Liveline Thread 20/7/2013 to 12/10/2013

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Vote Yes for jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭DuckHook

Its not the people dont have a clue...its that people dont really give a crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

Two children 25 and 30? They obviously cba educating themselves. Why don't those grown ups know what's going on? They need a good slap, not their mammy ringing in to Joe to moan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

Maybe this woman should look to her child rearing skills!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

"my kids are disaffected and ignorant and it is someone else's fault"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Sligo Quay

Plenty of info out there, people are just stupid, probably wishing for a return of the bertie days, God forbid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

Sound like some callers will need a fisher-Price version of the referendum booklet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Here's Johnnnnyy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Scaramanga 4

ffs john again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Sligo Quay wrote: »
    Who cares he speaks sense, why does everything have to be looked at in a partisan way, I never voted FG in my life, but I'm voting yes to get rid of Seanad gravy train.

Gravy trains? Get rid of the Dail, in that case. Have a STRONG LEADER with totally right-on principles to have the government (himself and cronies) do his bidding.
    Remind you of anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Plenty of info out there, people are just stupid, probably wishing for a return of the bertie days, God forbid.

I bet both of the "children" have a laptop and a tablet and could spend 30 minutes on referendum2013.ie and wikipedia and educate themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Is this "John" John ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭mada999

Who cares he speaks sense, why does everything have to be looked at in a partisan way, I never voted FG in my life, but I'm voting yes to get rid of Seanad gravy train.

you know there are consequences to removing the Seanad? Did you actually read the referendum docs?

IF A YES VOTE WINS

1 . Laws will be made if passed by the Dáil and the president. No amendments or changes can be offered up by anyone else. *** Do you want the current Government to have this power?

2. By voting to abolish the Séanad, you also could take away the President's power to refer Money Bills(laws relating to public finances, ie. matters relating to TAXATION) to the supreme court for a decision on whether or not they are consitutional. **More Power to Government**

3. The constitution currently provides the option for the president to refer bills to the people. If a yes vote is gained, THIS OPTION WILL BE REMOVED FROM THE CONSTITUITON.
    ** More power for Government**

4. Currently, Ireland may adopt and implement certain EU laws and decisions and certain amendments to EU treaties ONLY if this is approved in advance by BOTH the Dáil and the Seanad.
    IF A YES VOTE IS GAINED - ONLY THE APPROVAL OF THE DÁIL WILL BE REQUIRED FOR PASSING EU LAWS AND DECISIONS. **More power to Government and EU** ?

5. Currently Oireachtas has the power to pass laws for the purpose of securing
    public safety and the preservation of the State in time of war or armed
    rebellion. These laws may not be challenged in the Courts on the basis
    that they are unconstitutional.

IF A YES VOTE IS PASSED - The Dáil alone will have the power to pass national emergency laws
    and to decide a national emergency exists **YES more power the Government.

6. Currently, Judges of the Supreme Court and the High Court may be removed from office
    for stated misbehaviour or incapacity only if a simple majority of the members
    present and voting in each of the Dáil and Seanad pass resolutions to that effect.

IF A YES VOTE IS PASSED - The Dáil alone decides the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Can't understand him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,483 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Not again John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

Now that's the real John from Cork and ironically he is on to talk about the word "Langer"

Ye're a Langer

lol "langer-gate"..

wont somebody think of the langers.. mini civil war..really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

mada999 wrote: »
    you know there are consequences to removing the Seanad? Did you actually read the referendum docs?
    You realise you've just posted that at the top of the page?

syklops wrote: »
    "my kids are disaffected and ignorant and it is someone else's fault"
    "We've tried nothin and we're all out of ideas!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

syklops wrote: »
    I bet both of the "children" have a laptop and a tablet and could spend 30 minutes on referendum2013.ie and wikipedia and educate themselves.

FFS even the Journal have an idiot proof guide to the votes this week. No excuse for ignorance.

Some people wouldn't be happy even if the President sat beside them and explained it with an Ann and Barry book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

Caaaaaaark vernacular hour :D

DuckHook wrote: »
    lol "langer-gate"..
    wont somebody think of the langers.. mini civil war..really?
    You think about langers all the time :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

mada999, give up with the spamming.

A laaaaaaanger on de ageeeeeeeenda

Is there more than one John O'Donovan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,129 ✭✭✭✭neris

I've just tuned in must be feck all happening today if that useless prick from cork is on. Can he not find a friend or get a hobby

snubbleste wrote: »
    You think about langers all the time :D

Your some langer..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Collins wouldnt have time to laugh about it, he'd be too busy trying to whack Eamon O'Cuiv in a drive by cycle by shooting..

I want to hold a referendumb to ban Elizabeths from ringing Liveline.