Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland AM crew can't keep a straight face announcing price of Fiat 500L

• 23-07-2013 7:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭

I see the Ireland AM crew burst out laughing every single time announcing that the Fiat 500 L they are "giving away" is WORTH €23000.

I'm not surprised,they have to laugh, it's another clanger by fiat Ireland , 13000 grand would be more like the value of a 500 L and you'd still suffer horrendous depreciation, if you were unfortunate to buy one new.

Here's a three year old fiat for 5250 with 63k km for 5250 asking

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/10-fiat-punto-1-2-petrol/5368877
    Full-21622752.jpeg

236_fiat_template.jpg

Win with Ireland AM and Agnelli Motor Park!
    Are you dreaming of a new car? Ireland AM has the answer!

To celebrate one year at their new showrooms on the Naas road, Dublin, Agnelli Motor Park want to give one lucky Ireland AM viewer the chance of winning the brand new Fiat 500L!

The iconic Fiat 500 has gone Large! and is ideal for families with added capabilities, practicalities, and of course Style!

To win, tune into Ireland AM Monday to Friday all this week and find the Fiat 500L!
    With thanks to Agnelli Motor Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

What does the car they're giving away list at? And what does a three year old Punto have to do with a new 500L?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

Fair points, but like the Renaults they give away on the Late Late, sure, it is a free car.

The 500L is straight from the BMW-MINI play book in abusing your heritage to produce kitschy cars.

Anan1 wrote: »
    What does the car they're giving away list at? And what does a three year old Punto have to do with a new 500L?

It is a more intelligent purchase. €23k on something that looks that ridiculous?

Punto is better looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Saw the 500L when they were launching it in the UK and by god it's an awful looking yoke! I would pick the Punto over it and keep the extra 17K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Green Diesel

500L is a lot bigger than the punto, comes with a lot of "extras" as standard - air con and is a diesel. Diesel Punto is 17,000. Buy any car for 23,000+ and you'll suffer horrible depreciation.

I'd take the Punto before the 500L myself, but I don't have a family and comparing the two (styling aside) is like comparing a Focus to a Ka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,872 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Drove a 500L as a rental car for a week. It is an awful yoke.

It is a more intelligent purchase. €23k on something that looks that ridiculous?

Punto is better looking.
    Punto is used 3 door hatch, it's a different car for different needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Its got to do with Irish Fiat depreciation, fact

its also a laugh,hence the TV3 presenters mirth.

Plus I think a 500L could well be worth less in three years time than a three year old Punto now, look what happened to Multiplas,

So to clarify the 500L list price of €23000 is a joke and the presenters can't hide this, bursting out laughing every time, backfire PR.

Bigus wrote: »
    Its got to do with Irish Fiat depreciation, fact

its also a laugh,hence the TV3 presenters mirth.

Plus I think a 500L could well be worth less in three years time than a three year old Punto now, look what happened to Multiplas,

So to clarify the 500L list price of €23000 is a joke and the presenters can't hide this, bursting out laughing every time, backfire PR.
    Would you really put much store by the opinion of a TV3 presenter on a car?

I just think its very funny

and shows how Fecked up fiat Ireland is and has been for the last few years in their shiny agnelli monstrosity. They got rid of a lot of loyal small time dealers and look at their sales figures now.

I'm not saying you're wrong about FIAT, just that neither the price of a used Punto nor the opinions of TV3 presenters make very compelling arguments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭NobodyImportant

€23k? Dear Lord. There was a rental one of these parked near me last week and it looked like a 500 that was born inside Chernobyl. It was a hape of a yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

I think it's funny that you'd admit to watching Ireland AM :eek:, a production that offends my senses far more than any car could

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The only thing I learned from this thread is to never advertise anything on Ireland AM.

Punto is used 3 door hatch, it's a different car for different needs.

If you had to spend ~23K on a new car, and you needed something the size of the 500L, would you buy it?

Accept that the Punto is a lesser car, but it appears to be a more prudent purchase. Not comparable, but smarter.

If you had to spend ~23K on a new car, and you needed something the size of the 500L, would you buy it?
    I dunno. I'd test drive it, then decide.
    Accept that the Punto is a lesser car, but it appears to be a more prudent purchase. Not comparable, but smarter.
    You could argue that any used car is a more prudent purchase than a new one. It's not comparable, and therefore irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

You could argue that any used car is a more prudent purchase than a new one. It's not comparable, and therefore irrelevant.

Compare new and new then, Punto better in every way tbh..

166man wrote: »
    Compare new and new then, Punto better in every way tbh..
    This at least makes some sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

The whole object of Fiats sales pitch are cheap and affordable motoring. That's anything but cheap motoring to me.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

The new Lancia Delta is where I'd put my money if I wanted a roomy Italian hatch with lots of extras. OK, it's badged as a Chrysler, but it's really a Lancia. The looks kind of grow on you, and it isn't actually a bad car at all.
    The 500L should be less than 20k to be honest, they should aim to steal MINI customers by being cheaper and better equipped rather than try to play on the same level.

You would not just look at it and think "it is hideous and embarrassing " , I'll look at Ford or Hyundai* instead.

Or Mazda/VW/Honda, (i could go on)

That is the general point of the thread. I doubt that a dumpy car will drive so sublimely that you would be willing to overlook looks and depreciation. A focus and an Mazda3 are going to be nice to drive, ditto Hyundai & Honda (if not as sharp).

So what we have here is a poor man's MINI countryman...

Ford Mondeo, from €23,950. http://m.ford.ie/MobileHome_old/Cars/Mondeo

BlobServer?blobtable=MungoBlobs&blobcol=urldata&blobwhere=1214412541717&blobkey=id

alias no.9 wrote: »
    I think it's funny that you'd admit to watching Ireland AM :eek:, a production that offends my senses far more than any car could

Couldn't watch any British stations because of a certain baby :D

You would not just look at it and think "it is hideous and embarrassing " , I'll look at Ford or Hyundai* instead.

Or Mazda/VW/Honda, (i could go on)
    Absolutely not.
    That is the general point of the thread. I doubt that a dumpy car will drive so sublimely that you would be willing to overlook looks and depreciation. A focus and an Mazda3 are going to be nice to drive, ditto Hyundai & Honda (if not as sharp).
    Speak for yourself, I drive a Forester.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

Ford Mondeo, from €23,950. http://m.ford.ie/MobileHome_old/Cars/Mondeo

BlobServer?blobtable=MungoBlobs&blobcol=urldata&blobwhere=1214412541717&blobkey=id

Good luck getting a new Mondeo in that trim for 24k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭sedohre

I want to enter. Can someone tell me when the car comes on tv please..:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭00833827

the 500L reminds me of the old Daihatsu Sirion

daihatsu_sirion_01.JPG

Absolutely not.

Speak for yourself, I drive a Forester.

there is nowt wrong with a Focus or a Mazda 3, and a Hyundai as an appliance has merit.

Re the Forester, yes, they LOOK a bit dumpy (the old ones at least) but then there is always an exception to the rule, and comparing a Forester to a bloated runabout is like comparing Hiking boots to a pair of crocs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

I'm not a huge fan of the 500L, however I think the 500L Trekking looks alright.

2014-fiat-500l-trekking-3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

The 500L is a catastrophically ugly car. Mother of god!

I agree, the years will not be kind to it, no.matter what spec ot has inside. Diesel or not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I'd still kill for an abarth 500.I won't buy one though,just kill.