Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Body Found in House may have lay there 4 years.

• 25-07-2013 7:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭

Squatters had been sleeping in the same room where the body was found. :eek:

I don't know the area well, so i don't know how he was unnoticed for so long. But to me it sounds shocking. I presume he had no relatives, or Friends?
    Otherwise, surely somebody would have reported him missing?
    Also, how did the neighbours not notice him missing after the fire?

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/body-may-have-lain-undetected-in-dublin-house-for-four-years-1.1475084
    Gardaí say a body discovered at a derelict house in Dublin where other people have been living may have been there for as long as four years.
    The badly decomposed remains of a man were found at an address at Royal Canal Bank West in Phibsboro yesterday by a man carrying out construction work at the property.
    Garda sources said neighbours have come forward and told the investigating team there was a fire in the property around four years ago and that the room the body was found in was badly damaged.
    “We certainly don’t think it was there from any time before that fire,” said one source.
    A large piece of furniture described as a sideboard had fallen apart in the room and had concealed the body....

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/body-found-in-house-may-have-been-there-since-2009-601724.html

Maybe he was homeless himself.. (I just read the Times version)

Something similar happened a while back in Galway, where a body was found in the large freezer of a fishmongers. It had been there for 3 years. It was a working freeze 'n' all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Something similar happened a while back in Galway, where a body was found in the large freezer of a fishmongers. It had been there for 3 years. It was a working freeze 'n' all.

That's how I want to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

It's desperately sad but it does happen. I recently watched a programme about Joyce Vincent called Dreams of a Life, shocking and horrifying to die and for nobody to notice you gone. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭cometogether

How sad. He could have had a wife and kids for all we know. Just goes to show you can't really take anything for granted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Usually when you end up homeless and living on the streets you have lost all/most contact with your friends/family/relations, Sad but true no one really cares if your not around your usuall haunts anymore,so its quite understandable that the unfortunate person was not missed or reported, RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Merkin wrote: »
    It's desperately sad but it does happen. I recently watched a programme about Joyce Vincent called Dreams of a Life, shocking and horrifying to die and for nobody to notice you gone. RIP.

The only reason anyone ever did notice her is because she died alone and forgotten.. which is the scary thing. She could have dropped dead on the street, just as alone as when she was in her home; and nobody would have ever thought twice about who she was or where she came from. There definitely wouldn't be a film based on the story anyway..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

That Joyce Vincent film really haunted me.

If this man was homeless and transient then it's more understandable but no less sad. Cases where someone resident in a neighbourhood dies and goes unnoticed are very difficult to fathom.

Hopefully he can be identified and a family found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

If a fire breaks out in a house, whether occupied or not, do they not investigate it or do a survey of the property to make sure that no one died in the fire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Truly one of the saddest stories I have ever heard, to think that someone could be gone for that long and not be missed by anyone at all is just so so sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,429 ✭✭✭✭endacl

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    Truly one of the saddest stories I have ever heard, to think that someone could be gone for that long and not be missed by anyone at all is just so so sad.

There's nothing to say he wasn't missed.

If a fire breaks out in a house, whether occupied or not, do they not investigate it or do a survey of the property to make sure that no one died in the fire?

Id be pretty sure that they do, common sense would demand it,surely??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

It was a working freeze 'n' all.

RIP Mr Freeze. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭TwoBirds

I'd recommend that film to everyone, really gives a startling insight into how someone (in the case of Joyce Vincent) who was apparently so vibrant and sociable can just pass on unnoticed.

Terribly sad for this man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭The_Mask

Article says a sideboard concealed the body... surely DFB would have investigated better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Allyall wrote: »
    Squatters had been sleeping in the same room where the body was found. :eek:

They probably just thought the smell was themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Maybe I'm missing something, but I don't see where it's suggested he may have died in the fire. I read it as saying it couldn't be from before that because he would definitely have been discovered after that.

I think they're just saying it could be as long as 4 years ago because that's the last time the place was checked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

endacl wrote: »
    There's nothing to say he wasn't missed.

