Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which Light for the Coming Winter Months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Just flagged your post.

Hope your banned until winter solstice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Forget all that overpowered Chinese crap, get some proper lights.

Fit and forget. :)

Busch + Müller LUMOTEC IQ2 LUXOS B
    http://www.bike24.com/p238291.html

N20 Dynamo wheel
    http://spacycles.co.uk/products.php?plid=m2b0s170p1793

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

I've been using the Fenix TK11 on 3hour + spins on dark country roads and find it grand.

Batteries are a bit of a pain but I found a place on ebay doing them in bulk. Think I now have a lifetimes supply. :pac:

Edit - I would prefer a hub dynamo and light setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

Its July still (...checking calender).......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

t'bear wrote: »
    Its July still (...checking calender).......

I was tired, bored and pretty much have all my work done. I was itching to buy something and thought 'Ooh, why not do this now while I think of it'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Lumen wrote: »
    Forget all that overpowered Chinese crap, get some proper lights.

Fit and forget. :)

Busch + Müller LUMOTEC IQ2 LUXOS B
    http://www.bike24.com/p238291.html

How is this light powered?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I was tired, bored and pretty much have all my work done. I was itching to buy something and thought 'Ooh, why not do this now while I think of it'.
    You're not the first and won't be the last - anyway I succumbed today and picked up the Argos Autumn/Winter catalogue ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Smalltom

The lads in Velo bike shop in Birr have excellent rechargeable ones for 100€ approx. A few in our club use them winter training on 3hr spins and rave about them. Shop closed for holidays until Monday week I think though.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

ROK ON wrote: »
    How is this light powered?

Legs. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭G rock

Dyno hub and proper headlight. No contest.

Looking forward to hearing from planet x on how the luxos is going!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

This is what I have and I'm very happy with it.

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=70347

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭calistro

Got the below last year and am very happy with them. I think I paid €112 though when Wiggle had a discount on lights coming towards the winter months, so might be an idea to hold out a bit.

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/moon-x-power-300-front-and-shield-rear-light-set/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

ror_74 wrote: »
    I've been using the Fenix TK11 on 3hour + spins on dark country roads and find it grand.

Batteries are a bit of a pain but I found a place on ebay doing them in bulk. Think I now have a lifetimes supply. :pac:

Edit - I would prefer a hub dynamo and light setup.

I use this with a pair of 18650 rechargeable batteries and a charger. Well happy with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Beasty wrote: »
    You're not the first and won't be the last - anyway I succumbed today and picked up the Argos Autumn/Winter catalogue ....
    I may be the only person here actually using lights in July. I am on holidays in central Europe and the only way I can enjoy cycling over here is late at night, as the heat is unreal during the day. Luckily I brought my lights with me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

Seweryn wrote: »
    I may be the only person here actually using lights in July.

Naw your not the only one using lights in July. I work shifts so haven't stopped using lights all year !

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

G rock wrote: »
    Dyno hub and proper headlight. No contest.

Looking forward to hearing from planet x on how the luxos is going!

Oh.....it's a flyin'!

I sometimes put it on in the daytime for the commute for the craic. No drag issues or any of that crap. The cache battery on the U is pretty good as you can stick the light on without cycling anywhere.
    The USB charges up the phone no issues either.

Must get a matching rear light now. They seem pretty cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    This is the exact set that I use and i can recommend it. Importantly, this set is designed for road use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭letape

This is the exact set that I use and i can recommend this set. Importantly, this set is designed for road use.

I took Seweryn's advise last year and bought the rear light (already had a good front). Fantastic buy from merlincycles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

This is the exact set that I use and i can recommend this set. Importantly, this set is designed for road use.

I have this front light too. Dropped it one night in front of Marley (as my backup light). Only realised about 15 minutes later. Turned around cycled back and found it in the middle of that busy main road. Heavily marked but still working. POW!

EDIT Mods please lock this thread for at least another 2 months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭hypersonic

letape wrote: »
    I took Seweryn's advise last year and bought the rear light (already had a good front). Fantastic buy from merlincycles.

I have this light, easily the best light I've owned. I'm really impressed how compact it is, no awkward, is that you bike light or are you just happy to see me moments with this light in you pocket.