service history?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

MadYaker wrote: »
    Thats a lot of car for €1600. I wonder does it have NCT and a full service history?

they're cheap for a reason! also you'll be a long time looking for a car in with that budget with a service history.
    i have 2 dogs, so needed an estate, it wasn't a problem for me as i prefer estates to a saloons anyway, i'm a student too and didn't have much money to spare.
    always loved these so i went for one.
    1.9tdi, 50+mpg, ultra reliable.
    945127_10151425172243301_2024783704_n.jpg

they may not be up in years but it doesn't worry me, lots of space, roof rails for your kayak etc.
    thats my one in the pic and it has abs, central locking, electric windows all round, sunroof and mirrors as well as cruise control. not bad for a 94 car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

EDIT: I'm after getting my act together and realising that my expectations are stupid. The Focus estates actually look like something that would suit me fine. Loads of space on the roof and the boot and cheap insurance and tax. Does anyone know if there's a big difference between the 1.4 and 1.6 petrol engines in terms of power? There's a 130 euro difference in tax so just wondering if the 1.6 would be worth the extra cost.

My 1st car was a 1.4 Focus estate and I ride BMX. I used to regularly travel all over the country with 5 guys, 5 bikes (each weighing about 12-15KG) and 5 bags jammed into the car. While it wasn't fast, it coped fine. You just know you aren't going to overtake anyone...let alone in a hurry. It would get about 39mpg on long runs, even fully loaded. Eventually I upgraded to a 1.6 Tdci Focus and it has more grunt and a bit easier to drive.

MadYaker wrote: »

Didnt you read the ad? Its says there is an NCT until April 2014. Peronsally I dont like any French cars, but for a cheap runabout....

Another estate car which I really like are the Saab estates, and if you keep looking, you can come across great deals as people are paranoid to buy them because Saab have went bust. Its not relevant to cars in your price range as there will be no warranty anyway, and there are plenty of spare parts everywhere.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I've had 5 creek boats on one of these plus people and gear.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/impreza-wrx-wagon/5119791

Obviously the WRX version like that may be a bit over the top on insurance but if you can find the base model 1.6 or a jap import 1.6 they're a great yoke.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

Impreza's are tiny compared to a focus or equivalent with the sloped boot. You lose a lot of practicality. It's almost a hatchback (looks like a 5 door Almera space wise).

Not saying it's not possible but there are more comfortable options out there.

wesf wrote: »
    they're cheap for a reason! also you'll be a long time looking for a car in with that budget with a service history.
    i have 2 dogs, so needed an estate, it wasn't a problem for me as i prefer estates to a saloons anyway, i'm a student too and didn't have much money to spare.
    always loved these so i went for one.
    1.9tdi, 50+mpg, ultra reliable.

they may not be up in years but it doesn't worry me, lots of space, roof rails for your kayak etc.
    thats my one in the pic and it has abs, central locking, electric windows all round, sunroof and mirrors as well as cruise control. not bad for a 94 car

Do you mind me asking how much insurance was for that?

i'm on a trade policy so i don't know. can't imagine it being an awful lot though with the relevant experience etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Yamanoto wrote: »

At least he has a paddle for the creek that he'll be up

I wouldn't take one of those lagunas for nothing

Why not?

What about a Renault Laguna Estate? You can pick them up really cheap and I think they are actually much nicer looking cars than the saloon variant. .

Don't think there is a Saloon Variant!

Lads, a little elaboration as to why it's so undesirable may help folks out a bit. :)

Is that an S60 Estate?

Jesus. wrote: »

Is that an S60 Estate?

what?!

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Lads, a little elaboration as to why it's so undesirable may help folks out a bit. :)

There's nowte wrong with the Laguna mate. Just don't get the 1.6 as its grossly underpowered.

Other than that, the car itself is fine.

what?!

OOPS! I meant to say A6!

what again?!

That one was fairly straightforward.

What year and model Audi is your car? Just curious.

It is a 94 Audi 80.
    I wouldn't touch a laguna with a barge pole, someone above asked why not, i'm not going to explain as I thought it was pretty obvious for anyone with a bit of motoring knowledge. There is a reason that car is €1,000, jeez my 94 was more than that!

i'm not going to explain as I thought it was pretty obvious for anyone with a bit of motoring knowledge.

That's your call wesf.

I would have thought the forum benefits greatly, when those more expert than others are happy to share what knowledge they have, even if it's relatively basic stuff. There are a number of prominent posters within the forum who do just that.

It is a 94 Audi 80.
    I wouldn't touch a laguna with a barge pole, someone above asked why not, i'm not going to explain as I thought it was pretty obvious for anyone with a bit of motoring knowledge. There is a reason that car is €1,000, jeez my 94 was more than that!

<snip, niceness goes a longer way that quips>

Ahahahaha I think its been derailed, it seemed like such a simple question. I honestly want to know specifically what is wrong with Renault Laguna estates. I can generalise all day about French crap, but is there some actual real problem? Remember the purpose of this car and the budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

Ahahahaha I think its been derailed, it seemed like such a simple question. I honestly want to know specifically what is wrong with Renault Laguna estates. I can generalise all day about French crap, but is there some actual real problem? Remember the purpose of this car and the budget.
    Drove an 02 1.6 with 100,000 miles on it for a week earlier this year. While it was awfully underpowered and not my style it was comfortable enough when cruising and everything seemed to be still working. Did somewhere around the mid 30's mpg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I had an 04 one many moons ago, 1.8 petril.... Keycard issues, constant earthing issues, lights ablaze on the dash galore that kept coming on despite getting cleared. Thirsty. Seriously comfortable mind you. A pig to work on in places (gearbox oil change was fairly awkward)

A real sh*thole of a car. Maybe I was just stung but that's just my view

Look son, instead of whiling your college hours away smoking spliffs and downing pints, why don't you take the module "How not to be a smart arse"?

