Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lack of public bathrooms in Ireland?

• 03-08-2013 6:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭

Why is such a lack of public bathrooms in Ireland? I'm originally from Liverpool. And although the mersyside has many flaws, lack of public bathrooms is not one of them. Here in Dublin, if I want to use a bathroom when I'm passing through town, I have to go into a shop and buy something to use their bathrooms. This is a capital city. Not very tourist friendly is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Tower records on the 3rd floor of Easons O'Connell St is a favoured spot. Not the best but will do

If you want the best spot in Ireland where no staff will challenge you then walk through the car park in the Radisson Galway. The toilets are luxurious!
    Not one staff member will ever see you. 3 minutes walk from Eyre Square

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

Perhaps too much cottageing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭sinjin_smythe

the cons outway the pros for public toilets if you ask me. Dont wanna be touchin a bowl that some junky skank used a million times over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Op why do you want to have a bath in public :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Pai Mei

Even if there were public bathrooms I still wouldn't use them. EWW!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The dole is too high.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Just because Liverpool is one big toilet doesn't mean Ireland should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Having to pay 20cent to take a leak in Stephen's Green Shopping Centre is literally taking the p*ss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Just go into a pub

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Frankly when things are bad any hole is the goal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

There would never be enough bathrooms for the ****e that's in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Am in Liverpool right now where are the toilets? Do what everyone else does...go into pub, mcdonalds, burger king etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Yes. It is the standard problem in Dublin. The skanger class is why we can't have nice things.

Just because Liverpool is one big toilet doesn't mean Ireland should be.

Harsh.

Edit:

But fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Junkieville being a stones throw away from the main street in Dublin would have them like something out of trainspotting, probably best not having them in the first place, we're all use to not being able to have nice things by now surely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

You are dead right and the problem extends right across the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Junkieville being a stones throw away from the main street in Dublin would have them like something out of trainspotting, probably best not having them in the first place, we're all use to not being able to have nice things by now surely.

Basic public amenities are now considered "nice things"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Just go into a department store and use the toilets there. M&S and Brown Thomas on grafton street both have clean ones. You don't have to buy anything. Just walk in and go to the toilets, nobody will stop you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Harsh.

But true.
    Liverpool is disgusting. Crap all over the place. Can't having a decent meal without some junkie walking in trying to sell all sorts of sh!te. Starts off at perfume and slowly works up to drugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

If I remember right there did used to be a few public toilets around the O'Connell Bridge area years ago but I'd guess the junkies and anti-social behaviour put an end to that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Jervis Centre has loads.
    Or just go into Mc D's/BK/Supermacs and pretend to look at the menu for a moment, then head to the toilets 'before your meal'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

But true.
    Liverpool is disgusting. Crap all over the place. Can't having a decent meal without some junkie walking in trying to sell all sorts of sh!te. Starts off at perfume and slowly works up to drugs

Not true. In the slightest.

And department stores close fairly early.

If you're in a city or big town then go to a hotel and use the toilets there. No-one's gonna stop you and make you book a room. Anyway toilets are generally nicer in there than pubs or restaurants.

Basic public amenities are now considered "nice things"?

It's a phrase. That's why we can't have nice things. Generally applied to children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

The toilets in Easons scare me.

I normally nip into Marks or BTs. BTs is great because there is nearly always a toilet attendant cleaning. Jervis usually has someone in and out cleaning cubicles too.

The Ilac has automatic flush so they are much cleaner now than they used to be.

Some of the little cafes along the Quay had/have terrible trouble with junkies shooting up. So bad that I heard of a case where there was blood on the walls. Disgusting.

I think that's also why the toilets in Easons have such sharp lighting. Isn't it supposed to highlight drug residue or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

So we're definately talking public toilets, are we?

Public bath houses (public places to take a bath) used to be widespread in England back in the 50s/60s, but they are a rarity nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

weedhead wrote: »
    the cons outway the pros for public toilets if you ask me. Dont wanna be touchin a bowl that some junky skank used a million times over.
    So, what do you do when in the pub?

