Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you be ashamed to say you were reared in a Council house?

• 30-07-2013 8:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭

A pal of mine tells me that his mother-in-law flat out denies that her folks were Council house people. She has herself convinced she never picked spuds when she was a young wan as well.

I think that's so sad.

Is the Celtic Tiger to blame for this attitude or is there a snobbery gene in the Irish race?

Hitchens wrote: »
    A pal of mine tells me that his mother-in-law flat out denies that her folks were Council house people. She has herself convinced she never picked spuds when she was a young wan as well.

I think that's so sad.

Is the Celtic Tiger to blame for this attitude or is there a snobbery gene in the Irish race?

No I would not be ashamed to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I was reared in the backass of nowhere, I gathered spuds, holed turf and shovelled manure to beat the band and I don't give a flying fluck who knows or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles made a fortune out of admitting it so can't see any reason not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

I was born and raised and still living in a council house and I don't give a flying fúck who knows what kinda house I was reared in. (parents eventually bought the house but still to this day) the estate is predominantly council owned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Bahahaha. If anybody was ashamed of something as harmless as that I'd laugh at them. Thats pathetic in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I grew up in a council estate.

It's just snobbery by people who won't admit it ... and by people who judge by it. Reality is most people bloody don't care.

I was reared in a council house.

Meh, guess not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

I would only really be ashamed or proud of things I did/achieved. I don't really understand people who are proud/ashamed of their family's background or people who are proud/ashamed of themselves because of the actions of their country. In the thread with the (fake) video of the Irish people harassing that Korean women I really couldn't understand comments such as "Oh god, they're Irish. I'm so ashamed right now!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Brought Up In A Council House Here Myself.

We are the future!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

In short: No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Lived on a council estate till I was 19. Although council estates in London over 15 years ago, didn't quite have the same rep they do now compared to there or here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

I would only really be ashamed or proud of things I did/achieved. I don't really understand people who are proud/ashamed of their family's background or people who are proud/ashamed of themselves because of the actions of their country. In the thread with the (fake) video of the Irish people harassing that Korean women I really couldn't understand comments such as "Oh god, they're Irish. I'm so ashamed right now!"

Dead on!

Another thing you'll hear sometimes is a person saying that they are from County so & so "and proud of it".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

Ah now, if you want me to be honest then I'll have to admit that yes, I would be ashamed to say I was raised in a Council house. Because I wasn't, so I'd be lying and lies make the Babby Jesus cry.

If anything, OP, I'd say I've only seen the opposite, a kind of reverse-snobbery.

I've a few friends who've all had quite cushy lives, who happened to grow up in council houses but go around talking about it like it makes them "street smart" and tough (none of them are anywhere near being independent). You'd swear they were from sort of gangsta ghetto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Raised in a council house. Picked spuds, plucked turkeys and did whatever else i needed to do to get by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

100% no

Born and reared in a council house until I left when I was 19,then I went downhill :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'd feel sorry for anyone who didn't grow up on a housing estate. What kind of life would that be.. never having poked at dead cats with sticks, getting stuck in quicksand in the bog behind the estate and robbing crates from the factory up the road for Halloween.

Those are important life experiences :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

What's gathering potatoes got to do with been reared in a council house? I wasn't reared in a council house but I live in the sticks and still work on a farm during the summer months (as do most people in the sticks!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

I'd feel sorry for anyone who didn't grow up on a housing estate. What kind of life would that be.. never having poked at dead cats with sticks, getting stuck in quicksand in the bog behind the estate and robbing crates from the factory up the road for Halloween.

Those are important life experiences :pac:

and you had to spit when you went near the dead cat, to ward off disease :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I was reared in the backass of nowhere, I gathered spuds, holed turf and shovelled manure to beat the band and I don't give a flying fluck who knows or not.

Christian Brothers was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

I'd feel sorry for anyone who didn't grow up on a housing estate. What kind of life would that be.. with never having poked at dead cats with sticks, getting stuck in quicksand in the bog behind the estate and robbing crates from the factory up the road for Halloween.

Those are the important life experiences :pac:

lighting massive bonfires, avoiding various boobytraps set by the older teens in the woods, watching the fields get set on fire every year, playing in skips, getting the chase of crazy psycho neighbors and farmers, zooming about the place in gigantic bicycle gangs.

I cant imagine a more fun childhood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

Fancy schmansy council house people, i grew up in a shoe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I do know a person who,s mother in law would tell any one intrested enough, that her son in law was from a different part of the city then were they were actually from,

Did I say that right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭Red About Town

I was reared in a council estate. Far from the best place to spend my childhood/teenage years. I'm not ashamed of where I come from but realise it was/isn't a great place to live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Lived in a council house in a council estate for 23 years with my family.

In those 23 years I never experienced a single instance of crime, be it violent or property related.

However I've been in this rather nice private estate, mortgaged to the balls with loads of Mercedes and BMW owners for 7 years now.

In that time I've had my (northern reg at the time) no plates robbed
    my work vehicle ransacked, lots of equipment stolen
    next door neighbour got the house broken into while she was there (nothing taken though)
    Other next door neighbour house broken into and car keys taken and car robbed
    Another neighbour got burgled.

23 years in the council estate and not a bother. Ever.

bgrizzley wrote: »
    Fancy schmansy council house people, i grew up in a shoe...

Did you have so many brothers and sisters that your mother didn't know what to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

SamHall wrote: »
    Lived in a council house in a council estate for 23 years with my family.

In those 23 years I never experienced a single instance of crime, be it violent or property related.

However I've been in this rather nice private estate, mortgaged to the balls with loads of Mercedes and BMW owners for 7 years now.

