Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heritage golf club

• 30-07-2013 2:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

I was playing the heritage yesterday and came across something i hadn't before. i was playing in a 2 ball and by the 5th hole we came up on a four ball of older golfers.as there was a 3 ball in front of them we were happy enough not to pass and didn't expect to.when we got to the ninth though we noticed the 3 ball had moved on a small bit and after they finished on the 9th proceeded straight up the hill to the 10th. we were still behind the 4 ball and had no real problem even though it was slow but after the 4ball finished the 9th we noticed they parked up at the cafe and went in for tea.we played down the 9th and got slightly held up as we were looking for a ball in the trees/furs on the left.after finding it we played out the hole and this is where the issue arose.we walked straight up to the 10th while the 4 lads were inside drinkin tea. we had to wait maybe 1-2 mins before teeing off and then knocked 2 down the middle.just as we were leaving the tee the 4ball came up behind us and started giving out,1 in particular going mad saying we shouldn't have gone ahead.they insisted we let them back through which we did(stupidly in hindsight) and were stuck behind them for the rest of the holes.by the next tee the short par 4 they were a full hole behind the 3 ball.they insisted that it was the way it was to stop for tea but i think this is a disgrace.imo when u get your tee time this is your position on the course for the full 18 and if you wish to stop for tea,sandwiches or a feckin game of cards you forfeit this position. just looking for opinions on this issue and if anyone has experienced it before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Halfprice

Opinion... You were to quiet, you were a 3 ball moving at a quicker pace. No way i would of let them back thru.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

It was very bad form on their behalf, especially as you had already sent your tee shots down the middle as you say.

Any sensible person playing in a four-ball would know they're not going to be held up by a two-ball who had kept up with them for nine holes, doubly so if they realised they had been losing time themselves to the group ahead of them.

I'd have apologised and said "sorry, we'll be out of your way in a jiffy", and cantered on down the fairway.

You can't pull over and expect everyone else behind you to do so as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭coleen

In Killarney if you go to the tuc shop you must leave the people behind go through. Even if they are putting on 9th green never mind if they had teed off you would be expected to at least offer them to play through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Can't believe ye let them back through... Also just can't get my head around the mentality of golfers who would prefer to be a four-ball in front of a two-ball rather than behind them... odd...

Couple of weeks ago, playing in my own club in a four-ball in comp (Blues), a two-ball was right behind us playing a casual round (White tees)... first chance to let them through, par-3 5th after the four of us had already tee'd off, I said "We'll let these through lads" and we all stood aside... two lads were through in a flash - two pars I'm sure - and we finished out... as we're walking off the fifth green, another group were approaching the 4th green and included two players using a buggy... so one of my playing partners (older man, didn't know him) says: "This is the trouble with letting someone through ye see, now we have fellas in a buggy who'll be up our a*se in a few minutes"???

In other words - he'd prefer hold EVERYONE up, not just one group?? I dunno... Why a four-ball wouldn't prefer to have a two-ball out of their way is beyond me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

Jesus Christ your having a laugh right...this can't be real.

After they came back out I would have politely told them that they lost their place on the course by going in for a drink and besides you are a three ball and would be quicker than a fourball. Anyone in there right minds would agree and let you play through without fuss. If they then started to kick up a fuss I would then proceed to tell them to get a grip but in a decent fashion. However in fairness how often do we come across a group like this, very rarely if you ask me.

Could not give a toss what gender they are or age or if they are established members or not, keep your place on the course or expect to drop back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Can't believe ye let them back through... Also just can't get my head around the mentality of golfers who would prefer to be a four-ball in front of a two-ball rather than behind them... odd...

Couple of weeks ago, playing in my own club in a four-ball in comp (Blues), a two-ball was right behind us playing a casual round (White tees)... first chance to let them through, par-3 5th after the four of us had already tee'd off, I said "We'll let these through lads" and we all stood aside... two lads were through in a flash - two pars I'm sure - and we finished out... as we're walking off the fifth green, another group were approaching the 4th green and included two players using a buggy... so one of my playing partners (older man, didn't know him) says: "This is the trouble with letting someone true ye see, now we have fellas in a buggy who'll be up our a*se in a few minutes"???

In other words - he'd prefer hold EVERYONE up, not just one group?? I dunno... Why a four-ball wouldn't prefer to have a two-ball out of their way is beyond me...

