Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The king is wearing no clothes!! Damien Dempsey

• 28-07-2013 5:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭

I'm sorry but is Damien Dempsey the singer a joke that I just have not got yet?

Music by numbers or what! lee, gee, pee, jee........

I'm sure leaving cert poets could do better then his muck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

The first time I heard him, many moons ago now I presumed it was a piss take(Richie Kavanagh job) I was genuinely stunned he was serious......I was even more stunned when I saw people actually liked this stuff, the first thing I heard was that cringeworthy "Doobalin Toon" rubbish.......hes shockin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I'm in the same camp with you guys. I just don't get him at all. Shocking bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

I couldn't care less about him just as long as he stays in Dublin and don't infest the rest of the country with his "bleedin' Dooblaaan toons".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I think Damo is a good artist; the lyrics in Colony for example are head and shoulders above most artists.

But sure just fire away at slagging the dublin accent. How original.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Heare his new song the other day and it has a nice air to it but the lyrics are a bit shocking in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

BNMC wrote: »
    I couldn't care less about him just as long as he stays in Dublin and don't infest the rest of the country with his "bleedin' Dooblaaan toons".

Too late..He's playing at a festival in clare next weekend :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

He's a lyrical genius.
    When can we go down beside the sea, beside the sea
    When can we go down just you and me, just you and me
    Warm I am feeling inside your arms, inside your arms
    I want to vanish into your charms, into your charms

Travelling out to the sandy coast, the sandy coast
    Mountains and valleys revive my ghost, revive my ghost
    Go with the river down to the sea, down to the sea
    Flow like the river so carelessly, so carelessly

The ocean goes rolling, it rolls to the land
    And that's where we meet it, we greet on the sand
    And everytime I'm angry the sea gets angry too
    And everytime I'm happy the sea is calm and blue

When can we go down beside the sea, beside the sea
    When can we go down just you and me, just you and me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Nice to see somebody happy to be themselves and sing in his own accent. If you don't like it, well, luckily enough for you he's not compulsory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭chem

Shakespeare better look out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

I think OP needs to give us a list of his top 5 artists/bands so we know whether this criticism is coming from someone with taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

What is his new song?

endacl wrote: »
    Nice to see somebody happy to be themselves and sing in his own accent. If you don't like it, well, luckily enough for you he's not compulsory.

I taught "it" was from Cork??

chem wrote: »
    Shakespeare Rebecca Black better look out!

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

He exists primarily to dampen the knickers of female culchie arts students with a proletarian fetish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Shakespeare better look out!

This is bigger than Shakespeare, Spiral better look out. : pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

I thought it was the emperor who enjoyed nudity.

Not a fan of Damien Dempsey but I don't think he's the worst out there by any means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

I personally think his songs are a bit all over the place, but least he sings from the heart with passion. There's an awful lot of sh1te out there that we could be mentioning. 95% of day-time radio for a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HerrScheisse

anncoates wrote: »
    He exists primarily to dampen the knickers of female culchie srts students with a proletarian fetish.

Now that is a proper insult, well thought out and delivered with the fast timing of a takeaway pizza :pac:

I think OP needs to give us a list of his top 5 artists/bands so we know whether this criticism is coming from someone with taste.

True!

I just like any music that has meaning and substance.

Thanks for your question Damo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I'll let Damo himself respond:
    You knock me, if you're so mighty, why waste your time with me
    If I'm bad, ignorant and sad
    Why waste your time, you're mad
    You're just mad, because your life is sad
    You've done nothing worth while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Weevil

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    He's a lyrical genius.

Reminds me of the unforgettable Dis'ree:

Life by Des'ree

I’m afraid of the dark,
    ‘specially when I’m in a park
    And there’s no-one else around,
    Ooh, I get the shivers.
    I don’t want to see a ghost,
    It’s a sight that I fear most.
    I’d rather have a piece of toast and
    watch the evenings news.

Life, oh life, oh life, oh life doo,
    doot doot dooo. Life, oh life,
    oh life doo, doot dooo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

True!

I just like any music that has meaning and substance.

Thanks for your question Damo!
    Aww, go on OP. I'm actually not too mad about his work myself. I solve this horrible problem by not listening to it.
    Maybe just one, rather than a list?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Damien Dempsey thinks he's Dublin incarnate and some sort of sensitive hardman, a bit of a bore really.

He'd have been driving a Tacsai if he wasn't strumming tunes with his eyes closed shut and head jerked back giving it the earnest trouabour schtick.

Almost as good a lyricist as the Cranberries:

Doo, doo, doo, doo, doo, doo, doo,
    doo, doo, doo, doo, doo, doo, doo,
    Does anybody care?

