Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Longford Marathon

• 01-08-2013 7:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭

Well have many signed up for this one ?
    Does anyone know is the course the same , I have done it twice before and I enjoyed it very much nice flat course only gripe was all the water stops used cups hope it is changed for this year. Also are there pacers this year ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Perpetual Coyote

First time signed up and my first Marathon so can't shed light on your queries I am afraid.

Looking forward to it now as only have two long runs left to complete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Gijima

Course has'nt changed, neither has the cups at drink stations.
    Sent off enquiry about pacers to the organizer ....... got no reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Was going to do this but missed the "early bird" price. €54 to steep for me. Will probably do the tullamore harriers half the following week which is less than half the price and a later start time which suits me better..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Gijima wrote: »
    Course has'nt changed, neither has the cups at drink stations.
    Sent off enquiry about pacers to the organizer ....... got no reply.

It's an old school marathon, hence the cups and the pacers. In fact, the RD once said that he will never have pacers in his race.

Done this race a few years now, the marathon entries have been pretty consistant.
    I suppose the bonus is you can also do the directors race if you've entered.

*all the best with 100miler TFB, hope it goes well*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

Driving down from Louth on the morning to do the Half, fits in well with my DCM training plan.

Few questions if anyone could answer:

1 - Will there be places to park, what would result in a quick getaway after the half? I dont want to wait until the full marathon is over to get out of town.

2 - Is there anywhere to have a shower/clean up afterwards?

Cheers guys

There's parking in the grounds of St.Mels College, just around the corner from start/finish on main street, easy enough to getaway, this is also the registration/bag drop-off venue.

Unfortunately there's no clean-up facilities, unless you sneak into a pub.

thanks for that, didnt think there'd be change facilities but wanted to check.
    Baby wipes it is so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Longford was my first marathon and ive done it 5 times including the invite marathon twice. The race is stuck, it does not progress. As was said already it is highly unlikely longford will ever have pacers. Its such an inexpensive thing and adds a great string to the bow of any marathon.
    Such a pity to be honest and with a new race in achill thos year on the same weekend its got some stiff competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 kat2171

Also did the Half a few times over the yrs in prep for Dublin. Always enj it.

But I think they have priced themselves out of the market in the times we're in.
    The Athlone Flatline half, for eg, comes in at less than half the price of Longford (and they have pacers).

Longford used to be one of the few halves/ full marathons outside of Dublin but now there is a huge choice. If they are to continue IMO they need to drop there price and have pacers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Pronator

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    Longford was my first marathon and ive done it 5 times including the invite marathon twice. The race is stuck, it does not progress.

I disagree, keep it to yourself but I have it on good authority that a superstar will be racing the full marathon this year (Krusty Clown), that has to raise the profile of the event.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Pronator wrote: »
    I disagree, keep it to yourself but I have it on good authority that a superstar will be racing the full marathon this year (Krusty Clown), that has to raise the profile of the event.:D

That will double the sign ups :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Pronator wrote: »
    Like Oisin11178, I'm going back to my roots, to where it all started back in 2008. But I'm not racing (unless I detect a weakness in Pronator over the final few miles). :) Quite a few familiar names in the results page from 2008, including: Segiu, Mick Byrne, Vasiliy, Martin Francis, Pronator, Keith Whyte, Ray Lanigan, Mithril, Slogger Jogger, LetyourselfGo, etc. Gas looking back at the old results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭dekbhoy

Guys can anyone give me information on the the relay part of marathon. Myself and 3 friends are doing it but the info is a bit vague. What distance are the segments ,how do you get to finish line when segment is complete and does each individual carry a chip that has to be passed to the next guy. ive also heard all 4 cross line together but not sure if thats true.

thank you and looking forward to race

dekbhoy wrote: »
    Guys can anyone give me information on the the relay part of marathon. Myself and 3 friends are doing it but the info is a bit vague. What distance are the segments ,how do you get to finish line when segment is complete and does each individual carry a chip that has to be passed to the next guy. ive also heard all 4 cross line together but not sure if thats true.

thank you and looking forward to race
    • Full Marathon Relay 26 miles 385 yards - 1st, 2nd & 3rd stages 7.5 miles each approx 4th stage approx 4 miles.

No other info. Best to contact the organizers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Just noticed yesterday evening that the mile markers have been re painted so getting close now!
    Still hoping to give this a go as my first marathon but my wife is expecting any day now so have not signed up yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Seillejet

All the best with the 'company' expected Comic Book Guy. I am running this one too for my first one.

Anyone any info on water stations / gels and what to expect in this regard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

The water was in plastic cups last year... IIRC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Like Oisin11178, I'm going back to my roots, to where it all started back in 2008. But I'm not racing (unless I detect a weakness in Pronator over the final few miles). :) Quite a few familiar names in the results page from 2008, including: Segiu, Mick Byrne, Vasiliy, Martin Francis, Pronator, Keith Whyte, Ray Lanigan, Mithril, Slogger Jogger, LetyourselfGo, etc. Gas looking back at the old results.

+ RoyMcC :)

There's usually jellies/jaffa cakes/chocs at some of the stations, also some form of energy/soft drink, it's usually enough to get u around.
    A few stations had gels last year, not sure about this year, might be best to carrry 1or2 if u rely on them.

Hi There, just registered for the half (injury suggested that doing the full would be unwise). Haven't received any information about registration. Can anyone tell me where and when registration takes place? Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Hi There, just registered for the half (injury suggested that doing the full would be unwise). Haven't received any information about registration. Can anyone tell me where and when registration takes place? Thanks!