O.P
    there are scores of public toilets around Dublin, built in Victorian times.
    I remember using them before the Council in their wisdom decided to brick them up.
    I also remember water fonts near playgrounds, parks and in town centres, where you could drick potable water at will, free of charge.
    These have been removed also in the name of "progress".

Coincidence or not, this happened around the advent of bottled water, which accrues millions in revenue for the Excheqeur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭MrShivers

The problem is that even if there were lots of public bathrooms around the place they would not be maintained well enough for people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Thing is, they've never been called 'Public Bathrooms', well not as far as I can remember.

MrShivers wrote: »
    The problem is that even if there were lots of public bathrooms around the place they would not be maintained well enough for people.
    Thats where our long-term unemployed should come in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

`The most luxurious toilet I've ever used was in Washington DC, in a hotel on Dupont circle. No idea of the name - just ran in for a poop. Tried to look like I was staying there.

Little waterfall in the jacks. The toilet was real solid stone material. The cubical door was a thick heavy oak with engravings. Nice classical music playing in the background.

Was magical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Omackeral wrote: »
    Having to pay 20cent to take a leak in Stephen's Green Shopping Centre is literally taking the p*ss.
    I don't get this. I've used that loo loads of times - usually, by the time Sherpa Tensing has buddy-roped me up to that level, I care less if it was a tenner - when you gotta go, you gotta go. 20c?? Have a euro - at this height the oxygen levels are so low I can't count anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

In Limerick none of the parks have public toilets. You bring your kids to the playground and have to head home early cause there are no loos. Casteltroy, Clare Street and Shelbourne Road parks don't even have hotels near them or shops which have toilets for customers. Even the People Park in the city only has a capsule toilet outside the gates eventhough it has a park warden who could monitor the toilets.
    As for the city centre the only public toilets are in Arthurs Quay at a cost. Most of the shops around town don't have free access to toilets for the customers. The shopping centres on the outskirts have more amenities for the public thus making them easier to visit. Then the city council bitches that no one goes into the city centre - like duh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

So, what do you do when in the pub?

O.P
    there are scores of public toilets around Dublin, built in Victorian times.
    I remember using them before the Council in their wisdom decided to brick them up.
    I also remember water fonts near playgrounds, parks and in town centres, where you could drick potable water at will, free of charge.
    These have been removed also in the name of "progress".

Coincidence or not, this happened around the advent of bottled water, which accrues millions in revenue for the Excheqeur.

Don't forget the thousands of miles of railroads we abandoned and tramlines we ripped up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

goose2005 wrote: »
    Don't forget the thousands of miles of railroads we abandoned and tramlines we ripped up.
    I'm struggling to think of a new park (to the standard of Phoenix,Botanic or St. Stephens) built since Independence.
    Any nice parks in Dublin were built in the 1800's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I moved to Phoenix, Arizona a year and a half ago. I went back to Ireland for a few days at Christmas last year. Right before I went home, I read a post on here about the state of toilets in restaurants, public toilets, nightclubs etc. that are in Ireland a week before going back. It was then, I noticed how clean toilets in restaurants, pubs, airports etc. were here and thought actually, yeah you wouldn't get that at home.

I went to the toilet just outside Arrivals in Terminal 1 in Dublin. 4 cubicles, 3 taped off with water all over the floor, wet toilet paper everywhere on tiles that looked like they hadn't been cleaned in months. Got back to Galway, went into The Cellar bar. Somebody had thrown up all over the bathroom. It was like that all night. Went to a small country pub. Toilet seat was broken, piss everywhere. We really are a pack of filthy animals!.

Wompa1 wrote: »
    I moved to Phoenix, Arizona a year and a half ago. I went back to Ireland for a few days at Christmas last year. Right before I went home, I read a post on here about the state of toilets in restaurants, public toilets, nightclubs etc. that are in Ireland a week before going back. It was then, I noticed how clean toilets in restaurants, pubs, airports etc. were here and thought actually, yeah you wouldn't get that at home.

