Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

White collar boxing

• 31-07-2013 11:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭

Hi, I've just signed up to take part in a white collar boxing event and I'm just looking for a bit of advice.
    I've been talking to a few people about it and I've received all sorts of advice from just do the minimum to conserve energy to someone telling me to take cold showers and sleep on the floor because it strengthens your back!!
    Basically I'm just wondering is there anyone who has maybe done this before who could offer advice on training/conditioning, is there anything I should include in my diet or anything I should cut out etc etc

Any advice would be welcome

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Train hard, eat clean and try get good technique-Most white collar training badly train the lads and they end up just like pub brawls, Spar many times before you get in the Ring, or you too will look like a bar room brawler

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Jabs. Learn them best you can. When your opponent is flailing in with overhand rights, basic footwork and the use of the jab will be the difference between you winning the fight handily and flailing around yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭Handy11

Agree 100% with the two posters above. Train as hard as you can because fitness will pay off on the night. Eat clean and try and stay off the beer. That'll help too. Practice basic technique as much as you can, especially in sparring (you might find a couple of lads might stay back after training for a bit of extra sparring or light sparring). On the night there'll likely be no knockouts, it's the fittest guy (who has practiced footwork and moving around an opponent) and/or the guy who jabs the cleanest and quickest wins. Lastly, learn not to drop your hands - I've seen terrible guards from white collar boxers, so just drill it into yourself.

Sparring can jar a bit at first. It's not natural to keep looking forward when you're taking a hit. You can also fall into the trap of just moving back and forward, which just helps the guy with the worst technique. Just remember there's no winning or losing in sparring - it's a place where you can learn from your opponent, and at the same time putting into practice what you've been training (movement, jabs, guard).

It's a brilliant experience and you'll hopefully really enjoy it. Just immerse yourself in it. Great auld bit of camaraderie with the boxers coming up to fight night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 230 ✭✭alphamule

Spar loads! don't close your eyes when getting hit, keep chin down.

Practice nice straight punching. If he clams up go to the body not just head.

Take it really serious if you want to win. Which you do of course because you will be fighting in front of people you know.

Train to fight 3 rounds at a good pace. Work on the jab to find your range, it will also make you look like the fighter controlling the action.

Hes probably going to be quite wild with punches so when that happens, gloves stuck to your eyebrows, move your head and move off. Then you jab counter etc.

Enjoy it :) Wheres it on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

Try do as much sparring as you can and try train to the extent that you will be much fitter than your opponent, don't go through the motions in the gym, kill yourself in there because that's where fights are won and lost.

Only throw straight punches, an inexperierced fighter will be windmilling and will be open down the middle, you probably won't be training long enough to master getting real power in a hook anyway

It sounds obvious but never take your eyes off an opponent, most lads at that level will turn their head/look at the floor/close your eyes when you see a shot on the way. If you never take your eyes off them, you'll have an advantage.

In close, if your opponent is pushing himself around the ring, stick your head on his chest to make yourself more difficult to hit. Lean on him (it will tire him), don't push him back (it will tire you). If he's pushing against you, lean and turn him.

When training, stand still and ask someone else to hit you hard with your guard up, you block the shots and practise your blocking till nothing can get through. Then try use it while sparring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

I'm doing one of these myself at the moment. The training is terrible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭membersonly

Am thinking of signing up for one of these, but i'm short sighted and would have to wear contact lenses in the ring. I've always worn them playing sports with no problems but i imagine they might be a problem in boxing?

It wouldn't matter if one got knocked out every once and a while, but it'd be a nightmare if it happened every time i got in the ring...

Any thoughts?

Am thinking of signing up for one of these, but i'm short sighted and would have to wear contact lenses in the ring. I've always worn them playing sports with no problems but i imagine they might be a problem in boxing?

It wouldn't matter if one got knocked out every once and a while, but it'd be a nightmare if it happened every time i got in the ring...

Any thoughts?

Unless you're borderline blind you don't need to wear them surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭membersonly

FTA69 wrote: »
    Unless you're borderline blind you don't need to wear them surely?

Ah I'd need em alright.

Dermighty wrote: »
    I'm doing one of these myself at the moment. The training is terrible!

Best advice i'd give to anyone doing 1 is go to a boxing club who is not involved as most running these don't care how good you are, just that you all sell tickets, if everyone is equally brutal it suits them!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

cowzerp wrote: »
    Best advice i'd give to anyone doing 1 is go to a boxing club who is not involved as most running these don't care how good you are, just that you all sell tickets, if everyone is equally brutal it suits them!!

In the 8 weeks the mjaority (50+%) nwas spent doing pressups etc. I tooka break from BJJ training for it and came out of it more unfit than I went in (I was very fit going in).

Got a taste for boxing though, keeping it up.

I've ran 2-3 and the standard of the boxing after our 6 week course is far superior, not that we do anything magic-we simply train them like boxers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭Underpaid Mike

Clubs willing to do that are few and far between cowzerp
    Would you have any recommendations for me where to start this?
    Im 31, never boxed before and living in D6

One thing I will say to ye lads, especially the older fellas: Mobility Work. I went back to boxing at 24 and was training hard for over a year, five days a week for 2 hours a pop. Also doing strength work etc. Unfortunately 24 years of age after a layoff doesn't mean I was as fit as I was as quick to recover as I was when I was 19. As a result I did untold cumulative damage to my left rotator cuff to the point I can now do nothing of any intensity. I've been out of the ring now for nearly three months and I will probably need surgery at some stage.

A cautionary tale; stretching and mobility are important and that goes far beyond a quick 5 minutes of jumping jacks and arm circles.