Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slobby officemate eating junkfood loudly at desk.

• 26-07-2013 2:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭jr22

I have headphones in with some ambient music on, the window is open and there's the fairly pleasant noise of kids playing in the nearby park. There's the background noise of noisy fan running and yet all I can hear is the sound of biscuits being annihilated, drinks being slurped, crisp bags being molested.

Not just every now and again, all fecking day. :eek:

The only respite is when she goes down to the vending machine or the jacks.

The more I try not to focus on it, the worse it seems to get.

The same person will yawn in your face mid conversation, repeatedly, without any attempt to stifle it and with no apologies.

When she has a cold I've resorted on a few occasions to asking her if she needs a tissue in an attempt to prompt her to blow her nose. She refuses in a kind of "Oh no! You're grand, thanks!" sort of way and continues snot sniffling every 15 seconds, all day long...

Anyone else dealt with something like this? What can you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

jr22 wrote: »
    I have headphones in with some ambient music on, the window is open and there's the fairly pleasant noise of kids playing in the nearby park. There's the background noise of noisy fan running and yet all I can hear is the sound of biscuits being annihilated, drinks being slurped, crisp bags being molested.

You must have either the most amazing hearing or the worst headphones, if you can still hear all that.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

crisp bags being molested.

I thought that only happened when you're out of condoms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Just keep staring at her with a look of disgust on your face muttering the phrase "you people"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Sooo........is she hot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭jr22

Sooo........is she hot?

In a word, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

Get her to have sex with you and then accuse her of rape. That will get her fired!

I seen it in Orange is the new Black. fool proof.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

In a word, no.

Get over your crush so OP and stop obsessing about her.

You'll never feel her warm, cheese and onion breath on your face as she locks you in a tender, chocolatey fingered embrace.

Plenty more fish in the sea JR.

You must have either the most amazing hearing or the worst headphones, if you can still hear all that.

There's sometimes other people in the office so I don't want to be an irritant with music blaring out of my headphones. The headphones are earplugs, they're alright, nothing fancy.

I think it's more that when I know the head wrecking slurping chewing noise is there, I end up listening out for it even though it's the last thing I want to hear. :pac:

What kind of biscuits?

Fecking Ginger Nuts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I think it's more that when I know the head wrecking slurping chewing noise is there,

TBH:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Misophonia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭The Uninvited Guest

Punch her in the windpipe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Fart beside her :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Ask her when the baby is due

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭cluelez

Fecking Ginger Nuts!

stay focus

ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Fecking Ginger Nuts!

In fairness, they're noisy biscuits.

Fecking Ginger Nuts!

Does she have tea?

No tea. She just goes straight at them, unfortunately! :P

Ginger nut biscuits without tea?

What a weirdo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

eat her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I'm Flabbergasted :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭starWave

My mate had the same problem with people eating with their mouths open opposite to his desk. He sent an instant message to another colleague to moan about it, but by accident he sent it to the person eating. Problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Invite them over to your place for food then stuff them so much that it kills them. I got the idea from Theatre of Blood (Vincent Price). Brilliant stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Why not try doing a bit of work, instead of focusing on her all the time ?

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    Invite them over to your place for food then stuff them so much that it kills them. I got the idea from Theatre of Blood (Vincent Price). Brilliant stuff.

Se7en?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭boogle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

What size is this eating machine?

Substantial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

/grabs popco -

hey wheres the popcorn :confused:

boogle wrote: »

If I could get a roof onto it, it'd be ideal!

Substantial.

i thought as much

are you proficient in the use of a harpoon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Feed it.....feed it loads and loads and loads.....make it your pet project to see just how fat you can get it before it does a Homer Simpson and works from home due to morbid obesity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Substantial.

A real woman with curves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Tame it on a date.

Go to the beach and have a picnic....hopefully a passing greenpeace ship will spot it and try drag it back out to sea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭xXxkorixXx

Is she sweating profusely as she grazes on the biccies?

bumper234 wrote: »
    Tame it on a date.

Go to the beach and have a picnic....hopefully a passing greenpeace ship will spot it and try drag it back out to sea.

She might sink into the sand

RikkFlair wrote: »
    A real woman with curves?

Not to be fattist, but it's more like one continuous curve, like a beach ball.

xXxkorixXx wrote: »
    Is she sweating profusely as she grazes on the biccies?

Yep, with a fan aimed at her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Fecking Ginger Nuts!

I don't leave home without mine.

Gingers RULE !!

She sounds like a fire hazard

could you have a word with Health & Safety?

Ginger nuts and tea would be lovely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Jaysus I'd murder a bag of cheese and onion now

Does she eat cheddar cheese by any chance ?

Is this her by any chance ?

EDIT: I'm a fat bastard as well but at least i have an open mouth mind.

zenno wrote: »
    Does she eat cheddar cheese by any chance ?

Is this her by any chance ?

EDIT: I'm a fat bastard as well but at least i have an open mouth mind.

A close relative maybe!

Maybe ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭ulinbac

bumper234 wrote: »
    Feed it.....feed it loads and loads and loads.....make it your pet project to see just how fat you can get it before it does a Homer Simpson and works from home due to morbid obesity.

Brilliant plan!!! Take a before and after pic like people do when trying to lose weight!:D

ulinbac wrote: »
    Brilliant plan!!! Take a before and after pic like people do when trying to lose weight!:D

It doesn't always work out well though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

bluewolf wrote: »
    Ginger nuts and tea would be lovely

No!

Jaffa cakes and tea is the correct answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

No!

Jaffa cakes and tea is the correct answer

Eww!

Jaffa cakes and milk.