In that time I've had my (northern reg at the time) no plates robbed
    my work vehicle ransacked, lots of equipment stolen
    next door neighbour got the house broken into while she was there (nothing taken though)
    Other next door neighbour house broken into and car keys taken and car robbed
    Another neighbour got burgled.

23 years in the council estate and not a bother. Ever.

There is a quite logical reason for that though. People tend to rob richer people or steal more expensive cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

What's a Council House??

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

dirtyden wrote: »
    There is a quite logical reason for that though. People tend to rob richer people or steal more expensive cars.

Yeah I get that.

point is though, the estate was a safer place than the 'nicer one' I live in now.

I loved chatswood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Didn't Sean Lemass live in a council house ?.
    My answer is no, because I lived in more than one council over the years, and to be honest, its not the house that causes people to be any different. Plenty of scumbags have managed to buy private / non council houses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I was raised in a council house and my parents still live in it.

You should never be ashamed of where you come from whether it was a council estate or a palace, since you've no control over it anyway as a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Pretty Polly

You don't get to decide as a baby what kind of house you live in or who your parents are. Life deals you a hand of cards and its up to you to make the right choices.

I don't see why somebody should feel ashamed of growing up in a council house...unless their parent(s) are complete wasters and the house is a kip!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Lower classes lazy freeloaders...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Couldn't give a **** where someone comes from.

I only judge others on their actions in this life and how they treat others around them.

I have seen little rich kids be mean to stray dogs and cats etc, whilst the poor kid is more than happy to play with the dog or cat and sneak it some food if they can.

One cannot be judged by their background.
    That said there are few people I have met in this life which I could truly call righteous or honourable, which is a shame, to me honour is everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Ehh... No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

I was born, raised and still live in the same council estate. I've had opportunities to move in the past but I'm very happy were I am so never saw the point.

anncoates wrote: »
    I was raised in a council house and my parents still live in it.

Yeh same, they own it now, bought it years ago. There's only a few council owned ones left on the street and all the families in them are there years. Tiny tiny two bedroomed terraced one story cottages with no front garden and a struggle for parking. One still managed to sell for over €500,000 in the good days, shocking really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

You don't get to decide as a baby what kind of house you live in or who your parents are. Life deals you a hand of cards and its up to you to make the right choices.

I don't see why somebody should feel ashamed of growing up in a council house...unless their parent(s) are complete wasters and the house is a kip!

So you shouldn't feel ashamed over what you've no control over. Unless your parents are wasters and your house was a kip?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

It's not where you come from,it's where you're going to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

all these positive replies and rightly so , i was raised in a council estate , i bought my house in one , and i am not one bit ashamed of it , why would i be ?
    its not the house or who owns it - it the attitude of its occupants

but ........... not the same can be said for some residents of council houses or estates, and yes i hear you cry , "fancy" estates have scum and low lives , but in my experience to a lesser degree - down to life style , aspirations and education
    i would say i would be embarrassed by the actions of plenty of my neighbours,

a good example would be my estate , litter everywhere , gangs of dogs roaming the streets , un painted crumbling houses , lads on motorbikes racing around , you get the idea

but the private estate across the road is spotless , no dogs , houses look ok , no car or bike races day and night

so i can say i will never be ashamed coming from the estate i came from or where i live - but i cant say the same for a section of it inhabitants ,
    so the actions of these people can and do tarnish an estates name , no matter how many good people live there - so i could understand why some would hide the fact they come from a certain area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

I'm embarassed that this country provides houses to complete wasters. Not talking about all council tenants, just the ones that feel entitled to feed off my income, without giving anything back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

My parents live in a Council house, which theyve bought out years ago.
    My experience with council estates where Im from is a good one, Ive friends from them and I usually crash in one after nights out.
    Ive seen the big council towers in Sydney and Paris and well the west of Ireland for example really cant compare tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

I was raised in a council estate. Spent the summers working on a farm to keep me out of trouble and teach me how to be a man, with respect for other people, and respect for work too. If someone looked down on me for being raised in one, I would feel very sorry for them. Prejudice is an awful thing. I'm very successful professionally, so being raised in the manner I was had no ill effects.

Looking down on people in council estates is/was very Celtic Tiger D4 snobbishness. It isn't that long ago when people were dying from the famine here, while we exported thousands of cattle every week to the UK. Don't forget the Irish were sold as slaves in Cromwell's days, and banished to places like Barbados. We have nothing to feel snobbish about, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

I was raised in a council house and my parents still live there, wouldn't have any problems in telling people where I'm from and if they have a hang up about it, that's their problem, not mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Wouldn't bother me if I had grown up in a council house, as long as it wasnt in one of the super rough estates in my town.

I moved from a quiet country school into a school in town in 5th class, and the "XX girls" from a particular estate made my two years in that school a nightmare because they thought I was posh and stuck up, I wasnt. I was just very shy.

So, ever since that I'm convinced the whole estate is full of knackers (open the court pages of local paper and I'm not too wrong) and yeah, I'd avoid it, or wouldn't be too inclined to get friendly with anyone from it. I know there's probably more decent families than troublemakers but its just the preconceived notion I have about the place.

Other estates are fine though, I wouldn't have a problem ever having to live there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Never was, but no, probably wouldn't be ashamed.

Wouldn't bother me in the slightest if someone was reared in one either. I make my judgement on people's character, not trivial things like where they come from or their class or whatever else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

One still managed to sell for over €500,000 in the good days,.

Did they ever think of selling it?

My parents bought theirs for about 9 or 10k years ago but they're definitely in the minority on that estate. It's still really rough there but they know everybody and all their kids are reared so they're happy enough there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

I'm surprised so people would not be ashamed of their parents for being a 20+ year leach on the state. A short time I understand, but a lifetime?