Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW evaluator

• 24-07-2013 12:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,381 ✭✭✭

Anyone used this:

http://www.bmwevaluator.com/

Put in your reg and annual millage. It grabs your car details from cartell and calculates the cost of ownership for the next three years. It then gives BMW options to compare.

So after using it I now know that my wifes 7 year old vw golf will cost the same to own as a brand new 640d coupe over the next three years!

Anyone wanna buy a golf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Got an error and wont accept my car...

oh well ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I was interested until it wanted my email.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Wouldn't accept mine either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

Ditto I'd say the parameters were set for newish cars. Mines a 94. Costs about 80 all in to run if not less. (Tax insurance, maintenance, Petrol).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

Its a very "advaced" system alright. Page three typo in case you are wondering.

Just a cheap and poorly executed version of Renaults carculator they had earlier this year IMO.

Poor from BMW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

congo_90 wrote: »
    Ditto I'd say the parameters were set for newish cars. Mines a 94. Costs about 80 all in to run if not less. (Tax insurance, maintenance, Petrol).

got one there

a good quality replacement would be a BMW 530D

Instead of a LWB Transit van.

rightio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

2001, E46 318i, manual sedan, 122k miles:

TAX: 2019
    Tyres: 342 (probably **** tyres, as far as I know decent tyres are around 130 Eur for one)
    NCT: 310 (why?)
    Fuel: 3806 (prob more)
    Routine Servicing: 1075 (doing it myself)
    depreceation: 900

Total 3 year running costs: 8,547

Then they offer me to take a loan and buy brand new 316i

Whatever it is, it's sponsored by www.bmw.ie (on their front page)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,381 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

You don't need to provide an email address. Click skip this below it. It told me the cost of ownership of the golf would be 16k over the next three years. Offered a 116as a replacement. Then you can click through all the options right up to a640d Gran coupe, which for my millage was about 16k for three years ownership too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Looks very like Renaults Carculator, the actual cost of new car not included in running costs and implies you get the new car for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭vandriver

Right,so it costs the same for me to run my 05 Citroen C4 Hdi,as it would for a new 640d SE coupe.Just the small matter of €2516 a month to find......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

After ye getting huge offers I put in the 530d into it and it says I could have a lovely 114i :)
    Didn't know such a thing existed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 HomeBuyer

vandriver wrote: »
    Just the small matter of €2516 a month to find......

You mean "only" €2516

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Interesting.. it wants me to swap from a 2005 3.0 TDI Quattro A6 to a BMW 518d SE (doesn't even give any options in the 5 above the "Irish default" of a 520d)

Ummm.. thanks but no thanks! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

yep wants me to swap my 2012 A6 for a 518d se also. Says my car will cost me 32k over 3 years compared to 21k for the BMW!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

yep wants me to swap my 2012 A6 for a 518d se also. Says my car will cost me 32k over 3 years compared to 21k for the BMW!!!

Yeah it told me my 04 530 will cost me 22k over the next three years!
    Can't understand why it offered a 114i though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭robbie99

It looks like BMW have made a good effort at estimating the the depreciation of your current car and included it in the 3 year running cost of the current car.

But they have depreciation down as zero in the "total 3 year costs" of the new BMW!? Surely this is a big omission? They haven't even included the deposit nor the 36 monthly payments in their "total 3 year costs". The big star beside the figures say that the comparable information is included.

To me, it looks like BMW are misrepresenting the costs of their new cars by doing a false and misleading comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

robbie99 wrote: »
    It looks like BMW have made a good effort at estimating the the depreciation of your current car and included it in the 3 year running cost of the current car.

But they have depreciation down as zero in the "total 3 year costs" of the new BMW!? Surely this is a big omission? They haven't even included the deposit nor the 36 monthly payments in their "total 3 year costs". The big star beside the figures say that the comparable information is included.

To me, it looks like BMW are misrepresenting the costs of their new cars by doing a false and misleading comparison.

The deprecation of the BMW isn't included, as that's BMW's problem. The reason they have the large final payment at the end of the 3 years is to encourage you to take out another lease...

It should definitely include for the upfront payment, and also the value of your current car (i.e. if owned outright...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

What a stupid thing. Says my car will cost 20k over the next 3 years. Fair enough.
    Then says a new 5 series will only cost 8k over 3 years but excludes the 550 per month they want for the 5 series.
    They could have made that a useful tool by letting people enter useful info about there own cars and then giving realistic figures showing how a new bmw could be an alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Daft, take it down BMW, you are embarrassing yourselves.

Seems a 316D will cost me €1100 on tyres over three years, reason enough to buy something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭td2008

m3 or brand new 316 ? :confused::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

So I should trade in my S2k for a 114i?

Hmm. Think I'll pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Another attempt at stimulating new car sales. Next...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

The suggested alternatives don't annoy me, you can just move the arrow for another one. It's the figures. First my car somehow will cost me 310 to NCT for the next 3 years...?? Then there's the monthly cost, granted that is highlighted, but not included in the savings.
    But the biggest thing is the complete lack of the €9,000 upfront for a 316d for example, and the fact that after that €9,000 is spent, you'll rent the car and have the total price paid back almost in the 3 years, and then either have the car taken back and have nothing or pay them another €14,936 to own the car.
    Depreciation zero my hole. That's a 3 year depreciation of exactly €25,835 that you'll have gone, and at that point you'll have an offer on your hands of either A - buy your car off them for almost 15 grand, or B - give it back and walk home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭robbie99

Dardania wrote: »
    The deprecation of the BMW isn't included, as that's BMW's problem. The reason they have the large final payment at the end of the 3 years is to encourage you to take out another lease...

It should definitely include for the upfront payment, and also the value of your current car (i.e. if owned outright...)

I agree that the depreciation can be BMW's problem. But for it to be BMW's problem, they must include both the up front payment and the 36 instalments to the "total 3 year costs".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

They suggested replacing my E46 MSport Coupe with a 318d SE Saloon?! You're grand lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Anyone got a reg plate for an Irish bugatti veyron? :)

My current car is going to cost me €9,529 over the next 3 years. according to their calculations (about half is fuel).

"You could be driving a BMW X3 sDrive 18d SE €896, per month"
    Oh and running costs is still almost half my current costs at €4,286.

So either stay with current car and take the hit of almost 10 grand over 4 years, or buy a BMW and pay price 32,256 and running costs 4,286 =
    €36,542.

Somehow 10K seems less than 37K.