Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

0 to 10k in 4 weeks?

• 31-07-2013 10:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,

Just looking for advice from you more experienced runners. I said i'd do a 10k run which is in 4 weeks time. I said this about 3 weeks ago but haven't yet started training. Would it be realistic to get up to 10k in this amount of time. I did a half marathon a few years back and jogged the first 7 miles, then walked/jogged the rest. I only started training for this about 6/7 weeks but was quite stringent. Any advice on training/nutrition etc?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

You might do it and get around it, but you'll probably end up injured in the process, or immediately after it. Lashing that much volume at delicate joints and connective tissue is a ropey idea at best, especially if you've a running background.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

I would have to ask why you do this to yourself.

There is not much you can do in four weeks apart from get yourself used to the feel of running again. But you could get around a 10k in a walk/jog today, if you wanted. So is it realistic to do it? Yeah, you'll do it without issues if youre prepared to possibly walk some of it, but you wont be fast and you may not enjoy it much.

All I would caution is to be sensible. Attacking a big amount of running at this stage will only fatigue and possibly injure you. All you are trying to do from here on in is get your body used to jogging. I have no idea of your fitness level, so its impossible to advise exactly what you should be doing, but mix up your distances, don't try and go out and run 6 or 7k every time. Just put in 3 or 4 sessions a week. And listen to your body. Do not run when very tired or feeling pain or strain.

Nutrition? The usual sensible diet rules apply, don't crash diet, don't expect to party hard and then run the next morning, eat clean, yadda, yadda.

And next time, train for your goals in good time. Your body will thank you for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Danniboo

Thanks for that.

I am in Slimming World so eat pretty healthy anyways. Plan is to cut out alcohol until after the run. I know i'm not allowing myself much time, but need to get back doing something and having a goal to aim for helps with motivation.

As you are in slimming world, be aware that training will make you hungry. Resist the urge to eat lots when you finish a run, its the first thing you'll want to do. :)

I understand that you need a goal, (I cant train hard without one) but like everything else, if you want to stick with this, or any other kind of training, you have to make it part of your life, not just a means to an end. Let it become a habit so you miss it when you stop. That way you wont end up cramming 10 weeks of training into 4....

With regards hunger...

Low intensity running style training seems to lead to INCREASED hunger, whereas high intensity interval training (sprints etc) BLUNT the hunger response, so if fat loss was the only goal it would probably make more sense to do that :)

Oryx wrote: »
    As you are in slimming world, be aware that training will make you hungry. Resist the urge to eat lots when you finish a run, its the first thing you'll want to do. :)

I understand that you need a goal, (I cant train hard without one) but like everything else, if you want to stick with this, or any other kind of training, you have to make it part of your life, not just a means to an end. Let it become a habit so you miss it when you stop. That way you wont end up cramming 10 weeks of training into 4....

I don't mean this to sound patronising, but that's not a problem in Slimming World, I eat more now than I ever did, you can have loads of food.

I know your right, I normally go great for a few months. It hasn't been realistic for me to do much this year as i've had a lot on.

Hanley wrote: »
    With regards hunger...

Low intensity running style training seems to lead to INCREASED hunger, whereas high intensity interval training (sprints etc) BLUNT the hunger response, so if fat loss was the only goal it would probably make more sense to do that :)

The hunger cycle, eating more isn't honestly an issue for me.

Hanley wrote: »
    With regards hunger...

In this situation, I didn't want to recommend HIIT at all due to the risk of injury.

Yup, potentially but there's a lot of HIIT variants with zero/minimal impact (which is where the injury risk is probably most likely).

Just throwing an alternative idea in if it was more of a fat loss goal :)

Hey guys,

Doing a bit of a walk/run in the evenings and worked the distance out at 5 1/2 km, so not too concerned with the 10k distance for the run, it's just been able to run/jog as much of it as I can. One thing that slows me down is a stitch I get, always on the right hand side in my shoulder and under my rib cage, i'm guessing this could be not enough water? I've 23 days left and can run about 2k comfortably, realistically what do you think I could build this up to?

To get rid of a stitch, blow out hard a few times as you run.

When you say 2k comfortably, what stops you at 2k? Legs or lungs?

To get rid of a stitch, blow out hard a few times as you run.

When you say 2k comfortably, what stops you at 2k? Legs or lungs?

I'd say lungs more so

Danniboo wrote: »
    I'd say lungs more so
    Slow down, relax, drop your shoulders, make sure your hands arent tense as you tire. If you can do 2k now, you should be able to keep it going if you pace correctly. Now, over 10k, youll probably still take walk breaks.

Cool, thanks for the advice. I'll solider on ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Best thing that worked for me when I was upping my distances was learning how to control my speed. Sounds obvious, but knowing when to slow down to catch your breath and speed up when you are fine helps loads.

As for going 0-10k in 4 weeks... don't overtrain. The impact will not be good for the legs and anything connected

Thanks for that. I was going to try and do as many days running as I can out of the week, but i'm getting conflicting advice, some saying every other day, others saying as much as you can.

Noone here has said do as much as you can. :) Imo, that would be a bad idea, it will tire you out, and leave you open to injury.