I think you'll benefit greatly from it. :P

well i had a much more smart arsed comment written out along the lines of if you can't even identify basic makes or models you shouldn't really be giving car advice, but i deleted it :)
    ps i don't drink or smoke and have probably owned a lot more cars than a lot of people on here. not saying i know it all, far from it, but i know what to stay away from.
    op buy a laguna at your own risk.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

pete4130 wrote: »
    Impreza's are tiny compared to a focus or equivalent with the sloped boot. You lose a lot of practicality. It's almost a hatchback (looks like a 5 door Almera space wise).

Not saying it's not possible but there are more comfortable options out there.

They are a little smaller than the estates being mentioned, but that's a good thing. They're lighter and less underpowered.

I'm just speaking from personal experience here of driving an Impreza and kayaking. The Impreza was the best car I've owned for it.

Another good option is a Mitsubishi Spacestar, a couple of lads I paddled with had them.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mitsubishi-spacestar/5464865

One lad I paddled with had one of theses:

http://www.donedeal.ie/commercials-for-sale/peugeot-boxer/5169544

The shelving units in the back would be fierce handy for kit.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

well i had a much more smart arsed comment written out along the lines of if you can't even identify basic makes or models you shouldn't really be giving car advice, but i deleted it :)

Sorry about that. I didn't think any of those Fred Flintstone mobiles were still on the road. :D

just proving your ignorance even more, keep going :)

Only messing with ye mate. No offence intended.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭derry

I must say there is strong evidence to show that could be right idea .
    All the french cars have too elaborate electronics which as car ages often give trouble .
    Its too risky to buy them if the budget is low .You can be lucky get one that runs like a dream never any problems and then you can be unlucky and sink thousands ito the thing and never solve the problems.
    I too would,nt take a old laguna or BMW or Volvo or many other European makes of cars all to do with the electronics issues .
    I tuned down a free 1993 BMW
    I stupidity took a 40k 1998 fiat bravo sx 1400 .It ate parts for breakfast new clutch new front disk and brakes and two new front tires and other parts .Its now parked up as back up car as it eats fuel less than 35MPG often 33 on long routes and less than 25mpg in town

I bought automatic 1993 150,00 kilometer ( who knows might be second time around LOL )Toyota Carina diesel 2liter for €250 and replaced a few parts brakes and oil service that sort of stuff and its been reasonably cheap to run .PTF is looking bad so it wont pass the next NCT due soon and few other parts needed like rear light got broken a bit . its done ~80,000 extra kilometers since so three years realitivly cheap driving but i think the car is past it .

My preference is 5 speed 2005 2000cc MPV 150,000miles but they still want too much money for it

I will probably have to get 5 speed 1996 Merc petrol 2.8 liter for less than €1000 as i don't do big mileage now for this year or probably next year .

For me old car every time its Asian makes as their electronics tend to be less elaborate and seem to be fixable at reasonable costs or much older 1990 era European car like Mercs with less complex electronics

Derry

So OP, did you get yourself a car? Get some photos up! I hate it when threads are not concluded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

How about a Volvo V70?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/01-volvo-v70-7-seater-1500-ono/5523330

OK, tax will be high, but your friends should be chipping in for fuel anyway. As for insurance, that'll be high too, but I'm still guessing that it won't be nearly as bad as you think since they're probably a much lower risk than most 2.0l cars.

It'll comfortably fit 5 adults, and 2 more in the back on rare occasions you might need it, there's plenty of room for all your gear, a few on donedeal have new NCT's, and they're very safe for that era.

Just pray something doesn't go wrong with it!

How about a Volvo V70?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/01-volvo-v70-7-seater-1500-ono/5523330

OK, tax will be high, but your friends should be chipping in for fuel anyway. As for insurance, that'll be high too, but I'm still guessing that it won't be nearly as bad as you think since they're probably a much lower risk than most 2.0l cars.

It'll comfortably fit 5 adults, and 2 more in the back on rare occasions you might need it, there's plenty of room for all your gear, a few on donedeal have new NCT's, and they're very safe for that era.

Just pray something doesn't go wrong with it!
    So in otherwords, totally unsuitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

So in otherwords, totally unsuitable.

Not totally. What's tax compared to a 1.6, an extra €150 a year? It's worthwhile checking insurance, since it's far from a boy racer car. (A 2.0l diesel S40 is cheaper than a 1.6 petrol Focus for me.)

True that fuel will be a good bit more compared to a smaller car, but the OP is looking to be driving 5 lads, and an afwul lot of gear around the country. It'd only be a fiver extra each On a return trip to Kerry if fuel bills were split by 5. A Focus estate is definitely on the small side.

So OP, did you get yourself a car? Get some photos up! I hate it when threads are not concluded.

Nope, haven't purchased anything yet. I'm still looking around for stuff and not in too much of a rush to buy. Trying to save an extra bit of money as well so that should open up a few more options.

True that fuel will be a good bit more compared to a smaller car, but the OP is looking to be driving 5 lads, and an afwul lot of gear around the country. It'd only be a fiver extra each On a return trip to Kerry if fuel bills were split by 5. A Focus estate is definitely on the small side.

Not necessarily. If the OP and four other blokes with a sh*t load of gear are going to be travelling all over the Country, he'd have to half kill the engine in a small car with all that weight out on the Motorway. A small engine wouldn't be long in going through a fair drop of petrol in such circumstances.

A diesel with its extra torque might be the way to go.