Morning of the race in St Mel's College.
    Nice enough course, I have my suspicions that it was a little short last year...

menoscemo wrote: »
    Morning of the race in St Mel's College.
    Nice enough course, I have my suspicions that it was a little short last year...
    Cheers. Do you know if you can register the day before (more time in bed!)?
    Looks pretty spot-on on the link they published.

Cheers. Do you know if you can register the day before (more time in bed!)?
    Looks pretty spot-on on the link they published.

They changed that little initial loop around the town last year and as a reult I measured it quite short: http://connect.garmin.com/activity/215170434

I am not 100% sure about registering the night before, but there were still people registering 30 minutes before the race last year....

Edit: I just noticed the finishing area is different as well, obviously a few changeds to the course since 2011.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭wrstan

menoscemo wrote: »
    They changed that little initial loop around the town last year and as a reult I measured it quite short: http://connect.garmin.com/activity/215170434

Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! Keep your voice down Man!

:p

wrstan wrote: »
    Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! Keep your voice down Man!

:p

Haha, it's ok, I since matched my Longford time on a more legit route ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭jonny99

Did the course yesterday,and it measured about right.Id forgotten how flat it was-theres no hill to speak of-however for me it's just one of those marathons that always 'feels' long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭slowsteady

Weather looks near perfect for tomorrow - will need to find another excuse:P.

http://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Leinster/Longford/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 28 yantz

jonny99 wrote: »
    Did the course yesterday,and it measured about right.
    im sure the new course measurer will be delighted,as i believe it was short previously

anyone collect a number yet?
    Just wondering, do the marathon runners and half marathon runners start at the same time? Doing the half myself, will be a 5am start :(

event wrote: »
    anyone collect a number yet?
    Just wondering, do the marathon runners and half marathon runners start at the same time? Doing the half myself, will be a 5am start :(

Yep, got mine earlier. Half and full runners off at the same time - 10am.

is there a tshirt with this one, never even checked?

event wrote: »
    is there a tshirt with this one, never even checked?

Sure is. A nice orange job. Plus the goody bag would be the envy of many a rock and roll participant! Club milk, popcorn, bread rolls, tooth brush and tooth paste, nutrigrain, and all the healthy seeds you could shake a stick at.

How did ye get on lads? I hit 3:36 in the marathon, which is a 15 minute PB.... I cant complain with that, although My calf muscles were not amused from 22 miles and I lost pace . Nice day for a race all the same and well organised IMHO and new course record too I believe.

Muppet Man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

are the results online?

Not yet I dont think... There was a 5k on Friday night in Longford as a warm up and they are available alright. Watching it like a hawk for full results.

http://www.longfordmarathon.com/Longford_Marathon/2013/FridayNight5KResults.htm

Yep, provisional results are online. Think they had a new course record in the marathon, with Freddy Situk's very impressive 2:22. Very solid winning time in the half marathon too (1:08:46), just 42 seconds off the course record.

My first marathon today. Wall kicked my ass but got in under 4 and a half so pretty pleased.

Results are out. Link below guys!

http://www.longfordmarathon.com/Longford_Marathon/2013_result.html

Yep, provisional results are online. Think they had a new course record in the marathon, with Freddy Situk's very impressive 2:22. Very solid winning time in the half marathon too (1:08:46), just 42 seconds off the course record.

Was not looking to steal your thunder. Missed this post!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭slowsteady

Muppet Man wrote: »
    How did ye get on lads? I hit 3:36 in the marathon, which is a 15 minute PB.... I cant complain with that, although My calf muscles were not amused from 22 miles and I lost pace . Nice day for a race all the same and well organised IMHO and new course record too I believe.

Muppet Man.
    Must have rolled in behind you as just inside 3:37. Had to stop to commune with nature around 18 mile so we probably passed each other a couple of times.

Perfect weather, good event, no complaints, not bad value.

One small thing, clocked the course at 26.17 on Garmin, would expect to be over 26.2 by a touch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭dekbhoy

ran the relay marathon with friends, was a good atmosphere and a good course but we were let down by the transport to and fro relay change over points losing 8 minutes on one section. Complained to organisers and they promised free entry and better organisation for next years race.

Muppet Man wrote: »

Thanks lad, managed to pick myself out!! (looking more comfortable at mile 1 than 20 odd miles later!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭sixpack's little hat

Just signed up for this year's race as early bird registration ends today.

Has anyone any suggestions for accomodation near to Longford itself? Not having much luck finding anywhere reasonable nearby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Has anyone any suggestions for accomodation near to Longford itself? Not having much luck finding anywhere reasonable nearby.

Longford Arms is only decent hotel in Longford town after that you'd be looking at the B&B option.

You could try Keenan's hotel in Tarmonbarry. Its literally a ten minute drive to the starting line and you will actually pass by the front door around mile marker 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

What's the story with the pacers? that's news. it was casually mentioned in the email news letter that there were pacers, but no mention if they were ultra / marathon / half or even what the pace bands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Mick Rice

Got my confirmation for this one yesterday.

First marathon in a long time. Lets hope its as good a race as I remember.

Aimman wrote: »
    What's the story with the pacers? that's news. it was casually mentioned in the email news letter that there were pacers, but no mention if they were ultra / marathon / half or even what the pace bands.
    To help you achieve your target time, this year we will have pacers in the Full and Half Marathons, so watch out for the pacer closest to your goal, and stick with them during the race.

I thought the RD was anti-pacers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭sixpack's little hat

From the email sent yesterday:
    "We wish you all the best with your training and preparation for the race and hope that you will be able to meet the goal you have set for yourself on Sunday 24th August. To help you achieve your target time, this year we will have pacers in the Full and Half Marathons, so watch out for the pacer closest to your goal, and stick with them during the race."