Okay gonna do every other day, hopefully 4 runs a week

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I use my watch to gauge my speed and distance over time. If i'm a bit tired, i'll drop the pace. Try not to slow down to walking pace. I wouldn't run 4 days a week myself, i think that's a bit much.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,194 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

My advice would be first of all head over to the Athletics/running forum, lots of great advice over there.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=972

I would advise running maybe 3 times per week to allow your body time to recover. Don't forget to stretch after each session.

When you are out running I think it is important when you start out to run slowly, especially in your training runs. essentially you should not be out of breath, you should be able to hold a conversation with someone running alongside you without too much difficulty.

Doing this you should be able to increase you distance gradually and hopefully be able to go out and enjoy your 10km run in a few weeks.

Don't worry too much about running it quickly just go out and try and run the whole thing, you should be fine.

I'm absolutely gutted, dosed with a sinus infection, on antibiotics, cough medicine and spray, no doubt this is going to set me back. Might try and get out and do a small bit even up and down the road, but i'm bloody wrecked.

Dont run if youre that sick, it wont help, and may only make you worse. These things happen. Give yourself a few days to recover.

I know but there's less than 3 weeks to go and i'm not nearly where I want to be.

Dya know, thats common. Very few people ever feel ready for their races. :)

I understand that it sucks to be missing training when you had limited time to train anyway. But you have to judge for yourself whether its a good idea to train through whats wrong. You could end up wrecking your whole race plan.

Dya know, thats common. Very few people ever feel ready for their races. :)

I understand that it sucks to be missing training when you had limited time to train anyway. But you have to judge for yourself whether its a good idea to train through whats wrong. You could end up wrecking your whole race plan.

Thanks for that. Well went out Saturday and did 1k and felt wrecked, finished all the antib's etc now so hopefully get stuck in this week. It's about 3k to where I work, I start at 7 so going to try jog to work. Less than 2 weeks to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,857 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Hi
    I went from 16 stone to 13 stone, running. I started by setting myself a 5km target, which I would run / walk 4 times a week. After one week I was running around 3Km (slow) and then walking / running the rest.
    At the end of two weeks I was able to run 5km (slowly).
    I found my lungs well able to cope with the changes, but my legs didn't keep up, they fatigued pretty fast after 3km.

When I was comfortable at 5km, about a month in, I then took it up to 8km, which if I paced myself was easy enough. One night I did 16Km because I just didn't want to stop.

End result being, my knees are knackered. Apparently I'm an over pronator, which I found out when my knees started getting sore.

I would definitely echo the earlier sentiments about not doing too much volume and also not increasing the distance by too much.

Make sure your shoes are the correct type, you can get gait analysis done in many sports shops these days.

Hi
    I went from 16 stone to 13 stone, running. I started by setting myself a 5km target, which I would run / walk 4 times a week. After one week I was running around 3Km (slow) and then walking / running the rest.
    At the end of two weeks I was able to run 5km (slowly).
    I found my lungs well able to cope with the changes, but my legs didn't keep up, they fatigued pretty fast after 3km.

When I was comfortable at 5km, about a month in, I then took it up to 8km, which if I paced myself was easy enough. One night I did 16Km because I just didn't want to stop.

End result being, my knees are knackered. Apparently I'm an over pronator, which I found out when my knees started getting sore.

I would definitely echo the earlier sentiments about not doing too much volume and also not increasing the distance by too much.

Make sure your shoes are the correct type, you can get gait analysis done in many sports shops these days.

Hey,

It's too late in the day to start expirimenting with new runners. I have a decent asics pair anyways. My legs aren't the problem, it's my breath and a stitch that gets me. The distance doesn't scare me, it's being able to run the lot, which i'll be disappointed if I don't do.

I think someone earlier mentioned pacing. If you start fast it really has a negative impact on the distance you can do.

Start really slow and make sure you are at no point feeling like you are beginning to get out of breath, this may be hard to do at first, but its the only way to be sure you'll be able to complete the run.

I actually run my last few km a lot faster than when I start out. I'd rather start slow and finish my distance then start fast and be blowing after 2 or 3km.
    I can easily do 10km, but if i start out at a heavy pace with the intention of slowing down when I feel it getting hard (which is what a lot of new runners do), the damage is already done and I'll struggle early in the run and have a bloody tough time making the distance. Starting out at a gallop is not going to do you any favors.

I think someone earlier mentioned pacing. If you start fast it really has a negative impact on the distance you can do.

Start really slow and make sure you are at no point feeling like you are beginning to get out of breath, this may be hard to do at first, but its the only way to be sure you'll be able to complete the run.

I actually run my last few km a lot faster than when I start out. I'd rather start slow and finish my distance then start fast and be blowing after 2 or 3km.
    I can easily do 10km, but if i start out at a heavy pace with the intention of slowing down when I feel it getting hard (which is what a lot of new runners do), the damage is already done and I'll struggle early in the run and have a bloody tough time making the distance. Starting out at a gallop is not going to do you any favors.