I went to the toilet just outside Arrivals in Terminal 1 in Dublin. 4 cubicles, 3 taped off with water all over the floor, wet toilet paper everywhere on tiles that looked like they hadn't been cleaned in months. Got back to Galway, went into The Cellar bar. Somebody had thrown up all over the bathroom. It was like that all night. Went to a small country pub. Toilet seat was broken, piss everywhere. We really are a pack of filthy animals!.
    Dat would be the furrin' workers.
    (sarcasm)......kinda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭stehyl15

Crea wrote: »
    In Limerick none of the parks have public toilets. You bring your kids to the playground and have to head home early cause there are no loos. Casteltroy, Clare Street and Shelbourne Road parks don't even have hotels near them or shops which have toilets for customers. Even the People Park in the city only has a capsule toilet outside the gates eventhough it has a park warden who could monitor the toilets.
    As for the city centre the only public toilets are in Arthurs Quay at a cost. Most of the shops around town don't have free access to toilets for the customers. The shopping centres on the outskirts have more amenities for the public thus making them easier to visit. Then the city council bitches that no one goes into the city centre - like duh!
    let them go in the bush

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

One of our crews does nothing but repair toilet facilities - some of them look like a scene from the exorcist when they arrive. In one, the main sewer pipe had been damaged and was leaking it's full contents onto the floor, literally 4" deep, obviously for a fair while - "we didn't notice" says yer man... really??

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

I'm struggling to think of a new park (to the standard of Phoenix,Botanic or St. Stephens) built since Independence.
    Any nice parks in Dublin were built in the 1800's

Not built, per se, but Tymon Park is enormous, and is an aggregation of farmland. It was made a park in the 80s as far as I know. Parts of it are really gorgeous too. Bushy Park has been around for a long long time (privately owned for hundreds of years), but that too only became a public park in the 50s.

As for public loos, there's a good few spots around the city centre, if you know where to look. Not terribly tourist friendly though, as they are few and far between

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Dat would be the furrin' workers.
    (sarcasm)......kinda

I wonder why you are saying kinda because in the last 10 years public toilets have actually improved.

Irish People are disgusting when it comes to manners. Although Welsh people are worse followed by the English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I would suggest you NEVER go to France (especially not Paris) !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I remeber the first time I used the public toilets in Erye square Galway. After going to the toilet I was looking around for the button to press to flush the toilet, seen this big grey button on the wall near the floor so pressed it and the door opened, cue me with pants down and people walking by looking in. I never knew they flush automatically when you left. I still don't know what the button is there for as the one to open the door is at waist height next to door. I'm thinking it's some kind of emergency button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I got grade A+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭JonSnuuu

If you're ever in NUIG go the the President's Bathroom in the basement of The Quad.

My God. The marble sinks and fancy toilets.....bliss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

stehyl15 wrote: »
    let them go in the bush

Cause the bushes are full of human **** from others doing the same.

I think some people of a certain age, are misunderstanding what we mean by Public Toilets, rather than toilets in Easons or shopping centres.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/public-toilets-dublin-755462-Jan2013/

These places were built under Queen Victoria along with water fonts and public parks to enhance the standard of living in Cities.
    They were bricked up by penny-pinching Councillors in the 80's and 90's.
    An interesting article below on the matter with some photos of our hidden toilets.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/public-toilets-dublin-755462-Jan2013/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭Pixel Eater

I was in Brussels recently and they had public urinal like this:

http://www.metrojacksonville.com/photos/thumbs/lrg-4257-netherlands-amsterdam-pissoir-street-urinal-2-dhd.jpg

Obscures the user without inclosing them. Thought it would be a great and relatively inexpensive addition to Dublin, even if there was only a few on the busier streets.