But...at the least, they had a very catchy melody! And fame. World fame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

I think he's pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭allprops

I believe that Damo goes home to his nice three story in Newtownpark Avenue, enjoys the rugger and just puts on the working class shtick to sell records and to do what anncoates said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

I thought it was just me, glad to see there are other people out there who dont get him he is vastly overated, he was featured on today fm recently, such fecking fawning over him ,, good man damo,,, brilliant, I could not believe what I was hearing he was ****ing awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

What's the hang up with lyrics OP, The Beatles are considered the greatest of all time but just have a listen to "I Am The Walrus" and the lyrics in that.

I like Damo, does a great live show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

No rock star stould ever be called Damo..

End of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Come on the beatles wrote most of there lyrics under the influence of psychadelic drugs, damo coverd the ' boyes are back in teown', it has to be the worst cover version of any song ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

Seize the day is a brilliant album, ye don't have a musical bone in your body if ya don't realise this. As the late great Gabrielle once said, dreams can come through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

I went to school with him, was in the same class and i'll tell you this he did'nt sound like that then, its all put on, the whole fame thing is gone to his head, he fkn loves himself.
    That accent when he sings i just cant stand it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Absolute dung is the technical term for his music. Nothing against him but hes not a good singer or writer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

How he still survived after this murdering I do not know.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=V0Aaesx5l-M&desktop_uri=%252Fwatch%253Fv%253DV0Aaesx5l-M

It would be ok for a wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Neeson wrote: »

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=V0Aaesx5l-M&desktop_uri=%252Fwatch%253Fv%253DV0Aaesx5l-M

In fairness to him, that wasn't too bad. Not great by a long shot, but not terrible.
    He took an awful song and made it his own and dare I say, improved it a little.

Let's see Will.i.am do that without turning it into some "beep beep holla y'all let's get retarded up hyar yo" electronic monstrosity of aural **** slime.

You couldn't pay me to listen to his cd's but I don't get the hatred, to be honest. You don't have to listen to him. He at least plays, sings and writes his own stuff, like him or not that makes him head and shoulders more talented than most of the ear raping, contrived ****e that passes for music these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭GoldenTickets

Neeson wrote: »

That is woeful! Jesus Christ.

I think Damo is having a good long laugh at the expense of his fans. The voice is a put on obviously, but it's so poorly put on. He sounds like someone mocking the Dublin accent, but then that's exactly what he is.

The first song I ever heard of his was Party On, check out this stink bomb:

Party On

Doing E, doing speed, doing cocaine
    Mix it with alcohol and go insane
    In the morning the edge of the knife
    Where the hell is the bright side of life?
    It's a farcical high for a few hours
    Then you're blind and you can't see the bright flowers
    For the light of a child and the glee
    If you splurge then the law you'll agree
    Turns you into a shell of what you used to be
    All the weeks you're living in a fantasy
    Fantasise about the party to come
    Then your day-life just doesn't seem fun
    I'm not telling you how to do your thing
    I'm just laying down some facts about indulging
    How the sh_t going 'round can become
    Your controller, your dictator, your one

I'm giving it up I swear in the New Year..
    No more of that for me, you'll see...
    I'm going to be going straight I can't wait
    Until this year is gone, party on..

Coming down on the ground in a small house
    You're a man but you feel like a small mouse
    Not so long ago you felt like a king
    Someone give me psychiatrist a ring
    We'll have no bread and feel feckin' brain-dead
    All alone in a room full of E-heads
    Feel so hollow and sickingly and worthless
    There's no cure in the mosques or the churches
    I met strangers who barely six hours ago
    Were the best friends I thought I'd ever know
    Now they're strangers again 'cos I'm down
    And I won't say 'hello' if I see them in town

Utter, utter sh*te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

is it just me, or is anyone else reading all this thread in his singing voice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Theres work to do

too ra loo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

bustin outta!a here bustin outta here ...
    I would take him anyday over that sanctimonious wanker bono or that gear bag out of aslan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

bustin outta!a here bustin outta here ...
    I would take him anyday over that sanctimonious wanker bono or that gear bag out of aslan

I'd rather an actual gear bag than any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

He's the dub version of John Spillane "well done everyone weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeellllllllllll dun".

Jesus John knock it off will ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

I believe Brush Shiels & Roddy Collins are his natural parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

razorblunt wrote: »
    He's the dub version of John Spillane "well done everyone weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeellllllllllll dun".

Jesus John knock it off will ya.

That is quite a good comparison. Both of them decent enough pub singers who have developed a persona that gives them fame beyond their talents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Weevil

Yamanoto wrote: »
    I believe Brush Shiels & Roddy Collins are his natural parents.
    In fairness, Brush would kick his arse in a Pub-rock drag down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I wouldn't kick him out of bed for singing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

I wouldn't kick him out of bed for singing!

Don't mind them. Brush has a fine voice....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Can't stand him either, his voice goes through my head and I'm not patriotic enough for the navy and light blue specs that I'd need to stomach a gig.

Having said that, I've friends who love him and he's got a big enough fan base so there's a market for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

I like his voice when he isnt putting on the dubbelin accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

a one man wolfe tones