I'm actually very conscious of this believe it or not. But your right, maybe I could take it back another notch. Just back there, jogged over 2k and walked the rest, about 5k in total. My legs don't affect me really, it's just my breath and that stitch I get on my right hand side, always in the same place. Going to go see a physio during the week to get them to sort out my shoulder and see if they can find a cause of the stitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

+1.

I remember before my first marathon someone said "It's not the distance that'll kill you but the lace you go at".

Keep it sensible so you don't blow up before the end and you'll have enough in the tank to up the pace for the latter stages.

Thanks for the advice guys. Can't believe it's come around so quick.

It's probably something you have in hand but wear a watch and know what kind of speed you can run for each kilometre to get around the 10km. That way you can monitor if you're going too fast or not and keep the pace steady in the first 5-6km and then assess if you can up the pace.

I didn't have a watch the first time I ran marathon and it was such a rookie error. Did less training the next time but the watch had me get around 20 mins faster.

It's probably something you have in hand but wear a watch and know what kind of speed you can run for each kilometre to get around the 10km. That way you can monitor if you're going too fast or not and keep the pace steady in the first 5-6km and then assess if you can up the pace.

I didn't have a watch the first time I ran marathon and it was such a rookie error. Did less training the next time but the watch had me get around 20 mins faster.

I've been using a friends one, going to write each lap time (km) down this evening and see where i'm at.

Bear in mind the distance you run later on and factor in that you'll have to add time onto your time-per-km because it's one thing running at 6 min/km for 4 km and 6 min/km for 10km.

Keep up the good work!

Thanks guys, only a few more days and a couple more training sessions left. Did 3.5km yesterday, disappointed as thought the course was 5km. Going to try get 5km in tomorrow and one Thursday and leave it at that. Any last minute advice??

Give your legs at least 5 days of rest before it - as much for allowing any niggles to ease as to just rest your legs. The prep has more or less been done by now so running again too close to the 10k will only be counter-productive.

Why did you stop at that distance? If it was your body getting tired, that's one thing. If its a stitch or breathing, then you're going too fast.

3 / 4km is usually the distance you get to when you're pushing too hard. Take the pace back a notch, actually dial it back a bit more than that.
    At this stage, try walking it at a fast pace and see if you can do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Get plenty of sleep and water in between now and the race. If you need to walk sections of it, do so. Just keep going

Why did you stop at that distance? If it was your body getting tired, that's one thing. If its a stitch or breathing, then you're going too fast.

3 / 4km is usually the distance you get to when you're pushing too hard. Take the pace back a notch, actually dial it back a bit more than that.
    At this stage, try walking it at a fast pace and see if you can do it.

It was a track we were doing and it was the end of it, I was happy enough thinking i'd done 5k. I usually do a complete distance of 5 and a half km, jogging about 2 and a half of that. I'm not sure what you mean regarding "walking it at a fast pace"? Do you mean the 10k? Or training? I'm not sure if your speaking in the general sense in your post.

Did 4.5k this evening, had to prove it to myself I could go that bit further. Hopefully i've done enough, that's it now!!! Thanks guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

A tip to control your stitch which worked for me when I started running is to keep running but to put your hands behind your head. It'll slow you down and force you to breath more deeply (not just into your chest). Both of those can help.

Other advice to avoid stitches is to avoid eating for at least 3 hours before the race and drinking for an hour before except in small sips if (and only if) you feel thirsty.

Good luck!

Trying to block out negativity. People making comments about oh 4.5? You've to do double that, have you done that before?

Think happy thoughts. Literally. :) When running, focus on good things. Never ever think negative, always positive. Even if you feel shoite, say to yourself, sure, my shoulder/elbow/little finger feels grand.... sure, at least the rain is cool... and so on. :)

I managed a marathon in 3:43 after my longest training run was 12 miles. It's not going to be a problem.

As Noel Carroll said, it's not the distance but the pace that kills. Know your pace and you'll be fine.

Think happy thoughts. Literally. :) When running, focus on good things. Never ever think negative, always positive. Even if you feel shoite, say to yourself, sure, my shoulder/elbow/little finger feels grand.... sure, at least the rain is cool... and so on. :)

Lol, thanks for that, made me smile. Onwards and upwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Don't be worrying. You've two fine sturdy legs that will walk you through the distance if it comes to that. No bother.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

What I used to do when running, was breakup the run into 2 parts, I'd count up the distance I've ran upto the midway point, then count down the distance I've remaining from there.

Makes it seem less daunting.

Another thing I use for running is break it up into little distances. Pick out a landdmark 200/300/400 whatever meteres ahead and aim to run to that. When you get there, pick another landmark and so on.

Also, be prepared to feel like you'll never make it to the end within the first 1-2km. You're just getting into it...it'll feel easier after that.

I managed a marathon in 3:43 after my longest training run was 12 miles. It's not going to be a problem.

As Noel Carroll said, it's not the distance but the pace that kills. Know your pace and you'll be fine.

And the hills! Jaysus, don't forget the hills!!!
    I'd echo that, its all about pace, slow the hell down on hills!

And the hills! Jaysus, don't forget the hills!!!
    I'd echo that, its all about pace, slow the hell down on hills!
    The hill are alive with the sound of music.

That makes you forget about the gradient...