Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bye Bye vRS

• 19-07-2013 7:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭

Well,
    As some members already know,
    Around 3.15 last Friday I parked my car to collect my wife from the hairdressers, I was debating should I sit in the car with the climate control on or not, after a few minutes I decided to sit in the salon as she could be a while yet. I walked approxe 30 steps and went in, sat down to be asked if I wanted a coffee by the owner when there was a mightly Crash outside. One of the girls looked out and said I better come out,
    This is what met me :o

IMG_0065_zpsa63aa400.jpg

IMG_0066_zpsbed5b95c.jpg

IMG_0067_zps8e7f2c05.jpg

IMG_0069_zpsc9227037.jpg

IMG_0071_zps3521d6e5.jpg

IMG_0072_zps2f7e0030.jpg

b096e099-21bc-4175-90e2-805842c3910e_zps97ba3508.jpg

NicksvRS_022_zpscf4128ee.jpg

NicksvRS_017_zpscc94b9f4.jpg

Anyhow to cut a long story short,
    He was insured,
    There was €8386 repair bill for it.
    I rejected a repair and settled for a pre accident value settlement.

Must wait for check now etc. and settle a few things.
    Then go order a replacement car which unfortunately wont be another vRS as it will be January at least before available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Ah man Im gutted to hear that, that was an unreal clean VRs... Hope you get something decent as a replacement. :)

On a side note I think I saw your old VRs around Dublin the other day, it was a white one on German plates? I inspected the bodywork as I passed and its still remarkably clean so that may be of some comfort to you! :)

Still sorry to hear of your other one...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Ouch. Chassis looks bent out of shape there at the rear door? You are right to reject the repair. I'd personally never be happy with the car again after it.

New mk7 GTD/I perhaps?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

:(

How did he even manage that?

Did the Hyundai fall to bits before or after the impact?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Ouch. Chassis looks bent out of shape there at the rear door? You are right to reject the repair. I'd personally never be happy with the car again after it.

Be interesting to see if it pops up repaired in a few weeks somewhere. ...

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

166man wrote: »
    Ah man Im gutted to hear that, that was an unreal clean VRs... Hope you get something decent as a replacement. :)

On a side note I think I saw your old VRs around Dublin the other day, it was a white one 11 C xxxx on German plates? I inspected the bodywork as I passed and its still remarkably clean so that may be of some comfort to you! :)o

Not mine I am afraid
    10-C-12635 was my one.
    JoeA3 wrote: »

New mk7 GTD/I perhaps?!

Leon FR Possibly.
    dmc17 wrote: »

How did he even manage that?

Off his head on Drugs apparently
    galwaytt wrote: »
    Be interesting to see if it pops up repaired in a few weeks somewhere. ...

It will as it is up for sale on a salvage auction site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

id cry

id cry

I did :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Ouch. That's ****.

At least you can have fun car shopping now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I can't comprehend how he managed it!!
    What a lovely car vectra, such a pity!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

dmc17 wrote: »

Think you just answered your own question there :)
    Key word here HYUNDAI

Think you just answered your own question there :)
    Key word here HYUNDAI

A HYUNDAI ACCIDENT no less

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Did the guards put bracelets on the other driver?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Balls....

Was he trying to change the wheel? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Balls....

Yeah sure that's all that's wrong, mad lock kit on that yolk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

Lucky you weren't in the car when it happened , only material damage. Pity really nice car. I would stick with the vRS.

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Balls....

Just spotted that! He has the car jacked up and the spare wheel out. :confused: Best of luck with that. More worryingly though, is there a child in the back of the car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Are you full sure that won't just polish out? JML do a kit..

kidding -that must have been a ball-rotter - I'd be feckin gutted. And by a hyundai...mother of..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Seriously ****, man.
    Look to the future though, you now have en excuse to try something new!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

some impact! i notice the passenger wheel is pointing right and the drivers wheel is pointing left, track like this / \ !!

very sorry to see this but enjoy car shopping none the less!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭Fanny Biscuit

You probably didn't think it at the time but you were lucky you decided to get up and leave. I'd love a vrs myself.

