Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All cash spectacular scratch card €10

• 21-07-2013 2:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭

I bought one of the new all cash spectacular cards today that cost €10. I didn't win anything. 1 in 3.7 wins cash it says on the back. I think It's wrong that the lottery have such an expensive scratch card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Sorry to hear you were forced against your will to buy this scratch card. If only we lived in a society where people could decided what items to purchase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Don't buy them then!

Or just buy 3.7 of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Albert X wrote: »
    I bought one of the new all cash spectacular cards today that cost €10.

Yea, theres one born every minute!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I bought one of the new all cash spectacular cards today that cost €10. I didn't win anything. 1 in 3.7 wins cash it says on the back. I think It's wrong that the lottery have such an expensive scratch card.

Why?
    Did they force you to buy it?
    These things, whether they're €1 or €10, are meant to raise money for good causes, not to make people rich. You're not going to win with any form of gambling in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭shamtastic

A man came up to me in work to validate a €20 winner on one of those so decided to buy another and he won €100 on that. In my opinion it's the cheap scratch cards that are as scam as you win tiny amounts or a free ticket!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 66 ✭✭corklad12

I bought two of them at my own rick. The first time I won 20 and the second time I won 20. It was up to me to buy them. It's not like the national lottery is forcing you to buy them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭SeanW

Most people lose playing the lottery, only a lucky few beat the odds. More fool you wasting money on the damn thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

I think we're all in agreement here OP; did you think you'd win first time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

As the odds are3.7 you'll have to buy four to win obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Sunhill

I wonder have the Lottery increased the proportion of winning cards for the introductory period of this €10 con? Win €20 or €100 now and you'll be tempted to keep buying despite never hitting the jackpot again. 'I won €20 on that card once, maybe I'll be lucky again."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Just buy 2.7 more of them and you'll make your money back and be set for life.

Maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I can't believe you came home, got on your computer and made a thread about this. AH is just a dumping ground for ****e talk I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭vickers209

I find these ones better lately than the smaller cards i won €250 on one and €100 on another got a €50 as well but i reckon they have more winning ones at the minute as its a new scratch card and when they have people hooked on them then there wont be as many winning ones out there.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

shamtastic wrote: »
    A man came up to me in work to validate a €20 winner on one of those so decided to buy another and he won €100 on that. In my opinion it's the cheap scratch cards that are as scam as you win tiny amounts or a free ticket!

They get checked for being scams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

I won 250e recently on a winning streak scratch card...delighted with myself I was...just thought I'd share that :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

OP , Im setting up my own lottery , if you want you can send me ten euros and I,ll scratch a scrat.ch for you

Better off scratching you're bollix at least you'd get something out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Must have been one of them sexy shopkeepers again, can't resist!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

I've never gambled or bought a scratch card in my life so i wouldn't pay €10 for one! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Ah, the National Lottery. A voluntary opt-in tax for those who can't do maths...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

What are you doing spending a tenner on a scratch card :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭col.in.Cr

Can the shop staff not just scan the cards before its scratched to see if its a winner?

col.in.Cr wrote: »
    Can the shop staff not just scan the cards before its scratched to see if its a winner?

The bar code is underneath the scratch surface I'd imagine.

kneemos wrote: »

Its not

Just looked at two I had here,there's a code under the scratched part that has to be typed in and the other one has a barcode that is visible before the card is scratched.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Fúcking Hell :confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

They can indeed. Friend of mine uses to do this the whole time in the shop they worked in, put me off buying scratch cards altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

nope you need the code along with the barcode to cash them in, the code is always under the scratch stuff...

if it helps op, i was bought a €3 bingo scratch card, i won €20, so i went into the shop and cashed it, and my daughter asked could she get chocolate and crisps, since i was breaking the 20 euro i asked for another €3 bingo scratchcard (i think they are fun to just play sometimes)

i won €20 in one game, and €5 in another (4 games on one scratch card) so €25 in total.

i took my €39 winnings and stopped buying them....

hoodwinked wrote: »
    nope you need the code along with the barcode to cash them in, the code is always under the scratch stuff...

if it helps op, i was bought a €3 bingo scratch card, i won €20, so i went into the shop and cashed it, and my daughter asked could she get chocolate and crisps, since i was breaking the 20 euro i asked for another €3 bingo scratchcard (i think they are fun to just play sometimes)

i won €20 in one game, and €5 in another (4 games on one scratch card) so €25 in total.

i took my €39 winnings and stopped buying them....

Those self service readers they have in store just read the barcode?

I don't see a code on a diamond bingo one here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

they don't work for scratch cards :D try it next time :pac:

I think we've uncovered a national scandal,anyone got the number for The Mail.

they don't work for scratch cards :D try it next time :pac:

Right ya are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

may the odds be ever in your favour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭rgmmg

Why?
    Did they force you to buy it?
    These things, whether they're €1 or €10, are meant to raise money for good causes, not to make people rich. You're not going to win with any form of gambling in the long run.

Not with that attitude in any case :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 murphy243

They are definitely not a scam I've won €10s, €20s and even a €1000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭GoldenLight

You still need the code underneath the scratchable surface to validate the card, there is no way you can pay out for a winner without the barcode and the code underneath the scratchable surface.

The worse thing that happened to me was when I won on €350 on a scratch card. I thought I was a lucky hoor and everytime I walked into a newsagents I would buy a scratch or two. Most have spent €500 until I copped on :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

murphy243 wrote: »
    They are definitely not a scam I've won €10s, €20s and even a €1000

Is that you, mike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I've never bought one and never won anything. Clearly that's wrong.

I should have won thousands by now based on the law of averages.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I have a friend who buys 5 all cash a day,wins 2 euro and feels like a winner.

Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I have a friend who buys 5 all cash a day,wins 2 euro and feels like a winner.

Fair play to him.

Tell him to buy more, he's clearly on a roll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Forest Demon