But the problem with this is the two ball go through, and are stuck behind another fourball, who are of the same mind as the old fella you played with.

If there's nobodyy ahead of us, I let twoballs through happilly and can relax.

If we're held up by another fourball, who are most likely behind another fourball on a competition day, it's a futile gesture. The twoball aren't going to be let through every single hole, they'll be ahead of you every hole waiting on the next fourball to finish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

id make an official complaint to the club secretary..request a free fourball while your at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

Part of me loves these altercations because I have an allergic reaction to some club members with this cranky sense of entitlement, no respect for juniors, think they own the f**ucking place.

Used to happen all the time when I was younger playing various (notorious) courses, not really so much now at all. But I'd love to calmly and with a smile politely tell these old troopers where to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

Football is a game of two halves. Golf isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

My experience with things like this (awkward group etc) is that whatever action is taken, it doesn't really matter, it generally ruins the round either way.
    So with that in mind, always do what you think is right.
    I'd say most of your frustration is with yourself for letting them through, rather than the fact that they expected to get through.

You should have done the right thing and stood up to them, called the ranger if needed....It mightn't have gotten to that if you had stood up to them.

Hope all that doesn't come across as being a keyboard warrior. I've certainly made similar mistakes, but the important thing is to learn from them.
    I'm sure you would be less annoyed tonight if you stood your ground and had your round spoiled by having to have an argument and maybe call the ranger instead of having it ruined with what transpired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭whizbang

I think i might have run across these also! Maybe its common practice.
    Over a year ago, we were a 2ball, never played the course before, so we were happy to sit behind them.

After 9th, we had such difficulty in getting past the trolleys abandoned outside, that my partner rapped on the window to point this out. (*maybe not abandoned, but deliberately placed!)

For 2 or 3 holes afterwards, there was a 4ball desperately trying to shove balls up our arse, until we skipped a hole, trying to get away from a friendly dog that kept retrieving our balls!

No chance of a ranger there tho..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

I don't know why at this stage but I do be still stunned at how unhappy and grumpy old lads do be when playing golf a d the rush they do be in.

Bullies. Just because they are golf club members for years doesn't mean they should get away with anything like this.

If it was me I'd have rang the pro shop immediately and refused to move over for them until a ranger came. If a ranger came and told me to even them through I think I'd still stand my ground.

You are right they are wrong simple a that.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,478 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

That's just pure ignorance and bad manners, honestly where's the common sense, hope it didn't ruin your round, being honest if I started to play some bad shots I'd be quick to blame the 4ball and have a sh1te round.

Where's andy to offer the lads a free 4 ball at his club ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

Sorry OP, but it has to be said, if you present yourself as a doormat, expect to be walked on.
    Also did they give you any indication that you could play through on the 10th? you can't just assume it's ok to play through, you have to get some sort of confirmation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

david-k wrote: »
    Sorry OP, but it has to be said, if you present yourself as a doormat, expect to be walked on.
    Also did they give you any indication that you could play through on the 10th? you can't just assume it's ok to play through, you have to get some sort of confirmation.

the other lads had left the course...thats all the indication Id need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

You must be waiting a long time on the course if you're ever behind some who just plays 9 :D

GreeBo wrote: »
    the other lads had left the course...thats all the indication Id need.
    Where they still in sight though? it's sounds like they were and it's only common courtesy to make sure everyones on the same page.
    alxmorgan wrote: »
    You must be waiting a long time on the course if you're ever behind some who just plays 9 :D
    ?

Where they still in sight though? it's sounds like they were and it's only common courtesy to make sure everyones on the same page.

?

Are you familiar with the heritage?

The lads were sitting inside a coffee shop that over looks the 9th and 18th greens.

If lads go in, sit down and order coffee ill be dammed if I'm walking in to ask permission to tee off on the 10th.

IMO it's courtesy required on their part to let it be known they are going back out in a couple of minutes.

ForeRight wrote: »
    Are you familiar with the heritage?

The lads were sitting inside a coffee shop that over looks the 9th and 18th greens.

If lads go in, sit down and order coffee ill be dammed if I'm walking in to ask permission to tee off on the 10th.

IMO it's courtesy required on their part to let it be known they are going back out in a couple of minutes.
    No I'm not familair with the heritage, and you seem to be missing the point completely, however carry on and keep your shirt on.