The more i look at the pics the more i can't believe there wasn't more damage but also how he manage to hit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I know it's no consolation, but at least nobody was hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Awwhh no :( At least you're ok though, that's what matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

That Hyundai driver is a handsome fellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Ouch that looks nasty, at least no one was hurt,

Enjoy car shoppin :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

What you won't get paid for is all the hours you spent on the DA with the car and waxing etc, nor the little touches you did to it. Really sorry to hear dude. Least now you can get a car that's faster than mine :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

Really sorry to hear this.. gutted for you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Shockin', sorry to see that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Holy**** balls Vectra. :( That is some scary stuff. Its such a shame to see VRS to bebumped like that. :(

Is that a driver in the first picture? I have seen you in life and you are not that "ruff" looking. :pac: At least he was insured...

Some said it was the shine off my car dazzled him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

At least you weren't in it and you're not having to settle for a repaired car. That would have really stung. Onwards and upwards:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Holy crap Vectra!
    Been away for a while and missed all this.Sorry for your trouble man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

thankfully he was insured...and you are OK. enjoy shopping

Thanks for all the comments guys.
    I was upset all week about it as I was getting nowhere with the insurance company really.

I had to resort to threatening them with solicitor etc, which in turn would have jumped up the claim quiet a lot.

It seemed to have worked as I got a phone call around 2.30 to say they were prepared to settle with me for the agreed amount.

Big smile on my face for the first time in a week,
    That was until I called to where my car was to collect some personal items,
    Got a lump in my throat when I saw it lying there looking all bent and sorry.. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Glad to hear you weren't hurt feel sorry for the car. The Hyundai looks like it had hit something else as the bonnet is all bent.
    Good news you got it settled quickly.

I have the blue vrs and was taken out by a transit at a junction and have a witness that was behind who saw the whole thing and waiting since january 2012 and they are still saying its my fault.

Was waiting 3 years to be sorted for another crash where the woman ran a red and hit the side of me.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Bad luck on the car.

I'm interested in the insurance angle actually. I never knew you could refuse a repair. I thought the ins co would do the cheaper of repair or replace and you'd have no choice. Fair play for fighting with them over it. Not a nice situation, had similar happen to me when I was stopped at a junction - drunk and drugged up asshole side wiped me doing around 6k worth of damage to my A4. It was repaired very well in fairness but haf I known I could get market value I might have taken it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

vectra wrote: »

Off his head on Drugs apparently

The guy wearing the wife beaters in the photo?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I think he had the option of refusing the repair as the car was so new. Feels wrong to thank the post. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Cúntish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

This is sickening! Such a lovely car that was.

Best of luck finding something nice to replace it!

Is there anything with the insurance that allows a rental until you are sorted?

That's just sick. Sorry to hear about that vectra. Absolute stunner of a car. At least you weren't in it. Have fun car shopping!

I have a rental at the moment but once the cheque is handed over I would say that is it.
    I almost have a deal done on another car that would have me in a loan car until it arrives.

The reason I rejected was it only had 6.4 k kms on it and was under one year old which sort of took part in the settlement,
    Also I think the part with the threat to them of solicitor and claim etc. would have put settlement much higher, Cheapest option for them was pre accident value settlement.
    Not the cheapest option on my behalf but I didnt want a long drawn out settlement either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

What sort of damage was done.

cena wrote: »
    What sort of damage was done.

€8386 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

What a clown.

Really bad luck, but onwards and upwards and all that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭NickDunne

Never knew Bernard Dunne drove an accent :pac:

Seriously though, sorry to see such a nice car damaged :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Sorry to see that, glad to hear you got it sorted so quickly and as others have said, at least nobody was hurt.

Dangerous driving prosecution for the guy in the Hyundai?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Is that a child I see in the back of the Hyundai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

Sh1t man,

I almost cried myself looking at that!!
    How the flip was he driving. At least he was insured and everything is sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Colash

Jesus I'd be in a depression after that . U are lucky he's insured man . That vrs is stunning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

OP ....what did the guy in the hyundai crash into i mean how did his bonnet get so gashed?? was he swerving to avoid something??