Of course not, I was talking about the Joyce Vincent case, the length of time that the body was there for is reminiscent of the Joyce Vincent case but like you said there is noting to say that this particular person wasn't missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

A man who lived in the flats near where I'm from was found a year or two ago in his bed where he had been for 8 months. He'd died of naturally causes but nobody noticed hime missing. The thing is, he was a very well liked man who had grown up kids. He kept to himself and didn't exactly have a routine so when he wasn't seen in the pub where he drank, people just assumed he must have been there that previous night or he was sick. The windows and doors were all locked and mummified him. There was no smell either. Eventually it was his next door neighbour to report him missing.

What exactly happens when someone is mummified?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

Well he didn't decompose..... His skin was black and sunken so much so that he needed to be identified by other means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

These kinds of things can happen easily enough, sad and all as it is. I can see this in my sister in laws future. In the ten years I've known her she has never had a boyfriend/girlfriend, lives by herself but has moved and told no one where, gotten rid of her mobile and house phone, deleted her Facebook and no longer talks to any brothers or sisters bar my husband. We have no way of contacting her or finding her. We all care about her and want to know if she's okay but for no reason at all she's decided to do this. She has no friends and a barely part time job. If she died tomorrow none of us would know or be able to find out until a stranger found her. It's really upsetting to think of but there's nothing we can do.

Love2love wrote: »
    Well he didn't decompose..... His skin was black and sunken so much so that he needed to be identified by other means.

Oh God, that sounds terrible. Poor man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

These kinds of things can happen easily enough, sad and all as it is. I can see this in my sister in laws future. In the ten years I've known her she has never had a boyfriend/girlfriend, lives by herself but has moved and told no one where, gotten rid of her mobile and house phone, deleted her Facebook and no longer talks to any brothers or sisters bar my husband. We have no way of contacting her or finding her. We all care about her and want to know if she's okay but for no reason at all she's decided to do this. She has no friends and a barely part time job. If she died tomorrow none of us would know or be able to find out until a stranger found her. It's really upsetting to think of but there's nothing we can do.

Gosh that really doesn't sound like normal behaviour :( some people are solitary creatures, but to completely cut yourself off like that, with no means of someone contacting you unless you contact them first...that is quite worrying. I presume you've mentioned this fact to her, that none of the family would know if (God forbid) she had an accident or worse. It sounds like there's definitely something going on inside her head. You could always turn it around, and tell her that ye have no way of contacting her if there was a family emergency and she needed to be informed, eg a death or accident in the family. She's perfectly entitled to live her life that way as long as she's not hurting anybody, but in a way she is - ye are worried about her and she can't be contacted if needed.

Personally I'd worry about a possible mental illness, but that's quite another thread....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I go to that fishmongers all the time, lovely staff and good selection, can't recommend it enough. but it'll always be "the murdershop" to me and I can't stop refering to it that way...

got something for dinner in the murdershop today! :D

DoozerT6 wrote: »
    Gosh that really doesn't sound like normal behaviour ....

Oh yeah, we've tried to explain it to her in a hundred different ways but she simply doesn't want to be contactable and isn't getting it at
    all why we would be upset by that. It's very frustrating.

Myself, I always thought that there's undiagnosed aspergers there as she's very awkward in social situations and says and does a lot of cringe worthy things where she genuinely won't understand why it would be wrong to say or do.

Long story short, if something did happen her, there would be no way we'd be able to know or even if we suspected something was wrong we wouldn't be able to find her to check. It's an awful situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

Links234 wrote: »
    I go to that fishmongers all the time, lovely staff and good selection, can't recommend it enough. but it'll always be "the murdershop" to me and I can't stop refering to it that way...

got something for dinner in the murdershop today! :D

something fishy about that shop lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

something fishy about that shop lol

They have lovely John Dory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Oh yeah, we've tried to explain it to her in a hundred different ways but she simply doesn't want to be contactable and isn't getting it at
    all why we would be upset by that. It's very frustrating.

Myself, I always thought that there's undiagnosed aspergers there as she's very awkward in social situations and says and does a lot of cringe worthy things where she genuinely won't understand why it would be wrong to say or do.

Long story short, if something did happen her, there would be no way we'd be able to know or even if we suspected something was wrong we wouldn't be able to find her to check. It's an awful situation.

I guess the only thing you could do is to contact her place of work if you ever need to get hold of her, surely they will have some means of contacting her?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

I remember that well. It was investigated by the Cold Case Unit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

sounds like a cry for help

Bob Z wrote: »
    sounds like a cry for help

Well, we've reached out to her as recently as last week and she's having none of it - we can't help her if she won't let us.