Should I have asked your permission to take my shirt off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Please (completely) enlighten us as to your point so and also there is no need to get shirty.

Should I have asked your permission to take my shirt off?

Ah come lads lets not gang up on him, he's not familiar with the course and it may have seemed like your were jumping down his throat!

The one and only time I played there it did seem like an old boys club and had about 10 temp greens in play which were a joke. Personally I don't rate the place, others could well disagree, but I'd rather play castleknock nearby.

Ah come lads lets not gang up on him, he's not familiar with the course and it may have seemed like your were jumping down his throat!

The one and only time I played there it did seem like an old boys club and had about 10 temp greens in play which were a joke. Personally I don't rate the place, others could well disagree, but I'd rather play castleknock nearby.

The heritage is in Laois.

You played the hermitage!!!!

The heritage is in Laois.

You played the hermitage!!!!

Haha! Your 100% right, my mistake!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Lads this is going against the tide , but I think if I was there , I would have said.

"Alright lads, nice course".
    "enjoy your drink"
    "mind if we shoot on"

I don't think a bit of communication would have done any harm, the lads having the drink were wrong, but I think people should know what is going on. And, sometimes the more serious or experienced golfer is the one that needs to confirm that.

As an aside, It is a joke that you have to ring for service at that place, it is sort of a Celtic Tiger idea that is not going to work in a NAMA hotel, was there at boards outing , told lads to go ahead - the girl didnt understand the big rush when she came down from upstairs. I explained that course was full. Ran to next tee to make up time. We needed more drinks it was so hot , long and hard.

The heritage is a great place for a day out, but the walk , the course, the sand, is all a bit too much. It just takes too long. You'd fit a par 3 from 9th green to 10th tee. Even the walk from the car park to 1st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,057 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

You were too quiet and were conned.
    If you had known the rules this would not have happened.
    They left the course so you were entitled to play through.
    I'd say they bluffed you and had a good laugh about it afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Lads this is going against the tide , but I think if I was there , I would have said.

"Alright lads, nice course".
    "enjoy your drink"
    "mind if we shoot on"

I don't think a bit of communication would have done any harm, the lads having the drink were wrong, but I think people should know what is going on. And, sometimes the more serious or experienced golfer is the one that needs to confirm that.

As an aside, It is a joke that you have to ring for service at that place, it is sort of a Celtic Tiger idea that is not going to work in a NAMA hotel, was there at boards outing , told lads to go ahead - the girl didnt understand the big rush when she came down from upstairs. I explained that course was full. Ran to next tee to make up time. We needed more drinks it was so hot , long and hard.

The heritage is a great place for a day out, but the walk , the course, the sand, is all a bit too much. It just takes too long. You'd fit a par 3 from 9th green to 10th tee. Even the walk from the car park to 1st.

They left the course and went inside the cafe. You are off your head if you think there's an obligation to hunt someone down to ask to play through. They surrendered their position.

You were too quiet and were conned.
    If you had known the rules this would not have happened.
    They left the course so you were entitled to play through.
    I'd say they bluffed you and had a good laugh about it afterwards.

No need to try and insult the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,057 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Jimdagym wrote: »
    No need to try and insult the guy.

Not insulting him at all.
    It's all about knowing the rules, that's the point.
    When you do nobody can bluff you.

Not insulting him at all.
    It's all about knowing the rules, that's the point.
    When you do nobody can bluff you.

I completely agree, but read back how you phrased it. We are all friends here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Jimdagym wrote: »
    They left the course and went inside the cafe. You are off your head if you think there's an obligation to hunt someone down to ask to play through. They surrendered their position.

Do you know the cafe ?
    No hunt.

It's good to talk.

These " I know my rights " dudes can often be the aggressors around golf courses. I dont think being polite on a golf course is " off my head ".

BTW, not talking about OP, some of the hardshaw answers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 8on the 1st

Thanks lads,i think the majority are on the same boat on this issue and i can assure you we have learned from this mistake.
    i emailed the club and they have contacted the fourball (which were members) and warned them about.i also reccommend that they look into erecting a sign after the 9th green or put something on the scorecard that if you decide to go into the cafe you must forfeit your position on the course and wait for the next appropriate gap to come back through.no sign of green fees coming though :) i suppose they are in nama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭ene

Where's andy to offer the lads a free 4 ball at his club ;)

aw that offer was only for us special people!!