Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seat Cordoba 1.4 TDI Sport

• 01-08-2013 7:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭

Hi does anyone have any experience with the above car, I heard they are really good on fuel consumption, What MPG could i expect? Because my brother used to drive a ford focus 1.4 petrol and the fecking yoke used to guzzle fuel, I reckon because the 1.4 engine was too small for the weight of the car. Would this be the same case for the seat? Are they low on tax and very reliable is this true?? I'm just wondering would the car be very underpowered?

Any advice info?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I think vectra had one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

One of the loudest and most unrefined of all the small diesel engines out there. A well minded Fiesta or Mazda 2 1.4tdci would be a better option in those years imho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭martineire

One of the loudest and most unrefined of all the small diesel engines out there. A well minded Fiesta or Mazda 2 1.4tdci would be a better option in those years imho.
    Ok well I'm in the market for a diesel car, price range bout €5000-€6000. personally I'm looking for something that is very economical on fuel and low on road tax?

I'm open to any suggestions??

Really would that Kia Ceed get 65 mpg?? as stated in ad. Seems a bit high. What really could you expect to get from it?

You wouldn't average that. My mother is averaging around 50mpg on a similarly engined car.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    You wouldn't average that. My mother is averaging around 50mpg on a similarly engined car.
    And what MPG would you get from let's say a Volkswagen passet 1.9 TDI compared to the Kia Ceed 1.6 diesel?

I know there are two completely different cars but I'm just trying to compare between the two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Can I say first. A 1.4 diesel sport. What could be remotely sporty about a 1.4 diesel.
    martineire wrote: »
    Really would that Kia Ceed get 65 mpg?? as stated in ad. Seems a bit high. What really could you expect to get from it?

50 mpg. There quite underpowered so you have to give it welly to get anywhere.
    martineire wrote: »
    And what MPG would you get from let's say a Volkswagen passet 1.9 TDI compared to the Kia Ceed 1.6 diesel?

I know there are two completely different cars but I'm just trying to compare between the two

I can normally get better mpg in the 1.9 or 2L than a 1.6. And still be driving faster

A passat 1.9 TDI around that year would be 105-ish hp?
    The mothers 1.6 CRDI is 116hp.

Tbh I can't see the passat being better on fuel generally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I think vectra had one.

Grand car fro trotting around.

the sport is the 80bhp engine. As said above, quite rattly but really only on tickover, when driving it is bearable.

I did a couple of long trips in my one and it was ok but did feel a bit wrecked after them.

I was getting around 700kms around town out of the tank ( fill up )

Bit tight on room inside as well but against that. Very economical to run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Just remember that the Cordoba is basically a saloon version of the Ibiza which size wise is in the segment below the likes of an i30/Ceed and two segments below a Passat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

bazz26 wrote: »
    Just remember that the Cordoba is basically a saloon version of the Ibiza which size wise is in the segment below the likes of an i30/Ceed and two segments below a Passat.
    And the engine in them is only a 3 cylinder unit which is very tractor like on tick over. The engine in the cee'd is light years ahead of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    And the engine in them is only a 3 cylinder unit which is very tractor like on tick over. The engine in the cee'd is light years ahead of it.

Less weight in a 3 cylinder though :P

How much is the road tax on a 2007 Kia Ceed 1.6 diesel compared to an 2008. Do ye think it worth paying the extra few bob for the 2008 for the lower road tax.

€514 pre 08

Think the 08 diesels are €280, some might be less.